Reviews for Alice: Madness Returns

73

Great Madness indeed!

Nexxolae | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all Nexxolae's reviews »

The story of Alice in Wonderland the way it should be! Great game, lovely story and creepy. This is a good hack 'n slash/platforming/puzzle game. It has a lot of variety in gameplay and can be pretty difficult. This is the 2nd game in the serie. The story kinda continues, but it is still followable/playable if you haven't played the first game. I recommend this game to everyone who likes a good RPG.

78

Great environments

gforcesa | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I really enjoyed this game.It's so fun and kinda scary.The gameplay is a hack and slash but there are some fun mechanics.You can also make yourself small in order to go into some small doors and explore them.Some enemies are kind of a pain in the ass to kill and sometimes it gets repeditive.Also the environments are really well done and every level is more unique than the previous.For a 10-12 hour campaign Alice:Madness Returns is a must play.

75

A wonderful surreal journey with some issues

Antix | Dec. 11, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

Alice Madness Returns is a game I really love, but don't recommend easily. It's a 3D platformer based on the classic story of Alice in Wonderland, and mostly takes place in a surreal rendering of Wonderland twisted through the mind of a deranged young girl.

The platforming gameplay is what you'd expect from a modern platformer. The level design is solid, new puzzles or mechanics get introduced from time to time but some areas feel like they overstay their welcome. There are hidden collectibles in every level. Some give you fragments of Alice's memory and you can usually directly make the connection between these and the workings of Wonderland, adding an extra layer to exploring Alice's mind. Unfortunately there are also some minigames you have to play a few times that are really not as fleshed out as the rest of the game and the one in the final area can be a bit frustrating.

There are some minor annoyances when it comes to the combat too, like the lock-on camera not always being cooperative or how you are required to lock on to be able to use the umbrella to reflect certain projectiles. This can become somewhat frustrating when a lot of enemies gang up on you, each requiring a different method of weakening them before being able to do damage, but overall the combat is solid for a platforming game. It's no Devil May Cry, but it's challenging and varied enough to keep you on your toes.

The thing that sets this game apart is its presentation. The storytelling itself makes use of the fact that Alice is mad, sometimes making hard to tell just how much of the real world you're seeing is actually reality and it will also not tell you everything at face value. There some strong themes in there you usually don't find in video games. Each area in the game has its own visual theme and it's presented in a gorgeous way. The art design that is simply fantastic and it will likely make you stop a few times just to admire the scenery. The atmosphere is one of a kind. Well, two of a kind actually, since the prequel was very similar. Either way, this game is something really unique and if you're someone who values atmosphere, witty writing and bizarre quirkiness, then despite its flaws, you might just find one of the hidden gems of the generation in this game.

85

Doesn't deserve the mixed reviews from critics

QuotedTurnip | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all QuotedTurnip's reviews »

A lot has happened in the interim period between the first game and its sequel. Perhaps expectations were too high given the critical success of the original, but, having played both, this is an improvement in every regard.

The visuals are an obvious place to start. It's more than just an enhancement in graphics; all the first game's quirks (meant in a good way) are still present in this one and the advanced hardware of modern PCs has allowed the creators to really run away with the graphics - sometimes I would stop Alice whilst playing and simply pan the camera round. Another good touch is the way her dress changes every level, helping to add to the level's theme and the story's progression.

The story itself deals a lot with psychology, which I haven't often seen really come off in a game that I've played - only Silent Hill 2 springs to mind as being a success in that department. Collecting all the hidden items in each level is tricky and might take several playthroughs or an online guide to get to but it is rewarding in the sense that it really fleshes out the background to the plot and Alice's state of mind.

The locations and enemies are varied enough to keep you interested and the length of the game is just right not to exhaust itself and the player.

90

Pick it up - Amazing!

Plasros | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Own this game via Steam for PC with a Logitech gamepad. If you're looking at this game, a controller is a must. This game, if you're into a sort of dark, twisted fairy tail atmosphere, is brilliant. Granted, the graphics could be slightly better, but it still looks great. Lots of secrets to discover, but so far hasn't seemed entirely worth the extra effort (haven't finished it yet though, so I don't know if it unlocks extra bits). It has a nice blend of platforming and action I think, so it doesn't get too repetitive for too long. Only reason I haven't rated it higher are minor issues. Sometimes, the camera just doesn't respond well and leaves you blindsided for a short bit. Also, there's a 'targeting' system that can require a lot of babysitting and quite often, leaves you struggling to attack the foe you want to be attacking. The game kind of makes up for this by not making a big deal out of dying. If you're looking for a fun hack'n'slash, action game, sprinkled with some puzzles, with a great, dark, artsy atmosphere that only Alice in Wonderland can really offer, then pick it up

80

It's not Alice in wonderland

simodeso | July 15, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Very great adventure game, a bit scary with all of these monster that you have to kill with a butcher knife and various weapon that you find in your quest. It's very funny to play, there are some puzzle and it has a great story. The idea is fantastic, in a world for babies, everything could kill you. It doesn't cost too much and for me it's an AAA game,if you like adventure games, this is perfect. It's the sequel of the first game, so you have to play the first episode before this, the plot a bit continues.. Hope you will enjoy this game!

77

Competent plataformer with a lot of variety

CJV | May 27, 2013 | See all CJV's reviews »

I have never played the prequel to this game and that may be why I didn't really care for the story. Like the story, the game has a dark tone to it but it plays like a colorful plataformer, where you have a lot of collectibles and hidden secrets. The game is in the most part a 3D plataformer with combat elements, but it has some sequences to mix things up a bit, like a scene where Alice is a giant and can smash the enemies or when you must control a doll's head. But what sets the game apart is it's beautiful art, each level has a particular style that makes them enjoyable to explore and prevents the game from feeling repetitive. And for a 12 hour campaign, avoiding repetition is kinda of important.

75

A very good sequel of the first episode...

Luckmuche | May 23, 2013 | See all Luckmuche's reviews »

There is a lot of years between the first episode and it, but despite of this, the magic remains the same ! To be honest, main advantage of this game is his artistic direction, if you've seen the Tim Burton's Alice, you'll not be in unfamiliar territory, it's just amazing and this is the real force of this game, so get it !

80

A rather strange and demented version of Alice in Wonderland

artigkar12 | May 19, 2013 | See all artigkar12's reviews »

This is a really beautiful looking platformer, from a technical standpoint the pretty wild hair on Alice was impressive. With that said this game shines in the art direction. The varied and (honestly) quite bizarre looking levels in this game is alone worth playing through to see. The story is quite interesting and is told through flashbacks to events that has happened and sometimes you even play the real world stuff (not wonderland).

Alice has gotten quite insane after her parents were killed in a fire, she is drifting back and forth between the real world and her fantasy world called Wonderland. The story in the game is quite interesting (at least it gets more interesting towards the end), not gonna spoil any of it. But I will mention that the game has some dark stuff in there, lets just say there is some quite disturbing exploitation of orphaned kids in the story and leave it at that.

The gameplay is third person platforming with some hack and slash and even a bit of gears of war style shooting (with the one weapon, don't worry its just the perspective. It won't suddenly turn into yet another coverbased shooter). It is occasionally broken up by minigame sections, often its a 2D sidescrolling perspective type thing (in one of the worlds, the japanese inspired one, the 2D minigame is quite interesting).

As far as why this game isn't getting a full score... I felt that this game had a couple of tedious platforming sections (not many, but still) and the enemy variety often leaves something to be desired. I mean the black goo with the creepy doll face variants, while makes sense in context of the story, gets pretty old by the time the game is close to its end. Fortunately its not just that enemy type all the time.

NOTE: I played the steam version of this game, it probably doesn't differ much from the origin version being offered here. Except for it being on Origin that is.

79

Alice: Madness Returns - review

carlyle | Jan. 17, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The game American McGee fun for the madness of the characters and the design of environments, hopping around from one decadent London to a hellish Wonderland. However, there are several limitations: Alice offers levels unnecessarily fetched and ideas are always the same, touching the bottom with boring sessions horizontally scrolling shoot'em up, there are also bad textures, as well as ruining the environment more pleasant, are often loaded late . The coup de grace give it a framerate sometimes dancer and the many invisible walls. This is not a complete failure, fans of the first episode and fans of the original novel certainly appreciate the way in which it was rebuilt Wonderland, but the fact remains that Alice has the bitter taste of a wasted opportunity.

80

A good platform adventure

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game is not American Mc Gee's Alice, so it isn't a masterpiece. But it still a very good game. The plot explain what happened to Alice after the first game, involving her parents murderer. There are a lots of location, some wonderful, some not great. Basically the game is good, but it has one thing I disliked: it require too time to compelte it. You will do the same thing over and over, and you will got bored soon. But, except for that, it is a very good game, expecially if you play in on Nightmare difficulty.

80

Good old Platform Style

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Amazing visuals. I believe the visuals alone could tell the story, it's extremely atmospheric, and it handles it self amazingly on all fronts. I absolutely adore and enjoyed this game

91

Alice meets the gorest Tim Burton......again!!

abelfs | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

I was just a teenager when I played the first Alice, and it was one of the most immersive games I ever played (with some bugs in the gameplay, but still a marvellous game). When I heard about this sequel I could just bite my nails. When it arrived I played it and I could just say: Bravo!! Still as good as the first one, but even better. All the little bugs that were in the first one are fix here, and the artistic direction......incredible. The only thing I mourn is that I could not enjoy it with Physx (I'm an ATI user).

90

Wonderful games

Zinzun | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This is the sequel of American McGee's Alice.Is not good as the first game was,but is still a great game. You will take the role of Alice some years after the prequel:now Alice is an adult,living in an orphanage.She returns to Wonderland to discover something terrible about her past. Graphics are really good,nice to view,soundtrack is good but the "heart" of this game is the gameplay:if you play it on Nightmare,prepare for a true challenge.There are also bidimensional section,and the game is very long (about 30 hours on Nightmare).

95

A real gem

Cynaris | July 13, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Some might remember the original Alice game, which was well acclaimed critically, and many more were awaiting a sequel, that was in works for quite a while.

Some would say the concept didn't age well, and I disagree.

You see, this game has it all: Fantastic vision, and art style, visceral combat, an interesting story (and a fairly twisted one at that), and precise platforming. I haven't had that much fun with games in a long time. The game also breaks when it would actually become a bit tedious with clever minigames, all implemented well.

One thing in particular deserves to be talked about, and that would be the visuals. The locals in Alice are distinct, there is not two of them that looks a bit alike, and everything is gorgeous. My favourite would be place in the skies, made of cards, it is fantastic.

The game is lengthy, so you truly get a bang for your buck, there are many unlockable costumes, so there is no lack of content here.

70

Marvelous and tedious at the same time

Blizniak | July 5, 2012 | See all Blizniak's reviews »

Madness Returns is a true sequel to American McGee's Alice, so much so that it suffers from similar flaws as the first game. While Wonderland is so marvelous that it motivates you to keep pushing forward just to how twisted the next level is going to be the gameplay itself is not really varied enough to provide proper entertainment on its own. The game features minigames and some other ways to diversify and break the pacing but there is not enough of those and you end up doing the same thing over and over again. It's not really bad or anything, it just gets a bit boring at times when you have to keep trudging through the same stuff in overly long levels. Awesome to look at levels but still too long. Music while nice is not particularly memorable aside from the main theme which drills its way into your mind. Having finished the game on normal I have to say combat was never a challenge as all the weapons are upgradable while the enemies don't get all that much harder throughout the entire experience. I don't really see why anyone would replay the game on a higher difficulty setting other than the collectibles that provide some additional insight into the story and are definitely worth finding. Overall Alice 2 while tad too long is still worth playing if only for awesome level and character designs you just can't find anywhere else.

80

A good sequel to a good game

jeyko | July 3, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Oh, how twisted the original American McGee's Alice was. Alice's parents died in a fire and she had to keep her sanity by saving Wonderland. Now Wonderland's back even more twisted, filled with insane creatures. Now she must save her past, even though her inner daemons tell her to forget it. You return to the ever-beautiful Wonderland and fight your way through it. The graphics and aesthetics are gorgeous, but the levels are kind-of repetitive. Though the interesting combat fully compensates that. The good thing is that the game is always entertaining. The controls are perfect. Alice moves exactly in the direction where you point here and you never blame the controls for dying. The majority of the game is jumping through wacky environments and solving clever puzzles. There are also a handful of fun minigames: sometimes chess, sometimes 2d shoot-em-ups, music puzzles and more. Overall Alice: Madness Returns is a great games with a few flaws, but you can easily get over them. The main thing is - it's fun.