Reviews for Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box (EU)

80

Best racing/driving game

WulftheRed | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all WulftheRed's reviews »

I'm not usually a big fan of racing games, but I love this. The cars handle well, and there's enough difference between them to make it worth swapping cars pretty regularly. The world is big and well designed, race routes vary from easy to very challenging, there's loads of shortcuts and sideroutes, plenty of stunts, spins, jumps etc. The Road Rage mode where you have to smash the pother racers off the road is a lot of fun.

85

Crazy fun

rjb789 | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This is the best open world racer in gaming so far, hands down, full stop, period. This is such a well tuned and extremely well defined take on how brillinat the racing genre can be when it is dropped into an interesting, gorgeous and absolutely massive city. There is tons of stuff to do. I spent most of my time seeing how badly I could crash into oncoming traffic in the hundreds of tunnels you can drive through. There are race challenges, crazy slow motion jumps shown in real time cut scenes and so much more to explore in the amazingly vast heaven for racers. The sounds are great too. You should get this game if you like open world racers!

90

The best racing game yet.

mooreo1 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all mooreo1's reviews »

This is undoubtedly the best racing game that i have played so far. It gives you stunningly close finishes and incredible jumps that blow your mind. Also the online aspect to it has over 400 challenges that are all a lot of fun but if you get bored of that you can just try to wreck everybody else's car. Fantastic.

90

Awesome car game

lazygamer559 | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all lazygamer559's reviews »

I've spent about 10 hours on this game and climbing. It's fantastically fun with a ridiculous amount of Vehicles to choose from. The only downsides is that narrator's voice really get's on me. Another possible downside is that when starting a race it doesn't lock you onto a track it just leaves you to find a route yourself, which I like although not many people do.

100

Great game, well worth it

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

Burnout does exactly what it says on the tin and indeed takes you down to paradise city, providing you with exquisite graphics and bags of fun once in the race stages of the game.

Being a big Burnout fan, it was inevitable that I would make this purchase, only to find a different style to the way the game is played, almost creating an adventure for you to find the races and other types of mini-games such as hitting all the barriers around the city and performing stunts.

What would really put me off a Burnout game however is a poor soundtrack. This game did not let me down. Music from Alice In Chains',Airbourne', The Pigeon Detectives' and of courseGuns N' Roses' was enough to decide to myself that it is a great all round racing game, simply looking for new routes for it's predecessor games.

I would have like many other reviewers have suggested wanted a traditional style Burnout which attracted me to the Burnout franchise in the first place, as it is all action, action, action. However it is a very good racing game, with plenty of game play to attract you to the `boost-based franchise'.

Graphics: 9/10

Sound Effects: 7/0

Fun: 8/10

Overall: 8/10

80

Open world burnout FTW

zonzon | July 29, 2013 | See all zonzon's reviews »

If you knew burnout in the PS2/XBOX/GC era, you know what this is. But this time, it's in an open world setting.

Don't be disappointed, races are still there and there is more than ever, you just have to go to an intersection and there is an event there.

But the game may have got old now. Driver San Francisco is a similar game, if you want something more recent.

85

Don't take it too seriously and you will have Insane fun!

AndyMadness | July 4, 2013 | See all AndyMadness's reviews »

A large playing field arcade racing game. Nothing realistic, but lots of fun. There is a whole city to drive, with lots of wide roads, highways, shortcuts etc. You are free to travel everywhere you want from day one. If you don't want to race then you are allowed to just enjoy the scenery and explore. Even then there are some things you can do if you want to get more points/have some goal. For example there are some huge ad boards you can destroy by ramming through them.

The races are of few types and available for you at each major intersection. You just stop, press a button and you start the race. No menus or anything and you don't leave the game world at all. It's really good. but it is from within the game (single player) world and with a similar way to find races than with single player races. It's all very simple. Each race you win you gain points on your licences until it up grades and you are awarded a car, the other way of getting cars is by wrecking other drivers when exploring and you are told when a new car is around by the narrator usually after winning races.

A very good arcade racing/driving game. Don't take it too seriously and you will have a blast.

86

So much fun

DanoJS | July 2, 2013 | See all DanoJS's reviews »

I have spent many hours in this game. The city looks great and the environments that you can destroy your car in are incredibly diverse. There's just so much to do. I was also very impressed with Criterion's support for the game. They added bikes, new cars, a day and night cycle and also dynamic weather! The Big Surf Island DLC didn't make it to the PC version which was a little disappointing but there is still plenty to do. Online is also a lot of fun with a variety of events from simple races to demolition mayhem. It may be an old game now but it is still a lot of fun. This is definitely my favourite Burnout game to date and I really hope future games follow suit!

93

Simply Amazing

mrmrblake | May 20, 2013 | See all mrmrblake's reviews »

I have had this game for a while now yet i'm still playing it. The game play that is available is amazing along with a great selection of cars and bikes and add on a great open world.

The graphics and physics in this game area great the level of detail and realism in the crashes is impressive as well as the great music selection The DLC that was released was great fun and worth the money and with all of it in one bundle i couldn't say no. it simply is a great game well worth getting even though its a few years old its still a top 5 of mine. ( oh and the multiplier is well executed).

92

The best open world racer

Micepudding | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all Micepudding's reviews »

Before I played Burnout Paradise I didn't like driving games. The open world, varied gameplay, and collectables and secrets changed my mind. You see, I still don't especially enjoy the racing but I do like the exploration, and in multiplayer, the co-op challenges. I found myself drawn into the game more and more, completing races simply to get the next car. The driving is responsive, arcadey without feeling unrealistic, and the island is well presented, with areas ranging from inner city streets to rolling hills and you're never short of something to do online or offline.

The DLC shop is no longer available, so some of the cars simply can't be unlocked anymore. But the majority of the game is still present and correct. Most of the expansions the Xbox version received never made it to the PC, but those that did.

Burnout Paradise collected high review scores at release and more recently, and I'm adding another to its collection. Highly recommended.

90

Fun arcade racing

panz3r88 | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Burnout Paradise is an amazing arcade racing game. There is a city full of different events and collectibles to explore and many different cars to use and unlock. The races are spectacular and the damage system allow to see spectacular incidents. The game is really fun in singleplayer but it's even better in multiplayer, where you can race against other player or cooperate with them to complete particular tasks around the city.

80

A top game

keysersoze16 | Oct. 26, 2011 | See all keysersoze16's reviews »

I only have the normal Burnout but this game is a must for any fast car freaks out there! a good story line and so many races that will blow you away and keep you busy until christmas lol. Being an old game now it is still the most addictive driving and just an escape for putting your foot down and testing how fast you can go while burning rubber on the streets of paradise. With the added ability of using your webcam you can attach a photo of yourself to your driving licences or in multiplayer you can show a friendly gesture or show them the bird whilst having online fun. Bottom line is this game may not be new but really is among one of my best driving games I have, enjoy it and love it!