Reviews for Dwarfs!?

73

Fun, for a while.

Whoritiquisha | July 12, 2014 | See all Whoritiquisha's reviews »

This game is the typecan play multiple times. But you can't play the game continuously. You have about half an hour to and hour before you get bored. But at least the gameplay is fun. They have different modes you can try out, different objectives, and tons of achievements!

80

Addicting and easy!

oipluckie | June 22, 2014 | See all oipluckie's reviews »

Just a simple game that can keep you busy in short bursts or for hours on end. The comical voice done by the one and only Simon is also an added bonus! It's not a game with an amazing storyline but something to pass the time. Give it a try if you find it on sale or give it a try now, it's worth it.

73

Simple and Fun.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all StupidMarioBros's reviews »

Dwarfs! What more can I say? Well, a lot actually.

Dwarfs! (Yeah, the ! is in the title) is a strategy game with a overhead view, even though you're underground, which makes no sense, but in a game like this, who cares honestly. The main objective is to try and get the most money, or the highest high score, which you do by making your little dwarfs dig for gold and other ores. With this gold, you can either save it up or buy more dwarfs (and other people, but ill get to that) to increase production. The last way you can spend money is by creating paths for your dwarfs to mine in. What do I mean? Well, basically, if you dont make paths for the dwarfs, they will just dig randomly, which obviously won't help. The paths cost a reasonable amount, which costs by block how far you make them.

The main objective, besides high scores, is to survive monsters, water, and lava. They all try to attack you home base. If it gets destroyed or flooded, the game's over. The combat is like this: The more a dwarf digs, the more he levels up, meaning more damage and other things. You can also buy guard dwarfs to guard your home, but that only beats monsters. The monsters are found in random chance caves, which basically work like this: You see a black cave, if your dwarf enters, it could be: A. Treasure B. Nothing C. Monsters, or D. Lava/Water, so you can bet it all for the money.

The other hazard is water/lava, which the tutorial teaches you how to stop. Basically it works like this: You can build walls to hold both back, but theres a catch: Lava can break through the walls, but water can't. To stop lava from flooding, you need to plant a bomb to make a hole for the lava to fall in and stop it from flooding, which is done by planting a bomb then sacrificing a dwarf.

That's the basics of the game, which may sound complicated, but it is very simple to pick up and play for me, but than again, I have played games like this before (Dig Dug, Bomberman).

Is this game worth the price here on GMG? Yes. Its only, as I write this, 2.49$, which is a great deal for this game that dives into a gaming genre not used very often. It's solid, and pretty fun to try and beat your steam friends in.

PS: Did I mention the Yogscast was in it?

75

Fun in short burst, but does not hold for a longer plays.

Mandemon | Feb. 21, 2014 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Dwarfs!? is one of those games where you are expected to lose and goal is not so much to achieve success, but to try to survive as long as you can.

Game does have single player campaign, but I never could get myself into it. I always preferred the time challenges, where your job is to survive pre-determined time. At the end, your score is tallied.

Game is played from top down and you have no control over your dwarfs. They go ahead and do their own thing, no matter how stupid or suicidal it is. This is actually not a bad thing, as the game is build around this. You can direct your dwarfs to a degree, by creating paths they can follow or building outpost for your military dwarfs to guard.

However, that is largely where your control ends.

You start in the map, with only your town hall and few diggers. Every few seconds, your town hall spawns a new digger, who head out to dig. At first, this is not bad, but as the time goes and more and more diggers work in all direction, it soon becomes a race to react to one disaster after another.

The map is populated with minerals of varying value and caves. Now caves can contain one of five things: Water, Lava, Enemies, Bosses or Treasure. Each one has it's own reaction to deal. You can solidify the land, making your dwarfs not to dig it, but this is expensive and can't be reverse. You can also build walls to block of Water or Lava, though Lava will burn through it and will require more permanent solution. Enemies need you to send soldiers to deal with them.

The game becomes more and more difficult as the time goes, as the caves and dwarfs become more and more unmanageable. For a few precious seconds, you can stop the time and try to fix any issues you encounter, such as build walls to hold back Lava until you can create a hole for it to fall into.

Sounds are OK, nothing amazing, but they do they work and do not annoy the player. Simon, of Yogcast fame, provides narration for the tutorial.

Graphics wise, the game is pretty simple, but the art work is nice and pleases the eye.

The game is available as a free-to-play version on Steam, which gives you access to time attack form with limited options. I suggest checking it out, since it serves as a demo before buying. If you like the game, buy it and support the devs! You get access to everything else with the purchase, including arcade and campaign.

All in all, a nice game you can play while waiting for something or jsut want to have a quick game. I would not recommend as a serious gaming experience, but something for fun.

78

Something Different

xiluxpain | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

When it comes to a sandbox game that's unique, challenging, yet easy to understand and play, I'd have to throw the towel in to Dwarfs!? While the title is simplistic and very unusual, it pretty much speaks for itself.

In the world of Dwarfs, you play as the overseer to the starting dwarf village. Starting with one miner, you expand your starting village digging outward. With every ore, gem, treasure, or block you dig, you gain gold. Using that gold, you purchase combatants, create posts for more miners, warriors, or defensive structures.

Your main concerns in this world will be flowing water, lava, and random enemies. If you let water or lava roam free, you will find yourself completely destroyed once the entire map is flooded. Before that happens, you must find a way to stop the source by means of explosives and creating a pit trap. Work fast, cause the source moves fast as well!

Enemies are the annoying part. Random bosses and minions have their own strengths. At times, you will find yourself completely overwhelmed as they destroy your workers without resistance. It's up to your careful planning and brave warriors to defend everyone.

This game is perfect for those who love managements, yet do not have time to learn a complicated game. Anyone who does not want to pay the full amount, there is actually a free version of this game. This current title unlocks all the bonus features and game modes available.

The missions and quest modes are definitely worth the money. I've found myself playing every mode and playing a few dozen hours unexpectedly.

75

Not so bad , not so good.

iiilker99 | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all iiilker99's reviews »

Yes , I know Dwarfs?! game looks childish. But give it a try , It's really funny with Arcade mode.Arcade mode is a bit casual. However, there's some challenges and they can be hard. For example , there was a challenge that called "God Speed". Game plays at 5x speed and you must survive for at least 1 minute! So , This game good for children , because of arcade mode and good for adults , because of challenges. Graphics are cartoony and simple. But good looking and plain. Sounds are really funny. Overall , This game may not worth it's price , but with a discount It is a good game.

80

Simple, Yet Satisfying

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all untitled36's reviews »

Those dwarves... they constantly go digging on their own, hitting the occasional lava flow or underground lake and thus releasing all kinds of havoc into your realm. Or sometimes they stumble upon goblins, spiders, or powerful wizards that require the services of your stalwart militia. But the dwarves do it all in search of precious gold. This is a simple game in concept, trying to keep track of your ever-growing horde of dwarves as they get into a variety of predicaments. It's a great time waster with options for 5 minute or 15 minute games all the way up to an hour or even unlimited time. In short bursts, the game is excellent. It won't draw you in the same way a deep rpg or rts might, but it's still remarkably fun for a sheer time-waster. I keep it installed for a quick fix when I'm in the mood, and it's always a good time. There are a host of various modes, but I typically stick to the main arcade version.

67

Ok with a discount

Neonberry | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

I picked up Dwarves?! on a sale and while the game is not bad I think I would have felt sad if I have payed the full price for it. It is compared to Dungeon Keeper and Dwarf Fortress by some, but to be honest digging a dungeon and having dwarfs in it is pretty much where the similarity stops in my eyes. To me the game seems too casual for hardcore game fans and too hardcore for casual game fans (even though one might call this the golden middle as well). Truth be told the game is fairly well put together, the graphics is simplistic but good, the voice acting of the Tutorial Dwarf guy is surprisingly good and even the writer of the game managed to make me laugh out a few times with the tutorial text. Still, I would not recommend this game since it failed to captivate me and I got bored with it pretty fast. But if you still think it worth a try then you are in luck: you can pick up the free version on Steam for (behold) free and play the tutorial through to see what it is all about.

70

An OK game

JMJqueseyo | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all JMJqueseyo's reviews »

This game is about dwarfs who dig to get coins to survive for the time given on different difficulties and modes one is endless mode which is the same as arcade(5,15,30 or 60 minutes) but without a time limit and challenges ,the game also has achievements. If you like high scores this is what you are looking for it has a global scoreboard. I would recommend it to people who like indie games.

82

Decent game

mkolp0 | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all mkolp0's reviews »

I quite enjoyed this game, as it had good game mechanics and managed to amuse myself for quite some time. It felt like a blast from the past, with the graphics and atmosphere. Definitely a game that everybody should try at least once. The gameplay isn't too hard, though it can get difficult at times, but you'll enjoy yourself way too much to care. Either way, a decent game that should be played much more often by more people

95

Dwarfs?! Dwarf!

Wizardino | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Wizardino's reviews »

A very very very funny game. In Dwarfs?! the player, the leader of a dwarfs outpost must, obviously, digs to expand his realm. The more interesting feature of the game it's that the player cant directly control the dwarfs, but only put on the terrain some arrows to indicate them where to dig/go. In additions on the map there are some "black zone", and the player cant see what is hidden there (water, treasures, lava...): the only way to discover it it's to send a dwarf, but if you break the wrong wall and free lava in your tunnels...well it's not fun. Besides the "main" game mode there are some minigames like a Tower Defense sistem, and various challenges (for example dig XXXX tiles in 5 minutes) that adds variety to the game About me a Must Buy, expecially with this price.

84

Charming and great Replay Value!

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

I bought the game 'Dwarfs!?' here on Green Man Gaming in a sale, Just for the overall look and screenshots posted on the storepage here. Not knowing this game was so much fun. Whilst doing a game of this you'll be able to spend an hour or so in just one game by choosing for a 60 minute game and still have lots of fun doing so. The graphics style in this game is also very charming, It really fits the dwarven style with their underground systems. The different Challenges, Skirmish and Arcade mode really keep you on playing this game. There's even a fun Summer Carnival Pack, which is like an entire new kind of minigame within 'Dwarfs!?', Let your Dwarf throw axes at enemy targetplates, but don't hit the obstacles!

This is an absolutely great game to spend some of your spare time on. Atleast try out the Demo for it and give it a shot. Might just be your kind of game!

92

Great fun for such a little game

nairume | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

Though people looking for a complex strategy game will be disappointed, Dwarfs!? is an engaging puzzle strategy fusion that puts players into the task of directing a colony of dwarfs as they expand, kill goblins, find treasure, and deal with an underground world that may very well be out to kill you. The interface that allows players to do all this is remarkably intuitive and simple, allowing even the most casual of player to jump right in and enjoy the game. With plenty of different game modes, many of which are short, sweet, and easy to replay, players will find that Dwarfs!? has a lot of legs for such a small game.

88

A very addictive and casual game

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

What a fan-tas-tic game ! I didn't expect something good, since it looked 'just' alright and I didn't exactly know what to expect. But it's the best €4,50 I've spent so far during this 2011 summer sale. Allow me to explain what you have to do in this game. You basically control (not directly, it's more like micromanaging) dwarfs who dig on their own. Along the way you find caves, which contain treasures (hooray !), water (nothing you can't handle, if you're quick), lava (prepare to spend your money), or enemies (boo ! boo !). Plus, you can get achievements by digging through 500 blocks, 1000 blocks, killing a shaman, things like that. It all adds up to your total score in the end. Even though it's a score-based game, I'm having lots of fun with the digging and managing. And it's always random. It's awesome ! It's similar to a lot of other sandbox games, since you have no real objectives. You just have to survive for xx minutes and try to do as much as you can. I LOVE IT !

80

An interesting concept

V2lentin | Nov. 1, 2012 | See all V2lentin's reviews »

Dwarfs?! is a game that puts you in charge of a small dwarven village, with the task of expanding it and completing a series of objectives. What makes the game different is the fact that you can't directly control the dwarves, instead you only point them whre to dig and they'll start doing their job. That is also the biggest mistake you can do: leave a dwarf all by himself for 1 minute and he'll get in trouble. Scattered all around the underground, there are caves with mysterious content. Or empty. Inside the cave can be anything from precious ores to demons or lava. You'll have your village flooded pretty quickly if you don't keep an eye out for every dwarf, whic is pretty difficult once you get to have more than 5 diggers. There are some minigames, and a tower defense mode, which can be pretty challenging. The graphics are nice, resembling an old school 2D game, although Dwarfs?! looks better than Terraria, also a 2D digging game. The music is nice, with tracks resembling a medieval party or something like that, which matches with the tavern you own, which is the main building of the village. Overall, Dwarfs?! is a nice game, but can get boring at times, resembling with a live wallpaper instead of a game. But the boredom will be gone after you start encountering the dangers of the undergrounds.

75

Interesting Strategy Game

lachking | Oct. 19, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Dwarfs is an interesting strategy game where the main objective is to score as many points as possible. You use your dwarfs to dig and gather gold and minerals and your warriors to kill creatures you may find. There are an array of game modes available such as arcade, skirmish and campaign. The campaign throws challenges at you such as surviving for a certain time limit.

One of the game’s most interesting aspects is that maps are dotted with black areas which can only be uncovered from digging into. You may find treasure, enemies, water, lava, or nothing. I like the idea that if you find water or lava you need to block if off to stop it from flowing towards you, or in the case of lava, blow a hole using dynamite. The graphical style is quite charming and runs very well. The soundtrack is also quite welcoming and suits the dwarf context well.

Despite the charming nature of the game, my biggest criticism is the fact that you often have to wait for dwarfs to dig, and that it can get boring waiting for dwarfs to uncover something. The dwarfs happily dig on their own, and you merely facilitate them rather than taking full control most of the time. That said, the general aspects of the game are quite good overall.

85

Excellent, varied game

das_regal | Oct. 6, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Dwarfs is a beautiful game on so many levels. From its robust content offering to charming presentation, there's so much here to love in such a small, cheap 2D package.

Everything is here that you'll see in the game's description, and even a few things you wouldn't expect. From a solid tower-defense mini-game to the main game's base building and survival mechanics, there's a lot to do in Dwarfs.

The game has colorful, easy to use menus and useful tutorials. This isn't like Dwarf Fortress, it's very accessible and easy fun.

85

Amazingly addictive

brandonl | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all brandonl's reviews »

This game is just arcade fun which I love. You dont "beat" this game, you keep playing hoping to get a better score than your last. The game follows a top-down view where you guide (Guide, not control. huge difference!) dwarfs. You make money/points by digging, or running into a water which you have to trap in a cave and a hole, or possibly lava. These are found in caves which you never know what could be in it, could be water or lava, or evil shamans that you have to kill! There's also minerals you have to find and dig up. The game doesnt end when you "die" (which you could if you get flooded), but the game is based on a timer. you can play a 5 minute round, 15 minute round, or even 60-minute round. and there's 4 difficulties for each of these.

92

Just digging!

Raoin | Aug. 7, 2012 | See all Raoin's reviews »

I must confess Dwarfs?! really impressed me. I discovered the game recently, a bit after I've bought Delve Deeper. I was expecting both the games to be similar, but I was wrong. I'd say Dwarfs?! is pretty much a RTS game about digging. Instead of handling the dwarfs during turns of digging, fighting and exploring (what happens in Delve Deeper), Dwarfs?! makes the player deals with this kind of things all together and in real time. In the begining, things can be a lot easy and slow, but as soon as you begin to dig the game gets more strategic and caotic. If you like dwarfs and want a challenging game about the theme, I'd highly reccomend Dwarfs?! It's totally worth it.

90

Solid dwarven action with great variety

Zirun | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all Zirun's reviews »

First, the bad: This game has crashed on me once. Its graphics aren't as amazing as Crysis 2. The story isn't as good as a classic like Chrono Tigger.

But that's not what we're playing Dwarfs!? for! This is a great mix of action and strategy. It combines the excavation and discovery elements of games like Dig-Dug and Motherload with the oftentimes frenetic action that's normally only found in the RTS genre, and does it in a great manner.

The challenge of micromanaging these little dwarves is immense, and can at times be nearly impossible (especially in the mode that features an endless stream of dwarves for you to watch over as long as possible, or at the end of a long game when you have dwarves in every corner of the earth), but that's part of the fun. Trying to keep your dwarves alive, secure objectives, kill enemies, and expand your bases, all while trying to do as little as possible, may not sound like the most fun in the world, but when an hour disappears from your life watching the little guys live and die, it's hard to not enjoy it.

There's also a great amount of variety in the game's simple mechanics. Despite there only being 2 hazards and a small handful of enemies, the random nature of the levels and several modes add a lot of gameplay and replay value.

95

I'm a Dwarf and I'm digging a hole, diggy diggy hole

Rubin1993 | July 26, 2012 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

Dwarfs!? Is pretty nice small indie game. The gameplay is easy to learn but is not quite easy. Your goal is to make a dwarf base but you must be aware of flowing water and lava, enemies and bosses. The game is similar of gameplay to Lemmings. Your dwarfs dig forward and you must be aware of dwarfs releasing lava or opening danger caves. The game has arcade mode where you play regular game for points, campaing, base defend and some bonus modes like endless mode. Game is 2D top down view on your dwarfes base. Music is also wonderful. I played this game within 10 hours and I must say; This game is awesome game. Worth buying!

85

Dwarfs?! Those little rascals are insane!

Wredniak | June 24, 2012 | See all Wredniak's reviews »

The game starts quite easy, one little miner comes out and starts digging. With every little step he digs deeper and for each dug space you get small amount of gold. The more he digs the better he gets at it. You can leave him alone or you can tell him where to dig. Pretty simple. Unless you happened to play for a while and have 300 those little dwarfs that happens to dig to deep. Having to stop 4 lava unlocked at the same time can be rather challenging but very rewarding if you manage to do it. This game is one of those with simple concept that takes quite a while to master and manages to be fun for an insane amount of time. What I love the most about this game is that it's a perfect time filler when you have spare 5,15,30 or 60 min and don't feel like launching one of "big titles". The arcade mode is godsend for people like me with "one more turn syndrome" that can't quit the game when they should. Here you chose to play a set amount of time and after the time is up you get to have your score posted on the board.

95

Dwarfs can stop digging and I can't stop playing!

sweetcuppincake | June 13, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

I love this game! It may not look like much, but I lose hours playing this game, and I lose some more thinking about playing this game. The best way I can sum this game up is this: your dwarfs will do something stupid and get everyone killed, and your goal is to delay the inevitable.

If you ever played Sim Ant, this game will seem a little familiar. Your dwarfs will move about on their own; digging new passages and collecting whatever treasures they find. You can direct them a bit, but each order costs gold. The point is not to maintain full control though. Eventually you will have so many dwarfs that this would be impossible. As they expand ever outward, the rewards become greater, but so do the dangers. The dwarfs can enter sealed caverns, which may contain treasure, enemies, water, or lava. The enemies can be defeated with dedicated warrior dwarfs. Water and lava will flood your caves unless you stop it. When problems arise, it is basically a race against the clock to contain the damage.

There are a few options for play modes (and a few challenge maps) and in the end you are scored by the amount of treasure you unearthed and how large your cave became before your stupid dwarfs doomed everyone. Great, great fun!

85

Dig dig dig

hotmando1 | Sept. 8, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Game feels like Terraria. Lots of digging involved. and I do like some digging. It feels like a mix between sims and terraria. There's some sweet action involved too. Anyway, when you first start off to play..it's pretty boring. Because it's slow. And that'll tick some people off. But to progress, you'll have to deal with it. But it is rewarding. You'll eventually have a vast....network of tunnels..and then..terrible things happen. Lava will spill over and kill your poor dwarves unless you stop it. enemies can pop up! Visually speaking, dwarf's looks pretty good---on the same level as some high quality flash games....but you can zoom in. It's neat to watch your little minions work up close! A great time sinker and hassle free! No bugs or problems. Just start and play. Well worth my ten dollars.

80

Dwarfs!? not Dwarves

faraany3k | Sept. 7, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Dwarfs is a little indie title which is extremely addictive and fun. The premise is simple and is easy to pick and play. We are basically in control of a Dwarven camp that spawns small Dwarfs after sometime that dig the environments around the playing field for gold. We can direct these dwarves around by changing there direction. But the control is limited and manually controlling a dwarf costs money. We need to protect these dwarfs by spawning different classes of dwarfs that counter the environmental hazards like dungeons with monsters that kill our dwarves. There are many environmental hazards like flooding of your base, bosses and lavas. And you need to counter them all while getting more gold as you progress.

Dwarfs! Also features a loads of gaming modes that lets you customize your gameplay experience. There is also a campaign mode which is effectively a set of challenges and a detailed Tutorial. Game also includes an extensive STATS system that lets you compare your STATS with the whole community. This create a whole level of repeatability and challenge to improve and rank higher in the leader-board. Graphically game is a 2D top down game reminiscent of old strategy games. But by design and artsytle it looks wonderful. Game is not very challenging, but is immensely addictive as digging for more gold never gets boring. A great indie game that is extremely addictive and a must have at an amazing asking price.