Reviews for The Ball

32

Nice game concept

GabrielEmp | April 10, 2014 | See all GabrielEmp's reviews »

This is a great game.

Start with a puzzle game like Portal, where each puzzle needs to be completed before moving on. Then interlace the levels with zombies that are not terribly difficult to kill. At this point it is fresh and interesting, because the only game mechanics are pushing and pulling a giant ball. What truly makes this game shine are the boss fights that combine these elements into an exciting and challenging experience.

You've got a giant metal ball and a magnetic gun at your disposal, that only controls the ball. With this one mechanic, you face a series of increasingly-complicated obstacles. Also: undead zombies and mummies.

65

The both sides of The Ball

CriSilCart | March 5, 2014 | See all CriSilCart's reviews »

The story course is envelope, besides is innovator with the physics control and the environment interaction moreover than present a different story that can transport the gamer to that epoch. Is very challenging in the puzzle way and is entertaining that tie you to the character, and to the history. On the other hand the player sometimes lose the course of history because the game is not design in an intuitive form, and the IA of the opponents is not the best because it's common to see their fails and errors across the game, and was needed more history develop to make it popular and, maybe, to prolong the game to another prequel because is a very attractive idea

70

A good time waster

gforcesa | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

A good puzzle game with good graphics.The levels are really enjoyable and some are kind of tough to solve.The game wasn't that long which i didn't like.They could have done more with it but didn't.It does get boring at the end but it enough for one playthrough and nothing more.The game does deserve some attention considering its not your average puzzle game and is a good time waster.

82

Action packed!

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Action packed puzzle FPS with gorgeous graphics and unique gameplay. Beautifully rendered using Epic's Unreal Engine 3. Hopefully they add coop in a future update as that would be amazing. Definitely worth the purchase asking price of admission.

70

Really weird puzzle game.

FLD | July 7, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

On the surface, The Ball vaguely resembles Portal. It's a puzzler played from a first-person perspective and has you interacting with the environment through a gimmick item. But any similarities stop there. This is a different beast altogether.

It has a completely different tone and feel and the puzzles are actually quite different. Not as good as Portal. Not even close. But worth a look if you enjoy the genre.

76

A Great Mix but Concept Gets Boring Fast

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

The gravitational weapon that you get in this is lots of fun to use. Especially killing enemies with it. Using the weapon to manipulate the ball to kill my enemies gives me the same joy that I had the first time I played Trine and only killed enemies by dropping boxes on their head. The puzzle aspect is very unique and you have to find out how to get the ball to different places. There really isn't much of a story, the graphics and sound are decent so my only complaint is how repetitive the game ends up being. After a couple hours you really don't want to keep doing the same thing again and again. If you get this game on sale, it's worth the price otherwise avoid the full price.

60

Although the Idea is good, the game itself is not

Onefatcow | May 2, 2013 | See all Onefatcow's reviews »

The game is both boring and confusing, almost the complete opposite of what you would expect from the concept. The idea of having a gravitational gun and using it as a weapon sounds look a good idea, until you throw in a ball that you have to manipulate throughout the game. The problem being that lugging around the massive ball just isn't interesting. It gets extremely boring quickly and ends up being another game that tried hard to be unique, and ended up being flawed. Make no mistake, if this is your kind of game and you're fine with a bit of a slog, this game is still good, but for me it ended up being an irritating game with no clear purpose.

68

The Ball is just ballin'

DonVercetti | March 10, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

The Ball has a fairly high productionvalue for an indie game, It looks great and is a decent puzzle game with a quite original concept to it. However The Ball being the main-thing in this game, it does bring it's limit to the game. Puzzles and levels seem to get a bit repetitive after a while, It wouldve been a lot more awesome if there were different puzzle elements to this game. Nevertheless, it's a great game to toss some spare time into when bored!

81

A perfect mix

DukePaul | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

The Ball uses the Unreal Engine 3 and that gives to the game awesome graphics but the originality of this game comes from the physics of the ball that you will control wilth an antigravity device, you will use the ball to resolve puzzles and kill enemies, it reminds to the Portal games from Valve.

The dark setting and the design of enemies is very good and It gives to the game a mature look, for a first person shooter without guns, this is is a great achievement.

I think this game is a gem from Tripwire (the developers) and It deserves more attention.

75

A good puzzle game

panz3r88 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

The Ball is a puzzle game where you must use a metal ball to solve puzzles pressing buttons or to defeat enemies. The game is quite short and after some times it can become repetitive, but it's fun and sometimes you will find interesting logical puzzles

66

Could have been better

oginer | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

The premise behind the game is quite simple and original. You basically have some kind of gravitational weapon and you can control a big metal ball with it by attracting it or pushing it. It begins quite well as a good puzzle game but it gets old and frustrating very fast. The levels are quite boring and get very repetitive, and having to move the wall with your weapon all the time makes it frustrating.

Certainly not a game for everyone, but give it a shot since it's an interesting idea.

80

Interesting concept

sweetcuppincake | Sept. 28, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

In this FPS, you have no guns. There's only one object to control and it is your weapon and your shield. You control a giant ball that you can push away and attract. You use this to solve puzzles and fight hoards of undead creatures. There's nothing like sending your only means of survival out to attack and then running away from the remaining enemies until you can get it back. The story of the ancient civilization you've discovered unfolds if you can find the secrets hidden in the game. By no means is The Ball a perfect title, but if you're looking for something different from the standard FPS, this is worth looking into.

70

Interesting game

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

Its the first time I see a game like this so i cant really review it well. The game is very simple and you can easily play it. The enemies sometimes are fun to kill but it can a bit boring. The game is long ( 8 to 10 hours) and there is some replay value ( achivements/secrets). The graphics are great and the music is good too but it gets repetitive cause it plays over and over again. Good game if you are interested in playing new things.

72

Interesting concept, could be better used

CJV | Sept. 2, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

In The Ball there's basically only two mechanics, you can throw and attract the ball. That's it. You will use that mechanics to solve puzzles and to kill your enemies. It seems interesting and it is, in fact, enjoyable but it gets repetitive. That's my main problem with the game, it's repetitive. But it you don't mind that it's a perfectly enjoyable game, with some interesting mechanics.

78

The Ball - unique game

Rubin1993 | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

The Ball is a arcade mixed with puzzle elements. We don't know a lot of the protagonist but he is an archeologist. When he excavation encountered an ancient civilization. On the way he discovered useful tool. Tool which he discovered was the ball. Ball helped him survive against hundred monsters on the way and also was used for solving puzzles. The Ball is nice adventure but little short.

73

Unique title that draws you in

Cooberstooge | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

The Ball is everything an indie game should be: highly original, polished, and with a nice element of quirkiness. You will truly be thinking outside the box whilst playing this one.

The ball is both the solution to puzzles and the solution to monsters. Quite simply, it rolls over everything and gives no quarter. At the same time, though, it is also your best friend, since it's your ticket out of your predicament.

The game controls well, with fast response when needing to escape hazards and also to keep control of your round friend. Graphically, for what is a slightly older title at time of this review, it still looks great. Sounds and soundtrack suit well, and help keep your curiosity level up.

Aside from the levels, there's also Easter eggs to find in the form of a story of the lost world you'll be venturing into, gathered in bits and pieces. Hunting for these gave some added playtime to my game, and caused me to play through it an extra time to ensure I had everything.

Overall, I'd recommend this, but it is somewhat of a niche title, and as such, I'd take a peek at gameplay videos first to ensure it's something you'd like.

55

Unique But Boring

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

I bought this game a while back and just haven't had the heart to play it since I tried it the first few times. It has you using a special gun to push and pull a large ball around the maps to complete puzzles in order to progress. Once hostile enemies got introduced into the game I started losing interest. The ball doesn't always react in the way you want it to or expect it to, so as soon as these enemies come along you will find yourself dying as the ball hasn't responded in the way you wanted it to. It's not a terrible game, the soundtrack is nice, graphics are good and the atmosphere suits your environment. But it feels a little bland and boring at times. Honestly, I feel this game would have been better if it was purely a puzzle game with all the enemies omitted.

50

Not feeling it

hotmando1 | Sept. 8, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Game wasn't that great. Even though the pre-order for it gave a skin for killing floor: I'm afraid that's all it had going for it. It's a nice hack/slash/puzzle game, but it's slow and boring. Environment is pretty..bland. I did like the soundtrack..till it played over and over again. Plot..is pretty new but it's generic. If you know and read Indiana Jones: then you'll know the plot base. Controls are pretty hard too. Mess up once and it's all over. Thanks keyboard! you fail. An okay game, good for a sale buy.

77

Indiana Jones with a ball

guybrush77 | Sept. 6, 2011 | See all guybrush77's reviews »

We will be an archaeologist who gets into an ancient ruin and find a ball. With this ball we have to solve many puzzles (base game) and kill many monsters to uncover an ancient secret. Graphically, incredible (use the Unreal Engine) with an atmosphere very well made that at times make you feel a little scary. The campaign is an acceptable length, to which is added challenges and achievements to unlock. Highly recommended.

75

The Ball unique puzzle game

chetancs | Sept. 6, 2011 | See all chetancs's reviews »

The ball video game is one of the unique puzzle game. Environment in the game looks nice. Game graphics is also good. You will also enjoy the soundtrack in game. The controls are well suited for the puzzle game but has weak point is that when we need to response quickly those controls fails. If we ignore that fault then the ball game is entertaining in entire story. Solving puzzles in the game is fun. So according to me its must buy game for all.