Reviews for Hard Reset

85

A solid FPS

IPaidForWinrar | Oct. 25, 2014 | See all IPaidForWinrar's reviews »

I honestly really like this game, and I got it for a really low price so that's always a plus. If you are a fan of games like Unreal Tournament and old FPS games, you should give this a try.

85

A great mix of old and new FPS stylings

Lorddyran | Oct. 23, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

If you grew up in the days of Duke Nukem 3D and Deus Ex, this game will fill a nostalgic little hole in your heart that you might not have even known was there.

It's a pretty, tight FPS with old-school shooting action. Light on story, heavy on explosions - it's an '80s sci-fi movie brought to life. Watch Johnny Mnemonic and then play this game and you'll find yourself feeling an odd sense of deja vu.

Basically, if you understood any of what I'm saying, you owe it to yourself to give this game a try.

72

A Little Bit of Retro

bwrussell | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

Hard Reset is an FPS in the vein of the genesis of FPS. Combat is quick and based around movement and lots of guns rather than cover and patience.

Unfortunately it feels a bit clunky, you have a jump but it's basically useless and there is no crouch. Sprinting is fairly limited and the screen distorts so much you can't really see anything, leading you to often rush headlong into enemies. As expected you can unlock a plethora of weapons to help you along the way. There are 10 guns in total, each with an alternate fire. The weapons are split into two classes, one firing physical ammo the other firing energy. While I didn't use a number of the weapons or firing modes it was enjoyable to work out the best gun/mode combos for each enemy type. The weapons feel decent and some are pretty fun to use, but the swap time is agonizingly slow.

The level design is that of a corridor shooter but the fact that it is essentially linear is a bit of departure from the days of yore. There are plenty of secrets tucked into corners or behind destructible walls but it's not like you'll be exploring vast open levels to find them. The world is heavily cyberpunk and takes place almost entirely at night in the rain. It looks pretty good for what I suspect is a pretty minimal budget. It's an interesting world that is severely undersold by the story. Mostly told between levels by clunky animated, poorly voice acted "cut scenes" done in a graphic novel style, the story is underdeveloped and poorly explained. I wanted to to care about the story and the world but I just couldn't get drawn in. It just feels like there was supposed to be so much more.

The included DLC, Exile (previously Path to Exile or Extended Edition) is essentially more if the same. There are a couple new enemy types but one of the guns completely removes them as a threat. Partly through Exile I realized I was just grinding and going through the paces.

In the end Hard Reset is just a bit shallow. The potential is there for a much more engaging experience but it just doesn't deliver. If you're a fan of circle strafing this is probably a must have but for generalists or people looking for a deeper cyberpunk world this is a bargain bin/bundle pick up.

100

Hard Gameplay

lajvjjajajaaaa | July 31, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

Hard Reset is first-person shooter game which take place dangerous lands beyond the last human city of Bezoar. The gameplay is kinda similar to Quake, it's kinda old school shooter. You are Major Fletcher army veteran and you're dragged into a conflict between the humanity greatest enemies. Also you're gonna meet new enemies and friends. The Hard Reset also includes the Exile which includes several new foes, bosses and maps. The graphics are enjoyable to the eyes, the sounds are quit good and the story too. The levels are with good design, there are good amount of secrets in all of them. The game have cool weapons but they're somehow disappointing.

100/100

100

Never Hard Reset this game please.

iMichaelCortez | July 26, 2014 | See all iMichaelCortez's reviews »

Many, many FPS games should be like this, still hard to believe this is an indie game, it's too well made, astonishing graphics,pretty straight forward controls as every FPS should be, incredibly good playability, beautiful physics and the list never ends. Recommended for FPS lovers, and Steam Punk lovers too, that marriage os Steam Punk and FPS feeds my gaming soul with joy. Buy this game, totally worth the price. No, this game is underpriced.

89

What many FPS games wished they were

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Hard Reset is what hardcore fps games should be all about. Great graphics, works well on low specs, fast paced, top notch controls, weapons customization and as a bonus cyberpunk world!

For myself an added bonus is also that I don't have to fight people in this game so there is no blood. Shooting robots is kind of more innocent, I think, and harder to feel bad when you shoot them to junk.

The movement also reminds of Quake, which basically invented strafe-circling.

A great game, really. Oh, I almost forgot to mention how you can also use the environment to scorch your enemies! Blasts of electricity, fire etc. from different sources are available and can really change the outcome of the firefight.

Recommended.

80

Strafe key we miss you !

McHawk | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all McHawk's reviews »

Are you looking for old school fps? Do you miss your strafe key? Hard Reset is the answer! Flying Wild Hog did a great work wit this game, bringing us a funny shooter with a lot of enemies, explosions,and different weapons. To be honest ,we have only two guns, one firing rounds, the other working with plasma cells, but we can upgrade these two basic weapons, collecting nanocells and using them in upgrading stations found in many locations through all the stages. Our two guns can assume five different configurations, for a total of ten destruction tools, each one with two alternative fire modes: a lot of choices for our play style!

Graphics is very good,with good models and nice textures , but there are frame issues in some points of the game. Soundtrack does its work, without memorable tracks though.

Conclusion : buy this game, it is not innovative, but you will have a lot of fun playing it.

82

Epic cyberpunk romp

cannibalwombat | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all cannibalwombat's reviews »

Enjoyed the sh*t out of this game. If you accept it for what it is (a linear cyberpunk FPS) and don't get preoccupied by the marginal story and short campaign (though most reviewers criticise the brevity, it actually took me a respectable 10 hours) then you'll have a blast.

The weapons and cyber-metropolis setting are absolutely awesome. You can really feel every shot and the widely destructible environments and enemies make the game feel so tactile, so... visceral (pretentious language, but you know what I mean). If you just want to blast robots with futuristic laser guns, and you've already played Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon, then I heartily recommend this game.

80

It's 'Hard' so 'Reset' your difficulty please.

cor_sleep | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all cor_sleep's reviews »

It's a decent FPS with a fair graphics. They say it's good old fashioned FPS or whatever.. It's really hard. I'm a Quaker myself but this game is still too hard even on the hard difficulty. Never stuck in any Doom or Quake series like this game. It seems like even a puzzle to me. Every stage I must pass through with bunch of hostile machines is a puzzle.

They hurt you so hard but your weapons are almost useless. You have to think twice to pass through. and There is no stealth feature neither. You got to use grades or rockets, or whatever with massive fire power which can hurt yourself too when you shoot the projectile too close from your position. and the weapons are with massive fire power only for yourself, not for enemies. means the combat will be hardcore tough. I can't even dare to try Insane difficulty.

I'm not trying to say this game is bad or numb. but you have to be ready for this kind of puzzled combat situations before you start the game. I think so at least. This game is too much challenging maybe you play as hard and then reset the difficulty immediately. Maybe this is what the title of the game Hard Reset really means.

Game is not bad. Story is interesting with fascinating comics style storyboard animations. graphics are fine, gaming interface is really simple. and there is a experience based upgrading rigs (weapons, detection devices or shield etc..) features too.

If it sounds cool this game is for you. Just try it out.

90

Best fps-game you never played

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

This game is a hommage to oldskool shooters like Quake and Unreal.

It features fast paced skill-based fps gameplay in a very flashy modern skin. It looks fantastic, the action really splashes of the screen.

The gameplay is great and even tough it has a oldskool feel it provides some very great innovative features. Especially the weapon selection and upgrading is awesome: You have to weapons (Q an E button) the first is based on conventional ammo like bullets and rockets the other is based on energy. These 2 guns can be upgraded to provide different attributes in total there are 10 sorts of weapons from a shotgun to rocket launcher from a plasma gun to target seeking plasma bolts.

All in all it is the best single-player shooter i have played in years. Only downside is the lack of a multiplayer.

90

Damn Good

Guyver72 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Guyver72's reviews »

Hard Reset is a single player Cyberpunk FPS by Polish indie developer, Flying Wild Hog. As most of my online friends may know, I buy a lot of cheap Steam games... and admittedly I bought this game during the Christmas 2011 sale for five dollars. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised. This is one polished FPS.

Gameplay: This is pretty standard ol' skool FPS fare. One thing that did stand out which I felt was odd at first, is that there is no duck function. Being a Counter-Strike and Day of Defeat player, I often found myself trying to duck to get to certain areas, as well trying to avoid getting hit by enemies. There is a sprint function, which allows you to get away from enemies and to get to areas quickly.

You play as Maj. James Fletcher, a boozy, down-on-his-luck employee of The Corporation. You have two weapons, a rifle and a plasma gun, both of which can be upgraded to allow alternate firing modes and functions via the game's money system, called N.A.N.O. bars. Your weapons, and other things, are upgraded at "terminals", also located in various areas. You can also find heath and ammo lying around... like I said, pretty standard.

There is no quick-save feature, saving is done automatically at various points within a level and at the end of a level. Human interaction is very minimal, the city has been mostly overrun by the machines. The game does have environmental damage, and I must admit, blowing !@#%$ up puts a smirk on my face. You can also use this to your advantage, as enemies will be damaged by whatever bedlam you choose to unleash. This will come in very handy throughout the levels. I will say that this game is NOT easy... even on normal. There are some very frustrating areas, however this didn't seem to turn me away from the game. I often found myself thinking, "Hmmm... well what if I try it this way next time?"

Sound: Most of the sound in Hard Rest consists of your basic city/urban elements, from the bleeps and blurps of neo-vending machines, to blaring police sirens, to ominous public service announcements providing advice for your "safety" and "well-being". The sounds of enemies adds a bit of survival horror to the game (at least in my opinion). The screeching, squeaking, and growling just lets you know that, "Awww @#@!!%#.... something is coming and it's going to try to kill me."

Graphics: This is a DirectX 9 game, that being said... it looks amazing. From the huge spaceships hovering above, to the behemoth machines, it all looks really good. As with most newer games, there is a blood overlay on the screen when you take a hit... as well as a blur effect when you sprint. However, if either of these features annoy you, they can be disabled in the game's options.

Conclusion: As any gamer worth his salt knows, the FPS genre is highly saturated. However, Hard Reset is definitely a gem, among many lumps of coal. You'd be hard pressed to find another game that looks this good and is this enjoyable, from start to finish. Kudos to Flying Wild Hog for creating a great game.

99

Oldschool FPS in era of MMS

spectatorx | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all spectatorx's reviews »

Secrets, variety of enemies, futuristic and mindblowing locations, unique weapons... that's why i love FPS genre. Since the youngest years of my life i was playing games like quake, unreal tournament and these are games to which i always compare fps, i'm looking for their successors. Console gaming, MMS games broke my favorite genre of games but here it is, polish studio: Flying Wild Hog appeared from nowhere, without big commercial campaign they released their first game: Hard Reset and i have to tell about this only one thing: I LOVE IT!!!

Game is difficult, enemies are rushing onto you in hordes, you have to use your weapons to fight them all, exploit weaknesses and pros of weapons and locations to beat all these crazy enemies in front, behind, over and under you.

I love the support which flying wild hog gave to this game. They released few DLCs for this game and all of them were free, like things used to be in old good times. Also they were releasing a lot of updates for pretty long time and updates improved the game even more than it was on launch.

In short: Hard Reset is decent FPS in times of indecent "fps games". You have to buy it.

74

A solid shooter with a retro cyberpunk feel

darkyhbk | July 6, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Hard Reset is a very simple first person shooter in itself, but can be loads of fun if you're in the mood for shooting robots to pieces. A lot of robots. First of all, it has a not very unique, but still well designed dark cyberpunk world. The color palette is remarkably well chosen, and the delicious special effects really add to the game's immersion. The music is pretty well chosen, and while it certainly does not stand out, it blends well with the rest of the game's elements. The shooting part is solid, and very atmospheric. Maybe not so much as Painkiller, but still, it's unbelievably satisfying to shoot robots to bits. The weapons are good fun, even though there are not many to choose from, but the upgrade system adds further diversification. Enemies come in waves and waves, and the few different models would start to bore you if the game wasn't pretty short. Thankfully, a boss fight comes in when you're starting to get tired of the endless waves of the same robots, and they're pretty memorable as well. In a nutshell, Hard Reset is an entertaining , classic style FPS with great visuals for an indie game, and is perfect for a rainy weekend.

94

Back to the classics of yesteryear.

kalil | June 14, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Great independent fps not have anything at all to envy the biggest launches in the industry. An innovative video game inspired by the classic shooters of the nineties 2.5D, think fast and slay them.

-Gameplay Simple and possibilities. Our mission is to end all machine that crosses us with our two weapons that can be improved and provide it with new attacks, which come to become other weapons. To destroy the enemies need to use the stage with classic barrels, etc electrical sources. Attack and dodge, these are our main weapons. On occasion we will have to solve simple puzzles and the ability to find secrets, not easy in the middle and upper levels.

-Technology Excellent. An incredible potential that responds well in teams means but it will take medium to high to play butt and stably. I52500k, 6850 8GBRam and my team, and is about. The game boasts very good effects and lots of screen objects, rich animations, excellent physical and large scenes full of detail. Everything from indie studio (: o).

-Graphics Magnificent artistic design supported by the great power of the engine. It's great to see the mapping that has been built with a lot of talent and class, the futuristic city streets overrun by robots, tunnels, testing center, plazas, ruins ...

-Sound Good dubbing (English) and very good effects in the absence of much variety of enemies in the final stretch of the game can be a bit repetitive, but it is something that happens in almost every game. The OST agrees perfectly with the style of play and the sound environment is very accomplished, very immersive.

-Innovation A priori it seems that does not show much progress, but machacabotones shooter reinventing the nineties what makes it unique. There are more games that follow a similar dynamic but Hard Reset has been serving a great engine with a great art which results in something new. Details such as the interaction with computers are things that give a fresh air to the overall game among other things.

-Conclusion Powerful, nice and cheap. A must for every lover of the fps.

83

old school fps

Neapolis47 | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Hard Reset is a great game, a hard and pure FPS that will surely rediscover the genre who was already tired of see the same things year after year. The management of weapons, upgrades and ammo can raise some doubts at first, but just a few rounds to familiarize yourself with the choices made by the developers, leading to fighting really exciting and often in the name of strategy, given the level of difficulties above the average. The feeling of weapons and their sense of impact is excellent, and we know that it is a key element in this vein, but it's the careful progression in the discovery of new and more powerful enemies that enhances the experience and makes it very engaging. Finally, considering the budget price, there really are no excuses: Hard Reset is definitely a product not to be missed.

70

Cool idea, poor execution

Scorpy | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Hard Reset is at heart a classic FPS game, in the gist of Quake and DOOM. Its style is a mix of dystopian future tech (such as Blade Runner) and classic and military future tech. It's a unique mix that makes for a great looking game, however there isn't much to keep you going back.

If you're a fan of classic FPS games such as Doom and Quake, you will want to pick this up. Otherwise, you might want to wait.

85

A Good Game Bolstered by Huge Updates

videopower77 | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

The gameplay is old-school and a lot of fun. It's like Painkiller mixed with Blade Runner. The game has greatly benefitted from big and generous patches that have added a chunk of extra content as well as updates to the engine. Hard Reset is highly recommended for those who love games that are all about the shooting and finding hidden loot in the map. Pick this one!

85

Excellent Indie Shooter

Bigshrimp | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

Most indie games are light on production value, which this game is not. Hard Reset is a well thought out game that reminds you a little of games like Serious Sam but with a cyberpunk feel. The story is confusing and not laid out well, but the action makes up for it. Definitely a game worth try and you will not be dissapointed.

Great gem of a game and you will want to finish it all the way to the end. They even added more levels to give you more game play that wasn't originally in the game at the beginning when it first came out. Give it a shot, you will love it.

85

A hidden gem!

jpbuntinx | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all jpbuntinx's reviews »

I can sum this game up in 1 word : WOW. Games like this aren't made enough anymore. Although i'm not too high on most shooter games, this one pushed all the right buttons, and i can only recommend it at the highest rating to EVERYONE.

92

Underdog comes out on top again!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

I LOVE playing this game! I'll be honest, once you play it through there isn't really much if any replayability, however scoring it for as low as these sale prices (currently $4.99 USD on here at the time of this review) are, you simply can't go wrong. Hard Reset is challenging, but man is it ever an awesomely fun futuristic sci-fi shooter to be played! Get it, you won't be disappointed! You're already interested anyway, that's why you're on this page!

82

Great shooter

Lekes | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Good graphics and atmosphere. Great shooter, better than most of FPSs in these years, but I wouldn't say that it is 100 % oldschool. The thing i most hated during my playthrough was that after you entered an area, the exit behind you got blocked, so the game was presented to you just by running through closed arenas. The second thing was that there were invisible barriers everywhere. The game was open, but still, very linear. No autoheal was the main reason i bought this game and it showed how the cover system is absolutely not needed for a good FPS. But great gameplay made me to forget about these things and i enjoyed the game extremely. Very simple story, but who cares? This game is about shooting and its a thing this game's good at. Could have been done better, but still : a very good game.

79

A Doom game mixed with Bladerruner. Where do I sign??

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Basically the indie game with the best graphics I've ever seen. The gameplay is all old-school. It reminded me to Painkiller (except for the ambientation of course). Perhaps there could have been more types of enemies. Just play and enjoy it!!

75

Enjoyable, if a bit repetitive.

Inuyashe | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Inuyashe's reviews »

Hard Reset is a game you should play in short bursts, I think. It provides a satisfying shooter with a nice range of different 'weapons' (the different types of attack are just upgrades for your two base weapons) in a beautifully crafted cyberpunk setting.

Where you shoot robots. Again, and again, and again. In the early stages, it's even the same robots with the same tactics over and over. Don't get me wrong, the combat is fun and challenging, but it gets a bit dull after a while.

Also, the story, while attempting to be interesting, is a bit confusing, maybe even nonsensical.

Still, I'd say Hard Reset is a hidden gem of a game, if played in short bursts, maybe to went your frustrations after an encounter with a non-functional copy machine.

88

Great old school shooter.

oginer | Dec. 4, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

This game makes you feel like you're playing an FPS from the late 90's but with today's graphics. Gameplay is very direct: just shot stuff. The controls feel very good, without mouse acceleration, and very responsive. There's loads of weapon upgrades to buy, although weapons always feel quite underpowered since enemies take a lot of shots to kill.

It has some extras, like achievements and secrets that'll make you replay the game several times.

Overall a good value game. Very recommended.

72

An old school shooter

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

My expectations were pretty low when I bought this last month. Why did I buy it anyway ? I don't know why, I guess it's because of my love for games. Anyway, the game didn't disappoint. Not entirely, that is. First the good stuff; the graphics are of extremely high quality, especially for a downloadable game. I'm sorry to say, though, that there are the occasional framedrops during hectic firefights and explosions. The shooting works like a shooter should (see what I did there ?). Enemies come from all directions so you have to be careful at all times. The weapons and the upgrades are cool as well. The energy weapon I haven't used during the entire game, which is, by the way, about 3,5 hours long, so in my opinion they should've removed it. The controls are fine and the sounds are excellent, but the voice acting and story were weak. And the game ended when I actually thought I was about halfway, which is a shame. Worth the full price ? Nope. Wait for a 50% price drop.

82

Pretty enjoyable old school shooter

crazybear86 | Oct. 25, 2012 | See all crazybear86's reviews »

At first glance Hard Reset looks like a mix of Blade Runner and Unreal Tournament. The colorful graphics with lots of lighting effects, explosions and other special effects, drag you in from the first minute. The rock music soundtrack in combination with the gameplay (which more or less consists of only shooting, running and shooting) is able to convey an incredibly satisfying feeling. The story is totally irrelevant and therefore could be summarized in 1 or 2 sentences. The robotic opponents vary from small monsters to giant screen filler ones (which could derive from a god of war game). People who are keen to shoot through nicely designed levels and do not mind a non existing story should immediately grab this game!

70

Fun but Muted

ROKET | Oct. 12, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I bought this game with high hopes. I wanted a mindless action game - and got what I wanted - but it didnt feel as fun as I had hoped. The immersion within the game felt lacking. You walked around a dreary landscape and took in some good visuals but in the end the game seemed dead and boring.

From a gameplay point of new you get two distinct weapons and use them to decimate...robots. Tons...of robots. Now that wouldnt be bad if you got to see other NPCs around but you dont really get to and shooting at vicious mindless robots gets old after a while.

The game also chugged at times even running on my OCed i5 2500k and GTX 570. I dont understand why the game couldnt be better optimized if its PC exclusive. The graphics and effects were pretty decent but I found myself detached as some effects and textures seemed out of place.

If you're looking for a decent mindless action game with no story - go ahead and play this but I couldnt like it as much as I had hoped. Not really recommended.

70

Great action!

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

This indy FPS is reminiscent of Blade Runner like so many mention - the graphics and atmosphere are wonderful! The action for some reason reminds me of Quake 2 and it's fun to customize the guns and blast those robots! There are only two physical guns but they can be transformed into other guns by switching the mode which forces us to strategize instead of switching between 6-8 guns. Since it is now an "Extended Edition" the free dlc must be mentioned too .. awesome that flying wild hog has released it for free but the add on is very frustrating to play and artificially increases the play time because of how often you have to reload after dying. While the main game required some thinking, the add on levels just send hoards of giant robots which will kill you eventually unless you luck out. Buy it for the base game, try your luck on the add on levels .. they're a pain.

77

Cyberpunk done right

Micepudding | Aug. 25, 2012 | See all Micepudding's reviews »

Set in a Bladerunner-esque near-future city, Hard Reset offers a cyberpunk theme rarely seen in modern shooters. The graphics and the attention to detail on the setting are phenomenal, and many of the levels are genuinely tense as you creep forward, hearing the clank of robotic guards, and knowing that any minute one will crash though a wall or charge up behind you.

That's when the immersion ends. You effectively progress from arena to arena, each new area opening up into a room where an arbitrary number of robots are waiting to ambush you. The shooting feels underpowered, with the exception of the shotgun, which shreds hordes of the smaller robots as they swarm towards you. Mostly, tactics involve sidestepping firing, and repeating until every enemy in the vicinity isreduced to scrap metal.

If you're a sucker for cyberpunk then you can't miss Hard Reset. It's atmospheric to the point that I felt like I'd rather just explore the game world than fight anything. If cyberpunk isn't your thing, give it a try anyway. There are better shooters, but Hard Reset's theme makes it stand out regardless.

95

Awesome old-school action

Cooberstooge | Aug. 19, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Honestly, nobody can go wrong with a Hard Reset purchase. Even people who don't play or don't like FPS titles will find something to love here. Gameplay is fast, fluid, and oh-so explosive.

The game looks great, screams along nicely on the highest settings, and has great sound effects. Basically, you're one man alone against an unending army of killer robots intent on exterminating the very humans who created them - said robots come in all shapes and sizes, too.

This is exactly what PC gaming needs - a game developed for computers first and foremost, and it shows just what a well-built gaming rig can do, yet at the same time runs good on older machines thanks to massively adjustable settings.

Highly recommended, if you're after a game that not only looks nuts, but is nuts. And boy, are those ever tasty nuts!

80

Old School Shooting

Cynaris | July 13, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

This game is yet another throwback to older times, where not every shooters were Call Of Duty-like, with almost unlimited ammo, and regenerating health. No, this game throws huge enemies at you, with limited health to work your way around, and it will do everything to stop you from progressing. it isn't necessarily unfair though. The game boasts only two weapons, bot both can be upgraded to have multiple alternate modes, working completely differently as the primary firing mode, so the weapon variety is cleverly thought out. Expect some frustrating deaths though, so if you prefer pushover FPS games, you better skip this.

For everyone else, take a shot. It's great looking, and every indie company deserves support for trying to get away from the mainstream, and doing it well.

80

Classic Shooter Gameplay with Some Twists

Endyo | June 4, 2012 | See all Endyo's reviews »

If you're one of those people who spent the days of yore playing your Dooms and Quakes, this game will certainly be familiar to you. It doesn't have quite the "sea of enemies" feel, nor does it have quite so much of the arcade-y feel, but play it for a bit and you'll definitely have some flashbacks.

Hard Reset throws you into this bleak futuristic universe where humanity is relegated to a single city surrounded by a robotic world. Obviously, the story leads to conflict. Action begins fairly quickly and is consistent throughout. You only have two weapons, which sounds limiting, but each one has various firing modes and upgrades that can be applied as the game progresses. Combat involves use of the environment and taking advantage of physics-based weapons and devices. Enemies seem to be somewhat limited in diversity, but always offer a challenge given their scripted, but often surprising assaults.

The pathing of the game is somewhat linear, but still offers you the familiar "unlocked secret" zones like you'd see in older shooters. At the end of the day though, you'll be going from A to B with some minor puzzles in between.

Overall, the game is a fairly standard iteration in a genre that is quite full of similar games. It is fun enough to keep your attention for limited periods of time, but the limited enemy variety and the simple puzzles make it easy to put down.

90

Blade Runner visuals meets old school FPS gameplay

FreeMan85 | April 16, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

First Hard Reset don't want to revolutionize the gameindustry or make some new gameplay or any fancy thing. HR just an old school FPS. Maded by newly founded Flying Wild Hog team (members of People Can Fly, CDProjekt and City Interactive) this Pc only(!) title give back something is missing today's games: replayability and fun. Yes, the whole game is linear, you go forward, can't go backward. Enemies are tough and you can't even hide or run from them. It's a classic shooter like game, just grind the enemy, collect some hidden secrets (N.A.N.O. bars) and buy upgrades. There's 3 upgradable: Armour, NRG weapon and CLN Firearm. Both weapons have 5 different weapon mode, you must bought them then you can upgrade them too. After you beat the game there's a chance too play in EX Mode where you can use all upgrades from the previous playthrough and upgrade everyrhing too maximum. It's fun when you play on Insane difficulty. The game graphics it's gorgeus, if you like dark, sci-fi cyberpunk like environments. The ads on the street make you wanna... scream. Feels like it's a satire, but the designs are reminds me to Blade Runner. There's 6 chapter and before every chapter a comic book like intro. It's also very dark, only using colors like blue-black-grey and a bit red. The voice-acting is good, but use many times the F word and swearing. The game music is reminds me again a bit to Blade Runner, but a bit more energetic and techno like way. The SFX are good, no more, no less. The whole thing is looks like they mixed blade Runner dark and depressive wolrd with Russel Mulcahy's Highlander II dark world with his lighting and fireworks effects. since almost every element in the game are destructible there's many lighting and environmental damage to the enemy. That last thing is very important! Use environmental damage when you can!

Hard Reset is a nice old school FPS with nice graphics, intense and insane difficulty which makes it a high replayability factor. And there's 81 achievements, if you like test your skill and search for secret. If you like Blade Runner or dark sci-fi themed games, you will like Hard Reset.

79

Want More

Megapieman | March 8, 2012 | See all Megapieman's reviews »

Hard Reset is one of those games that you actualy want to see more of. It's biggest issue is that it is short. Nice graphics paired up with in your face game play make it a very enjoyable ride.

Story wise though the game is a bit lacking and a bit un-creative. I do hope that this game has some kind of squeal, I enjoyed the universe it created and the developers did a decent job with the layout of the levels. Its an action packed thrill ride that will make you come back for more, and you probably will considering how short it is.

50

Fun, but fails to stand out

lightfellow | Nov. 5, 2011 | See all lightfellow's reviews »

I have to admit Hard Reset is a fun first person shooter. The graphics look nice, the models are pretty unique and you can tell a lot of thought and time was put into the levels and the engine itself. Considering the creator's previous works (bulletstorm and sniper), Hard Reset is a giant step in the right direction. The only issue this game really has is that it is trying to compete in the highly saturated genre that is FPS. Although fun, there are already too many games out there already that allow you to shoot things and blow everything up. The lack of multi-player support meant that this game will have to rely heavily on its story. Unfortunately, it's choice of setting and story also failed to shine as games like Deus Ex : Human Revolution dominated the dark sci-fi gaming genre. Had this game been released a few years earlier, it would have been a really great buy. Sadly with all the other amazing games that have come out recently, there really is no reason for this game to be anywhere near the top of anyone's 'to buy' list. However if you already have all the great FPS games already and you just want a fun short game to pass the time, give Hard Reset a shot.

86

A fun, rewarding, but somewhat flawed game

TheStealthyOne | Oct. 27, 2011 | See all TheStealthyOne's reviews »

I rarely have fun with shooters, but I can safely say that I enjoyed this enjoyable (but sometimes frustrating) shooter. First of all, it does go back to more classical roots. It feels like Serious Sam in a way. Though it does have a regenerating shield (which is quite slow) and a sprint key, it feels inspired by the likes of Quake and such.

A

84

A short game that captures what's fun about shooters

AvistTorch | Oct. 26, 2011 | See all AvistTorch's reviews »

Make no mistake about it: this game's singleplayer only, and it's got 7 chapters of robot-smashing action to offer. Of course, 7 long levels is still 7 levels, meaning it only takes about 4.5 hours to beat the game. However, those 4.5 hours were the most fun I've had with recent shooters, and the game has quite a few incentives for you to play it again.

Story: 64 When the game came out, everyone was talking about how the story is incomprehensible and all over the place. It certainly does read as though several lines of dialogue are missing, but I was able to get the gist of what's going on. It's not a particularly good or bad story, entertaining enough for a game like this. It gets kind of interesting halfway through, but ends rather abruptly with a plot twist that could go somewhere, but doesn't have a chance to. It seems to me as though they were planning to make the game longer, but ran out of time or money.

Graphics: 93 This is a great-looking game, and well-optimized to boot. I can almost max it on a Radeon 6670. The visual design is fantastic, effectively evoking a drearily consumerist cyberpunk world. Robots visibly take damage as you shoot them, and speaking of shooting, the effects on the weapons are also pretty (the rifle even heats up as you fire it!). The only gripe I have is a certain rocket-launching enemy that starts showing up later in the game doesn't seem to have any visual damage effects until it's destroyed.

Music/Sound: 88 There isn't much of a variety of music in the game. The levels have more of an ambiance than a music track when you're not in combat, but that works just fine. In-combat, the music becomes adrenaline-pumping electronic music, and the themes in the boss fights really get you going.

The voice acting in the between-level cutscenes is good enough, and the electronic voices on the advert-kiosks are at once hilarious and chilling. The sounds of the weapons and the robots are spot-on and distinctive; you'll be able to tell enemies apart by the sounds they make.

Gameplay: 95 This is a run-and-gun shooter like Serious Sam or Painkiller, down to having a health bar and no regenerating health... well, kind of. You have a slow-to-recharge shield protecing you from some damage, and there are plenty of health packs around. The small health packs dropped by enemies restore a fair amount of health, too, so you won't have to worry about limping around with only a little health left until maybe the last few levels where health becomes more scarce.

Your opposition will be a horde of robots determined to put an end to you. Before each encounter, you can usually spot a few small ones skittering around. The robots come in small, medium, and large varieties; generally, the small ones are melee-focused or explosive, the medium-sized ones have various ranged weapons, and the large ones could go either way. That comes out to about 10 different enemy types. The largest, called Gorillas, take many, many shots to bring down, and even the small ones take about a second of sustained weapon fire. Even if you destroy a robot's leg or such, it isn't dead until it's no longer moving.

Luckily, there are tons of explosives and electrically-active destroyables around the game worl that will explode on (or shock) enemies en masse. However, if environmental destruction isn't your thing, the game is set up such that you don't necessarily need to use these in order to win (although they're a BIG help).

Speaking of weapons, you have two: the CLN and the NRG, both capable of transforming into 5 different "guns" that each have 2 fire modes, effectively giving you 10 weapons at your disposal that share 2 ammo pools. You unlock these with NANO, which you can find hidden around each level or obtained from killing enemies. These points are spent at upgrade stations where you can upgrade the guns, purchase new fire modes, and upgrade your personal suit, which can give you stuff like more ammo capacity, health, and armor.

The levels are well-designed, with secrets to find and stuff to destroy. Each robot encounter is tough and perfectly capable of killing you, but fair enough that you can get through regardless of your weapon loadout (well, I guess you'd have trouble if you never bought any new weapons).

One thing I will note is that the game uses a checkpoint save system instead of quicksaves, but I felt that the placement of the checkpoints was balanced and did not hinder my progress.

A final highlight: The game has two bosses and one miniboss that I consider to be the best boss encounters I've ever had in a first-person shooter. I won't spoil anything, but the boss fights really are that good.

Replayability: 82 You won't be able to try out every upgrade in a single playthrough. If you're the type who hates starting from scratch, there's an "EX Mode" that allows you to start a new playthrough on any difficulty with the upgrades you got on the previous playthrough. Additionally, the developers have stated that they're going to add a "survival mode" in the next patch.

Conclusion: Short but sweet. A variety of fun weapons and well-designed swarms of robots make for a great experience, and the boss fights are possibly the best I've ever played in an FPS. If you're looking for a break from modern-style shooters, consider giving this one a go.

95

Incredible old school fun.

Xonus | Oct. 23, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

It's unusual to have such an awesome FPS in these dark ages, but this is real. Tons of enemies, lots of guns with tons of ammo and no reloading, no regenerating health, tons of enemies, tons of fun.

The game takes place in a cyberpunk setting, various guns that are 'modifications' of two basic ones (machinegun and plasmagun), but many of those modifications are nothing like the original, for example the machinegun has a rocket launcher mod, the plasmagun has a mortar mod, etc. You fight against synthetic enemies, and it's incredibly fun watching chaos unfold on your screen with bits and pieces from every enemy and the scenery flying all around you as you destroy everything. There's nothing like the breath of fresh air when a big fight is finished. Which reminds me, the game can get very hard on the highest difficulty setting, especially if you're playing it for the first time without prior unlocks (there's a mode for that).

The game also looks really good, everything fits the setting and the textures are detailed and high res, the scenery is very detailed and alive.

My only complaints are that the sprinting is annoying, and I'd prefer to be able to jump and shoot while sprinting, or simply have no sprint and have a faster movement speed by default. Also, human enemies would be very fun to slaughter as well.

For the price, there's absolutely no doubt it's worth it.

89

Short and Sweet

melody | Oct. 23, 2011 | See all melody's reviews »

The experience is great and the game gets interesting every moment and is very well crafted which makes you involved in the game. But the game is short and a two sittings of 2-3 hours is enough to beat it, you may want to replay the game once again though.

90

Great Shooter!

polorsport1 | Oct. 22, 2011 | See all polorsport1's reviews »

Fast, brutal arcade shooter fun. Upgrades weapons, take down waves of mechanical monstrosities. Hard Rest pays homage to the old school shooter, if you liked games like Painkiller you will love this game. Great graphics, clever upgrade system and brutal difficulty. Only negative would be its extremely short 3-4 hour campaign.