Reviews for Battlefield: Bad Company 2

90

The Return of a CLASSIC with MODERN appeal !

akassassinn1 | Nov. 18, 2014 | See all akassassinn1's reviews »

The battlefield series have been known to break all grounds on the PC for a long time now , and when you hear the word "battlefield" you're in it for the massive intense multilayer experience , noting that there's a hilarious campaign mode which will get you through most of the basics , but not the piloting part ,the class based shooter comes with 3 modes this time around: 1. Conquest: the all time classic battlefield 2.Rush : advance base by base or defend a set of sensitive intel pumped MCOMs 3.squad death match: engage in multiplayer fun with 3 other teammates agains s3 other squads
not to mention you'll be using a wide variety of vehicles and weapons in large open maps or small maze-like maps.
and last but not least the campaign mode that tells the story of a world destructing weapon falling into the wrong hands and threatening the national security of the states, nothing ground breaking but what sets it apart is the extremely funny 4-member squad you kickass with !

100

Old, but gold FPS game of the series Battlefield.

hateah | July 22, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

That's one of the best FPS games iv ever played. You start as rank 0 or 1 not sure, then you choose a class > Assault ( mostly using rushing weapons which u unlock by receiving battle points from head-shots,kills,assists, you can as well use shotgun in that class which is powerful at close range, but i prefer the assault riffles, which u can attach laser aim to them and stuff. Or use the default one, you unlock those stuff as second specialisation, every new item requires amount of battle-points. The Engineer - You can use anti-tank launchers,repairing tool for the tank and mines which u can place all over the map. Medic - This is one of the most helpful guys, he can revive you and heal you. He also has a great kit of weapons. Recon - a.k.a Sniper class, when you play him, you usually have to just climb up on a hill and camp there for ages, you have to have a good view, the first sniper you receive is very weak, but as u play you'll receive newer and stronger snipers. The graphics are really cool, you can use parachute which prevents from taking damage. You can literally destroy the whole map with the launchers and grenades(default throwing grenade is "F") when they are over,same as the grenade launchers you can supply yourself by pressing 4, and throwing the crate on the floor and sitting on it will give u more grenades. The graphics are really amazing at the multiplayer,where is the biggest fun. The max rank is rank 50. It's pretty hard to get to there, but during the game you can receive a lot of points which will make your way easier for the next level. Those points only counts towards the levelling up, but not and towards the unlocking to the next weapon.

80

Not the best shooter around

Gmen | Jan. 10, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

  • Great Sound

I can honestly say that the sound in this game is fantastic. Whether it’s the shouts of soldiers in the distance echoing while fighting in close quarters urban combat, or the gunfire and explosions which sound different depending on whether you’re inside a building or outside. Quite realistic actually.

  • Destructive environments

Living up to its predecessor, the game allows you to destroy a lot of the environment. It’s a lot of fun using an underslung, or barrel-mounted, grenade launcher to blow up walls on a house. Of course this tactic can and will be employed by enemies too, to take out your cover and leave you wide open.

  • Poor dialogue audio

I don’t know what happened here. The sound effects as a whole are excellent, but the speech for some reason was all over the place. It was too muted and didn’t gel well with the other sounds. At one point I turned up the volume on my headset to hear what was going on, and then some idiot fired a gun which nearly blew my ear drum out of it’s brackets. Not cool.

  • Dumb AI in single player

Once again the realistic gameplay is thwarted by stupid AI, particularly your squad. Most of the time you will end up doing all the work and taking down the enemies all on your own, as even at close range, your squad will shoot and miss or fail to even see an enemy. Pathetic.

  • Story

For the most part of the game, perhaps I wasn’t paying attention, but the story isn’t all that good. The game focuses mainly on action, which is all right, but if you want something deep, then you’ll have to go elsewhere.

  • Easy on the gore

There’s no realistic gore element like you might have found in some Call of Duty titles like World at War, even though BC 2 is reportedly only the second game in the series, other than Battlefield: Vietnam to feature blood.

In short, if you like multiplayer titles, then check this out. But for the single player alone, I wouldn't really recommend it.

88

Bad Company 2

Alfa8789 | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

A great game. An excellent and entertaining single player and a fun and addictive multiplayer. Features everything that should be in a game of this age. Includes intence destruction, decent graphics, unlockable and customizable classes, varying range of weapons, vehicles and of course that standard of the pc gaming world... dedicated servers. Now we want to know: when comes out Bad Company 3 ... ?

88

Still a great modern shooter to this date

danonpc | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all danonpc's reviews »

Bad company 2 is one of the most satisfying millitary shooter to date, compared to battlefield 3, this is an upgrade. Free updates were pushed to make this game work for all systems, and map updates were frequent. If you want a game with high fidelity gun sounds, and a destruction engine that works then you'll want this over BF3. There is a short enough treadmill and decent class choices in the game, with a better selection of weapons than it's succesor. This has 2 forms of DRM, Steam and in game login, both do not require you to use a browser to play multiplayer or singleplayer (add-ons). Teamwork is necessary, as well as using vehicles properly, because unlike BF3, vehicles require another person to repair your tank or helicopter. This may involve you landing instead of using auto repair (or having perks for quicker auto repair) which are technically not at all well thought out choices. This game is 3 years old and still has an active community and servers are maintained because they don't require you to pay EA to rent one. The next Battlefield game is £54.99, this is usually around £5.

90

One of the best

dannymzi | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all dannymzi's reviews »

This game is one of the best in the battlefield series. It's really fun with a couple friends and vehicles give you a nice perspective of war. Recommend!

93

My favorite Battlefield game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

This game is perfect. I absolutely love the story and the multiplayer is even better! The plot is great and the missions are amazing! It's one of the best stories I've played. The multiplayer on the other hand is a blast. There's lots of people online and the destructible environment makes the games online feel new and ever changing as the game progresses. I highly recommend this game to any first person shooter fan. It's great!!

90

You love multiplayer FPS? Welcome to paradyse.

kemita | June 19, 2013 | See all kemita's reviews »

Gameplay:

The action is tight and packed and open and overwelming at the same time. There is no words to describe what it is like being inside a building, defending a position with your squad members while getting teared down to pieces by an T80 russian tank when suddenly the rest of your group comes to help with choppers, RPG 7, grenades, things start to collapse, vehicles start to blow up in 2000 pieces, while you are in the middle hearing every single detail of what is happening and suddenly when you thought everything was a lost hope your team pushes the enemy back and leads to an awesome movie like ending.

But it doesn't end. It is pretty much like that every single time there is action on your screen.

There are several game modes. All of them based with a multiplayer game setting in mind.

Rush and Conquest (16vs16 players) game modes are the most fun and therefore the most popular.

In Rush mode, maps are divided in several sections, each one with two points to be destroyed. When the attacking team succesfully accomplish this objective, the defending team is moved to a point behind in the frontline making it so "the new" frontline.

In Conquest mode, Russian Forces and USA fight to control several points scattered around the map. With both team spawning at the beginning on a pre set no cappable base. The number of tanks/vehicles is higher than in Rush mode.

Expect a very worked Server Browser with all kind of options to choose from. From hardcore mode, to servers in your region, pings filter, and so on.

There are 50 levels (that servers for no real purpouse actually, just to brag or show that you have some game knowledge).

A miriad of weapons, kit tools, soldier enhancements, weapon enhancements to unlock as you fun your way throught the levels.

Voice in game supported.

Graphics:

Expectacular. You can't belive this game looks so good and runs so smooth with a meagre ATI 4850 at 1920x1080

Sounds:

There is no other game in the market that comes close by a mile in this aspect. You must play the game to understand what I'm trying to convince you about. Immersive and stunning. You will think you are a real soldier on a real battlefield.

85

Great game

CallmeTeh | June 10, 2013 | See all CallmeTeh's reviews »

Personally one of my favorite FPS's. The story was a little disappointing but the multi-player for this game has given me many hours of fun.

92

King of the Fps games

szami777 | May 31, 2013 | See all szami777's reviews »

This is a multiplayer shooter game, but i think the singleplayer part was too interesting az exciting. Beautiful places, nice graphics. The engine did a great job. The multiplayer is realistic and awesome. The vehicles in multiplayer is the best idea in the wolrd. We can customise lot of things in multiplayer. You can be a one men army or fight in team. Your decision. Best deal in gmg. .

87

Best Battlefield-title after BF2

Crazy4ever | May 27, 2013 | See all Crazy4ever's reviews »

Bad Company 2 is in my oppinion the best Battlefield game after BF2. The story is nothing special, but battlefield is not about story. It is about huge maps, lots of vehicles, weapons and tactics in MULTIPLAYER. All these things, you will find in BFBC2, and you will be satisfied with them. The only thing I miss of vehicles in BFBC2 are jet-plains. The maps are great and varied, and the weapons feel really realistic. The graphics are also great, and even though they are not as good as BF3s graphics I think BFBC2 is all in all a better game and as mentioned, one of the best Battlefield-games . Today, it is maybe even a bit more entertaining than BF2 as the graphics and all the mechanics are very up to date and modern.

95

Photorealism, and fun

McTurbo | April 22, 2013 | See all McTurbo's reviews »

Compare it to Call of Duty is an insult. This game is light years ahead, realistic, nearly photorealistic graphics, Call of Duty looks like a children's play in comparison. A lot of fun in multiplayer, you will play for hours without tiring. I also prefer to Battlefield 3. Do not miss it, is played by thousands of players every day!

75

Great multiplayer, not so good singleplayer

Stebsis | April 9, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

When I wrote review of BF3 here I didn't really judge it on its single player because it clearly wasn't the main thing there. Bad Company 2 on the other hand... I think BC1 had awesome single player, it was funny and didn't feel like your typical military grumble or just padding to introduce you to multiplayer. It was actually good. I expected something similar here, but unfortunately not. BC2 is clearly geared towards multiplayer which was disappointing.

You play as some dude, I don't even remember his name as it doesn't continue from BC1. I don't remember any of the story and characters were as deep as a puddle. Multiplayer on the other hand is pretty good, destructible environment is fun and it feels balanced though not that different from BC1. There're tons of guns to choose from and there's decent amount of modes to choose from, my favorite being rush where teams are split between attackers and defenders, defenders trying to hold the fort as attackers try to blow up these communication thingies. I think this was done way better here than in BF3 thanks to great level design.

If you like BF for the multiplayer, Bad Company 2 is definitely at least 90-95/100 material for you, but great single player from previous installment left me wanting so much more from this.

90

The antagonist of call of duty!

Neapolis47 | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

The multiplayer is where the real strength is evident that developers find themselves at ease. Buildings destructible, match dynamic, extreme focus on team play and a score of means are to exploit the strengths of the online component of BC2. Go around the map with other friends in a helicopter or a tank razing houses and enemy positions is not a dynamic that all FPS allow you to do, and if we add to this the discrete audio and visual quality of multiplayer, the connection stability and good amount of weapons, perks and upgrades to unlock, you will understand why the multi Bad Company 2 threatens to take away dozens of hours in the social life of the fans of FPS online. The multiplayer is structured around a system of classes or conversion kit, or Engineer, Assault, Medical and Scout. Each kit has a different loadout and perk unique to unlock that generally allow you to strengthen your team. The heart of the multiplayer of Bad Company 2 actually lies in the collaboration between the players and, apart from the classic deathmatch, the best way to have fun and to unlock new levels is to always stay close to the goals and helping each other with their peers. The gameplay is still rewarding arcade and also for the casual player.

86

Bad Company 2 - review

carlyle | Jan. 13, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

As for the single player, despite the linearity and scripting sometimes too obvious everything works and runs smoothly, almost like clockwork, but did not really scratch, without actually unforgettable moments despite the renewed destructive capacity of Frostbyte 2.0 engine. This is the main flaw of the campaign, to be technically superb and very funny, but without any particular peaks, neither positive nor negative thankfully. The multiplayer is the main dish because the maps are huge, and offer a variety of tactical possibilities, including buildings and dense vegetation, construction sites, bridges and snowy landscapes. Take the larger from one end to the other is impossible, so here at our disposal a number of means such as tanks, light armored jeep, quad, troop transports and helicopters that might seem the masters of the scene, but that if thrown into the fray without method. The battle must be played with great coordination, an armored vehicle alone, given the presence of anti-fixed locations and enemies with bazookas and C4, is doomed to explode in a short time if not accompanied by infantry, just like the real fact.

85

Best served in multiplayer

V2lentin | Oct. 30, 2012 | See all V2lentin's reviews »

Bad Company 2 is one of the best FPSs I've ever played, despite its single player mode, which is more like a training for the multiplayer. In SP, you play the role of a soldier tasked with finding a device that could destroy entire cities. Helped by 2 other teammates, you'll roam through jungles, deserts or cities, killing bad guys and getting ready to jump into multiplayer once you get bored of the campaign. The graphics of the game look very good, just what you'd expect from a Frostbite powered game. The textures are well done, and so are the lightning effects. A nice feature is the fact that most of the walls can be destroyed, giving you a sense of power and also of war authenticity. A well placed grenade will blow your cover, a bazooka will take out an entire floor of an enemy building. You'll love it. The audio effects are very good, with nicely done voices and realistic sound effects. This game shines in multiplayer, where 2 teams battle in the classic modes: team deathmatch, CTF or rush. The players can use tanks or jeeps on the battlefield, or even helicopters, in order to gain an advantage on the enemy team. Killing enemies or helping the team gets you XP points that will let you advance in rank an unlock new weapons and gear. The game it's really worth its money and I think everyone should give it a shot.

74

More of a multiplayer game

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 4, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Battlefield Bad Company 2 offers great graphics but a somewhat short and linear campaing. Compared to the first game in BC2 you don't get that sense of freedome while playing at the singleplayer, every path is linear now instead. The humour from the first game is missing too, it's one of the things wich made it really special and diffirentiate from today's games taking themselves too seriously. The multiplayer has been improved from the first game but sadly it gets extremely repetitive if you don't have a friend or two to play with. Dice focused more on making it serious and on the MP part of the game and neglijed a bit the SP.

95

A Winner!

pman | Oct. 23, 2011 | See all pman's reviews »

Even though this game was released over a year ago, it is still my favourite online multiplayer experience. The small 4 man squads and unique spawning system ensures that you are always able to join and back up your friends for some truly great gameplay experiences. The graphics still look really good and are even on par with a few of the games released today.

I've also never had any issues with servers or with finding an available game. To sum it all up, this is an amazing game and well worth the asking price, so, if you're looking for a fun online multi player experience with a surprisingly good single player campaign to back it up, I strongly recommend Battlefield Bad Company 2.