Reviews for Wasteland Angel

60

Repetitive, buggy, but still fun .

darkyhbk | July 6, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Wasteland Angel is a fun little game if you can get over the repetitiveness and some bugs that you're sure to encounter. Controlling a buggy from top down perspective in a post-apocalyptic world, you're tasked with defending certain outposts from waves of enemies. Their vehicles come either to fight you, or to kidnap civilians from the outposts. When destroying enemy vehicles, you get certain powerups or special weapons to use to your advantage : spikes, flamethrowers, mines, or even a small nuke. After two levels in which you defend an outpost, you get a bossfight, where you're told which special weapons to use in order to make him vulnerable. Very straightforward. Then you get a bonus level, in which you either race through checkpoints, survive against endless spawning enemies or destroy vehicles in order to add seconds to a timer. Same goes for all areas. If you don't mind some enemies getting stuck before entering the map, some turning invisible just staying there for a couple of waves, and some texture trouble, you can definitely have a bit of fun with Wasteland Angel if the game's idea appeals to you. It takes no more than 3 hours to complete it 100%, so if you can get it for a price cut, consider doing it.

82

Great Fun!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Not sure why the game was rated so harshly. I enjoyed playing it. It took me a while to get good at controlling the car, but once I got that down the levels are pretty challenging. The game plays like a driving shooter. Graphics are nice so are the guns. It's well worth your dollar and I've been playing it for hours on end. Once you start you really can't seem to be able to stop playing this thing! I'm glad I found it as I've never heard of it before. I highly recommend you trying it out, since it's very cheap for the quality you get!

60

Shortie, but goodie

Shav | May 29, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Wasteland Angel is one of the funniest indie games I played in past few months. Even though it is really short I had a blast while playing it.

It's a top down vehicular shooter with a sexy pin-up girl as a main character, set in post-apocalyptic world. You are defending towns from bandits, using variety of weapons. A nice addition to this game are few levels with FPP view, where you have to race through checkpoints or exterminate all the enemies.

While the normal price is a bit too expensive for a game that lasts for about 2hours it is certainly worth it to get it during some -75% promotions.

83

Race + Shots in a post-apocalyptic

espeditow | May 1, 2013 | See all espeditow's reviews »

Well, the game is simple you choose your difficulty level and so on, at the beginning I found through "discouraged" with the ease of the game, but the wire will start playing even saw that it was a great and super challenging pastime , this game has some of the genres most of grueling meets quality and even that belonging to a single producer could please me during 2 hrs and a half spent to finish it, but I did not stop here, the game still has a system score-board, where 'easily' can reach the top, only a simple condition, no one wants to miss a live game so the multiplier will always be high and consequently their points too, I highly recommend it for those who ta little bored tired of big franchises, it is ae: D

63

Repetitive after a few time

panz3r88 | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Wasteland Angel is a simple game , where you ride a vehicle and you must shoot to everything that moves using the weapon mounted on your vehicle. After a few levels the game become a bit repetitive and boring.

72

Warrior chick

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Wasteland Angel is set in a post-apocalyptic world action game with elements of arcade. The player takes the role of soldiering, which heavily armed and armored vehicle travels between distributed, human settlements. On the road are dangerous gangs, renegades and mutants. The game was produced by the studio Octane Games.

87

Great top-down car combat

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This is one of the best new takes on the ages-old formula of a bunch of heavily modified vehicles having it out on a battlefield. An interesting story is backed up by a quirky cast of characters and a unique comic book visual style of story telling.

You're essentially the female version of the Road Warrior, and fight to save small outposts from bandits and slave traders throughout the game, while pursuing the finale of the main story. The combat is fast and bloody, with multitudes of explosions, flips, skids, and crashes. The sounds are great, with plenty of gunfire and explosions to keep you hyped, and a rocking soundtrack that keeps things intense.

The bonus levels are pretty neat, and see you driving from a first person perspective into combat, where you'll have stuff to destroy, races to win, and things to jump. The game is around 4 hours for me, but those were a good four hours, and I'd gladly pay the same price again. Never once ran across any bugs, either.

68

Great game but short

Rubin1993 | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

Wasteland Angel is 2D top down arcade game. You are Angel and you must stop all wastelanders attacking city. The game is like tower defence but with no towers and only you have car and powerups you obtain. Mostly missions are about defending city, killing bosses and bonuses such as Frenzy (you must kill as much wastelanders as you can). Graphic is not bad. Gameplay is a bit repetetive. The game is not long. I completed the game and obtained all achievements in 3h ! I must that game is good but the price is too high for this game.

72

Top down killing galore

justing943 | Sept. 4, 2011 | See all justing943's reviews »

Easy controls, exploding vehicles all over the screen. It's all decent, but it feels a bit dry despite there being "kill" and "escort" missions etc., because each map is just wave after wave of vehicles with slight differences (some steal civilians, some shoot at you, some do both), and you get a final score after you clear all the waves. I would have liked to see a slightly more explorable world with less linear gameplay, but provided it's around the $5 mark, it's a worthy buy. Here's hoping Renegade Ops, released later this month, will fill the craving for more top down awesomeness this game has left me with.

63

Just like driving trough the wasteland

metalfreak | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all metalfreak's reviews »

Actually Wasteland Angel is not that bad but it's not that good. It could have been one really great post apocalyptic car shooter but it somehow just slipped away into mediocrity. Game is about a survivors of the WW3 and main character is driving around in her armored car and fights to protect the civilians from renegades, mutants and gangs, well that's not that original but but reminds a little of Mad Max and promises fun. Graphics are not that great but this is not AAA game and sounds are OK, not great but OK. What really breaks this game is it's level design, thing is that you fight on a map for 9-19 waves of enemies from a top down perspective and then the next level is that same map but in the night, this makes for pretty repetitive game-play, but after couple of maps you get to the boss fight which is little less waves and no civilians and for a last wave some big boss that has to be killed with a super weapon. For those of you that wonder about those bonus FPS missions they're a mixed bag, for one in those missions you still drive your car just like in the normal game but from a FPS perspective and have some objective like checkpoint race or just killing bad guys which can be really fun (when you blow up enemy car its driver becomes pedestrian which you can run over) but on the other side shows pretty low graphic quality. Graphics :60 Sounds :70 Game-Play:60

50

Order Renegade Ops Instead, Unless...

xorn000 | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all xorn000's reviews »

Mostly everything about this game feels generic and boring. It could be the unmotivated campaign, the somewhat small combat areas, or maybe even how the game looks like it was rushed to the shelf just to beat Renegade Ops by a little time. If you have credits and can get the game for cheap and want something to just pass some time, this may do it for you. Otherwise most of the game lacks redeeming qualities and hopefully further patching fixes the game. Control binding will be allowed in the future and things of that sort. I wanted to like this game so I will sit and wait to see what the patching does for it. In the meantime, I'd be better off playing something like Gatling Gears if I want a game like this for now. (Gatling Gears is pretty awesome since it has so much more of everything imaginable.) There is still potential for the game to bounce back to a decent player, it's all in the devs hands. Mindless car based shooting that wishes it was more fun.