Reviews for Deus Ex Human Revolution: Explosive Mission Pack

69

New gear means new ways to play around

taigatsu | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

One of the biggest draws of the Deus Ex franchise is how it allows you to choose a wide array of options on how to approach the missions in the game. And what this DLC offers is a handful of new tools to expand on your preferred play style. There's nothing particularly game changing in here; the equipment simply gives you some new ways to tackle the game's challenges. Remote explosives are great for fans of surprising unsuspecting foes, the automatic unlocker will make getting into secured areas a simpler process, while the Linebacker grenade launcher is great for those that feel that every problem is best solved with a little bit of overkill.

The new mission is short but integrated well into the game, and features a fan favorite from the original. It's not necessary for the complete experience, but is a nice throwback for fans of the series.

Don't purchase this expecting anything groundbreaking. If you're looking for some new ways to play around though, for a few dollars you'll find a satisfactory amount of content.

75

Soo called "Cheats" in the modern day

lagendofdoom | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

its just some extra weapons that are mainly to destroy your enemies, while in my opinion you can play the game without these stuff, but if you really want to see some explosives and BOOM then it is a nice offer ( when on sale ) for you.

74

Nods and (almost) cheats.

berthor | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all berthor's reviews »

So, to start off we have the items to discuss.

The AUD items work similar to multitools in DX, point at a hackable item, press the grenade button, and watch it unlock/login. If you don't think they are appropriate and break the game, drop them as you find them.

Grenade launchers are a lot of fun. Can you even manage to carry this thing around along with your other gear? You can? Ok then I guess if you don't think it breaks the game, you can take it with you. If you think it is unbalanced, drop it.

The mission : This is the real reason to get this DLC, even though it is very short. It blends in seamlessly with the rest of the game and gives a superior nod to the Tong you may be more familiar with. The difficulty is on par with the rest of the game. Want more Deus Ex in your Deus Ex? Grab this.

72

Worth picking up on sale

ConorEngelb | July 27, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

It may not add much meaningful content to the game, but having access to some deadly weapons early on gives you a distinct advantage, which is worth the sale price.

75

That's what i like

Hunork | July 27, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

This DLC for Deus Ex: Human Revolution unlocks a bonus mission (involving Tracer Tong) and features three new items: M-28 Remote Explosive, Automatic Unlocking Device and the The Linebacker G-87 MSGL grenade launcher. It was originally available as a pre-order bonus from certain retailers. The mission is called "You Scratch My Back, I'll Scratch Yours". It takes place during Jensen's second visit to Hengsha. You have to meet Tong's thugs, infiltrate a noodle factory where you rescue Tong and then you receive the Linebacker G-87 MSGL grenade launcher as a reward.

93

It makes the game easier

spycid | July 26, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you loved the main storyline and don't find anything missing there, then don't get it. As this dlc will only help you if you are playing in uber hard mode, else it will make the game easier.

87

Extra weapons for a great game

mutsuriini | July 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

The extra weapons add a little spice to the game. I mean, has a grenade launcher ever NOT been fun? The additional mission is a brief, well-made mission that added some extra interaction with characters that I enjoyed and this DLC mission didn't feel like it was disruptive to the overall story. In fact, I can't say for sure as I haven't played the game without this DLC to see how things are tied together, It is pretty cheap anyways, so not much to complain about. I would recommend buy the DLC when it is on sale.

80

Hack-a-Tron 2000 DLC

Guardian412 | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Explosive Mission Pack is a must DLC for the game because of numerous reasons. It has one tiny mission, which is not a long one, but its giving a plus for the main storyline, so as for the whole Deus Ex universe. The DLC is also offering one new weapon, the grenade launcher, one remote explosive pack, and my favorite, the automatic hack device, the Hack-a-Tron 2000, so as I call it, which is capable to open everything, be it a computer or a lock. If you want to play more, if you want some new weapons that makes things boom and if you've missed the hacking tool from the original Deus Ex, get this DLC which offers all of this, Hack-a-Tron 2000 included.

76

Small mission and a couple extra weapons.

Bigshrimp | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

The extra weapons adds a little spice to the game. The rescue mission is a little short but sweet. Other than that, it just adds a little to the game, but its pretty cheap anyways, so not much to complain about. I would recommend buy the DLC when it is on sale, since there really isn't too much added to the game from it.

80

Small, but effective

Lunk | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all Lunk's reviews »

This is a fun little DLC that succeeds in ways that I felt both of the other HR DLCs missed.

The items it adds are fun (has a grenade launcher ever NOT been fun?) and are introduced at times when they are useful and there is ammo to be found, which was one of my major complaints about the Tactical Enhancement Pack. The additional mission is a brief, well-made mission that added some extra interaction with characters that I enjoyed and unlike The Missing Link, this DLC mission didn't feel like it was disruptive to the overall story. In fact, I can't say for sure as I haven't played the game without this DLC to see how things are tied together, but I suspect it's actually a bit less clear without it as the bonus mission adds some clarity to how and why a particular character is helping you.

It's not a particularly large addition, but it fits nicely and it's reasonably priced, so I'd recommend picking it up.

70

Eh, it's alright.

RAY16 | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all RAY16's reviews »

Although it's kind of lame to pay for something that was originally a free pre-order incentive, it's cheap and it's a decent extra mission. Particularly useful if you didn't pre-order and went through the game once before without it, so on your second play through you'll at least have one small bit of new content to look forward to. The two new weapons and the new gadget are fine but don't add much to the game. Worth it if it's on sale, and to a lesser extent when it's not.

40

Buy it...

Zinzun | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

only for one euro or so. This DLC (that was free for preordering the game) add only a little rescue mission, that is nice bot nothing more. Other weapons are useless.

80

Who Doesnt Like Grenade Launchers?

ROKET | July 28, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This pack was made for two people, those who like to blow things up and those who like to fight head on. This game is beautiful and content packed already and getting this content only make the game better. As with the other guns in the game the grenade launcher is badass looking and the explosives are very useful. Highly recommended on sale.

84

One DLC I don't regret buying

darkslayer168 | July 23, 2012 | See all darkslayer168's reviews »

One of the greatest dlc's I've played. The Mission in of Rescue is awsome, the Grenade Launche and UR-DED amazing. If you love the game you'll need this. GET IT!!

95

An explosive addition to a great game!

Xbomborz | Oct. 14, 2011 | See all Xbomborz's reviews »

The Deus Ex Human Revolutino Explosive Mission pack is great for all fans of, well, explosions.

Featuring the Detonation Pack (the aptly named UR-DED), the Automatic Unlocking Device, the Grenade Launcher, and, best of all, the Tong's Rescue Bonus Mission, this pack is chock-full of extra goodies that every Deus Ex player needs to get.

If you love explosive action in an already amazing game, the Explosive Mission pack is for you!