Reviews for The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

100

Best game of all time

Ghost_Panther | Aug. 23, 2014 | See all Ghost_Panther's reviews »

I loved the witcher 2. Hands down my favorite game of all time. It looks great, it has excellent gameplay. The control are smooth. The characters are unique and amazing. There is absolutely no flaws in this game besides no fast travel.

99

Stunning!!

ash_arani | Aug. 16, 2014 | See all ash_arani's reviews »

Wow wow wow wow!!!!!!!

This game is just unbelievable. It is one thing to have a game with multiple endings, but it is completely different to do so rather seamlessly. The way decisions are made and the way the story is affected by it is rather impressive. It feels as the only way it could have progressed.

Also, because of these many branches, one can play the game over and over again.

The attention to details is amazing. I loved the combat system. The interactions among humans, elves, monsters, and witchers, and witches makes up a very beautiful fantasy world with many dimensions to it.

Simply put, just get into the sequel. Play the first game to make sure the story is comprehensible (at least read what happens in the first game).

Highly recommended!

93

Superb

muddykumb | Aug. 3, 2014 | See all muddykumb's reviews »

Where can i start? This game is an absolute gem. What makes this game great is the story, without a good story a game isn't worth playing. The witcher 2 grips you and leaves you with choices to make, some of which aren't exactly easy to make, the game will split halfway down the middle depending on who you decide to accompany, i wont say any more for fear of spoiling it. The characters are well voiced and believable. You can tell the developers put alot of time and attention into this game. The game iteslf is still pretty good looking and runs smoothly, there are some stunnong scenes and settings. The combat system is just your basic hack slash and block, with 6 spells (ards) to use aswell. Overall this is a fantastic game that you must play.

86

One of the best RPG's of 2011.

alanmaz567 | July 12, 2014 | See all alanmaz567's reviews »

The storyline is long and well written, there are allot of ending to this game depending on the coices you make throughout the game. The game is visually beautiful and full of colour. The gameplay is both tactical and adventurous. There is a bit of stealth in the game too. It also has a bit of an open world and RPG elements in the game which make you think carefull on which skill you should use your points from leveling up on. Overall the game is fun and long, i would recommend getting this game on a sale, it's worth the money.

97

Incredible Game

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is one of the best RPGs I have ever played, and is easily the best looking. The visuals of this game are some of the best ever, and the voice acting is incredible as well. All of the music fits perfectly with the game, enhancing an already incredible experience.

The first Witcher was a great game, but its successor improves in every conceivable way. The somewhat clunky combat of the first game has been made more fluid, the RPG elements have been improved even more, and the story is stronger than the first Witcher. In stark contrast to games like Skyrim, the Witcher 2 has an incredible amount of depth, with uniquely different areas of the map. While it may seem daunting to beginners, the Witcher 2's RPG mechanics are some of the best I've seen in a very long time. The Witcher 2 is an incredible game that should be in everyone's library. Even if you didn't play the first game, the Witcher 2's plot doesn't need a huge amount of backstory. I cannot recommend the Witcher 2 enough.

97

Deep and dark RPG

OverkillerlSRBl | June 20, 2014 | See all OverkillerlSRBl's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is more than a worthy follower of the first Witcher, it has everything that made the first game memorable, but on a bigger scale and production quallity.

The depth of the game is huge, behind everything the conflict is warming up and kingdoms are on the edge of war, with Geralt in the middle of it all trying to make the best out of it while chasing the "Assasin of Kings".

The story is deep and full of choices, there is a bit of humour here and there but the setting is generaly dark and everything you choose has a consequence and a separate branch in the story, so one playthrough will not be enough to see everything.

The combat is this time around much better but still rather challenging, the game is best played on a joypad.

Graphics and audio are something that is absolutely amazing and some of the best in the last generation of gaming, it will blow anyone away.

Overall, this is more than worth getting, you will not regret a single second spent in the game nor a single cent you paid!

85

The legends continues

biogitanus | May 20, 2014 | See all biogitanus's reviews »

This secuel has more mature situations than its predecessor ;D. anyway.. The combat is more realistic and challenging making it more entertaining. The graphics and details make it more immersive with its beautiful scenery and its bloody battlefields. The only drawback that I find is the new inventory system that makes you collect all without knowing its function, if is your first time playing it... Geralt still as charismatic as ever as the war devours the present and old memories back afloat, Very Recomendend Game for those who want a great story.

90

A great RPG

geist_der_sonne | May 19, 2014 | See all geist_der_sonne's reviews »

The Witcher 1 was probably one the best RPG ever made and CD Project had to meet the expectations of millions of fans for the sequel. They already did a great job with Aurora Engine in TW1, but TW2 graphics are truly amazing (you'll need a decent gpu!). Locations are big and detailed and even if TW2 is shorter than the first game of the series, it has two different storylines depending on your choices, so you have to play it twice to see everything. It's almost 2 games in 1! In TW2 choices do matter! The combat system is more action-oriented now and is optimized for a console controller, but the game has been developed primarly on pc. The plot is very intricate and a little hard to understand sometimes, but definitely well-written and deep. Dialogs and characters are great as always and the game overall is epic and very entertaining. In my opinion TW1 is still the best witcher game, but TW2 is a close second and deserves all the honors.

97

Beautiful landscapes, engaging story and a top notch RPG

Funtaine | April 27, 2014 | See all Funtaine's reviews »

The Witcher II was a game I had a lot of high hopes for. I was not disappointed at all! I played the first one, where the story was the carrying element, which translates into the sequel. The story is simply genius and if you're into the franchise, you'll be spell bound. If you're a newcomer, this is a great place to start out with your Witcher adventures.

The graphics are really beautiful, but it can be a problem with low end computers, as the games requires a lot of resources. But fear not, there are fixes out there on the internet for it, just google 'em!

The voice actors and soundtrack are also top notch. I was not disappointed by this as I am by many RPG games.

Last but not least, the story is well crafted and your choices actually matter.

Very highly recommended!

95

Must have PC game!

dalbelo | April 2, 2014 | See all dalbelo's reviews »

The Witcher 2 takes place immediately following the Witcher 1. To get the full story, I recommend playing The Witcher 1 first. Witcher 1 is fairly out of date at this point. The gameplay is a bit akward and sluggish but the story is very well written and a very enjoyable experience once you can get use to the controls in The Witcher 1.

The Witcher 2's mechanics were HIGHLY improved as far as controls and how much more fluid your actions are. The visuals are top notch for todays games and the story is more exciting then the Witcher 1 in my opinion. This game is very action packed with decent RPG elements such as level ups, skill trees, side quests, and unlockable gear. Witcher 2 is very action packed and plays at a great pace with a ton of replay value. This game is easily on my top 10 pc games of all time to date.

96

FASCINATED , DEEP AND WITHOUT TABU

icnivadodranoel | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all icnivadodranoel's reviews »

Cd projekt have made a rpg faithful to the atmosphere of the novels of Andrzej Sapkowski without follow step by step the facts narrated in the books. This makes the work less constrained and more natural, in fact the game has different rules from a narrative text .

The story is partly controlled by the player, his choices alter the continuation of story, in Mass Effect style . Good crafting system , excellent secondary quests, which I recommend to better understand the main plot .

This is not the usual rpg, Andrzej Sapkowski has created a plausible world with real problems that have been partially reproduced in the video game . Fun gameplay, with some action elements .

Some commands start with a slight lag at times, you get used to handle it anyway. Amazing graphics. Great audio, I am referring especially to the various characterizations in the voice tones of each character.

There are some quotes from other literary works: 2 of the "Lord of the Rings"

Developers have put passion and it shows, it is a title that absolutely can not miss , you'll love it .

78

Dark, Realistic RPG Experience

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

The Witcher 2 redefines the RPG experience, bringing a mature, realistic approach by throwing you into the mind of Geralt once again. This time, however, the game focuses more on combat, ensuring the player has more freedom through his/her movements and that there's more variety in terms of attacks. From my experience with the game, I can highly recommend it due to the stunning visuals and unique, mature gameplay and story.

95

Simply amazing, I can't beleive I never played it sooner.

bullkrieg | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all bullkrieg's reviews »

This game is amazing.. one of the very few games I actually played all the way through and then immediately played through again just to see the other path. I'm still in shock I overlooked this game for so long, such a good well balanced game. Story is exciting, voice acting and characters are well done, doesn't feel like a fake ass bullshit story. Gameplay is fun, doesn't feel repetitive, there is good swordplay, blocking, magic, traps, thrown items, etc.. all combine to make a really deep battle system. Decent variety of monsters and human opponents, different tactics work well on different enemies. Really good levelling system that can completely change how combat is done. I can't believe I got this game for 5 bucks, after playing it I would have gladly paid much more. Highly recommend.

95

One of the best RPG:s ever made

Tomtekopf | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all Tomtekopf's reviews »

This must be one of the best RPG:s I've ever played. The story draws you in right away, the graphics are amazing as well.

While the first Witcher game lacked in the gameplay department, this one excels, it's very hard in the beginning, so finally a game with a proper challenge! When you finally master the combat system you'll really feel like a kick-ass witcher.

The world is semi-open and the choices you make in the game will dictate how the story unfolds (for real this time, not like in mass effect). The second chapter will take place in different places based on your choices in the first chapter.

All side quests are great except for three or four which are just about learning about a certain creature and then eradicating it. For example, one quest in the game really gives the finger against the "sweet innocent girl trope".

The lore is great and the conflict between humans and elves and dwarfs is really interesting and far from stereotypical.

This is a must buy, do NOT miss out on this one!

93

The Witcher 2 - mature and dark RPG

Kordas | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all Kordas's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is a bit like an oldschool RPG. But it's also influenced by how games look nowaydays and it's safe to assume that CD Projekt RED are very good at storytelling! Based on fabulous series of books from Andrzej Sapkowski the game really nicely shows universe of the Witcher and the adventure is awesome. Your choices matter, it's almost mandatory to play the game twice - because second chapter is almost completely different if you choose the other option at the end of the first chapter.

Skill tree is well-thought and although I was kinda disappointed by Alchemy tree that in my opinion was quite a bit weaker than Magic and Swordsmanship trees, it's really worth spending some time to think on how you want to divide the skill points. Gameplay is very good, combat is really intuitive and you have a lot of options: fighting with sword, magic, setting traps, throwing daggers and a lot more. Especially on the higher difficulty level you must always equip yourself probably: make and drink some potions and equip yourself with the best gear you have. It's just very rich game; world is a lot smaller than let's say Skyrim but it's really a lot more entertaining. Every hardcore RPG fan should check it out!

90

Dark fantasy RPG with perfect storytelling

davionc | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all davionc's reviews »

Witcher 2 is worthy successor to Witcher. Game evolved, preserved all the good stuff it had and improved in the rest. Witcher 2 is story-driven game, and thus you have to accept some restrictions (e.g forced choices) but nevertheless game allows to make vital choices which affect storyline. Storytelling is amazing, voice acting is beautiful. In fact voice acting was the most weak feature of Witcher, but in the second installment they (CDProject) hired professional team for it. Dialogues itself are very good if not perfect, characters are alive and remarkable. Character development is different from Witcher but its mechanic is very similar. It's pretty decent, allows to create different types of characters. Combat is huge improvement in comparison with Witcher. I think combat is the second thing that makes this game so great. The first thing is storytelling of course. Principles of combat mechanic in Witcher 2 is simple but hard to master. Game are unforgiving to player, slightest error and you are dead. You have to be very agile and attentive. In fact you feel kind of accomplishment to stay alive after each non regular encounter. Witcher 2 is definitly one of the best RPGs of last 10 years.

94

Mature RPG!

Shanti | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

This is definitely not one for the kiddies to play at leisure, there are numerous mature topics and scenes delved upon. The combat can seem very complex at first but will become fluid once you're a little further into the game. With the Enhanced edition you even get the tutorial, which just shows how much the company is willing to listen to customers and deliver free dlc. Visually stunning and a benchmark to consider all graphic intensive games by, the story and minor details are very intriguing and make for a comprehensive and gratifying RPG experience.
Any RPG fan needs to play this (while counting down the days to Witcher 3).

96

Unreal...

BavarianGod | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all BavarianGod's reviews »

The Witcher 2: The Enhanced Edition

The Witcher 2 was perhaps one of the most criminally overlooked games of 2011. With many RPG gamers looking forward to the release of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim this PC only release was lost in the hyperbolic praise of Bethesda's role playing juggernaut during end of the year awards. So, in 2012, CDProjekt Red has released an enhanced edition which hit the Xbox 360 making it the first entry in the series to grace a console and owners of the original iteration on the PC got all ten gigabytes of additional content for free. This content includes all of the patches which added extra quests and fixed a couple of questionable design choices, adds entirely new quests, and cut scenes to flesh the game's narrative out.
The Enhanced Edition opens with a rousing new cut scene depicting the assassination of Demavend, King of Aedirn. Upon starting the game the you take control of the witcher, Geralt, who is aiding Kind Foltest in a military endeavor to reclaim his bastard children. Success comes but the victory is short lived as Foltest is snuffed out and Geralt is blamed for his demise. From here the narrative takes off as Geralt hunts down Foltest's assassin simply to clear his name. Amidst the hunt for the assin of kings, political turmoil unfolds and Geralt seeks details on his lost love Yennifer. It's a top shelf fantasy RPG narrative. Its structured like a great season of a television show, there are three big narrative threads that are explored as the game progresses and narrative progression is steady for each thread. Like a television show, the game ends with some elements of the narrative resolved while others are escalating and awaiting a sequel. The world of the Witcher is dark and morally ambiguous which makes the element of choice the player us given extraordinarily satisfying. Making choices in The Witcher 2 is not about being a good witcher or a bad witcher, its about what you, the player, see fit to do. While Bioware's games are top notch, relegating in-game choices to a binary moral scale diminishes the impact of many decisions. Also the choices in The Witcher 2 do have an impact on the events of the game—a significant impact. A choice you make at the end of the first chapter completely changes your perspective on the second chapter. The quest line completely changes so you will want to play this game at least twice to get the full effect and, depending on how dedicated you are, maybe several more times.
The narrative plays out over a prologue, three chapters and an epilogue. The three chapters make up the bulk of the game and each is confined to a single location. There is no way to travel back to previous locations once the chapter concludes. The final chapter of the game is rather short though and it doesn’t seem as though there is nearly as much to explore compared to the previous chapters but it does host some of the best quests in the game. This is a narrative driven game and it wants you to move forward. Many players used to games like those in The Elder Scrolls or Gothic series may be upset by this but the narrative so greatly benefits from this rigid structure that it's hard to make a case for a more open format. Each locale is loaded with side quests and very few of them feel like obnoxious chores, a problem that palgues many other RPG experiences. The sidequests mix in some character development, world building and humor generally enriching the core experience.
There are two very compelling reasons (aside from the narrative elements) to do all of the sidequests in a location. The first is that resources in The Witcher 2 are very limited. Unlike most modern RPGs, you can't really grind for money. Reselling items, gear and raw materials nets such a small portion of the items original value that it's not worth doing for the sake of recouping your money. You will have to carefully decide what you can craft and what you should buy since simply buying the gear and items you want will quickly deplete your coiffures. The second reason to do all of those extra quests is to drink in the staggeringly beautiful world that The Witcher 2 offers. The Witcher 2 set a new graphical benchmark with its richly detailed and carefully crafted world. You really have to search hard for an ugly texture. Everything from the biggest building to the smallest environmental prop is detailed and rendered with care. One of the standout quests in the third chapter takes you to  a mage's laboratory that is filled with trinkets, equipment and murals. It's dimly lit, with sinister stones protruding from the walls. Not since being blown away by the pre rendered backdrops in Resident Evil 2 or Final Fantasy VII on the Playstation have I cared to drink in all of the details of a game's environment. Acquiring new armor is rewarding even if the stats aren't a significant improvement over what you have just because the detail put into it is so fantastic. It's a shame that the facial animations don't quite match the graphical leap forward. They are not bad but they are decidedly current gen in a game that otherwise gives us a glimpse at what we can look forward to visually in games.
Combat in The Witcher 2 has been massively overhauled from the first game. Geralt can lay traps, use rudimentary magics and is an accomplished swordsman. Even if you don't focus on leveling spell casting or using traps Geralt is still competent enough to make use of these abilities. Some will see the lack of opportunity to really build a Geralt to their personal style but it's as a consequence of the character's lore. You still place skill points in the appropriate trees to buff the abilities of your choice but you don't really spec into an archetypical fantasy class. When it comes to wielding his blades, Geralt has two swords, a silver blade for monsters and a steel blade for humans. He can parry and counter so timing your attacks in key. Certain traps are more effective for some enemies and magic is a mix of healing, buffing and attacking. It's quite a repertoire and you are left with no shortage of tactical options. Fortunately, a new tutorial was added to the Enhanced Edition to help players come to grips with Geralt's skills and abilities. One rather irritating quirk of the combat is the fact that Geralt can only use potions outside of battle so this can turn some encounters into a trial and error affair. You often have to fail in a battle to see what potions may be worth using. It never makes the game annoying... It just makes alchemy feel pointless. Combat requires some skill and forethought but shouldn't be too taxing to a competent gamer and generally proves rewarding.
To better showcase the combat the Enhanced Edition also includes an arena mode. This does a great job of mixing up enemies and provides a nice challenge. Those who take up arms in the arena and succeed will be rewarded with special gear. It's a mode that some will gravitate toward and others may ignore or simply not enjoy but it is a welcome extra and the rewards are worthwhile. Also included in the Enhanced Edition is a  short animated summary of the events in The Witcher which will certainly help players who didn't experience the first game catch up. Even if you fail to watch this the narrative stands well enough on its own.
The Witcher 2 was a great game with a few annoying flaws. The Enhanced Edition addresses many of these and goes above and beyond with meaningful new in game content. It's packed with new cutscenes and the new quests are some of the best in the game. The structure is rigid when compared to some other RPGs but it boasts a stronger, more direct narrative as a result. The ability to make choices in the game is enriching and adds tremendous replay value and the visuals will whet your appetite for what future games will look like. The combat is solid though the alchemy system is quirky to the point of being almost pointless. None of the flaws present will stay with you for long after you complete this game though. It's likely that you will be more concerned with what CDProjekt Red has in store for us in the next Witcher release.

90

Game of the decade

youarehit | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all youarehit's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is a very hardcore RPG, this will make you sink lots of time into this game. The main point of the game is the story that told in a very interesting way as it was based on a book written by an author. Though with every game there is a weak link in it which is the voice acting. Although to sum it up this game is without doubt a game to be played at least once. Though this is a for mature adult not for children.

86

A facinatingly dark RPG

Deadboy90 | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all Deadboy90's reviews »

While playing this game I was faced with something I have not seen in I don't know how long: moral choices that make it hard to be a good person. There are some obvious ones like saving some trapped villagers from pillaging soldiers but more difficult are choices like if you should let a vengeful spirit have his revenge on the men who tortured and killed him. Or whether to side with a band of murdering elves or humans who discriminate and torment them on a daily basis. This is a far cry from the usual RPG moral choices of "will you save the kitten from the tree or shoot it and smear yourself with its blood." I love this aspect of the game and these choices are easily my favorite bits.
Aside from that the game play initially appears deep but I guarantee it will always degrade into running up, striking an enemy once or twice, dodging away, rinse, repeat. Perhaps with a few magic spells peppered in if you are feeling fancy. The combat overall is functional but mediocre at best. The environments are pretty varied and pretty in general. CDProject really brought the best out of the DX9 engine but my play through I was hampered by stuttering despite owning a fairly substantial rig. Voice acting and the writing is good but not great.
Overall, I think I should be giving this game a lower score but for some reason I just cant bring myself to do it. I cant exactly put my finger on why I like this game so much but I will close with this: CDProject, ARRANGE FOR MORE AUTOSAVES! The most frustrating part of this game is playing for a while, getting overwhelmed by nekkers, and realizing that I just wasted the last hour of my life because that's when the last auto save was. I nearly threw my mouse at the screen the third time it happened but I stuck with it and I'm glad I did, The Witcher 2 is one of the best games of 2011.

98

Best Witcher game ever

spycid | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

The Witcher 2 carries forward everything which made The Witcher 1 a cult hit. The game has amazing combat, punishing enemies, a well narrated story and full of eye candy elements.

The game is well optimized on pc and the enhanced edition makes the combat even more smoother. Having multiple endings and crafting your own storyline as you progress through the game makes it worth playing again and again.

If you haven't played the game, then I must say you have been living under a rock. This is the best deal out there, go get it now.

100

Finally a real adult like rpg

AsmodeusSabrael | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all AsmodeusSabrael's reviews »

wow love the story, i know you cant choose your characters or explore too much in this game, but damnit it's beautiful, the main character is amazing, the acting, writing, wow. this isn't just a game to rush thru, if u take the time and listen to everything, and really play the game as it's intended you won't be let down. it's just like a damn good book being visualized. wow. i love the multiple choices to make that change your patch completely. There is violence, blood, nudity, and a fantastic movie like written story. they took their time on this and more games should be this in depth. can't wait for the 3rd installment. wow what an awesome multiple ending.

95

Game of life

daraya79 | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all daraya79's reviews »

Before Witcher 1 has been released I have never played RPG games. But I have read whole Witcher saga and I was curious how the game looks like. I've been playing first game for a half of the year and I was so absorbed that I haven't time for anything else. So when the second game has been announced I couldn't wait to play Witcher 2. I wasn't disapointed. Witcher 2 has all what great RPG game should have has. There is beautiful graphics, hard language, lot of nudity, love, betrayal, friedship, political dilemmas, monsters, blood, gore, ghosts, wizards... and beautiful sorceress. Playing Witcher 2 is like reading good book. You can't stop... And if You do, You can't think about anything else but when will You play again. The fact is that game is a little bit too short but 16 different endings, Dark Mode and Arena, force You to play this game for many many times. So take Your sword and go hunting to the forest. It's midnight.. It's about time... Let's hope Witcher 3 will be even better...

97

A witcher enhanced

MarcoCav | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

This Enhanced Edition is in effect the final version of The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. If you are PC owners and have not yet bought the role play of CD Projekt now you have no more excuses. This game is definitely one of the best experiences that you can experiment on this generation, thanks to history, settings, characters, freedom of choice given to the player on how to proceed and so on. I really few and marginal defects, including a combat system not really convincing, are not sufficient to undermine the quality of The Witcher 2.

97

Amazing

rjb789 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This is easily the best RPG game I have ever played and I have played a ton of games that can fit into the RPG genre such as all the fallout games and the elder scrolls games. Every aspect of the game is so well polished and extremely well produced that you can forgive all of the games small shortcomings and just get on with playing it. Firstly the graphics in this game are absolutely outstanding, they are incredible, I can't describe how good they are. The sound is also top notch with the voice actors in the game stealing the show. the music is also awesome. The fighting in the game is very good too and so is the story. If you like RPS games this is a must buy!

100

Wonderful!

Lasiu2 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Lasiu2's reviews »

I think The witcher 1 was my first serious game... I didnt like to play when i was young but never mind. Th Witcher 2 is freat continuation of first part. It made me fell like im backing to the roots of mt gaming history. Elixirs, magic, monsters etc. Thats it! Its great combination! One of the best RPG game i've ever played :D I think graphic is really cool, soundtrack is godlike and plot... What to say... Plot is even better than godlike. I always loved The Witcher for plot. Its really good hard work. I respect CD projekt for that a lot. Im proud that so awesome game was made by publisher from my country (Im from Poland). Im proud too because of how this game is famous now. Almost everyone knows The Witcher as a great RPG with super plot! Game got much better from the first part. Now its more dynamic and active. I really like the way this game is desgined and made. I give it 10/10 what means that you have to play this game!

95

RPG of the Year

CoillyZ | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

Wow. This is an amazing improvement over the first one. The combat in the first game was bad, almost to the point of unplayability. This improves it 100 fold. It still has a steep difficulty curve, but in a good way. The combat feels a lot more natural. And that's only the combat. The story is an amazing tale about Geralt hunting down an assassin.Pick this up.

100

Unprecedented Succes

Kelzhas | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all Kelzhas's reviews »

This game is in my opinion flawless. The combat system is engaging and fun, with tons of variety in the way that you approach it. The story is well told, and makes sure that it is you who tells it, since every single action you take, is going to have consequences later on in the game. The writing is stellar, and the voice acting, even though being the weakest link in the game, still is very well executed. If there has ever been a game that i would recomend. this would be the one, with its rich backstory, gorgeous visuals, attention to detail and mature approach to the general themes of the game.

10/10 must play!

87

Lives up to expectations

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I had heard about this game from many people online and how it pushes your gaming rig to the max and boy are they right. One of the better games to come around in the past couple years, an action RPG (which I love) with a mature story and gritty tone is right down my alley. One of the main complaints about this game was the combat system was too hard, especially for people who aren't used to it but I had no problem with it at all. For me, using a controller is the best and easiest way to play this game at least I enjoyed it more . The graphics are stunning and the game world is rich and large. The story will take over 20 hours to complete with every choice you make changes something in the story. Its not like other games where theres a good or bad choice, its all shades of gray which I absolutely loved about the game. The only complaint I have with the game is the ending, without spoiling anything it ends rather abruptly , clearly to set up another game which is what they are doing. Its certainly worth getting

95

Impressive RPG, smooth gameplay and a great story

Roryyyyyyyyyy | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all Roryyyyyyyyyy's reviews »

Although the gameplay is a lot different to the first instalment of the series, I was not disappointed. The combat is responsive and fast paced, making every fight an enjoyable experience. The combat takes a bit more thought as unlike in the first one, you have to take responsibility of parrying opponents attacks.

If you have not played the first one, there is nothing forcing you to. There are little, if any, unexplained occurrences. The story carries on from the first, but not to the point you are left thinking 'why the hell is he here' or 'who is this person they're talking about'.

The story is tweaked following your decisions whether to help different sides/factions making it enjoyable to play through more than once. The characters are all interesting with detailed back stories in which you can choose to find out about. For those who just want to play the game and don't care about the incredible and detailed lore, you'll be happy to hear you won't get that forced down your throat. All things like that are completely optional, and may also cut down your play time by a couple of hours.

There is an option to load a witcher 1 save, which starts you off with some extra money, and depending on your choices in the first game, there are some minor dialogue changes and some extra items.

The game is very rewarding; when you achieve something, you feel great about it, especially after some fairly challenging bosses. Not only are you rewarded for killing things, you are rewarded for preparations. If done right, you can make the bosses a great deal easier just by exploring possibilities.

I had great fun playing this game, on my third playthrough and I'm still finding new things. Definitely worth the small cost for such a masterpiece.

90

Wonderful RPG

aznsnsn | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

This game reminds me a lot of Fable. The fighting system is smooth. One of the things that is annoying about this game is how the beginning is ridiculously more difficult than the end. The graphics are stunning on high though, but it will be hard to tell unless you happen to have a very very good graphics card. The plot line is seamless and with many twists that will keep you hooked. You could literally spend many hours trying all the quests, getting better weapons and loot, and having fun with the different spells. Gamers should really buy this game and try it out for themselves.

90

Mature gritty RPG

tojeto | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all tojeto's reviews »

Witcher 2 is definitely a must play RPG for every fan of the genre. Epic journey takes Geralt through many obstacles. Gameplay is excellent, although the fighting takes a bit of practice and for example potions can only be drank before the battle. Nonetheless it is a great game with very little quirks. Graphics are also great even on weaker PC. All in all if you are a fan of Witcher 1 you will also love this one.

I recommend it, these kind of games don`t come by often

98

Amazing RPG

crazywink | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all crazywink's reviews »

This game is seriously one of the best RPG i've ever played. This game blows Skyrim out of the water. The storyline is enthralling and the combat is amazing. It also feels much more catered towards a mature audience and not so much an "all age" RPG. I would definitely recommend picking this game up without hesitation. Looking forward to The Witcher 3!!

90

Excellent Game

iamkyo90 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Incredible game. I do not know exactly why, but it has something that captivates and you spend hours flying as you navigate the world of Temeria. I guess it's a little in the atmosphere, the maturity of the stories and pjs, I know, but it seems a high quality game, and also is replayable, since according to decisions you pull into a map or another and different missions. It is also a game that is not on many missions tells you what you must do or you mark any site, so you have to get you life and ultimately explore. The graphics and art design are impressive, the story (or stories), characters, exploration and combat, that although at first somewhat crude sinned controls, with the upgrade / expansion did was fix enough. It is an almost perfect play, and for me, along with Portal 2, the two best games of the last 5 years, no more and no men

90

A dark and foreboding world awaits

ryanclive | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all ryanclive's reviews »

I have played most of The Witcher 2 on my Xbox 360, prior to finally having a competent PC setup. Since then, I have bought this game again for the PC. That's how good this game is.

The Witcher 2 totally blew all my expectations. Having played the likes of Oblivion, Skyrim, Dragon Age, and a few others, The Witcher 2 is darker, more mature, and frankly, a bit better than the rest. The story is incredibly engaging, mixing parts of the whodunit formula, coupled with political intrigue, and you've got the perfect RPG story that will stand the test of time.

The combat is meticulous, and rewards careful players who prepare for every difficult encounter. Even more, as you discover more potion variants, you'll be able to take on more difficult opponents with ease, furthering the rewards for players who research the game's lore. It's all tied together by a cohesive experience, and is truly unique to The Witcher games (even the first game had these mechanics, but The Witcher 2 improved on these).

A highly recommendable alternative to the other RPG franchise giants, The Witcher 2 is fantastic. The Enhanced Edition furthers the game's potential with added content, game tweaks, and nifty bonuses that just sweetens the deal.

95

A World of its Own!

ctp94wakko | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all ctp94wakko's reviews »

CD Project Red knows how to do one thing right, and that's how to make an unforgettable gaming experience from start to finish. The Witcher 2 is stunningly beautiful, from dense forests to dwarven cities of stone. The Witcher 2's combat system is as smooth as a hot knife cutting through butter. The voice acting is brilliant and the character animations match their expressions perfectly. The game play is rather easy so a higher difficulty setting is recommended if players want to feel the challenge while playing. In the end, The Witcher 2 is a masterpiece that gets many things right and almost nothing wrong. This sequel is a must buy as it does everything The Witcher did, but way better!

94

Epic

nemesis44uk | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is one of the best games I have played and I've been playing a looooooong time.

An RPG of the highest order, TW2 is an adult, gritty adventure where even the protagonist's ethics are shady. Superb voice acting and motion capture helps immerse you in this beautiful, dangerous world.

It isn't all fairy dust and dragons, though. There is fairly graphic sex and nudity as well as a sprinkling of salty language. Tough decisions are made and consequences faced as a result of those decisions.

Graphically, the game is gorgeous - even on a modest system, the world looks and sounds beautiful.

Faults are few, but if I had to find fault with the game, it is that there is often no notice of an impending boss battle, so you do not have time to prepare for it with potions and buffs.

Minor quibbles aside, stop reading and buy this. You can thank me for it later.

95

Perfect 'mature' RPG

TheImpZA | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all TheImpZA's reviews »

The games graphics are beautifully rendered and will put your GPU through its paces. The only thing I could complain about is how the shader sometimes causes lines on people’s faces, that said it’s not very obvious and most people probably won’t even notice it.

The soundtrack is brilliant and the dialog is just as good, but as most will already know is for mature audiences only cough plough cough.

The mechanics of fighting was nothing spectacular but it worked well enough, the game seems to reward thinking and planning your more difficult battles beforehand with the use of potions and traps, I found the battles initially more difficult than most RPG's but after a while it was easy enough and I died very seldomly from chapter 2 onwards.

The story, this game has one of the better story lines have experienced in a RPG for a while, it left me wondering what was going on politically and was not predictable like most RPG's I was left satisfied by the end result and the choices in the game made me actually sit back and weigh out the possible outcomes. The only thing I could complain about was that at times I felt like I was thrown into the deep end as far as geography and characters are concerned , although this can also be seen as a good thing since it makes you read and get more into the politics character and overall world of the game.

It’s definitely worth playing if you're a fan of RPG's

85

The Witcher II - review

balbo79 | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

The plot of the witcher 2 is very deep and often amuses the player, the plot picks up where it had been left in the first chapter: Gerald will be on the trail of a regicide responsible for the death of the king of Temeria, and of other kings, you will encounter several characters already present in the first chapter along with other new ones. From the point of view of the gameplay the game has had several improvements such as the first difference you will notice the style of fighting that this time is a bit 'more action than the classic rpg, someone might not like this news. A negative note concerning the freedom of movement, although initially the environment may seem vast, little by little you will notice that it is not so, unfortunately forget to find yourself in big cities like in the previous chapter, in fact, the game will take us in different places of various kingdoms, but in any case you can not travel freely throughout the kingdom as in the series of the elder scrolls for example, and often you will deal with small villages around with some wood but of limited size.

88

Great mature RPG

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Excellent graphics, excellent gameplay, compelling story. It just hurts when you are a gamer with so many games and you can't put the time into a game that truly deserves it to fully comprehend and control.

86

Decent game,but you feel the love.

WildWest123 | July 11, 2013 | See all WildWest123's reviews »

This game,for me,wasn't the BEST RPG experience ever,but you can feel how much effort and love the creators put into it,and just for that,the game is worth it,also its one of the highest quality products iv'e witnessed anyways,with beautiful graphics.now with an editor,worth to get at today's price!

95

Truly marvelous

Yet91 | July 3, 2013 | See all Yet91's reviews »

I actually bought this game to "try it out", turns out is one of the best games i have ever played, maybe it starts slow but once you get into the game is really something.

TOTALLY RECOMMENDED

Cheers

90

Rich story RPG

lok0812 | June 21, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is by far one of the few RPG with rich storyline and visual to date. The game continues from the first installment and as the sub titles of the game describe, the king is assassinated and you need to track down the real culprit who framed you. The visual of this game is top notch and really require a strong computer to enjoy it. Combat is a big improvement from the first entry instead of timed click you just need to spam click now. Crafting, magics, skill trees are in the game as well for you to build your own Geralt. The game packs a lot of playability through story branches and different decisions as well as numerous amount of different endings. Must get for any RPG fans but do make sure your computer can handle this.

92

Great RPG, hours and hours of fun

Bbozmen | June 17, 2013 | See all Bbozmen's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is en enormous game with hours of gameplay. There are multiple choices you can make in the game which makes sure you'll have a new experience everytime. I've read that there are 21 DIFFERENT endings so this game has a huge replayability. The visuals of this game are immense. My computer has a hard time keeping up with the visuals (GPU: AMD HD6870 CPU: AMD Phenom X4 955BE) but even on medium/high it's just beautiful. This game has a good story, which is easy to follow. Lots of quests to complete and a huge area to play in. The only downside of this game in my opinion is that you don't have free roam. You can't go back to the first phase of the game when you enter phase one. BUT every phase has a giant map to play in so it does play like a free roam.

99

One of 2011's best RPGs

InsaneHien | June 14, 2013 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

To be honest, I have never heard of The Witcher and its sequel until last year. Since I had a big interest in Action RPGs, I decided to pick this up to see what made this game so great.

First time playing the game, I noticed the graphics looked absolutely stunning. Textures look detailed, and the whole world just looks excellent. Everything is lovely at 1080p.

The combat is very solid. Although it's hard to master and requires skill, there's a tutorial for newcomers of the game. From sword fighting to magic spells, it fits really well for a game like this.

The story is pretty interesting. You play as Geralt of Rivia, one of the last remaining witchers. He welds two swords and magic abilities. You'll also meet other characters like Triss Merigold as the story unfolds.

Overall, everything is wonderful. Plenty of hours can be spent on The Witcher II. If you are a fan of action RPGs, I would recommend this game.

70

Enjoyed it, but not feeling the hype

cevana | May 26, 2013 | See all cevana's reviews »

I really enjoyed Witcher 2. The art is gorgeous, the dialogue is pretty snappy, and it completely held my attention while I played it. Plus I have nothing but praise for CD Projekt as a company!

But it really am not feeling the levels of love it has received from most corners. In my experience, it is a pretty standard, if well-done, action RPG. Geralt is not such a subversive and revolutionary anti-hero in my opinion -- off the top of my head, even Final Fantasy VI had more equally morally ambiguous characters. Nor is his story on the par of something like Game of Thrones in its brutality and drama (a comparison I have heard made). It's more along the lines of standard Dungeons and Dragons fare.

The gameplay flows well (you really feel like you're swinging those twin blades) and can be refreshingly unforgiving. But even with all your magic tricks, the core mechanics really boil down to 'dodge>attack>dodge>attack' etc.

There's nothing so wrong with Witcher 2 that I would suggest you avoid it. But neither is there anything so new, or amazingly well done it it that I would recommend it above any other well-made action RPG.

95

The RPG You're Looking For

Norriven | May 15, 2013 | See all Norriven's reviews »

Breathtaking graphics and a solid storyline make this one of the greatest RPGs of all time! Wonderful list of interesting characters that ranges from sexy sorceresses to powerful and mysterious assassins. A new leveling talent tree spices up the path you will take in developing a skilled witcher. Skilled voice acting that has passed from the first installment keeps you feeling familiar with the world's inhabitants. Sounds including environment, combat, and music make the game feel alive. Cinematics show the vast work and detail that has been put into building a universe. Large scale boss encounters give you a sample of the true strength that a witcher wields. Combat requires skill and intuition, along with a little patience. Difficulty is a bit unfair during the beginning chapters, but evens out gradually as you advance.

93

Great Improvement Over Sequel

GarryJones | May 15, 2013 | See all GarryJones's reviews »

After playing both of the Witcher games I am pleased to say that:

The graphics are superb! Extremely bright and vibrant colours really help to immerse myself within the game world.

The game-play and narrative is fantastic. Throughout the game you feel like you understand and can relate to the scenarios which enriches the game play experience.

The overall build for the PC version is solid and robust. It seems to work on all my systems (high and low end) which makes it a great flexible game as I can play it on the tube on my laptop!

I would recommend this game if you enjoyed the first one.

98

Perfection, that all RPGs should strive to and learn from

Pilgrim6 | May 14, 2013 | See all Pilgrim6's reviews »

I, too, have never played Witcher 1. So it took me some time to actually get to play this game. Sweet mother I was surprised by the fact of what I've missed.

You play as Gerald of Rivia, professional beast hunter with magical abilities and a rather scary and mysterious past.

Where to start. The game is a magnificent combination of great combat (and rather hard that is - in a positive way), RPG elements and what's most entertaining for me - the way storyline works and unfolds. The story spreads like a tree and your decisions thus matter and have impact on the game and your progress through it. Another matter is that Witcher 2 is a feast for your eyes. The Red Engine really does it's work. The game looks simply terrific.

Falling in love with some of the protagonists, literally (Triss Merigold I am looking at you) and bromantically (Zoltan and Iorveth), isn't hard. Their characters are portrayed carefully and thus they are very believable and feel natural and unique.

The only thing I might complain is a fact that games difficulty fluctuates a lot during the game's length but I find it hard to even mention it.

Once I was done, my brain was yelling: "Give me another Witcher!" Wish that I will apparently be granted since Witcher 3 is coming! Can't wait to continue the story of Geralt of Rivia.

97

A testament that good devs/publishers still exist

Infiltrator | May 14, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Okay so take Dragon Age 2, then throw it out, burn it, and imagine from scratch a game that is not only good, but amazing, which is basically the complete polar opposite of Dragon Age 2. Then make that game real, and make it even BETTER, then lace it with gold and coat it in chocolate, and make it taste better than french vanilla ice cream with Reese's hard shell topping on it, but with like no calories and it actually makes you SLIMMER and gives you ABS. Now forget about all of that because no language has any words to describe how good The Witcher 2 is.

100

Best RPG of 2011 parallel with skyrim

yaswanth | May 13, 2013 | See all yaswanth's reviews »

This is not a game where you have character creation,open world, good and bad choices, etc but what does it have? well every thing else. Witcher 2 story revolves around a predefined character Geralt having great story telling to meaning side quests. There are no moral choices here, you get to pick the sides based on your own opinion which drastically changes the ending. witcher 2 provides 16 endings featuring 4 major endings.

Apart from game CD project is the best company I know and our gaming industry needs these kind of developers.

90

Amazing Devs. Amazing Game.

UltraJake | May 10, 2013 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

It looks like CD Projekt RED is almost ready to release their official modding tools to the community. This is with The Witcher 3 on the way, which is quite noble of them. As for the game itself, for $20 it is undeniably worth the price. They game allows for flexible play and there are multiple endings. (And no give me the ending buttons in sight!) The combat is quite simple at first, but as you increase your abilities with mutagens and get better at the game itself, you can start countering enemies, using magic, placing traps, dodging and jumping, etc... The combat could still be improved, but I don't think many RPGs are known for their amazing melee systems, so this should be expected to an extent. The game is beautiful and so is the sound. This will be one of the benchmark games for years to come.

95

Spectacular

ROKET | March 31, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I bought this game knowing it had not only been improved but also that it was one of the best RPGs every made. It took a long time for me to get to the game and even longer for me to take the time out to finish it but never have I been so engrossed and pleased with a game like this - it was literally the best thing I played during all of 2012.

Story: The story in the Witcher 2 is nothing short of wonderful. Its deep, its clever, and its engrossing. The nonlinear build and branching conversations make for one hell of a ride and ensure that you play entirely your way. The game is broken into 3 Acts and is paced with the gamer in mind. The first Act introduces you to all of the games mechanics and provides a detailed introduction to the story. The story is also very grizzly and isnt afraid to throw a curveball or two just to keep you on your toes. Its wonderful. It gave new meaning to the RPG for me.

Gameplay: You'll notice right away that the game plays a bit different from the first one. You dont have the click timed attacks of the first game but instead gain a sort of intensity as you attack. The game feels more like an action game than before and you feel several times more mobile than you did before. You also have a new skill tree and a slightly different alchemy and crafting system. I really liked it and found the game to be very nice and challenging.

Presentation: The game is GORGEOUS. I cannot emphasis this enough. Its beautiful and runs wonderfully. Get SweetFX loaded and bam...theres nothing like it. It also runs more smoothly with SweetFX installed. Some complain about the number of cutscenes in the game but I dont know how else you could have delivered such a good story. I really liked the cutscenes and all or most were rendered in-engine. You also have SPECTACULAR voice acting.

The game is currently in version 3.4 or so and it shows. CDProjekt Red really did well by its fans. Theres nothing like this game anywhere. Its beautiful and I really learned to love all the characters.

95/100

95

Deep RPG

Jorgel | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

First of all, the The Witcher was a great game. It brought a whole new RPG universe with aspects and innovations that was not explored before: the history was great, the decisions weren't merely manichaeistic and in some scale were more mature and deep than others RPGs, as well as some new mechanics or some others different from another games, the potions, for example. The Witcher 2 brings back all this elements but improved it even more: the graphics are great, the gameplay, especially in combate, is more fluid and the trama is still amazing and appealing. There are some problems in the interface and gameplay thought, but this not keep it from been one of the best RPGs in the last years

95

One of the best RPG's ever made

Stebsis | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Witcher 2 is, without a doubt, one of the best RPG's made in this generation along with Dragon Age: Origins. I didn't play Witcher 1, but I got the hang of the plot quite quickly because it's mostly its separate story. Witcher 2 definitely isn't a game for children, this is a real mature game that doesn't shy to show even the ugly side of things, there's nudity, executions and all that kind of stuff. As for the main character, Geralt: he's boring. Really boring. He never changes his monotonous voice and he's not particularly interesting character, but he's not bad, just bland. The gameplay is one of the best parts of the game aside story, it's fluid and though it might seem like your typical hack and slash, it most definitely isn't at least on the higher difficulty setting. You really need to think ahead, plant traps. Drink potions that enhance your health regeneration, sword skills and so on because you can't drink them in the middle of the battle. You need to use magic, or "signs" as the game calls them, to shield you from damage, get distance from targets. blast them with fire or couple others useful signs. I'd call it tactical action and not hack and slash, you really need to be prepared to face a group of 4 or even 3, they will overwhelm you quickly if you're not prepared. Graphics are superb, especially the forest in the beginning of the game, the sounds, the look of it, it all makes it feel like a real forest full of life, birds etc. Story is very interesting, you need to decide between two sides and take part in a powerstruggle, it gets really political and remains interesting, but the main goal is to find the kingslayer who framed Geralt of killing a king. Geralt is now hunted man and he tries to clear his name. Choises you make have real consequences, especially towards the end your choises start to show. All and all, Witcher 2 is really, really great game, if you like RPG's, good story telling and intense combat, there's no reason to pass Witcher 2. Just be prepared to have pretty powerful PC to run it on highest, the game looks just beautiful then.

92

A Role-playing experience well worth the challenge and time

ButLeer | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all ButLeer's reviews »

Unlike a lot of modern "rpg's", the Witcher does not call itself a role-playing game solely due to having a rudimentary status screen where you can upgrade skills and abilities.

It carries the title of being a role-playing game with its deep and complex story, where your choices matter both little and much. You every choice has consequences, but are you willing to live with all of them?

The combat has been revamped from the previous game, moving forward from a rudimentary timing-based clicking game where you stood by and watched the fight into an exhilarating and balanced battle of strength, wit and magic.

Step into the shoes of Geralt of Rivia and experience the rich kingdom of Temeria where elves, dwarves and humans all struggle for daily survival!

100

Cruel world

xydanus | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is cruel game. And it is the very best thing of it. Finally videogame for adults. The Wither contains violence, blood, cruelty, brutality and sex. Of course player is the one that chooses what really happens in the game. My point is that player really can do what he/she really chooses. Story is the main reason to why I enjoy this game.

Gameplay is very different from the first Witcher and that is a good thing. Gameplay feels more freely and advanced than before. Also camera is way better.

100

A great sequel to a great RPG

lushteinas | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all lushteinas's reviews »

The Witcher 2, a sequel to one of the best RPGs of the last decade, which in itself is a sequel to a great book series about Geralt of Rivia, is a dark fantasy action RPG. It also is one of the best looking PC games ever released. The story and writing is one of the strongest in the genre. The atmosphere - well made. The gameplay is fast paced and the game is quite hard if you choose your difficulty correctly. Every small detail just shows how much did developers loved recreating the world of Sapkowski's books. As a fan of RPGs and great literature there is no way to not recommend this game.

95

First thought when you see the game: WOOOOOOW!!!

abelfs | Dec. 17, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

After 60 hours played and 2 times finished. I can guarantee that this is one of the best role games ever (die of envy, JRPG!!!). There are several choices that will change the plotline, but unlike Mass Effect, KOTOR or Dragon Age; you will not make decisions by yourself. There are not good or bad solutions, there are Geralt's solutions, based in what would he do, perhaps you will not agree with the possible paths, but you are not the center of attention, and that is something that gives its own personality. The combat system is superb and the graphics are...........buffff, how can I say it: AMAZINGORGEOUTSTANDING!!

90

Good game!

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

When I played the Witcher last year, I was really hoping it would get its proper sequel. So as soon as this came out I instantly bought it and never regretted my purchase. The game is simply amazing. The combat is alot better than in the first game, the quests are deep along with every characters and in general, it is one of the best RPG that you can play on the market right now. Needless to say, just trust me and BUY IT!

93

An original RPG with an original atmosphere!!

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Except the storyline, this sequel has few aspects in common with the first part. The RPG mechanics could be the same: You earn XP defeating enemies and completing missions in order to level up, and then use a skill point you earn to learn and improve abitilities. The rest is completely different: A combat system based on a good beat em'up game; a new graphics engine that provides one of the best benchmarks; a story and atmosphere that accurates the original books (yes, I read them too), etc.

100

Very Good!!!

Bolo | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Most briefly saying - the best Polish game and simultaneously one from best RPG'ów in history. Brilliantly told story, unattainable graphical cover, games requiring the attention and the thinking, the high, but intelligent level of difficulty (of course persons not liking greatest challenges will also find the mode for themselves), from it the completely fantastic soundtrack ization. In the game the most a climate and a plot moved me, but it isn't possible to pass by indifferently great carried out above questów, the system thought over of the fight or other virtues which I listed. Genius in one's kind, classic which they will be mentioning talking about ideals at comparisons to other games. I RECOMMEND!

93

A game you just have to experience

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

One of the best RPGs I've ever played. It's a shame it had to end. My thoughts:

I loved the graphics (all the details and the way the game looked). I loved the steep learning curve, making combat rewarding. I loved the length of the game (wish it was longer). I loved the voice acting. I loved that it wasn't 100% linear (I'd say 75% open, 25% linear). I liked the fact that some quests sent you into the right direction from the start and others you had to discover by yourself (no hand holding). I disliked the ending (no, I won't spoil it). I hated that it ended. And I wish an expansion comes soon, or that they're working hard on The Witcher 3 already.

Everyone should own this one, yes, even for €50 !

94

My opinion of The Witcher 2

pcgfng | Sept. 7, 2012 | See all pcgfng's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is visually beautiful from the start to finish, adopting a vibrant palette of colours instead of the typical grim/earthy colours to convey mood. Another aspect that the Witcher 2 has chosen is combat, you cannot make/drink potions during combat therefore requiring you to plan ahead. Combat can be challenging as you will rarely succeed from a straight on attack. You can choose which skill tree to adopt, though you won't have enough points at the end of the game to master all the skill trees so you need to decide whether you wish to be a master of one or two skills or be a balanced out character.

The single player has a rich story which will require you to make difficult choices, one of which will give a significant outcome fairly early in the game. Characters are wonderfully modeled, animated & voice-acted that adds to the beauty of the game.

If you've played the first Witcher game, your choices are carried over in Witcher 2. Witcher 2 is an extremely good game that anybody with a craving for a rich & fulfilling RPG experience should not pass on.

91

Best rpg in the last years

Xibalba | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

well-constructed story with a mature plot. you choose your own path, and your actions determine the plot of your adventure. Depends on your choose during the game,you can complete different missions and location. The graphic engine are awesome but require a good graphic card. use the witcher's gadgets like two sword. one for men the other for monsters, alchemy for buff your characteristics and traps, bombs for kill the abomination hidden in the kingdom of Temeria

97

Simply amazing!

thewhitewolf | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all thewhitewolf's reviews »

This game will absolutely blow your mind, its combat is great, improved a lot since The Witcher 1. But not just combat, everything else has improved too, the story which is incredible, the graphic, the gameplay, the quests, everything. Exploring Geralt's world has never been so exciting. The places you find, gear and quests are all great. You have a lot of different choices to finish quests, which will sometimes lead you to an entirely new location which you will only see in the current playthrough, you would need to start a new game again to find out other locations , quests, characters etc, so the replay value is high. All in all, you definitely need to play the game yourself to experience its wonders, since words can't describe how fun this RPG is. The only bad thing about it that was a bit annoying is that the import save from Witcher 1 option doesn't really affect much in Witcher 2, but its still an amazing game that you simply have to play.

98

A wonderful RPG

Zinzun | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Witcher 2 is simply the best RPG of the decade.You have absolute control on every choice, and choices modify the story so you can create your own path. The combat system is much better than the first game, now is a very "action" rpg. Plus, with the 2.0 version you can obtain for FREE all the DLC CDProject released. Graphic is stunning, soundtrack is amazing, everything in this game is simply perfect.

97

One of the best RPG ever made

panz3r88 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is a great action RPG , deep and with an amazing story. The best element of the game is that when you make a choice, you can see the consequences after many hours of gameplay, so you must always think well how to answer to a certain character or perform a certain action. This system allow to have a good replay value, also because a certain choice will even change part of the game. The combat system is spectacular, but not perfect: you can combine weapons, traps and the magic of signs to defeat your enemy, but the targeting system doesn't work really well. The alchemy and the enhancement given by the potion you can create are not so important like in the first Witcher and you can finish the game without using them. The story and the various character you will encounter during the game are really interesting and the best thing is that it's hard to understand always is someone is the good or the bad guy: this interesting aspect of the game allow to increase the difficult in some quests when you must make a choice that can turn hostile to you an other character

93

Excellent RPG

bokapo94 | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all bokapo94's reviews »

Great well-constructed story. You choose your own destiny, and your actions determine the path of your character. Depends on the path you chose, you would have to complete different missions. One of the best fighting system I have ever played where you can't just solo 10 enemies at the same time like in Batman: Arkham city. You have to know weaknesses of each enemy you face, and know how fight him or you would get owned. The graphics are outstanding. A not really big map, but full detailed. Excellent game, totally worth it. You will have lot of fun.

100

Polish, brilliant game!

maciej2601 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

The Witcher II is a wonderful role-playing game set in a world created by Andrzej Sapkowski. Wonderful locations and animation, beautiful graphics and ... Triss :). Poland acquitted herself very well creating this game because you have 100 points. Congratulations!

92

A Fantastic RPG

EneSanyi | July 25, 2012 | See all EneSanyi's reviews »

The Witcher 2 is a really good RPG where your choices highly changes the end of the game. Geralt is a Witcher so your main activity is slaying monsters and helping people for money, of course. The graphics is amazing. There are 3 chapters in the game, which I think are short for such a good game. The Witcher 2's true strength is that you make the end of the game with your choices not like Mass Effect 3's colorful ending. The combat is good but on normal it's little bit hard. It's very important to say that CD Project Red gives a lot of extra palpable content to the costumers of the Premium or Enchanted (CD Project gives the contents of the echanted edition free to the normal edition's buyers) editions, what you can get for the price of a new game without extra features.

97

Where your choices truly matter

Cynaris | July 19, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Witcher 2 is a very layered, complex game. Your character might not be user generated, he might not be tailored for every individual, but in the end, it really pays off. This is the second "adventure" of Geralt of Rivia, a monster slayer, who also serves as a lesser evil. Most people hate him, despise him, but he's the best at what he does, so people still end up turning to him with their problems, because he's not as much a monster as those he needs to kill.

The game is a very traditional RPG, with great focus on preparation, precision, timing. Geralt has a wide variation of skills and "magic" at his disposal, as well as traps, potions, and both a silver and steel sword, chosen aproppriately on what he's fighting.

The story is simply great, with twists and turns, choices, that truly matter (your ENTIRE Act 2 can be different), guaranteeing you want to play the game through at least 2 times. It involves politics, sexuality, has an overall dark mood (which is expected from a title originating from a dark-fantasy novel), it is made for adults, by adults. You can do your usual sidequests, but you won't find all of them instantly for sure.

The landscapes are outstanding, and the game is possibly the best looking one to date, the engine is scalable, but do expect to invest heavily in a strong PC to be able to run the maximum settings. Soundwise the game is also doing great, both in terms of voice-acting, and musical score.

Highly recommended title for everyone. No DRM to worry about either.

95

fun times

acetrainer | June 15, 2012 | See all acetrainer's reviews »

This game is an accomplishment of gaming. Arguably possessing the greatest visuals of any game ever before. This is truly a game that everyone should at least try.

It offers fantastic voice acting, and an incredibly detailed and original story. The moment you step out of your tent at the beginning of the game, the expanse you see before you is truly a sight to remember.

Completing the first witcher game is not a necessity to enjoy this game at all, but i would suggest it as the first game is fantastic as well and gives you some background knowledge of the world and characters.

But if you want to jump straight into Assassins of Kings, CDprojekt have created the start of the game that caters to both new and returning players to the series.

91

Better than Mass Effect 3 and Skyrim for me!

acare84 | May 25, 2012 | See all acare84's reviews »

I bought the Withcer 2 at release and was enthralled with the story, setting, and style, but frustrated with the combat. Now in the Enhanced Edition, combat and numerous facets have been tuned to perfection. But it's not all tweaking. Some of it's genuinely new content. How many developers are stilling enhancing their game for free a year after it's release? It's clear CD Project really care about this game.

The Witcher 2 is more epic than Skyrim, and more narratively gripping than Mass Effect 3. Between the companies care for players and the game itself, this is a strong example of a game done right. Suppor the company. Support the game. Support PC Gaming done right. Buy this game.

79

Good but..

silkgmg | May 10, 2012 | See all silkgmg's reviews »

.. whislt I did play and complete the game in it's full, I can't say I had any moments that I'd be able to pluck from memory and say "wow, that part was great!". The whole story played out to me like an above average tale, with above average gameplay and average combat. Point in case I completed it twice but remember very little.

Combat was the biggest shortfall for me, it felt clunky.. not as bad as Skyrim's combat but a million miles off the likes of KoA. I remember one particular boss fight where I was frustrated that I had to keep swapping sword types as part of the battle mechanic, yet struggling because to fluidly switch weapons is simply not a part of the game even though this fight demanded it. Every time I made the switch it was hit and miss as to whether it would actually switch - since a plethora of moves or dodges (also requried for the fight) would cancel the weapon switch.

A weapon switch is the simplest of things, it should be nearly instant and override any existing commands. I felt it a very sore point in an otherwise acceptable combat system.

I do feel the game has been overhyped a little, but regardless it's a solid RPG with goergeous graphics and worth your time if you need a meaty adventure.

90

Awesome game.

scottnat | April 15, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

Still a ways to finish - is vying for time with Elder Scrolls 5 atm - but loving it thus far. Stunning graphics. In particular real effort has been applied in the textures. Probably the prettiest texturing of any modern PC game i can think of - and some lovely use of bold colours to. One for high end graphics card owners to really show off their system.

Excellent story, as it should be with all the original novels source material to create the world. Very well paced to, so far. Word of warning, adult content - some nudity etc.

I'm still not quite completely convinced about the combat, and camera angles can occasionally be troublesome if enemies are swarming you, but those are pretty minor niggles.

Highly recommend it. Oh, and probably a few extra points for the integrity of the games makers. Out of their way to provide for customers, not the least of which is all the extra free content they're on the verge of releasing (enhanced edition upgrade free via ~10 gig patch).

90

A breath of fresh air in CRPG genre.

nele25 | Oct. 18, 2011 | See all nele25's reviews »

An excellent game, and one of the best RPG experiences I've played since PS:Torment.

Great graphics, with good story to hold you in. If you were deeply disappointed with DA2, you won't be disappointed by this.

Combat does have a bit of a learning curve. You won't get away with simple hacking and slashing, as such more tactical approach and thinking ahead is needed.

A living world where your choices do make differences. You can import your saves from the first Witcher game, which would affect how NPC react to you (and who are alive).

Highly recommended game to any CRPG fans, CD Project knows how to treat their PC gaming fans right and deliver splendid gaming experience. I wish there were more games like this.

98

One of the best games of 2011

stupidanacrox | Oct. 15, 2011 | See all stupidanacrox's reviews »

Just finished The Witcher 2, I will replay it for alternative ending. Iorveth path was so much fun! Philippa is a great character and I can't wait to see her back in 3rd episode. Saskia story was really interesting and get all my attention. Geralt is always Geralt nothing else to say. He is great! He is my hero.

One of the best RPG I ever tried. If you like good story, amazing graphics and fun you have to give it a shot. This RPG is pure freedom you can choose your story and have a lot of fun try again what you have left beyond. Replay value is amazing!

90

Great story, great visuals, horrible ending

UltraGT | Oct. 13, 2011 | See all UltraGT's reviews »

A great sequel to a great game. The Witcher was a precious gem back in 2007, though a little flawed and corky. The second part has been vastly improved and really shines with the new CDP engine, showing some landscapes that will literally make you hold your breath just to appreciate the beauty of it.

The strong points of the first part are still there: great story, grey moral decisions, no shame in showing mature themes properly, great atmosphere... The main difference now is in the combat system, much more focused on action and skill but very dynamic and challenging.

The only downside for me was the rather abrupt ending: all the loose ends were closed in a hurry and the final battle was kinda anticlimatic. However, that won't be a problem for enjoying this wonderful game, now improved by the 2.0 version, which fixes all the remaining bugs and adds new content and difficulty modes. A must-have for RPG lovers.

96

Even better than the first game

Niko838 | Sept. 27, 2011 | See all Niko838's reviews »

I must say that I was extremely hyped when I first heard that CDP Red was making a sequel to The Witcher game. Graphically the game is quite stunning and well, everything is done better than in The Witcher. Some don't like the combat system and I was sceptical at first too, but now having played the game twice through I'm more accustomed to it. There are some minor gripes I have with the game such as the lack of a proper tutorial, though this is getting fixed in a few days or the length of the game which seems like it's shorter than the first installment, though you have to take into account the fact that you can and you should play the game atleast twice to get the whole story (won't go into too much detail as it might be considered a spoiler) but when the first and second playthrough gets combined I'd say the length is just fine. Overall, I'd say it's a real work of art, and I'm eagerly waiting for more stories of Geralt.