Reviews for Battlefield 3

42

It can get boring.

KatsumihD | Feb. 12, 2014 | See all KatsumihD's reviews »

This game is not that great in my opinion,the story is short and almost like any story you know (russian attack,usa defend and nuclear bombs style). The visuals are great no question,but that is the only good thing about the singleplayer. The multiplayer was getting boring for me,because i only could play 3 gamemodes where i had a chance to win. I know winning is not everything,but this game makes no fun when you see enemy choppers,that kill you in a second,because they have some special skills,which you can unlock if you play with the chopper or buy. Bassicly you have not a bit of a chance to kill somebody,if they bought the unlock pack or played more then you (vehicle only). But thats a big deal to me,because almost every gamemode has vehicles or badass teams. And those 3 gamemodes which are playable for me are getting repetetiv. So i would not recommend to buy this

90

Compared to BF4

InBu | Dec. 25, 2013 | See all InBu's reviews »

Yes bf3 is kinda old compared to BF4 but still i highly reccomend you to buy this one, because bf4 is not that fun like bf3, actually if we look back i can say that BF:BC2 was very entertaining, but bf3 felt different it doesnt have this fancy destruction like bfbc2 or bf4 but its something that is actually between these two titles (actually it is, but thats not what i meant:D), what bf3 got to offer you is excelent multiplayer and nice story in singleplayer it has coop mode too but thats not the best part of it. Dont buy bf4 soon i heard and felt that it was buggy as hell, so let those lazy developers fix it and buy this before you try bf4.

85

Best multiplayer experience

gforcesa | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I have to say when i got this game it blew my mind.There are so many badass things that have happened to me that i don't even know how to explain.The maps are huge you can see jets fighting and exploding in the air above you and its pretty epic.The game had bugs in the beginning but its pretty decent now as for multiplayer,which is the best thing about the game.The optimization of the game is farely good, many people thought that they won't be able to run the game but its a good port in my opinion.There are many weapons you have to level up and unlock which adds to the experience.If you want an epic experience in a multiplayer game this is a must buy.

88

The best multiplayer FPS

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | See all Kordas's reviews »

Fans of multiplayer FPS were always divided into 2 main groups: fans of Battlefield, and fans of Call of Duty. While I have to give credit for both series for bringing FPS to a very high level, Battlefield 3 made me abandon Call of Duty for the sake of playing BF3!

Weapons, all the maps that actually differ between themselves, vehicles, a lot of different equipment tactics - Battlefield 3 is a lot more strategic game than CoD and it does its job perfectly. I almost always catch myself playing another few rounds just after saying "That's enough, I need to turn off this game". It's just so good that you can't stop! All the rewards and achievements really make you want to become better and better and gaining higher ranks.

Graphics are great with use of Frostbite engine. It's just pity that single-player campaign is really poor - it's disappointing after great Bad Company 2 campaign. Anyway, if you're looking for multiplayer experience this is the game right for you!

85

A great multiplayer fps.

TETfromLondon | Dec. 13, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is an immensely beautiful and satisfyingly gritty game. There are hundreds of hours of fun to be had in the multiplayer. The levels are well designed and varied, and there are maps and game modes for any taste. The maps are huge, but it is easy to get around them with the array of vehicles, especially in the DLCs (which are far more worth the money than the Call of Duty DLCs). The destruction is also great, albeit a little disappointing after Battlefield: Bad Company 2. The glaring weak point of the game is the campaign. It is extremely generic and holds your hand throughout. Still, the game is well worth the price for the multiplayer.

78

Time to adjust.

Argentum | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Argentum's reviews »

Now I jumped to PC late in my gaming life and so my fingers are naturally adjusted to fpsing with a gamepad and doing this in BF3 resulted in 1000s of deaths in a very short space of time. My advice before playing this online is to slog through the terrible campaign using mouse and keyboard wacked up on sensitivity.

You're going to be out of sync at first but once you adjust to the speed and you'll be flying along and thats when you can start to enjoy this graphical and gunnery feat. The PC version really is leagues ahead of the console port, the visuals are stunning and the sound even appears sharper.

The gameplay is classic FPS, once I got over the controls, it feels a lot more fast paced than the previous instalment (Bad Company 2) and they gave sniping a better feel with the introduction of sway.

There does seem to be a problem with certain online players using aimbots or other cheats - you'll notice it almost immediately and so long as the mod of the server isn't in on it they should be kicked, but its annoying when it happens.

All in all its an excellent improvement on the previous Battlefields, I just wish that every other fps player in the world wasn't leagues better than I.

92

One of the best multiplayer games ever!

nebur91 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all nebur91's reviews »

I've played this game for some many hours and it never ceases to amaze me. The graphics are awesome, and playing it with friends is amazing. It does of course has it's issues, such as problematic hit registration, but overall it is great. I actually also enjoyed the single player, where as many others don't seem to have. Battlefield has and will always be a multiplayer game, but it is nice to see them work on some singleplayer. I though it was decently polished and had an okay story. As for coop, I don't really think it is a much fun as just playing online multiplayer with a friend, but it was okay as long as I didn't go try hard on the coop levels.

96

The best multiplayer FPS on this planet

Arlic | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all Arlic's reviews »

I have started play the Battlefield series since Battlefield 2. I was great game as Battlefield BFBC2 and Battlefield 3 is.

Battlefield 3 comparing to previous series has a lot better graphic, triple more weapons, new vehicles and new kind of vehicles - Jets!.

The best about this game is size of maps and number of players! Maps in the game are too big to predict everything around you. Number of players make this game incredible sensitive to team play skill of your team

The final conclusion: If you like FPS games - you have to get this game. I will subtract 4 points for optimization at launch time.

88

When the battlefield becomes real.

killar89 | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all killar89's reviews »

Big fan of FPS, I stopped playing the battlefield series after Vietnam and came back for Bad Company 1 & 2. Battlefield 3 is a very nice surprise, both realistic and fun to play this game is a must have. The graphics are gorgeous, the Frostbite engine is doing an excellent job, even on middle end machines! The immersion is excellent with obstacle crossing and knife animation. The sound is well known in the Battlefield series to be really nicely rendered! This game sounds so real, the weapons, the ground materials, the vehicles, everything is real! The gameplay was my biggest fear after seeing the promotion videos but once you get the hand on it, it's like you did that for your entire life. Sniping becomes your job and headshooting your hobby!

Obviously I'll not talk about the solo mode since it's boring as hell. Multi mode is quite classic for battlefield aficionados but that's why we play! There are plenty of servers, maps and game mode. Servers are dedicated (boo COD boo). The maps are huge, nicely designed and gives you the opportunity to perform both in vehicles and by foot.

My big drawback is the way the game is managed, through Origin and then a web interface (that display really cool statistics) that is more or less trying to become a sort of social network thing... I'm an old school boy!

Except for some little balancing issues and crashes with the battlelog platform, we can say that this game is quite fantastic!

96

To me, the best multiplayer experience for a FPS.

KingArthas94 | Oct. 16, 2013 | See all KingArthas94's reviews »

The game is absolutely awesome. The graphics are stunning, the plot of the single player is interesting but the campaign is short, the multiplayer... standing ovation. Buy it if you like the fps genre.

The only problem is the netcode: sometimes you will dile while going behind something to not be hit by the enemies but the bullets will hurt you anyway. It's a sort of lag but not depending on your connection.

87

Cooperate or die.

SkyorZX | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all SkyorZX's reviews »

BF3 is one of the must have FPS for all the fans of this genre. Like other shooters, this game is a simulation of modern warfare, but with a touch of realism.

The size of the maps is awesome, there isn't something like that in other shooters, big maps with multiple vehicles, since jets to motorbikes o small boats.

This game at first promise a great destruction, but... not exactly, you can destroy walls, sometimes can destroy a little house... but nothing more.

The online modes are addictive, Conquest or rush, in all the modes you must cooperate with your team, but to be more specific, with your squad, the squad brings to you a series of perks, like running fast or more damage with explosives, and you can support to your squad like a medic with a desfibrilator or first aid pack, or like a Sniper marking enemies.

Conclusion, this is a great game to play with friends in a squad, but if you play alone, maybe you prefer other Shooters like the saga CoD.

80

Nice

Lasiu2 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Lasiu2's reviews »

I played this game some time ago. I think its pretty cool. Mostly i like realistic in this game. I can feel like a real soldier. This game has go awesome graphic and pretty nice soundtrack. I like number of available weapons! Its really surprising how many of them are existing in real military. I learned a lot of new names of weapons etc. :D Single player is really good too and multiplayer is on high level. There are lot of maps and they are big so you can play and play and play ;P Now lets go to cons. I think that there are too much games like this. I know its not bf's fault but come on, calm down guys! Lets say it isn't minus... but i think this game is like Paris... A lot of people say how awesome is it, but when u look at it.. its still cool but not as awesome as your friends said. Its like a spoiler i think. I think this game is pretty nice, but don't listen to your friends, just rate this game on your own and have fun!

100

Georgous game!

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game is incredible. First I'll start with the graphics, they are second best graphics in a game (crysis 3 take number 1). Although the game may seem bland each element (shading, water, guns) are outstanding and fit in perfectly with the games maps which are expansive and amazing. The sound is also brilliant with guns actually sounding LIKE guns. The campaign is also great and the multiplayer is second to none. If you love FPS games this is a must.

88

Great game

izvest | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all izvest's reviews »

I've played almost all Battlefield series games since the release of Battlefield 2 and they've never let me down.

Battlefield 3 multiplayer is very fun to play, you will have various game modes and maps to play and it works fairly well, although there are some very annoying bugs in it.

What comes to the singleplayer, well, it ain't so good. After all Battlefield series has always been about the multiplayer.

94

Best multiplayer game

Jimmysil | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

I must confess I'm new to the Battlefield brand. I haven't play any Battlefield titles before. But honestly I regret it now, because Battlefield 3 made me love this brand. It has very good campaign, and groundbreaking multiplayer. Literally.

In multiplayer you never get bored and I think that there is a way to play for everybody. Someone do better with ground vehicles, so he takes tank. Other people likes more to be in the air, and they fly jets or helicopters. But even on you feet you can fight against these vehicles. This game is fair to everybody. And everyone can find his place in this game.

89

Excelent swedish production.

felixdahlqvist | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all felixdahlqvist's reviews »

This game has it all. Multiplayer that never makes you tired, i have spent countless hours playing this! Leveling classes and unlocking new weapons. Even the vechicles have its own levels. Endless fun with friends and solo is just as good. Only negative thing for me is Battlelog, the system with BF2 was much better than this. Restarting this to play before BF4 which is gonna be Game of the year. (GOTY) Go hard, go battlefield!

80

Great Singleplayer!

Thomazen | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Thomazen's reviews »

This game has gotten a lot of great feedbacks for the multi-player. But what is not to be forgotten in this great shooting-adventure, is the fabulous single-player which makes ones thoughts go back to the original games of the series!

Be sure to get this title, even though multi-player might lack here and there from time to time.

90

as good as i thought it would be

comedychris | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all comedychris's reviews »

i have a mid-high end pc, and as such play with max specs and high settings, the graphics are stunning, each gun is 150x more realistic and impressive simply to look at than from a game even 5 years ago... the multiplayer is much less linear than the evil call of duty that fights with BF for supremacy and in my opinion, more unique, maps are bigger, character customization is much bigger + better and community is so much more mature, the single player campaign isn't anything new.. bad guys come you stop em etc but... good for an extra bonus when the 500+ hours of multiplayer are done :D

77

Great multiplayer experience

Blacky38410 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Blacky38410's reviews »

If you want to play a good solo game, try another game (BF3 solo campaign isn't that bad, but it is not the greatest solo experience I've ever had either).

But if you seek fun and great online battles, Battlefield 3 is the game you should buy. Multiplayer has always been the strength of the Battlefield franchise, and this episode is keeping this reuptation up. BF3 is one of the greatest FPS of this generation, offering hours of battle, various battlefields to play with, numerous vehicles including jets and helicopeters and amazing graphics.

79

My, oh my, oh my

08woodh1 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

This game. There's not a lot I can write, truth be told. This is may look like your ordinary shooter game, but that is far from the truth. This game adds realism. Jets, tanks, buggies, LAVs; everything! Unlike Call of Duty, this game has no, "trickshots" or "quick scopes", no, this game requires you to play it realistically and to the best of your ability. I admit that at times, this game becomes the most infuriating thing on the planet, but it is a laugh with your friends as you get immersed into the action, making you say jargon which your friends don't even understand, such as: "Roger, we are Oscar Mike to the LZ, but Tango movement is present. over.". This game is truly the best game ever made my EA, and it is a game to get.

88

One of the best multiplayer!

spiken0 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all spiken0's reviews »

Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.

90

Love the dynamic maps

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

Best multiplayer i have ever experienced, although it is hard to get to grips with at first. Also being team player is necessary; unlike many other fps games, where you're a single soldier who takes on everyone else - which gives it a competitive edge. I like the fact that EA have made the online passes free too, as you can buy a console version of the game without having to purchase the online pass. But that's not really applicable on PC anyway! It is very good, and a very competitive online game.

89

Multiplayer is amazing

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

This game has a pretty good single player, not as good as the Call Of Duty games in my opinion, but it's still pretty good. The multiplayer however is absolutely amazing! When playing with a group of your friends online it's really fun. It's the most fun I;ve had on a multiplayer game in a long time. I you liked the previous Battlefields and you like online first person shooters, then there's no doubt you'll love this game.

85

Good only in multiplayer

balbo79 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is developed by DICE and published by EA, the title since its release was accompanied by several positive reviews that called it the most realistic shooter in history, for me it was very close to that, but it is penalized by a single player insufficient. The single player is characterized by a variety of situations enviable and a compelling story and highlights the technical sector practically perfect, but is penalized by a plot obvious, too linear and told imperfectly, also the gameplay of the single player segment is penalized by the enemy ia really embarrassing. The co-op missions fail to save the single player segment, they recuperate maps and situations already seen in the main plot. But fortunately there is the competitive online which is one of the highest points ever seen in a fps, the maps are huge, varied and very detailed in every game and will create situations that are always different and always spectacular at the same time with soldiers, tanks and helicopters. The methods are very different from each other and very funny

64

Could have been amazing

nemesis44uk | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

So, I fired up the game and straight away, I thought "Battlelog? What's this?" Instead of a conventional menu screen, it's a browser based launch system that tracks your kills, deaths etc. Different, but okay....

I'm not overly focused on graphics, but I do like games to look nice and boy, does this ever look nice! The quality of shading and effects are almost good enough to fool you that it is real life. The sound also deserves a shout out, because it is an area that many games skimp on, but the weapons sound very authentic and LOUD!

Singleplayer is entertaining enough, but it feels very generic and it's not something that you will play through more than once.

Multiplayer is where Battlefield 3 lives and dies. Unfortunately, I don't spend every waking moment playing games, so I am merely cannon fodder for those that do. Fair enough, I will play and improve. Except I don't. I go behind an enemy and fire around 10-15 shots into him, he turns round in a flash and boom. One shot, one kill. Repeat ad infinitum.

I have been playing online shooters since the days of the original Doom and I can honestly say, I have never been so frustrated with the level of competition. I even try noobie servers, but they are dominated by excellent players who want to kill noobs and boost their stats.

Is it cheating? When someone has a kill/death ratio of over 50-1, I have to ask myself that.

Some fun can be had, capturing points is where I tend to try and pick up scores - forget about shooting people, it's impossible.

That's the problem for me - an online shooter that you can't shoot people in? I'll stick to Planetside, thanks.

89

Fun

ysk1985 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all ysk1985's reviews »

This game is great. I had a blast on single player admiring the visuals. The graphics are amazing. There multiplayer is where this game shines though. There are many modes online including capture the flag and death match. You can pilot tanks and fly jets. There is a co op mode for you and a friend to play. Get this game now.

70

A few missed steps but a competent shooter all the same.

Noodlesocks | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Noodlesocks's reviews »

For those who have played any of the previous Battlefield games on PC, it would not be hard to miss how less complete Battlefield 3 feels. With smaller maps ranging from claustrophobic corridor shooter to constant action, clustered vehicle maps.

The emphasis on constant action permeates throughout the game's design, with many features from previous games either removed or modified to encourage fast paced, non-stop action. Coupled with a lack of of VOIP for the PC version and a near broken communication system, one will be lucky to find any semblence of teamwork from your fellow team mates beyond that of moving in the same general direction the largely linear maps direct you down.

That being said; the game is not flat out bad but it is not the same Battlefield PC gamers will be used to from BF 2142 and earlier. While the DLC/premium edition certainly improves on the map design, the core game remains a flawed gem.

70

Terrible story,but a fun multiplayer and co-op

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

I've been gaming on the PC since the late 90s, and this is one of the best games that I have experienced. If you enjoy first person shooters on the PC, then this is a must. The game features stunning graphics, but it can still run, and look good on a mid range PC. This game goes above and beyond what other shooters have done in the past and has interesting and unique features (if you want to call them that) that other games simply do not have. These include realistic physics that affect all projectile objects (bulletts fall over distance), suppressive fire that blurrs the screen of the player being suppressed, lasers that blind you, flashlights that white out your screen in dark areas, and sniper's scopes show a glare in the sunlight. The game also features one of the best animation systems that I've seen. Characters transition naturally from animation to animation. Moving about the environment feels realistic, and it looks realistic when viewing other players. The game provides the opportunity to drive and fly all the vehicles in the game during multiplayer. This is what Battlefield is known for. The vehicle combat is fun, but it requires skill, especially when flying in jets or helicopters. Aside from these new aspects of the game, the recent trend of unlocks and leveling up in shooters is found in this game. You gain experience points for doing things in the game, and that translates into leveling up and unlocking goodies. Battlefield has 4 classes in multiplayer: Assault, Engineer, Support, & Recon. Each class has it's own unlock progression and own special abilities. The game encourages you to be a team player. When playing as a team and playing to the strengths of your class, you earn points faster. All in all, this is one of the best multiplayer shooters out there. The single player game is short, but enjoyable. It will most likely be finished up in under 10 hours. The story isn't necessarily ground breaking, but it is fun to play through. However, quick time events kind of take away from the otherwise good experience. Not to say they are bad, but they don't seem to fit with what this game is about. They feel like they were an afterthought. The story itself is not as well written as some others on the market, but it works just fine for the game. It doesn't detract at all from the experience, it's just not the most original story out there. There are some things which I don't like, but they aren't the game itself. They are Origin and Battlelog. Origin is required to play the game, no matter where you bought the game. The program itself is trying to be an alternative to Steam, but it isn't as user friendly, and it isn't as optimized. It will give occasional errors and crashes. For me, I haven't had too many issues, but others have had a great number of issues. It seems hit or miss. Battlelog is the web interface through which you access the game itself. It isn't too bad, but it is trying to turn the game into a social network, which some like and others don't. You track all your player stats through here, and this is also where you access the game and select serverst to play. You have a communication center in here where you can invite friends to join your game, create partys to play together, and use voice coms with your party.

85

Great Online FPS

SuperNOVAfx | July 27, 2013 | See all SuperNOVAfx's reviews »

Great online FPS experience for the casual player. It is really fun to play with organized squads and the progression system/gun, map and environment variety, as well as the numerous ways you can play the game will make you come back for more time and time again. This game is easy to pick up, but hard to master but the journey sure is pleasing. Don't miss out on one of the best multiplayer FPS games that came out in the last couple of years!

69

Terrible singleplayer, clunky multiplayer, entertaining co-op.

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | See all kubqo's reviews »

Campaign of Battlefield 3 is probably the single worst piece of singleplayer in FPS in a years. It is just a one giant script. And when you finally get to do a mission in jet, it turns out its basically just a giant QTE. It should learn you to fly, drive a tank and use different kinds of equipment which you will be then immidiatelly able to use in MP. Co-op with its 1 live per level can ge pretty intense and its actually kinda fun to play with friend. However its so bugged that you will have to restart some levels couple of times. MP is the best part of the game, although its very clunky and unpolished. Most of the time you get killed by campers (more often than its CoD) or jet pilots (who usually get 50/1 KD ratio) which makes it oftenly frustrating.

65

great for a duration

waynehwc | July 2, 2013 | See all waynehwc's reviews »

is great when you play it when it just came out on multiplayer, single player and other things unrealted to multiplayer is good, the story not that good like other fps, what makes this not so good is multiplayer level system in order to get better gear faster u must do better then others but they have advantage because of upgardes they get for being higher level, e.g. a armor skill that reduce explosive damge taken. this game makes it harder for new players to level the later you buy this game from release date.

99

Great Game.

Shaduw | June 22, 2013 | See all Shaduw's reviews »

It has really nice Graphics and its fun to play, great fps!

100

Just the best

albero78 | June 20, 2013 | See all albero78's reviews »

Forget single player. If you buy Battlefield 3 is to play multiplayer. This game is very well balanced and the PC version is really amazing. Sound and graphics are awesome and you won't be disappointed by the gameplay after a few hours of training. Battlefield 3 allows players to play a short game for 10 minutes before dinner and also to have big and long sessions with your friends coordinated in a squad. It is in this latter case that battlefield 3 gains a lot of longevity. Indeed if I should judge the best games of my life from the hours I've spent on, Battlefield 3 would not have any rival. The game is enriched by these RPG elements that are an incentive to play more and become a good player with all the classes available. For me it is a 10/10 without any doubt.

89

Best online experience in a FPS.

VERTIGO2K12 | June 18, 2013 | See all VERTIGO2K12's reviews »

Considering the fact that I got about two weeks ago and it's near the end because of the soon to be released Battlefield 4, it's still an extremely popular game which brings people together in a fun experience while learning important day to day skills like team playing. With a powerfull computer, you will most definitely have the best gaming experience because of the incredible graphics of the game and the overall smothness of the gameplay which takes this game really close to reality. While nowadays there are so many online shooters, this one is the best in my opinion and I can guarantee it's the same with many other people.

95

Great. Simply great.

LAWRDO96 | June 15, 2013 | See all LAWRDO96's reviews »

This game runs, looks and feels superb. It is a must.

87

Battlefield nice Multiplayer

Taifox | June 13, 2013 | See all Taifox's reviews »

I always played the old Call of Duty Games like Cod 4 or Cod 2 in the Electronic Sports league, but the new ones cant mess themselfes with Battlefield 3. I like the tactical features of Bf3, like the squad mechanics or the front fights and the rush missions, its a game where the best is what u would have done in real life. Its a great war simulation.

99

Great FPS!

mekplus | June 11, 2013 | See all mekplus's reviews »

I was playing the free version called as "Battlefield Play4Free", but now, it's time to play the real version. I purchased this game and upgraded to Premium Service. This game is completely great!

100

Best FPS Multiplayer Game

Bruny07 | May 31, 2013 | See all Bruny07's reviews »

One of the best fps multiplayer game that I played. Excellent graphics and gameplay.

97

Battlefield 3

StevieOnline | May 27, 2013 | See all StevieOnline's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is a truly awesome game. Great graphics and impressive battles with player controlled air support from planes and helicopters covering the ground unit soldiers, tanks and vehicles. Although Battlefield 3 could do with a few more maps at launch it's still easily one of the best and most challenging shooters available.

85

Fantastic Team Based Shooter

kdstudios | May 4, 2013 | See all kdstudios's reviews »

I've always been a fan of previous Battlefield titles, from WW2 to Bad Company 1 and 2 games. I was curious about this one and couldn't wait to try it. I wasn't disappointed. The single player campaign wasn't fantastic, but it was enjoyable. Instead of the usual outrageous and pointless fighting, there was a sense of realism and authenticity behind it. I actually felt like I was trying to make a difference and to try saving lives. However because it was aiming for that realism, it took out some of the enjoyment with the talking scenes. The Co-op in this game was pretty interesting, there are multiple missions and you can play either with a friend or a random person in the world. Some can be rather difficult but they require teamwork and if you both communicate you can succeed rather easily and so I couldn't help but keep playing it even after completing each mission. The Multiplayer is where this game excels at most. It has the best team based combat you will ever experience, just like in other Battlefield titles. If you all play as lone wolves, chances are you will die a lot and probably lose the battles. You can play with friends and people around the world, you can use a microphone to communicate and co-ordinate the battle. Work together to take objectives, destroy enemies in vehicles such as tanks and helicopters and kill enemies by watching eachothers backs. You don't get this in other first person shooter franchises. I definitely reccommend this game because even if you don't or can't play with friends you can easily play with other random people around the world and still communicate well to win battles. You might even make some online friends to play with in the future. Another reason to consider this game is that overall, the community is more mature than other franchises. Naturally there is one or two hot heads out there but they are present in all franchises. I give the game 85/100 because I have enjoyed it a lot and while it has suffered from bugs and nerfs over the years, I still enjoy the experience and I still play it to this day, years after the game was released.

90

Awesome multiplayer

Stebsis | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

I don't really play multiplayer games, not at least military shooters. Only stuff like Natural Selection 2, Assassin's Creed and some arena type myltiplayers, but Battlefield 3 got me really hooked.

Graphically the game is superb, even if it's not on the highest setting which you'll need pretty good PC. Terrain and cover gets destroyed around you realistically as bullets and tank shells hit it. There is rarely any chance to take cover from tank or someone with rocket launcher, just run and hope for the best. Sound design is also just awesome. Bullets, footsteps, helicopters, jets and tanks sound realistic and it's a real treat to ears to hear everything around you, bullets flying in the distance, people screaming, jet flies over you and tanks fire from afar, it makes it seem and sound like a real battlefield. Level design is varied and there are lots of different areas to choose and all play differently and you need to learn the maps to use them efficiently.

Even though I was a bit sceptical about using Origin and a web browser based kind of like lobby to start the game, but it's pretty great. You can easily access everything that you need, statistics, loadouts, multiplayers, campaign, co-op, everything under the same roof make it quick and easy to use.

Combat is tons of fun and you really need to work in a team to capture objective or whatever your mission is, alone you will not survive long. There are lots of guns to use. I just think it's a bit shame that you don't really see which gun is more powerful than other, I'm real stat nut, I like to see what kind of damage etc. the weapons I use, do. On the other hand it doesn't give exactly unfair advantage over new players as every gun is basically the same but with different ranges, rate of fire scopes etc. and it lets you use the gun that you like and are the best with, and not the one that's clearly more powerful than the other.

All and all, Battlefield 3 is really enjoyable multiplayer shooter, single player that I played a while is just tacked on and is there just to kind of make you used to the mechanics of the game, it works kind of like tutorial to the meat of the game, multiplayer. I'm still not the biggest fan of military shooters, but the realism of Battlefield 3 definitely makes it enjoyable.

83

Decent Multiplayer Shooter military style

Stefann | Oct. 3, 2012 | See all Stefann's reviews »

Battlefield 3 dies live up to its expectation of a good shooter continuing where battlefield 2 left of. Currently there is no better FPS available, look at the graphics and hear that sound it will overwhelm and amaze you.

Game consist of a single- and multi player

In the single player mode you get to kill in the subway, drive a tank, run around and fly. You get a lot of different weapons and nice cut scenes and a lot of interaction. Although this sounds promising the single player is just to short and your mission is to "stop that nuke" (where have I heard this before?).

Everyone just bought the game for multi player, why not I did too . A lot of maps and modes you can run around with almost every weapon available, tanks, airplanes, boats,... This game needs teamwork, without teamwork, the map can get a little boring, 'cos you get shot a lot of times without someone watching your back. Its a fun experience to kill the other guys. After countless hours in multilayer you get to asked myself was it worth it ? Yes I think it was, killing and unlocking everything. I must say I expected even a little bit more.

You will enjoy this game for a long time (countless hours!) unlocking everything working in team, but after a while you get the feeling time to move on.

If you buy this game because you want to shoot 'em up military style, go ahead others did (as I) and where not disappointed.

87

Probably the best Multiplayer FPS available.

zhack075 | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

If you are looking for a great military Multiplayer oriented FPS, buy it.

The solo isn't mindblowing but it's a good experience. The F-18 railshooter flight is kind of boring but the atmosphere and feelings you get during this mission are amazing. it's probably due to the fact that graphics are great and sound is trully amazing. I recommend you to play BF3 using a headset in order to get into the game more easily as sounds are very realistic.

Multiplayer is probably one of the best available. I don't think you can compare it to Call of duty as this game is more based on team effort wereas COD is much more based on skill in my opinion. The weapon system is great. Unlike the solo, in multiplayer you can unlock many items to customize your weapons (flashlight, holosight, reflex, silencer... ) and the different items available for each classes allow you to help your team the way you want. By the way the bodyawareness is amazing too !

The only things I don't like with BF3 is the fact that EA tends to adopt the same selling techniques as Activision and I found the premium system very expensive for was it is. Otherwise, it's one of the best FPS i've ever played !

90

My opinion of Battlefield 3

pcgfng | Sept. 5, 2012 | See all pcgfng's reviews »

The story in single player is bland, but there are moments in the game that are great which I won't spoil. Cooperative play is possible in BF3 using Battlelog which is a website to that you use to set up & connect to games instead of it typically done in-game. Battlelog also allows you to monitor your stats/unlocks/achievements as well as other players.

Playing with a friend may be difficult for some people if you've not configured your firewall/ports correctly. If Battlelog is down, you won't be able to play any part of Battlefield 3, single/multiplayer or co-op. This isn't often, but when it does happen due to maintainence/update, it's for a few hours.

Multiplayer is one or possibly the main attraction, big maps, air, land & sea vehicles & infantry fights. Vehicle, weapon & gadget unlocks are achieved by gaining xp points by doing such thing as playing the objective, dropping supplies for your squad/team, spotting enemies, injuring but not kill the enemy & so on.

Battlefield 3 looks great even on low graphical settings, but can be too much eye candy on high or max. You are required to have Origin installed in order to play Battlefield 3. Overall, Battlefield 3 is a great game if you like a first person shooter with vehicles.

90

A new Battlefield!

Zinzun | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

For the first time, single-player section of this game really suits me. It has an interesting story, a great variety type of mission and it's really valuable. By the way, multiplayer section is good as always. Many maps, vehicle, weapons unlock etc. You will play this for month, even without the expansion set.

92

Incredible graphic and fun multiplayer

panz3r88 | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is an amazing FPS oriented to multiplayer . This is the first title in the main Battlefield series that features a single player story, but it's very short and you can consider it a training for the multiplayer modes, that are the core of the game. In multiplayer you can play some coop mission or try one of the many competitive multiplayer modes. The maps are really large and you can use many different kind of vehicles. Battlefield is an FPS where team play is recommended and it's better to find a team where each player can cooperate to win the game. There are four different class and many different weapons and there is a good balance between all the elements. If you want to try something different to Call of Duty and more oriented to teamplay, Battlefield is the game for you

100

The best shooter game ever!

maciej2601 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

The third edition of an excellent series of shooters, who became famous with the climate and extensive multiplayer mode. This time we get both a solo game (campaign) and multiplayer (cooperation and competition). The game uses the Frostbite engine and boasts two excellent lighting and a system of destruction.

90

Absolutely Brilliant Game

Thulfiqaar | July 26, 2012 | See all Thulfiqaar's reviews »

If you like first person view shooters then you have to get this! Let me list a few things why you need to have it:

  • Stunning Realistic Graphics

  • The sound is incredible, it really makes you feel as if you are in the middle of a war zone. If you have a good head set or a great 5.1 or higher surround system then you are going to love the sound of BF3

  • Addictive Gameplay, if you liked Bad Company 2 then most likely you will love this.

  • Dedicated servers, that means you can find servers that are moderated well. As close as it gets to Hack free and idiot free. Why? because should anybody break the rules they can get and even banned by the admins of the server. You don't have to rely on Dice to do it for you.

  • Teamwork focussed type of game

  • Team Death Match is my favourite but you only get to enjoy it once you have really gotten used to the game and are decent at it.

91

Best Multiplayer Shooter

EneSanyi | July 25, 2012 | See all EneSanyi's reviews »

The story is the copy of Modern Warfares and it's recommended to miss, but the multiplayer and the co-op is awesome. The co-op's 6 missions are short but it worths checking out. The multiplayer is the best online experience I've ever had. The 64 vs 64 battles on PC are fantastic and the graphics is the best of the videogames yet. It looks beautiful just on low settings. If you like multiplayer shooters look at Battlefield 3 it will be your favourite online game.

95

haters gonna hate...

wojtek858 | July 3, 2012 | See all wojtek858's reviews »

...but this game is just amazing! For me it's the best modern shooter available. Graphic is WONDERFUL, system requirements not so high (i play it on Radeon HD4850 - Medium details, AA off). Gameplay great, physics good (well except some bugs), realism high.

BUT the game have some big cons... Humans. There is just too many pro-players-no-livers. It is very common to see ppl in other team that are almost all on highest level or close to it. That REALLY sucks when you are noob at start.

At first I had K/D ratio like 0.01 LOL never happened before. After 10 hours of game I managed to get to 0.9 and still rising. It's just hard to play when you are new, but you will used to it.

90

Really good game, bad policy.

viju | June 30, 2012 | See all viju's reviews »

I have played this game only in multiplayer, so that's the only part I can talk about.

In one word, I would say this game is awesome. In more words, it's a well balanced game between simulation and arcade, making a good mixture of tactical and quick gameplay. It's better if you play with friends, or at least cooperating with your squad, that will give you more points and you will see how this game should be played.

Unfortunately, it has some nasty maps that are usually an explosion party more than a real battle between soldiers, that makes them playable properly only in hardcore mode (with friendly fire, people don't tend so much to indiscriminately throw grenades or fire rockets or grenade launcher). Actually, these maps are ok in hardcore mode.

In conclusion, it's a great game, well balanced, with different classes to choose, very customizable, but with a big con: it only has 8 maps, and some of them get a bit boring because they are almost one corridor with everyone shooting and throwing explosives without aiming. Another thing is that they will launch tons of DLC and the final price if you want everything will be the double.

91

Probably the best FPS game for years.

SteveMcMillan | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all SteveMcMillan's reviews »

This game has come on a long way from the closed Alpha and and Open Beta versions and the full game is stunning.

There isn't one game out there today that can say they have what Battlefield 3 has - Multiple vehicles, weapons, attachments, equipment, unique game-mods, squads, Battlelog tracking and this list is basically endless.

The game isn't without it's problems though - There are currently (as of writing) some bugs in the game, however, un-like other developers DICE have already acknowledged the problems and are going to fix them.

Each one of the maps are around 200x larger than any Call of Duty map - With the larger map having more vehicle transport (Boats, Jeeps, Jets, Helicopters, Tanks, Subterranean Vehicles and more coming in the new DLC in December.)

Battlefield 3 already has some DLC content in the works aimed to be out in December - which is another take on Battlefield 2 maps - the artwork and graphics in the game and upcoming DLC look stunning.

If you're into squad based, large scale FPS warfare - then Battlefield 3 is for you and at this price from GMG you can't go wrong either.

Give it a go, you'll be surprised.

95

Modern shooter as it should be

toolz | Nov. 13, 2011 | See all toolz's reviews »

Great series, great graphics and great gameplay. Multiplayer is where the game shines. Tons of unlockables, tons of vehicles and up to 64 player matches makes for constant action. Teamwork has never been this rewarding and the Frostbite 2 engine provides with a immersive experience. Upon the realistic graphics the clear and deep sound provides a realistic feeling to the battelfield. As long as your pc can handle the game you will enjoy every second of it.

98

Amazing

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 3, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Graphicaly astonishing with a great and fun multiplayer gameplay. The game mainly focuses on the multiplayer mode, the singlelpayer mode is really short and it's more like an introduction or a small tutorial to the multiplayer. The sound counterpart is another amazing thing done extremely well also the CO-OP mode is extremely fun to play at. Explosive action with giant maps and many vehicles to drive to chause caos across everywhere. It's a game wich deserves the title of GOTY because of the innovations it brought and much more. You shouldn't it miss out!