Reviews for Dragon Age: Origins

96

Need more games like this!

PowerGreen | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all PowerGreen's reviews »

This game is up there with Baldur's Gate as being in the history of great games. There is hours of gameplay in there even from just a single run - but you'll find yourself playing again just to experience a new character and take different paths through to a different ending.

Its a good rpg, with great voice acting, good graphics (though starting to look a little dated now), and that "wow factor" that is just missing from so many modern titles.

If you've never played it, just buy it - you won't regret it.

85

Amazing

akaman16 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all akaman16's reviews »

I keep coming back to this game, it has become a game that I end up playing annually. I would put it as one of my top games of all time, its a great game just to immerse yourself in. I love the way the game makes you feel important and how every actions has an impact on the world, I also love the way you can make a character specific to you by choosing an origin story. my issue with the game is that I find the combat difficult at times and its very confusing to pick skills, but if your an MMO player you should have no problem in this area.

92

Good rpg game.

SkyorZX | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all SkyorZX's reviews »

Dragon Age Origin is an amazing fantasy RPG. How another rpgs, Dragon Age Origins have an enormous world with realist graphics that I am safe that will catch you. The story is also great because it is original and innovative, also you can make your own character with a settings to make it more interesting. About the battle system, you can choose from a lot of skills or spells that give you your own style of play. This game has given me hours and hours of fun with his amazing battles. Maybe there have other famous rpg, but certainly, Dragon Age Origins is great!

96

The Endless game!!

Dreamy | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all Dreamy's reviews »

This is one of my favorite games of all time! A game I keep coming back to, just to play another round where I can influence the world with the actions I take.. The game got a good story, lovely settings, fights, companions and much more. This is a game where you can play it over and over and still find it funny and experience new things, figure out new stories and a game where you got a lot of options that will decide your morals!..

This is certainly a game to get if you love RPG and love to get drawn into a universe where you are the one making the calls on how you want your story to go as the hero in all this!.

92

dragon age - review

Neapolis47 | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Dragon Age: Origins is the newest fantasy RPG developed by Bioware for, as in all games of this type, at the beginning the player will have to create your own character, choosing from the many races and class available, each of which will lead to a different conformation of the story, at least in the first part. For this the player will have the option to replay the game with different characters, and each time enjoy new stories. The plot is very well developed and although it follows a certain historical guideline, several will be the player's choices that will affect. The player at various points of the game will have to decide how to act in a particular situation, or will have to choose whether to kill or leave alive a particular character, which in the case of choice clement, will join us to help us fight the evil. The dialogues are well developed and never boring, and there are also occasionally, while we set forth within the various location always masterfully realized, the small sketch and spats between the various members of our party, depending on their affinity character . The game world is very vast and extensive, in which you can move through a stylized map very well designed and easy to understand and use. The gameplay is similar to the previous titles Bioware regarding this type, where there is the possibility to pause the game, to decide how best to act to tackle every fight, or even using the function to create custom tactics for each component of our party, so you will already know automatically how to attack a particular enemy or how and when to heal the wounds in battle, depending on the player's choices.

90

Very Very good game

simodeso | July 22, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It's a very good game, it gave to me tons of hour of fun. It's a perfect rpg, with a great story a lot of quick time events (you have to be a warrior for the best ones) and the gameplay is fantastic. There are a lot of sub quests with a lot of variability so the game doesn't become boring. My advice is to buy this game if you love RPG'S because is one of the best that i ever played

95

Best game I've played.

g1ggl1ngf1sh | June 18, 2013 | See all g1ggl1ngf1sh's reviews »

This has become the game I compare every other game to. It's one of the best games I've ever played. The first two or three days of playing it, I played about 8 hours a day, because I was so caught up in it. It has everything - good story, moral choices, humours, choices that actually make a difference, characters you easily end up loving - or hating. The only small downside is that I sometimes found the combat to be slightly confusing or chaotic - that, however, is by far outweighed by everything else.

92

The best BioWare of last years

MarcoCav | June 18, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

It is difficult to summarize what is Dragon Age: Origins for RPGs. BioWare's work is without any doubt a masterpiece: it is role-playing game in its pure state, without compromise and with a depth, thickness and density of gameplay and atmosphere that are unmatched in the industry. The imperfections are there, subtle and cleverly hidden, but it has to be declared like one of the best RPGs of recent years.

96

Best RPG BioWare has produced

jackyboi1014 | June 18, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

This may be the best game I have ever played. At first, the controls were frustrating. I'm not used to a click to move set up. But since I've grown accustomed to that, I've found very little wrong with this game. If there is a defining characteristic of this game, it is depth. The characters have depth, the combat system has depth and the world at large has depth.

The fact that there is always something going on between the characters, be it banter or a more expanded dialogue, really brings this game to life. Some game worlds (Oblivion) feel lonely, like the world is scarcely populated and only by cutouts but in place to further your goals, this game is not one of them. The characters seem to have opinions and motivations independent of the player.

It is true that the game incorporates a number of cliches and that the game world isn't exactly original. It is also true that the romantic interaction is a bit juvenile. But the first of these criticisms is true in general for video games. Nearly all game settings are genre based and generic to some degree (with certain exception). And as far as I'm aware, there have been few, 0 in fact, game plots that are of Pulitzer caliber.

These things noted, this game takes small steps forward toward making video games a narrative art rather than simply a form of entertainment. This game is very much like what Borges described in his short story "The Garden of Forking Paths." It is a small glimpse at the future of interactive narrative. And for all it's flaws, it is the forebearer of the types of games that will gain video games respect in an artistic community and this, in itself, is no small accomplishment.

90

A hours of great storyline.

Matis221 | June 18, 2013 | See all Matis221's reviews »

It's great, very long game allowing you to save the world from evil creatures. You create your own protagonist, a bearded dwarf or a sneaky elf and go through magnificent storyline looking for alliens against evil. You will need to make difficult choices among your journey. In your adventure you will have help from many of your companions. You can friends with them, or sometimes even something more, or you can be a tyranic leader.

In other words it's one of greatest RPG games made so far. For me, combat system could be a little different, but this story and good graphic fully compensate this.

90

Couldn't want more.

drafek | June 17, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is a good fantasy RPG, it's done well eventhough characters say sometimes the same things it notice-able if you listen closely, but that doesn't matter that much. The plot is done really good. The quests are interested. The graphics are good enough in my opinion, the music is done well. The only thing is there are alot relationships 1 or 2 was enough.

98

Bioware finest job and one of the best RPG's of this gen

DunkerGZ | June 10, 2013 | See all DunkerGZ's reviews »

The story telling, the caracter customization, the ingame scenarios... all of the aspects of this game are pure epicness. I wouldn't recommend another RPG to fall in love with and to spent hundrends and hundreds of hours playing it. Get this game!!

96

Best Fantasy-RPG.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | See all Zharwyn's reviews »

Dragon Age: Origins was the game that set the bar for me when it comes to fantasty RPGs. It is, without a doubt, one of my favorite games ever. The story is compelling, extremely dark and well-thought through. There wasn't a moment when I felt the game was bad, even if it has a few frustrating parts. It takes you on an incredible journey and let's you make very hard decisions along the way. Even though the combat can feel a little clunky at times, it doesn't hurt the rest of the game. You have intriguing companions and interesting ways to expand your friendships with them. It has great replay value if you are interested to see how the game's world will treat you as a different race, class and with different choices. I recommend this game 110%.

91

One of the best recent-Rpg

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

One of the best recent RPGs I've ever played. Great graphics, gripping story, lots of choices and very fun combat reminds games like Baldur's gate A must have for any RPG enthusiast

92

I spent hours playing with it

sanyi777 | Sept. 16, 2012 | See all sanyi777's reviews »

Dragon Age Origins is a fantasy RPG from Bioware, the creators of Mass Effect and Star Wars Kotor. The graphics, and the fights are very simple, but the story is awesome. You can create many type of characters (nobles,elves, etc.) to play with. If you enjoyed Kotor, or you just like RPG-s with fantastic story then Dragon Age is perfect for you.

64

A sad letdown

Finka_Karfein | June 10, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

It is a good game but the expectations were for a Baldur's Gate spiritual sequel. Nothing like this. Dark fantasy? Nope. Technical issues? Yup. Good plot? Please... Characters and relations between them? Oh, they are actually great and I must admit that this was the only thing that kept me playing this boring piece of cRPG. Mechanics are fine and lore is interesting. This makes me wonder how could they make such a lame main quest? Graphics are quite poor but music by Inon Zur is fine and you will probably catch yourself humming the melodies later on. In spite of the flaws, Dragon Age: Origins is worth playing? Why? To be able to export your save game to a great expansion which is Awakening.

95

The best RPG experience ever.

Gh0st233 | June 8, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Dragon Age: Origins is my favourite RPG game, alongside Skyrim. However, with DA:O, it's pretty much a love or hate relationship. I will tell you all the things I loved about the game, and I will tell you about the things I didn't like that much, or at all.

The story and the storytelling is one of the main aspects of the game. It has an interesting enough story that will interest you, but the way the game takes you through the story is unbelieveable. In many games where it's possible, I find myself skipping some of the cutscenes or even dialogues, but not with this game. DA:O has amazing interactive cutscenes that, packed with nice graphics and over-the-top textures on the characters, make it seem like you're playing a movie, instead of a game. As for the classes in the game, there are 3: The Warrior, Rogue and Mage. Warrior is good in weapon and shield and two-handed weapons, rogue is good with daggers and bows, and can pick locks, and mages are good with staves.

Companions are one of the great features of the game. You can have up to 3 companions with you at a given time, but you can have a total of about 8 or 9. But it doesn't stop there. Each companion has a different story and literally TONS of dialogue options. As you progress through the game, and make different decisions, you will increase reputation with the companions who approve it, but diminish the reputation with the ones who don't. But it doesn't really all stop there. It is possible to have a romance with certain companions, four companions, to be precise.

The characters in the game look amazing. The textures of the faces are very well done, but the graphics, that everybody seem to look at first, are nothing special, but they can be looked over.

The combat in the game is, pretty much, autoattack. I did not like it at first, but with the ability to actively pause during the battle to think of a best strategy to proceed, and assign each one of your active companions who to attack, where to go, what to do and what abilities to use, make up for it by a longshot. There are some finishing animations which are very welld one, as well. The sound in the game is amazing. Especially the voice acting.

As for the length of the game, a rough estimate of my first playthrough was about 50-60 hours, which was just the first playthrough. I've completed the game over 3 times, with all the classes, and different decisions. I would honestly recommend this game to all of the RPG fans, who don't look at graphics as an important factor in the game, and don't mind the combat. Even for the full price, it seems worth it. 200 or so hours for that price, is as great bargain.