Reviews for Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas DNS

91

Near Perfect mix of Hilarity and Seriousness

DeweyDTruman | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

Many open world sandboxes are a little comedic at least. It comes with the genre, it's not easy to make a game where you could potentially wipe out the entire police force for hours before finally succumbing to them when you run out of ammo and not have it feel a little ridiculous in the process. San Andreas takes this ball and runs with it, but at the same time it doesn't forget its serious story about a man who got dragged into something he had been trying to escape for years.

The gameplay is absolutely solid. The world even moreso. There is nothing quite like driving down a dirt road in the countryside while "A Horse with no Name" plays. Every person you come across feels alive, with snide comments and hilarious conversations. The thousands of different outfit combinations possible are also delightful, as they let you make CJ into whatever character you want him to be.

It isn't exactly perfect, though. There are many RPG-ish elements involved, including hunger, strength, stamina, etc. While they are interesting, they always feel odd in a game that clearly doesn't need them. On the other hand, the ability to make your CJ either a morbidly obese man or someone who could very well be a 'roid abuser is interesting too. The various styles to fight with are cool, but again feel unnecessary.

Ultimately this game is still the best Grand Theft Auto game, and probably the best open world sandbox, and if not it's certainly high on the list. If you've never played this before, do yourself a favor and pick it up.

85

A game that does not die.

JMJqueseyo | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all JMJqueseyo's reviews »

or a game that is 7 years old it is great it has multiple modifications and one of them is for zombies and multiplayer. The game itself has a lot of content since you can upgrade your cars,dual wield,have fellow gang members follow you,there are planes,unique missions(that are not in other GTAs) there are multiple guns per category,many cars,skills and more. The storyline is classic gangster stuff like betrayal and trust. The graphics are OK for it's age. Best GTA in terms content, one thing I do not like is the music and glitches that ruin your saves(so back them up) You do not need to know how to play GTA to get a hang of this because of the hints so great for everyone from non-experienced GTA players to people who love sand-box games.

97

Best GTA

Lekes | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

This game to me is the best out of all of the GTA games, though I've only played GTA IV and GTA III. The only thing I don't like about the game is the graphics, but after awhile, you get used to it. I love being part of a gang and doing drive-by's and that kind of sorts, unlike in the others I have played. I also like how you have to do weight training and running in order to gain muscle and endurance which help with how strong your punches are and how long you can speed along on a bike. I also like the missions and the character personalities. The list keeps going on and on, but I won't drag on. Overall, I would say the game is quite fun.

100

Perfect game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

I must say that Grand Theft Auto San Andreas was the game from my old partner, Playstation 2, that I most played. It has a big scenario with a lot of places to go, a lot of guns to use and a lot of cars to drive. We have a lot of possibilities even become crazy and stars shooting everyone in the middle of the street. But the story is interesting and solid. Only a few games can mix the linearity with the open game. San Andreas is one of them. Different from some bad games, movies or musics, Grand Theft Auto is a series that sells a lot but it is because it is really good and justify it when they launch a new game. Not only Grand Theft Auto but any Rockstar game. The graphics of San Andreas are something good nowadays. Remember that we are talking about a Playstation 2 game. It has its limits. But Rockstar do not save money to make their games, so it is a very well done game. The gameplay is also good. Even drive is very interesting. This is a game that no one needs to recommends. Just play it.

95

A classic is a classic

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

This is a classic game with the Rockstar seal. The story is interesting, the graphics at the time that was released was superb (but it still very cool nowadays). It is a giant open world game with a good gameplay and storyline. You will have two options: play going on the story, doing the missions and sidequests or choosing to start doing crazy things and it is very very funny to do, mainly if you finished the game one time. The sensation of the stars appearing and the SWAT, helicopter and other things coming is very cool. Pure adrenaline. There are also different car to drive and the radios are so cool. That is the advantage of real open world game. It is like our world but we can play doing crazy things and experiencing different sensations that are impossible to experience in real world. This game is a obligation to be played and I recommend to do it now if you are reading me.

79

Most memorable, enjoyable and longest sandbox gaming experience

MalekTaktak | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas was an enormous hit back when the genre wasn't very popular. And surprisingly enough, people still play it online thanks to PC mods like SAMP or MTA.

Set in a big island full packed with Los Santos (Angeles) San Fierro (Francisco) Las Venturas (Vegas) and country-side like mountains and villages, you play as CJ, alias Carl Johnson, starting in a African-American Gansta' Street, you'll have to re-integer your gang and take over the streets, quarters and later cities of San Andreas.

The story, brought to us by Rockstar's finest scenarists, is very well elaborated: it starts off simple, you're getting back in the track with your gang and increasing your respect, then it turns slowly into "serious business" and makes everything else on the island involved.

Let's avoid spoilers, let's.. talk about the Open world part of the game, CJ can explore city by city as the story progresses, you can hire a few gangsters depending on your respect and go on a wild ride murder loads of cops/rival gangs with your custom tuned cars or a heavy tank while doing stunts and blowing off cars.

The ambience of the game is a bit special, actually, there is no real "background music" which leads you to believe that the game has no music at all and is realistic, but you can still hear music on the radio. There's several channels that have their own planified schedule and broadcasts with some actual characters present in GTA:SA's world!

The graphics left us indifferent back then, or even pleased some of us, but now you can notice the difference, low quality models and textures that don't directly appeal to the present player, again, that can be fixed with the appropriate mods out there. They are abondant and of different types, graphical or gameplay. And that's what keeps the game alive.

90

Cream of the GTA crop

Cooberstooge | Sept. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

No matter what anybody says about Grand Theft Auto, the one they call San Andreas was truly something new. Sure, there was a few sandbox games out there, but nothing like GTA: SA. It was a breath of fresh air exactly when gamers needed it, and continues to be something by which new sandbox games are gauged by.

The world is huge, and encompasses all different kinds of environments, from the coast, to the desert, to the hills, there's something here for everyone. Big, bustling cities surround small, rural backwoods towns, and the deserts are home to abandoned settlements and mysterious military installations.

You can just hop in a car and drive if you want, and you can customize the heck out of that car, too. The same goes for what you're wearing and even what you look like, with barbershops around the corner and gyms to burn off all those burgers you just ate. There's also houses to buy as well, and they both expand your reach in the world and act as a base of operations when you're far from your usual haunts.

The main story is both serious and funny, but the true meat of this one, and what makes it a classic, is buried in the side quests. There's electronics to steal, races to race, and rapping competitions to take part in. The overall variety is crazy, and there's always something new around the corner, and lots of hidden surprises to discover, too.

If you only ever buy one Grand Theft Auto title, make it San Andreas. Sure, the newer one looks better, but this is where it all started coming together.

95

Great Game from Beginning to End

ROKET | July 8, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I obsessed about this game constantly before finally obtaining a copy and playing it all the way through. The story, graphics, and gameplay (for the time) were mind blowing and I had a truly great time with the game.

The game itself is packed with content and Ive never seen so much customizability in an open world single player game. I spent hours pimping out my many rides and storing them in my various garages. You could get any car to go fast and look good. You could literally do basically anything you wanted in the game from flying to skydiving and man was it fun.

The game is still very played and there are even mods that add multiplayer if you so desire. Rockstar hit a home run with this game and are bringing it back in the form of GTAV soon enough.

I highly recommend this game.

81

One of my favourites

Notmexican21 | May 14, 2012 | See all Notmexican21's reviews »

This was one of the most enjoyable GTA games that i have played. I first played this game on the play-station2 when it first came out and got it on sale from Green Man since i wanted to see what it was like on the PC. If your looking for story then this game may not be the best choice for you but if your looking for the classic GTA experience of guns and gangs then this game is for you. Cruising around in cars or just going on the rampage works both ways with this game as it gives an open world experience and a ''Stick to main story-line'' experience. Overall a great classic for anybody looking for the classic GTA.

90

Epitomy of sandbox gaming.

rasitha_raw | Oct. 13, 2011 | See all rasitha_raw's reviews »

Rockstar has always been the leader in sandbox gaming with their GTA franchise. From top down GTA1 to redefining the genre in GTA3 it always became bigger better and badder with every new release. And GTA San Andreas is the King!

It has a vast world bigger than any ive seen in another video game. The best part is you dont even go through a loading screen when going from one corner to another. There are so many little things to collect and challenges to do, from finding oysters in swimming pools to doing stunts with your BMX. You will never find it boring in San Andreas.

And here i was only talking about things you can do apart from the story missions. And the story missions were great. The story was funny & entertaining. Missions were diverse (Unlike the same filler missions in GTA4) And overall gave a great bang for your buck. I highly recommend picking this over any other GTA title, it is at the top of the top sandbox games ever released and you will find that once you get in its almost impossible to stop.

92

Best GTA of the series!

Babelfish343 | Oct. 12, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

This game just had a certain vibe that GTAIV somehow lacked. The expansive world is absolutely stunning, and the missions are quite amusing for those times when you get tired of free-roaming, but that will be after quite a long time!

The story isn't really top-notch, but the voice acting is great and conveys the whimsical gangster world that Rockstar has presented us once again. You have parachutes this time around, and that makes for some epic action scenes of your choosing.

With the world in your hand, you can do quite almost anything you want to. Vehicles are numerous and varied, and the only downside to the graphics are some low-res textures, but unless you stop and look it's not noticeable.

The radio is as entertaining as ever, and there is some good choices of rap/hip-hop music to complement the tone of GTA San Andreas.

Overall a great game adult gamers should experience, and certainly worth the low price!