Reviews for The Sims 3 (EU)

40

Too casual and too expensive

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

I did an in depth comparison between this one and it's predecessor on youtube and my opinion is not the most popular one. I dislike The Sims 3, even though I loved the previous entries to the series. And here's why:

While the recolouring options have been increased the base game gets you significantly less hair styles, clothing items, furniture, etcetera. The customization is really important to me and after a while you just feel like you're playing the same person over and over and over again.

Map creation is more complicated than it should be. Want to design a map? Download a map editor and struggle to place trees one by one without them floating in the air. The previous installment had it very easy - you had an option in game to choose a layout and then create all of the buildings and place decorations without having to leave the game.

The game is too easy. Need drop was reduced to ridiculous amounts. So much so that now sometimes you end up thinking what to do with your sim at nighttime. The sim should be sleepy. But it's not even tired yet!

a semi pro - always alive town with sims growing and moving about is a great improvement! However it can break. I remember starting a challenge where I'm supposed to repopulate a town from zero with sims of my own and switch between the families to play with them. Well after you reach a certain limit the sims that you made pregnant "forget" that they're pregnant, some sims disappear, etc. If you're not planning on playing a complex challenge though it's definitely a plus!

Badly optimized - if you're planning to only play The Sims 3 vanilla, without any expansions this is not a problem. However after installing all expansions you end up with a 40 GB game that runs really really slow even on a high spec PC.

my take on it - too easy, not enough customization, hard to make your own content, however if you never played previous entries into the franchise, or enjoy the easy difficulty then you will probably enjoy it. It most definitely has some good points of its own, but I would say - sit this one out.

85

Easy to have fun, hours just go by

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

The Sims 3 is a game where you can create virtual people that will live with each other and lead their lives by your command. It is possible to even plan and decorate their houses!

The whole game is like a virtual dollhouse but instead of a house it is a city. Watching the sims go by their lives and trying to get them fulfil their life goals or just goofing around is rewarding and a nice way to kill time.

What makes the game funner is the possibility to (of course) create yourself and your friends and anyone you know with the character editor and pretend to control them. What fun!

A big downside however, is that the loading time are reaaaaaaalllly looonng. Otherwise The Sims 3 would be the ideal game to play just a few minutes every now and then.

97

You will have fun with this. I promise!

KatsumihD | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all KatsumihD's reviews »

This game is amazing,because it is a simulation to real life. All things you can´t or wouldn´t do,you can do in this simulation. It is very funny and has alot of gametime,because of the many dlcs and so on. The Graphics are great not great like crysis 3 more great like perfect for this gameworld. It´s addicting. The only bad thing about this game is that the characters are pretty dumb if there is a table in the way,so they can´t do their job,they will yell at you to remove the table,which the should do on their own,but it isn´t a big deal. So in my opinion it is a must buy.

100

Addictable

mandaac1993 | Jan. 27, 2014 | See all mandaac1993's reviews »

Sims 3, was first introduced to me by a friend a couple years ago, and since then I got into this game so much. Every time a new expansion pack comes out I have to get and sit on the computer for hours and hours and play it. In other words this is one of the best games I have played in my life and I advise anyone to play this game. You will get addicted to it. Colorful, fun and brilliant. Truly AMAZING!

88

Ad addictive as ever

Gmen | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Pros:

  • Addictive gameplay
  • New additions as well as familiar things

Cons:

  • Looks (and plays) quite similar to The Sims 2
  • Irritating AI

Every time a Sims title comes out, I seem to drop everything for a few days or weeks, and just sit there and play the game. With The Sims 3, it was no different.

The great thing about almost any Sims title, is that there isn’t a set story - you invent your own, and it can be whatever you want it to be. You can play as yourself and live the life you've always wanted to live, or you can play as your enemies and make their virtual lives miserable. You have a lot of control over what you can do, and it’s this that appeals to so many people.

Graphically, The Sims 3 doesn’t look that much different from The Sims 2. Some have even gone as far as to say that it, especially the characters, look worse. This is disappointing when you think of what a leap The Sims 2 was in terms of looks over The Sims. The Sims 3 still has a slightly cartoonish feel to it. This of course means lots of colour, and that is something different from most mainstream games today, which like to dwell in darkness, and exhibit nothing but different shades of grey, brown, black, and other dark or neutral hues.

The Sims 3 is bright, vibrant, and has character. Of course you can play any way you want, and your own house can be dim, broken down, and a horrid eyesore, but the rest of the town will carry on shining all the while - unless you decide to edit and change it too, which is totally doable.

The animation is just as smooth if not more so than The Sims 2, and in some cases, can be influenced by what personality your sim has. In fact a lot of things are dependent on this. Your sims can trip, stumble, lose their balance, and do other things that will make you chuckle.

There is the problem of clipping in this game, where items intersecting with other things like walls can stick through them. Sims will walk through each other at times too.

The texture quality holds a few things that I’m not entirely happy with. The quality is reduced as you zoom out and increases as you zoom in, and if you hover over someone else’s house, you’ll notice that the detail is very poor, but sharpens over time. If you hover back to your house, the quality also drops, and you’ll notice that depending on how big the place is, it can take a while for everything to start “showing”; hard to explain in writing. This is most likely all done to increase the framerate, which can already be a bit choppy at times, or so the game is playable on older PCs.

While still on the topic of bugs, there is an annoying bug here -- the speed up feature is broken. So you will spend literally ages waiting for your Sims to be done with sleeping.

The game has its issues, but is still a worthwhile addition to your collection. Just keep in mind you'll be paying a lot more for addon content that isn't included with the base game, as usual, and also keep in mind that The Sims 4 is just on the horizon.

93

Very fun

rjb789 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

In the Sims 3 you are left to your own devices. The game allows you to pretty much anything with the virtual characters you create in the very detailed character creator. You can make a family, have the father find a job and have the mum look after the children (or vice versa) and you have the option to speed up time so you don't have to wait for your sims to finish boring tasks and you can get to the fun stuff. You can throw house parties, get jobs, kick over bins and so much more! the game is surprisingly detailed too and the sims dialogue is frequently funny. if you like simulation games you should really play this game!

85

Can't deny the fun....

comedychris | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all comedychris's reviews »

many people will compare this game to the likes of minecraft and animal crossing etc the likes of, not having specific objectives... to some that is boring or pointless, but i have played sims 1 and 2 and now 3 and i can honestly say that, the customization, the colorful "both literal and figurative" nature of the world and characters is undeniably amazing, it makes cleaning with a animated being, who speaks gibberish not only a fun game to play but.. something i can sit at for several hours... the choices, relationships and options in this game are fantastic and would advise anyone to try it now!

81

It's addicting, I'll give it that

08woodh1 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

You can do anything you want. That is all I can say. You can design and make your ideal family with the jobs and traits you want. You can make your dream family and give them the jobs you have always wanted as well as live in your perfect house. It can be challenging, but rewarding, as you start off in a slum-like house and gradually add to it, making it almost a mansion! But don't get the impression that this game is all serious; you can meet death, hold parties and be the biggest pervert in town and wonder in to peoples' houses. This game is one of a kind and I love every second of it, and hopefully you will too.

90

Most advanced in the series

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

The Sims games have always been a personal favourite of mine, I've always loved being able to build my own home and family - especially with the new addition of being able to travel around the map! I've got a little family of super criminals living in a dirty looking mansion; while across the road their neighbours are all the basic perfect families! Brilliant fun.

85

Best Sims Game To Date!

HeyImPhoenix | June 3, 2013 | See all HeyImPhoenix's reviews »

Really is the best Sims game out there, it is basically the sims 2 but instead of focusing on your house, you can walk around the whole town. You do all the general things of Sims like take care of your hunger, hygiene and fitness. Meet friends and then make a family!

90

Solid

Ratmandu79 | May 2, 2012 | See all Ratmandu79's reviews »

There may be a few things missing from earlier sims games like the snooker table but all in all, this game is just as good if not better than any other sims game that has come before it. plenty of content available to expand on the gameplay and more towns to live in make this a must have for any sims fan.

90

Good family simulator

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 28, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Graphicaly it has been improved by a lot, it doesn't have the quality of games such as Crysis but it stil looks good, sadly to be played fluidly it requires quite a powerfull computer. The sounds and music have improved too, the sims talk, more realistic sounds effects and more. Gameplay wise there are many things to do and many things to modify and play with. You can have your own family or just live on your own, get a job, become rich and etc. Longevity? It's virtualy unlimited as players can create new objects wich they can share with other players.