Reviews for Sonic Generations

85

Visiting memories. A true feel of going back in time

binura | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all binura's reviews »

When the game was first announced, I wasn't so interested because it seemed like another modern Sonic gave being pushed into the 2D action. I take it back, its not. If you have played Sonic games which came out from at least early 2000s, then there is no reason that this game can't bring a tear to your eyes. The presentation of remade old/new stages for both classic and modern Sonic is something that would amaze you. By biggest fear was playing Spagonia (My all time favorite stage) as classic Sonic. I thought the level would be ruined since no 3D action. I've never been so wrong in my life. The 2D experience was so well made, it could even run parallel to the original stage! The levels and everything could bring much nostalgia upon the players. The remixed music can bring you to a stage where you would just stand still and listen. Biggest drawbacks are the story-line and the repetitive 2D parts even in modern stages. The game flows in an arcade style where the story doesn't show much concern. The game serves it's purpose of giving the players a feel of their cherished memories. Not the best game to play if this is your first Sonic experience. but for a Sonic fan, there could be no other game to bring so much memories.

80

Surprisingly good

jurassicutility | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all jurassicutility's reviews »

I was a little surprised by this game. It had been ages since I'd played a Sonic game, and after hearing about how bad some of the more recent Sonic games had been I was a little wary about the good things I'd been reading about this game. Like, is it a good game, or is it just 'good by comparison'? Sonic Generations is most definitely a good game even when considered by itself.

The main gimmick in Generations is that, because of time traveling shenanigans, the Sonic of the present must join forces and revisit places from past Sonic games. Each level in Sonic Generations has two versions that you need to beat. One plays like a classic 2D platformer in the style of the Genesis Sonic games, and the second is a 3D interpretation of that level that plays more like the recent Sonic games. This means that classic Sonic fans get to play 3D style reinterpretations of classic Sonic levels like Green Hill Zone, and people that have played, say, Sonic Adventure 1 & 2 get to see 2D versions of levels from those games.

The premise is a bit of an attempt to cater to Sonic fans, but the game has more going for it then nostalgia. The 2D levels are all pretty well-done with solid level design, and the controls feel about right. I'm less crazy about the 3D levels, but they're still fun. Those levels seem to have a lot more 'blink and you miss it' spots where you have to premeditate where you need to jump or avoid an obstacle, and some places where it's hard to get enough distance coming off of ramps or jumps to get to certain areas. The final boss and the zone before it were pretty weak, but other than that the main levels were fun and well-designed.

The game took me about 8-10 hours to beat, so it's decently long for a platformer, and there's also quite a bit of re-playability in the form of challenge levels and the ranking system. After playing the main levels, there's a lot of extra challenge levels that you can play that unlock artwork and music when you complete them and have a ranking system based on how quickly you finish. The main levels also have rankings, as well as hidden red rings that also unlock music and artwork. I'm still playing the game (up to 17 hours according to Steam) because I'm trying to S-Rank all of the challenge levels, and there's like 80 of them.

Despite some minor niggles, I found Generations to be very enjoyable and I think this was a good faith effort from Sonic Team. Some might get more mileage out of it than others, but that's okay.

90

A Great Return to the Roots

aslam206 | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all aslam206's reviews »

The 2D platforming is smooth and fast, both key characteristics of classic sonic platforming. The 3D platforming has a great cohesive feel, the animation is fluid and the "tactile" responsiveness make it great. This game rewards fast reaction times and has upgrades all over the place making it a great game to play over and over. The level designs are also top notch, I wish I could say this about all the other sonic games that have come out in the past. The replayability is another factor as there are multiple ways to end the level, and finding all the small secrets are nice and help you explore the area. There are a few item upgrades for both modes so that also keeps it refreshing.

My main problem though is you still lose that sense of momentum in the 2D mode too often. They need to work on that, you get this jarring sense of disconnect when you hit a wall or get hit by an enemy and rebuilding that momentum takes time. However the game is still great even with these small issues.

90

Great game, with more content than you think

Snotnarok | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all Snotnarok's reviews »

Sonic Generations is criminally overlooked because of previous 3D Sonic titles quality being mixed at best. They put a lot of effort into this game and it shows in every level, the PC port is no slouch either. The game is beautiful and the visual style very pleasing, to best explain the game with Modern Sonic you run at speeds that would make Burnout games blush. You are crazy fast, so fast Sonic can drift around tight turns. Classic Sonic plays, as you expect; like his classic counterpart, it's by no means EXACT, he feels different for sure but it's good. There's 2 acts to each level and about 9 levels, several boss fights have been remade, oh er, yes each level's style is taken from a previous Sonic title ranging from Green Hill Zone, Chemical Plant, Planet Wisp, Sea Side Hill.

To further this game's level of amusement, a great mod out there: Project Unleashed is a very easy to install mod that adds the day levels from Sonic Unleashed, the levels this game's modern Sonic levels were based on. There's ...maybe 7 levels to be had there, all ported over perfectly, and these levels were only previously on Console prior to this so it's just really great to have this option. I'm not one to blindly enjoy games based on maker, or who's in it, I've not liked many of Sonic's 3D outings, but this one really did a great job of bringing both Classic and Modern gameplay into one well made game.

80

A great trip down memory lane.

FLD | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

This was the first Sonic game I played in over a decade. I think the last one was Sonic 3 back when I still owned a Sega Genesis. So, this was a great trip down memory lane. I know the Sonic series has had a bit of a bad reputation in recent years but as someone who skipped out on that entire phrase the series went through, I enjoyed this one a lot. It actually has me thinking of checking out some of the older games I missed out on.

90

Trust me and we will escape from the city.

Samiericalwhip | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all Samiericalwhip's reviews »

This game is great. Its Sega listening to their fans and delivering on what they all want. Which all boils down to Sonic going really fast. And boy does he go fast. Whether your a fan of classic or modern you'll love this game. Heck I'm not even that big of a sonic fan and I loved it. But just remember danger is lurking around every turn. Trust your feelings got to live and learn.

92

A huge step-up

Xillion | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

You play as both classic sonic and modern sonic in a variety of levels. These levels originate from past sonic games but with great visuals. While the game is short, you can enhance your experience with mods like the unleashed project. The unleashed project ports the modern levels of sonic unleashed to sonic generations. By far this has been the best mod i have played. This is a game you shoudn't miss out on.

92

Back on top!

TheGameGuy8 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all TheGameGuy8's reviews »

Sonic is back and better than ever! With the combination of 3D and 2D gameplay, SEGA managed to please both group of fans of the Sonic franchise. Travelling back to classic levels is a blast for both nostalgia and seeing how SEGA have shaken things up. Personally, I would recommend the PC version only for the use of mods that allow you to change characters or maps. The graphics and music are both fantastic and shows that SEGA have really outdone themselves.

90

Sonic Generations - review

balbo79 | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

During the twentieth anniversary of Sonic, his friends are captured by a mysterious creature and sends them into another dimension, Sonic would have to run more than ever in this new venture and will also team up with his alter-ego of the past to save the entire universe. From the point of view of the narrative, Sonic Generations is without a doubt the best title of the series, only for putting funny scenes and spectacular and also for the addition of all of the most beloved characters in the saga, including Shadow the Hedgehog, a character Sonic Adventure 2 onwards has always been a tad more interesting and charismatic of Sonic. As Sonic you can move in both 3D and 2D views, with frantic moves and spectacular, with the Sonic Classic you can only play in 2D as in the first epsiodie of the saga. There are even the Boss Fights, really well done, the longevity stands on 5-6 hours, but at least there are several quests and the various skills to be unlocked in the shop Omochao thanks to the Ring, there will also be various collectibles scattered around the various levels that will allow you to unlock music and images. If all this is not enough the game also includes the first episode, to play with a bit of nostalgia. Sonic Generations is, for all intents and purposes, the best chapter of saga. A title that can not miss in your collection, a masterpiece phenomenal.

90

Sonic is back in action

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Despite what some people would say, this game is fun to play with. With the ability to play as both Classic and Modern Sonic, the main gameplay has quite some variety; the side games are also quite fun to play with, some more than the others, and the bosses are fun to fight with. The music is top-notch, with remixes from the classic Sonic games, you will enjoy the music as you go through a level trying to ace it. Sonic and his friends are also quite funny in the cutscenes and even the antagonists are cool.

Overall, I would recommend anyone to buy this game for anyone who wants to play a good Sonic game.

100

I've waited so many time for this... ♥

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

This is a Sonic game we've been waiting years for!

The gameplay is smooth and responsive - as you'd want from a proper Sonic game.

The Modern Sonic finally feel like it should - he's fast, responsive, easy to navigate and gives a lots of fun. Classic Sonic stages are as good as always :>

Levels ale awesome (well, most of them - I've hated Planet Wisp, but all the others are really great!). All lvls are based on classic Sonic stages with all their unique mechanics.

Graphics are very good, but could be better. While Modern Sonic Stages looks top notch, some of the Classic Sonic ones looks old-ish.

Soundtrack is AWESOME! It includes both original songs from previous Sonic games as well as new ones and covers.

And game have a massive replayability - A lot of unlocks (concept graphics and songs), bonus stages, Score-farming, Achievments, main levels have optional routes with bonuses - I'm still playing this game, even if I've beaten it quite a time ago :>

To sum things up - if you loved old Sonic Games and hated what Sega did with their greatest franchise - BUY IT! It's the best sonic that's been out in years! It's also good choice if you enjoy skill-based fast platformers or Score Attack competition.

94

A very solid game, even if you've never played a Sonic game

mugaro | June 24, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

I thought this was a great game, I've heard a lot of bad things about Sonic games ever since they put out Sonic 3 & Knuckles, especially the much maligned 2006 Sonic the Hedgehog. This redeemed the Sonic franchise.

There are a total of 9 levels, each level has 2 acts. Act 1 is a 2D run through that takes a classic feel to older Sonic games, Act 2 is a 3D run through that puts a modern spin on the level. There are a lot of nods and sections that are similar to older games in the 2D levels, but it's still unique enough that it's more like just a tip of the cap to the classic era.

The modern levels can be harder, but they are still done quite well. This game captured what was fun about the classic Sonic games: the feeling of speed flying through the screen. Once you get the hang of a level, flying through holding down X to zoom by is a lot of fun. Even the slow paths can feel fast sometimes. Something that a lot of the more recent Sonic games missed.

You select levels from a hub area, there are 3 levels in the first area from the Sega Genesis era, Sonic 1/2/3.

The second hub area are from the Dreamcast/Xbox 1 era, Sonic Adventure 1 & 2, Sonic Heroes.

The third hub area is from the modern 360/PS3 era, Sonic the Hedgehog (2006), Sonic Unleashed and Sonic Colors. These levels are the hardest, but still fun.

After you beat a level, there are challenges to complete for each hub area. They are different sections of the level that were previously closed off, so they feel different and can be a lot of fun to do and vary up the gameplay a lot.

Each hub area has friend challenges, a rival challenge and a boss. The final boss is kind of silly and to be honest, I had no idea what I was doing, both when I beat it and when I beat it taking 0 hits to get the achievement.

Overall, this game was great and well worth the money I spent on it. It's easy to recommend to anyone who likes action platformers, either classic or modern.

97

A game made for hardcore and new sonic fans

jazzelmejor | June 9, 2013 | See all jazzelmejor's reviews »

Sonic generations is one of the best sonic games in this generation. If you liked the old sonic, this game is mainly in 2D and you have the old stages and soundtrack that made sonic one of the best games of its genre, or if you like the new 3D games, this game will let you play as a modern sonic with the 3D gameplay and maps.

This is a must-buy for every sonic fan.

90

The best Sonic platformer since 2D Sonic games

KynesLiet | June 3, 2013 | See all KynesLiet's reviews »

I'm a Sega fan since the Christmas of 1991, when my parents purchased us a Megadrive. Sonic was the first game I played on it, and I still remember the Green Hill Zone tune, or the Intro animation.

Sonic suffered a lot since the dawn of the 3D era, the way Sonic 2D games play don't translate in a good way to the third dimension, and the mechanics decision to create a mostly 2D game is great. It combines the new touch and the old mechanics, making it a great mixture of the great of the old era, with the advancements of new hardware. Having some nostalgia touches with some areas and a great soundtrack makes this a must have to any Sonic games lover.

As with lots of platform games, it's better to play it with a gamepad.

89

Worth the full price!

CrysisX | May 31, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

I usually get a headache most of the time playing Sonic games but strangely this game doesn't give me one. I thought playing Sonic in 3D wouldn't work out for some reason but boy I was wrong, I love it! This game includes the 2D mode as well which is awesome as it reminds me of some of the older Sonic games. This is one of the best Sonic games I have played and if you're planning on getting the game, then what are you waiting for? Get it now!

97

PC: Easily the best version of Sonic Generations

Coonskin_Cap | May 22, 2013 | See all Coonskin_Cap's reviews »

Sonic Generations is a chaos emerald soaked love letter to Sonic as a franchise and everything that made the blue blur great over the past twenty years. Everything in this game seems like it was exactingly aimed at eliciting nostalgia whilst incorporating change and growth in a good way.

There are two principal play-styles, embodied in an adorably mute Classic Sonic and a "way past cool" Modern Sonic. Classic Sonic's stages are in 2d, and focus on increasingly challenging platforming and working out the best way through the enemies without slowing down or falling down a pit and coming a cropper. It gets more and more challenging as the game goes on, and you could spend potentially hours on a level figuring out the optimal route. Certainly, if you were expecting to “hold right to win”, you'll be pleasantly surprised. None of the challenges are insurmountable or unfair however, although there is a cute "gotcha" moment which plays on Sonic convention in one of the later levels that will catch you by surprise in a fun and playful way.

Modern sonic is arguably where the game shines, and is an adrenaline fuelled testament to how far the series has come. The main focus is on attaining boost and keeping it; that means zipping through levels tantalizingly close to the sound barrier, drifting through turns, and reacting with lightning fast reflexes to the many dangers you come across. Darting from rail to rail with the music zoning out of your periphery whilst barely holding yourself to the edge of the stage, before sliding through an overhang to begin skimming across the water at breakneck speed; or running down the side of a building whilst a giant robot snaps menacingly inches away from your heels; these are moments that Generations delivers on in fine form.

The levels are varied and rich, which differing soundtracks for each game-play style that feel nonetheless like they both belong. They mark an incredibly high point of the game and complement the atmosphere so superbly it's hard to imagine it without them. Some of these, in particular the themes for Planet Wisp, “Shadow” and Crisis City are exemplary pieces that stand far aloft on their own. If you've played any of the Sonic games, you'll be well at home. The levels take from Sonic's past games, with most of the major points of Sonic's history being documented: the GUN truck hilltop chase of Sonic Adventure 2, the lazily looping Green Hill zone of the original Sonic, the labyrinthine Chemical Plant zone of Sonic the Hedgehog 2 are all here but refreshed by a new design philosophy which cuts all the chaff and leaves the glorious grain. The design of all of these levels is stellar, particularly for the modern side, which often has subtly branching paths which can open whole new parts of the level for the astute speed runner with quick reflexes. You'll need your wits about you if you want to place in the top 100, or to score and S rank, particularly in latter levels.

The longevity is decent, clocking in at 10-15 hours for the main game, though perhaps this will depend on your level of skill. There are many mission modes which are alternately interesting gimmicks or simply beguilingly puzzling for their obtuseness. With this and many interesting unlockables there is a lot to get through and even a customization mode where you can mod Sonic with abilities to either help or hinder you.

If you're a Sonic fan then this is definitely a must buy. Even if you loathe Sonic, I'd still highly recommend this game. The awesome game-play and kickin' rad music is just too sublime of an experience to pass up. The PC port of the game gets a further recommendation, as it can run in 1080p at a frantic 60fps, which makes for an almost transcendental experience, though the game is not noticeably worse of the PS3, which is the other platform I had the opportunity to play this game on. Bottom line, this is a game that few can afford to pass up.

81

Blast from the past

georgecopos | May 16, 2013 | See all georgecopos's reviews »

Sonic Generations is a fun game that redeems the Sonic franchise of its status for putting out pitiful games of late. The game was designed to and succeeds in bringing back a sense of nostalgia with its classic gameplay. Each stage has 2 acts, where the first act lets you use classic Sonic in a 2-D environment and the second stage lets you use modern Sonic in a 3-D environment, but the ultimate goal is the same... to get to the end of the level. Both classic and modern Sonic control slightly differently and can both be equipped with unique unlockable abilities (such as being able to stop on a dime and starting a level with 10 rings instead of 0). The game has an emphasis on speed(it's a Sonic game after all), but at the same time the player needs to be patient and observe the area at times so the player won't run haphazardly into any danger. There are some frustrating parts at times, but none of them feel cheap... just usually the player's fault by either rushing through too fast or mistiming a jump.

Overall the game should take about 6-8 hours to complete depending on your skill level. The game has plenty of extra challenges for each level including racing an opponent and collecting a certain number of rings before finishing. You will have to do some of the challenges in order to actually unlock the bosses, but you are allowed to pick and choose and some are easier than others. Each challenge also has a high scorer's list if you are into setting records. Also the game has a plethora of unlockable items such as remixed songs from older Sonic games, and concept art. If you are a fan of Sonic, whether it is the Sonic of Genesis days or the fan of the modern Sonic games then Sonic Generations is a game I would wholeheartedly recommend for you

85

Best sonic game in a decade.

Vegimite | April 24, 2013 | See all Vegimite's reviews »

First off, have a game pad of some kind for the pc, it's not impossible to play it with a keyboard but the experience is vastly improved without having to. This is coming from someone who played sonic the hedgehog on the megadrive as well as sonic 2 and sonic 3 and knuckles. I later went on to play sonic adventure 2 on the gamecube. So I have a bit of experience with each.

  This game primarily has two distinct forms 2D classic sonic and the newer 3D sonic, you can switch between each before the level and doing so gives you both different gameplay and perspective on the level. The 2D gameplay handles well and is fairly precise so most of the time that you spend dead is going to be you being terrible and the sense of speed from the original games is recaptured well. The 3D sonic also maintains the great sense of speed you come to expect from sonic games but the platforming is also a bit floaty and the locking on system seems to behave a little bit more erratically then it should.
   It involves a psudo leveling system via unlockable abilities and while some of them are indeed cool and useful they don't change the game in a manner that is significant enough that I wonder if they would be better left out, or vastly improved in some way. In saying that getting all the abilities you want isn't difficult so it doesn't gate anything and it's just something extra.
    There is a good assortment of levels from previous games, but I feel the game could have benefited from more, but for the price tag it is very fair. Ultimately if you're vaguely interested in sonic games get it on a sale, if you've spent a good part of your childhood with sonic then buy the thing, it's good and you won't be disappointed.

92

A surprisingly fun game

Profoundly_Mad | April 22, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Sonic Generations manages to return the blue speedster to glory after a long period of terrible to mediocre games for nearly a decade. Graphically the game is bright, colorful and expressive, with some truly breathtaking visuals as you boost around levels from Sonic's past games. Rooftop Run especially is a visual delight.

The game has two different styles of gameplay. Classic Sonic plays like the old Megadrive/Genesis games being strictly 2D and heavy emphasis on both platforming and speed, though his physics aren't quite the same as the old games. Modern Sonic plays like a more refined version of Sonic Unleashed's daytime levels, with multiple routes to take as you speed through the levels in stylish ways. You can also purchase new skills which give either Classic Sonic or Modern Sonic new perks or abilities which can make repeated playthroughs of a level somewhat different.

There are also challenges which can unlock concept art, music and various other things. Most of these challenges are fun but one or two are way too difficult than they have any right to be. The final boss, without spoiling anything is also a major letdown compared to how good the rest of the game is.

If you loved Sonic as a kid and you were lamenting the state of the franchise in the past decade, this game returns to form.

85

Sonic is Back to Glory

Nuxaider | March 2, 2013 | See all Nuxaider's reviews »

In my opinion, Sonic games have gone down in quality since Sonic Adventure 2. Each game disappointed me more and more so when I saw Sonic Generations, I was expecting more failure. Luckily, SEGA showed that they still know how to make good Sonic games.

Graphics: The game looks nice, but not in a technical sense. The game gets its impressive visuals from aesthetics rather than technical force. Each level is bright and detailed, giving each stage their own unique look.

Story: The story in Sonic Generations is bad. The plot itself is self explanatory: it's Sonic's birthday, Eggman creates a time warp, you fix it, but it's just so,...boring. The setting isn't explained so there isn't much motivation besides "Eggman is the bad guy so I have to stop him." The voice acting doesn't help the story out either. Don't get me wrong; the voice actors are excellent, but their lines are cringe-worthy. Sonic sounds like a car salesman and it totally ruins the interest in the plot. That being said, the plot isn't very important in a Sonic game.

Gameplay: Sonic Team finally got it right. Previous games were plagued by linear level design and speed crazy gameplay that was only designed to make the player feel a rush when they were playing. There was absolutely no skill involved and it felt like playing a racing game. This game does not do that. Modern Sonic levels are wondrously designed and have more branching paths than the older "go left or right" variety. Levels are open and encourage exploration to find new paths to the goal. Classic Sonic levels are similar to the style of older titles and is definitely a nostalgia trip. The physics are not 100% accurate to the first couple Sonic games, but they are leaps and bounds better than the horrid physics of Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1. The only minor complaints I have with Classic Sonic's stages are that there aren't enough loop based sections and the platforming is too "Mario-y" (simple hopping on one platform to the next.) Overall, excellent gameplay.

If you were disappointed by recent Sonic titles, Sonic Generations is the game fans have been waiting for.

82

Good game, Sonic reborn

israel_hlc | Feb. 20, 2013 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Sonic Generations is good, maybe surprisingly good. After many years waiting for a good Sonic game, this game brings us a really solid experience, worthy of the classic games from the Genesis era. The gameplay is based on both the classical 2D sidescrolling platformer and the modern 3D third-person based we have seen in recent titles (each of these are played with a “different” Sonic character). The 2D style resembles a lot the original games, and it is where the game got its strongest points: The levels are well designed and fun to play; the different paths bring good replay options. The graphics are excellent, colorfully designed and fit perfectly in the game. While running through the levels, the game has a nice fluency and I haven’t noticed any loading glitches. The game is not perfect, of course, especially in some boss battles which are just too easy. The plot is not a strong point too, but I really wasn’t expecting it to be. Unfortunately the 3D gameplay is built to be played with a controller and playing with the keyboard sometimes will be a bit frustrating.

91

A great return to one of my favorite mascots!

praggi93 | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all praggi93's reviews »

Sonic Generations is SEGA's first good step at the right direction, bringing us the familiar gameplay from the early genesis time, combined with the all familiar 3D- perspective from the earlier games. The game offers great graphics, good mechanics and the best combination of two different types of gameplay, truly bringing the best of both worlds to the game. The game could however be a bit longer. All in all the game is highly recommended.

85

A true return to form

DeweyDTruman | Jan. 20, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

Sonic Colors (and Sonic Unleashed to a lesser extent) worked to return to what made Sonic good, but Sonic Generations feels like the first game to truly nail 3D sonic gameplay. It's an absolute blast from start to finish, especially Rooftop Run. The various additional abilities you unlock are all interesting, though it's certainly possible to S rank each level without using a single one.

The 2D classic sonic gameplay isn't perfect, though. It's certainly not bad by any margin, but it doesn't manage to be as well done as the actual genesis games. It's hard to explain, but something just feels a bit off through each 2D level. They manage to not be as fun as the 3D levels, something that many players, myself included, never thought possible.

The challenges are interesting, though nothing to write home about. One or two (namely one with Vector in modern sonic's Rooftop Run) tend to run the verge of being ridiculous in their difficulty. Ultimately, they're all worth working through, if only for their unlockable songs and art. The collection of available art and music you can unlock through the game is great, and the remixes are all well done. Fans of older and even newer sonic titles will definitely get a kick out of this.

85

One of the best recent efforts from Sonic Team

Scorpy | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Sonic Generations combines the fast-paced and chaotic gameplay of modern Sonic (think Sonic Colors) and the nostalgia of classic Sonic. Although some levels are abysmal (Planet Wisp, Crisis City and Sky Sanctuary come to mind), most of them are very fun to play. The classic Sonic levels are fantastic fun and the tight controls are somewhat back, although it's not nearly as responsive as it should be. Modern Sonic is fine, but it often turns into classic Sonic for too long.

Sonic Generations is the best recent Sonic game. Although it's doubtful how they will top this compilation of Sonic history, it's still very fun to play.

100

Sonic Team delivers gold

stormx360 | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all stormx360's reviews »

My personal game of the year 2011, It is an amazing recreation of the original sonic environments, as if the 2D gameplay wasn't good enough, they've also managed to get 3D gameplay down and also recreate the classic levels in 3D, aswell as manage to recreate the modern levels in 2D perfectly. Although it has some small stability issues in the online mode, it can be easily overlooked due to what this game is, an amazing package of the best levels in Sonic history.

90

Sonic is Back

HeadCrabZombie | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all HeadCrabZombie's reviews »

The times of bad Sonic games are behind us for now, for this Sonic game is a massive improvement over previous titles. Unleashed tried to be good but was held back by its slow werehog levels, so Generations is all about being fast. The 2Dand 3D levels have very different gameplay styles, with classic Sonic not being able to do a homing attack, but modern Sonic not being able to do a spin dash. The unique gameplay styles perfectly fit the levels they play in, which I might add, look beautiful. The detail within the levels are phenomenal. A must get game for Sonic fans, and even good for people new to the series!

80

A return to form and a great game for any fan.

Tensketch | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all Tensketch's reviews »

The first game I ever owned was Sonic the Hedgehog way back in Christmas 92. It was the first game I ever played and one of the best games I'd experienced for years. I absolutely loved it. Fast forward to 2001 and I was in love with Sonic Adventure 1 and 2, they gave sonic a voice, a story and different campaigns, I loved it! Fast forward to 2008 and they'd made a black hedgehog have guns, sonic kiss a girl and then become a werehog. I was sick of him at this point and every time they'd release a game I plain didn't care.

Probably the worst part about all of this is that Sega are fully aware of their mess ups. Every game that came out was received with reviews and fan comments basically destroying everything they had made. They tried to fix things with the release of Sonic 4, which brought back the old school gameplay that people like me love. Only problem was they were short and expensive so the fans complained they wanted something more like sonic adventure. So Sega was stuck with the following problem, the fans wanted something that was old school and retro, like the original sonic games, but modern and exciting, like Sonic Adventure. The answer? whynotboth.jpg

And thus, Sonic Generations was born!

The game gives fans everything they want, you get your old school levels mixed with a really well refined modern sonic. It has you playing 3 levels from each generation of Sonic, from the 2D megadrive days, the 3D adventure days, to the 'we have no idea what we are doing' days. It is a lot of fun blasting through a modern day reimagining of Chemical Plant Zone in 3D, blasting through at insane speeds which you actually have control of.

Overall, if you are a sonic fan and you want to believe again, buy this game. Sega have worked hard on this game, get it now and enjoy it, before Sega mess things up again, you know it's going to happen.

85

It's a fun ride

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

One of the best Sonic games I've played since Sonic Adventure 2. The soundtrack is as awesome as always, and the game incorporates levels from just about every main-series Sonic game since Sonic 1. The Classic Sonic levels play like the Sonic games of old, while the Modern Sonic levels are all about speed and reactions. It's very fun, and continues the upward momentum begun by Sonic Colors. That said, the game isn't perfect. It's rather short, and has a lot of optional "challenges" that were entirely unnecessary in my opinion. The time spent making those could've been devoted to making more levels instead. Still, short or not, it's a fun ride and very much worth the cost.

100

Amazing !

kingbobski | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all kingbobski's reviews »

I got this in the GMG sale for like £3.50 and it's the best sonic game I've played ! It has a very nice retro feel to it and the 3D Parts are amazing ! Not exactly retro but does work and has a Sonic Heroes feel to it. I recommend this game to anyone who is a sonic fan !

91

Sonic came back to life

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

I think that all of us have been waiting for a great game from Sonic franchise. We had a lot of not so good Sonic that disappointed us. This made a lot lot people start thinking that all of 3D Sonic are bad games but it is not the reality. Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 were two great Sonic games and the problem was that after it they start changing the things and burned the hedgehod doing things as weresonic. It was a shame, I agree. But the key to change it is come back to the root looking for what was the good points of Sonic of the past, specially the 3D Sonic. They did it. They made a Sonic similar to the Adventure, with a better gameplay and, of course, better graphics. The 2D parts is also great, much better if we compare with Sonic 4. Much better. I recommend this game a lot. It is the best Sonic since so much time. It is a great game.

90

Sonic Keeps Racing Towards a Good Future

CrimsonWizard | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

I would like to give just a little background before this review. My first system was a Sega Genesis/Mega Drive, and I grew up a Sonic fan, loved 1, 2, and 3 & Knuckles. Then I ignored Sonic for a long time afterwards, having skipped his 3D outings until a few months ago I was dazzled and loved Sonic Colors on the Wii. Enthused by that title, I purchased Sonic Generations and was not disappointed.

Sonic Generations throws our hedgehog into a time travel plot where is was forced into an alternate reality populated by some of his most memorable stages and events throughout his 20+ years of games. Starring the modern version of Sonic alongside his younger, classically styled self, he has to race across each stage, free his friends that have become trapped in the alternate reality, and find a way back home for them all.

The game ran great on my PC with few hiccups despite the speed, making the 2D levels with classic Sonic feel like a return of those fun games from the Genesis/Mega Drive days. They thankfully also add something new thanks to the 2D re-imaginings of the 3D levels, and the abilities you can earn for both Sonics. While I would say Sonic Color's 3D levels were better overall, Sonic's 3D levels in Sonic Generations were still a good time. The camera kept pace with him and it wasn't too hard to keep a good pace through the level. That and it was fun seeing what places like Green Hill and Chemical Plant Zone would be like in a 3D perspective.

The game offers plenty of levels, bosses, and challenges for you to compete, making sure you get plenty of hours out of Sonic's 20th anniversary game. It sounds and looks great, melding together two eras of Sonic nicely, and works as a good introduction to the series for newer players. SEGA did a fantastic job keeping up the momentum from Sonic Colors and Sonic 4: Episode 2, and I look forward to more Sonic in the future.

95

All a Sonic fan would want!

Vinicius_92 | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all Vinicius_92's reviews »

As a long-time Sonic fan, I am positively sure when I say that in the past few years, Sonic games were a disappointment. The only exception would be Sonic Colors, but since it's a Nintendo-consoles exclusive, it's an exception.

Sonic Generations brings back all that Sonic games had at its best: speed, action, beautiful landscapes and great music. This game is the best fan-service a fan would possibly want. It's possible to play as classic Sonic and modern Sonic. To complete the game it is necessary to play each stage with both characters, and believe me, it will be a pleasure.

When you play as classic Sonic, the gameplay is very similar to old genesis games and when you play as Modern Sonic, the gameplay is similar to Sonic Colors (without the power-ups). The graphics are simply astonishing, the sound is excellent (it is great to listen to classic songs remixed) and the controls are tight.

Sonic Generations is worth every penny you pay for it. The single experience of playing through Green Hill Zone one more time pays for the costs of the game.

90

Best Sonic game since the Adventure series

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

I am sure that all we were missing a good Sonic game. After Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 it seems that something is missing. The solution was: catch the best of the previous games and put together in 2,5D and 3D environment. All I can say is that they did it with mastery. The game is amazing. Think that you are playing an Adventure but inside our generation, with improved graphics and gameplay. Think that you are playing a classic 2D with improved graphics and gameplay. Not, put the two things together with the best of the chapters that you have played and remaked original soundtracks. That is what I am talking about. The game is wonderful. We feel playing an Escape the City chapter but in different ways and very well improved. If you are waiting for a good Sonic to play, buy it now and start downloading because you will not regret!

88

Not the same as the old ones, but still excellent!

nintendo97 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all nintendo97's reviews »

I got this on PC since I don't have a 360 or PS3. The controls are a bit confusing, but once you get used to them, the game is worth it. I prefer the 2D segments, which are similar, but don't play exactly the same as the Genesis games. A decent mod community extends the life of the game. This is one of the best Sonics in years.

86

Nice Retro Feel!

2wicked | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all 2wicked's reviews »

If you're like me and stopped playing sonic when it went 3D you will enjoy this. I love a good side scroller and even the 3d levels work well on this game. I have yet to play all the way through so far it's like the originals with a 3d style bonus stage every so often.

Being able to play though the levels with each version of sonic and pals gives the this game added value with multiple ways to play and re-playability!

85

A love letter to any Sonic fan

Inuyashe | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Inuyashe's reviews »

Sonic Team have finally put their marbles back together. No more strange, stretchy werewolves, horribly glitchy gameplay, insufferable loading times. This is Sonic.

In fact, it is two Sonics. The game and its levels is split into two parts. Stages where you play as classic Sonic, the round, loveable hedgehog from days long past, where you navigate precarious, maze-like levels in two dimensions. In other stages, you play as new-age Sonic, with his emphasis on speed above all, where you rush forward, dodging, breaking and smashing your way, while still retaining some platforming goodness. Both parts work surprisingly well. Classic Sonic is as good as ever, while Sonic Team managed to work out a few of the kinks in modern Sonic's playstyle from Sonic Unleashed.

Speaking of stages, it's all there. From good old Green Hill Zone, to the likes of Crisis City, complete with faithful remixes of their tunes and sounds. Nostalgia never looked or sounded better.

So, if you still call yourself a fan of Sonic, or even if you don't. This game is for anyone seeking that tactical platforming, with a bit of a rush on the side. It may be abit short, but Sonic's always been about perfecting your routes and such. So go ahead. Grab a ring and run.

83

A good sonic game

CJV | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Sonic Generations is the return of a fun sonic game. The game revisits the best levels of previous sonic games and gives them a 3D and 2D remake, because now you can play every act as classic sonic (from the genesis era) or as modern sonic. They both play fine but classic sonic levels are usually more fun (there are some exceptions). Overall it's a nice game for any sonic fans.

80

Best in a while, but is that saying much?

sweetcuppincake | Dec. 2, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

So everyone says this is the best Sonic game since Adventure 2, which I agree with, but that doesn't mean it's as great as Sonic used to be. First off, this game is a labor of love. It takes levels from most of the old Sonic games and remakes them in both the traditional Sonic (Genesis era) and newer Sonic (Adventure). Fans of the older games will find something to trigger a sense of nostalgia.

I was having fun during the first half of the game, but once I got into the levels from games I never played, I started to lose interest. It seemed like the things that made more recent Sonic games less appealing were present here as well. I didn't understand why I was turning into a mini rocket on one level. There were deadly pits that didn't seem fair. I started the game doing all the challenges and trying to get all the unlockables, but in the later levels I was just trying to do the bare minimum to get through.

In spite of the shortcomings of the later part of the game, I really enjoyed the trip down memory lane this game provided. The music was great as always. It's still fast-paced with multiple paths to take. It still has that Sonic charm that I still have fond memories of all these years later. Definitely recommended for Sonic fans.

97

A celebration of awesomeness.

ultrapwnd | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all ultrapwnd's reviews »

Sonic generation is probably the best sonic game in the past decade

Let's start with the gameplay, the core of any game, and with sonic generations it has taken the good of classic and modern and put them together in a great package, you get the great side scrolling action of classic sonic and the fast paced 3d sonic. It is all there and it is done right, the stages are redone great and every stage in the game is very fun.

The music is absolutely incredible, this game has the best music in any sonic game ever. Ever. Considering it has some of the best tracks from classic sonic games, and remixed them in modern and classic styles, it sounds completely awesome.

The story is kinda bad, do not expect any drama like in past modern sonic outings but this is a good thing, it is just a reason for classic and modern sonic to be together using time and space. It is not very good but it gets the job done.

On another note it is pretty short even with the casino night DLC which is just a pinball stage, but besides that and the story this is a fantastic game well worth the time of any platforming, or who has fond memories playing sonic games.

73

Old school Sonic is back !

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

It's an enjoyable game with some frustrating mechanics and really, really, really cheesy CGI movies (like pretty much all Sonic games). The graphics are sharp, detailed and colorful, the sounds are nice and the voice overs are terrible. The gameplay itself is pretty fun, especially when playing as Young Sonic. The Old Sonic sequences reminded me of Sonic Adventure. They're, most of the times, fast and there are some cool chasing scenes in them as well. The bossfights, well, they're frustrating, especially the ones where you have to beat a rival. The last 2 bossfights can also be really frustrating. But there's fun to had as well of course. You just have to ignore some of the poorer mechanics. All in all, it's a good game, just don't play it for hours and hours and you'll be fine.

90

Best "jump & run" on PC

DukePaul | Oct. 17, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Im a Sonic fan I can say this one of the best Sonic games ever made.

The gameplay offers two perspectives, for the classic Sonic is always a 2D platformer like the old Sega Genesis/Megadrive games, also it includes skills like a skateboard that you can buy in the shop. The Modern Sonic mostly is 3D platformer but sometimes the level has 2D parts so it is a great mix and the best of both universes.

The game has nine levels with 2 acts each (one for each Sonic) that travels of stages on the History of the saga, this levels are in a World Hub with 2D gameplay, apart from the levels you have challenges like races, collect rings that unlock soundtracks from the previous games that you can switch in the levels, artworks and skills.

I think this is the best Sonic in years because Sega finally found a way to make the gameplay on 3D great.

100

Best sonic game since Sonic Adventure 2

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

This game is really fun. Im a fan of sonic , I played the series since Sonic 1 and I loved the speed , the plataform and stuff. Since Sonic Adventure 2 sonic became lame and speed was lost , the game were horrible. (Sonic colors was a good game but i dont want to loss the point) Then this game came and I really loved it. Old great levels(crysis city was the worst) and a great old soundtrack. Sonic in his best. Must buy for every Sonic fan in the world.

80

Finally a decent Sonic game

schroff | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

How long has it been since any of us have played a decent Sonic game? I've fond memories of Sonic & Tales and Sonic & Knuckles on the Genesis and boy I enjoyed this one! The environments are gorgeous to look at, gameplay is simple and many classic stages are revisited due to the time travel thing going on here. You can switch between young and classic sonic, both of whom have their own strengths. Minor performance issues in one particular stage in a very particular point, I don't why Sega hasn't fixed that. The 3D parts of the game aren't as good as the classic gameplay versions but they aren't horrible at least but sometimes the camera lets you down ... literally. Sound is classic sonic. There's also a pinball mini game as dlc, if that's your thing. Great purchase.

88

Very solid title!

Luisfius | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Luisfius's reviews »

Not a return to form, since technically that would have been Sonic Colors. It is the best 3d Sonic since SA2, and it seems to be one that does not take itself seriously at all, which is better, since each of the Sonic games that took itself seriously got worse and worse. Also, it is the best 2d Sonic since Sonic 3. Great gameplay with a short-ish "campaign" and a staggering amount of extra challenges, it is a no brainer if you want either fast paced 2d or 3d platforming.

87

The best modern Sonic game there is.

Micepudding | Aug. 25, 2012 | See all Micepudding's reviews »

I've always hated the 3D sonic games. Even Flicky's Island, on the Genesis, in isometric pseudo-3D didn't grab me in the same way the 2D outings did. Sonic Generations is different. It gets the 3D right.

Every stage has a 2D and a 3D version, and almost every stage pulls off both brilliantly. The focus is once again on speed and platforming, with a lock-on attack making it easier to aim jumps in the 3D levels. A mixture of stages from different games brings familiarity at the same time as freshness.

Sonic Generations far exceeds the quality level set by recent outings for the hedgehog, and fans of the original games should pick this up without a doubt. Some of the levels aren't quite up to par, but the majority of the game is fast paced, fun, and exactly how you'd want a Sonic game to play. Even the 3D levels. One caveat: this is a difficult game to play using a keyboard. A gamepad is recommended.

80

Sonic is fun again!

Lunk | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

In a world where you can't build an overwhelming concensus about much of anything, there's one thing pretty much everyone agrees with: the Sonic series lost its magic. People draw the line at different points, but I haven't met anyone who disagrees with the basic premise that its gone way, way downhill and quickly. The good news is that Sonic Generations is the upturned ramp at the bottom of that hill, joyfully flinging the series back to the heights it once enjoyed.

The game offers both 2D and 3D modes, and even as someone who felt like 3D was the beginning of the end for Sonic, I loved them both equally. The game adapts levels from previous titles in the series, and some of the newer ones are so well done that you'll find yourself second guessing whether the game they came from could really have been all that bad. The graphics are beautiful on a PC, and the controls were great with a 360 pad (I imagine KBAM would probably not be quite as good, though). With the semi-optional bonus challenges (you have to do some of them to advance, but not all), the game should last somewhere in the neighborhood of 15 hours for a full playthrough.

There is one big flaw, however. The final boss fight is a long slog that changes things up in such a way that the gameplay has very little in common with what was so enjoyable about the rest of the game. Still, the game as a whole was a really enjoyable experience. Highly recommended for any Sonic fan!

95

Possibly the best Sonic since S3&K

kairegister | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all kairegister's reviews »

As a long time sonic fan, i felt this is the first 2D Sonic game since the genesis days to be as good as those old sonic games. Every level has 2 acts, one in Classic Sonic, and one in Modern. Even Modern Sonic episodes are great, they play different but they made modern sonic work properly in 2D.

85

Suprisingly good Sonic game

Darkslayer16 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all Darkslayer16's reviews »

For the first time in years it's actually a Sonic game that I find enjoyable instead of being garbage. The sense of speed is still there and it controls well unlike a lot of the recent games in the franchise and you won't die from camera problems anymore. The story is fairly average but honestly who cares about story in a sonic game.

81

Classic+modern gameplay=good Sonic game

panz3r88 | July 19, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Sonic Generations contains all the elements and characteristics we have seen in twenty years of Sonic games. In each zone there are two acts where we use two different version of Sonic that represents different kind of gameplay. With classic Sonic the game is a 2D platform similar to the first Sonic games and we can use the classic spin dash move to increase the speed and attack enemies. When we use modern Sonic the gameplay is similar to the last Sonic games: we have a 2D/3D hybrid platform game and we can use many of the moves introduced in this game, like the homing attack,that allow to attack directly an enemy while in midair, and the Sonic boost, that allow to fill a bar defeating the enemy and performing some tricks while in midair and then increase the speed pressing a button. With these moves modern Sonic is faster than classic Sonic. In both version of the level there are all the elements that are a constant in Sonic games like spring and bumpers that allow to mantain a constant high speed through the level After the main act many challenges related to the levels we played are unlocked:in these challenges we must perform some tasks like collect a certain amount of rings or go from point A to point B in a certain time. These challenges allow to increase the longevity of the title and allow to unlock a lot of bonus content like concept arts and the best music from all Sonic games. Even with these challenges the games is quite short but it's still a good platform game that is able to put togheter both old and new Sonic fans in a single game and can allow to someone who never played Sonic games to understand why many people love this character.

86

Sonic's return to form!

JJH777 | July 14, 2012 | See all JJH777's reviews »

This is the best Sonic game since the genesis. This game is a mashup of all the best levels in sonic games. There is a 2d and 3d version of each level both of which are done very well. The game is of average length for a sonic game but it has a ton of re-playability. All of the levels have multiple paths to get through them. The soundtrack in this game is superb. There are a few problems with this game almost all the boss fights are very boring. The final boss in particular is something I never want to do again. Overall though this game represents a massive return to Sonic's glory days.

88

Surpasses expectations!

mashakosha | June 17, 2012 | See all mashakosha's reviews »

Sonic Generations is a worthy addition to the Sonic catalogue, and it’s been a while since I’ve thought about saying that. Sega have done a great job, not only with making it, but marketing too. There are a couple of rare glitches which I expect most wont even come across. With an Online Mode to challenge your friends at time attacks adding even more value, it's well worth it, even if you’re not a hardcore Sonic fan. This is Sonic, no matter what your preference is, and if you liked any Sonic games ever, you’ll enjoy this.

100

Epic!

ilyabru | June 14, 2012 | See all ilyabru's reviews »

Buy this game! Sonic is fast and fun! You will be playing for hours and once you finish all the stages you will come back for more to get all S ranks and red star rings. Achievements also keep the game fresh and hacks will let you play player made levels. There is even a mod that will bring the levels from Sonic Unleashed to PC! Sound is awesome and the textures are crisp, If you run everything on MAX settings then pretty much nothing will look jaggedy.

95

Not the usual Sonic game

PedroVarela | June 13, 2012 | See all PedroVarela's reviews »

It's much, much better. When I heard there was a new Sonic game coming, the child in me couldn't be more happy. However, the adult in me was skeptical: Why make another Sonic game, if the previous ones were going down the drain? Sure, they were enjoyable, but they weren't what Sonic used to be.

Fortunatly, this wasn't the case. This game is brilliante, and it brings Sonic back from what he used to be. Play levels you remember as a kid, a teenager, and what you are today. Remember every level from every Sonic game, redesigned and remade with both modern and classic Sonic. Remember the music, the memories, everything.

It's a gem of a game. The controls are perfect, besides the usual small corner which can be a tad difficult to go through. The mechanics couldn't be better. It's a high speed game, but you feel you have all that speed under control.

I couldn't suggest anything to the game. It's worth every penny.

74

Sonic's Return?

WinDiesel | June 13, 2012 | See all WinDiesel's reviews »

Finally! A decent Sonic game on modern systems AND computers. This title really surprised me, I didn't know anything about it before I bought it and at first was really blown away. 2D Sonic controls perfectly and feels just like he used to in the 90s. 3D Sonic is pretty cool as well but not for everyone - luckily, his levels are on the short side and mostly good.

To cut to the chase:

Gameplay - A mixed bag, great classic gameplay, meh modern sonic 7/10

Sound - Sound effects are top notch, soundtrack has some really good but also some pretty annoying songs 8/10

Story - Absolutely boring, 4/10

Lasting appeal - Sadly, this game is really short and doesn't offer too much content worthy of multiple playthroughs 7/10

Overall, I'm sure Sonic Team is going to deliver great games in the future. They seem to have finally figured out what makes sonic games good.

91

A return to the roots for Sonic!

craig2562 | May 27, 2012 | See all craig2562's reviews »

This game goes back to the original style that made classic Sonic games so much fun to play and reinvents itself as a Modern Day Sonic game. There are levels from every era of Sonic and while it's not a very long game there is alot to do and replaying the game can unlock pieces of music to use in levels to concept art.

The only problem I have with this game is there are too few levels and the bosses themselves arent really challenging. Still it is an enjoyable experience for any Sonic fan and a must buy if you love that little blue furball.

80

Gotta go fast !

arkantos | May 21, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

Too many years has passed since we have seen a good Sonic game, but here he is! Sonic Generations is nostalgic and fun at the same time, and also very fast (As expected)! Each level is designed perfectly to don't slow down, unless you do it first. There is no gimmicks or tricks here that detour from what a Sonic game is meant to be. You play on stages from previous Sonic games and unlock music and pictures of Sonic and friends, and also power ups you will use in-game, the musics can be applyed to any stage at anytime which feels awesome if you know previous games and want to mix them up. Anyway what can i say ? Amazing game for any fan of Sonic of any age and game previously played, or even for anyone looking for a great high speed platformer who's new to Sonic world. If you have a chance of get it do so, usually Green Man Gaming has it on sale for awesome price, would be a bad idea to pass on it !

83

Learn from the past, to succeed in the future

kalil | May 15, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Sonic being the legendary SEGA mascot, during the time of the 90 competing against Nintendo pulling big titles, the quality of the Hedgehog series but no one discussed dreamcasts after time, stopped racing SEGA console itself and lost sonic quality and during the years it was trying everything that crossed their head, sometimes it worked other only worsened the poor sonic quality.

Now on its 20th anniversary SEGA has seriously to make a special game and it is certainly the best game we have received from sonic which is very much about the quality of yesteryear.

During a birthday party that receives sonic by his friends, a mysterious being, attacks and kidnaps for different time points of the life of the hedgehog, which was in a strange dimension completely white, which was found with sonic your age and I together will be, to save his friends and defeat the mysterious creature.

Gameplay:

Sonic Generations is composed of the story mode and online mode, which I explain below first focus on the story.

In story mode we move through a room, not to call a long white corridor, where we find areas in which we play. Where we have the first 3 areas to explore, and after that his boss, each will have their vision sonic dimension so to speak, one in the past and one in the future, which will change with the triangle. And nearly every area a couple of doors that will explain later.

2 acts per zone will control the first with the old sonic and the second with the sonic modern. Playing with old sonic platforms are 2D and very simple controls where jump with X and square leaving sprint tight sonic which will make a run at high speed by defeating enemies in its path, when more apretemos will travel more distance squared.

Of course the classics return monitors where lives get, rings or the power to be invincible temporarily, until the final stretch with the classic rotating lineup.

With modern sonic jump with X square will use the turbo on, this turbo will allow us to go to a very great speed but it will spend as we use, but be filled out as we get the rings and defeat the enemies along the way.

So we fill thanks to the antics in the air to make sonic with the left stick and end with R1 and L1 at a time, before falling to the ground. We will also use R1 and L1 for when we're running with the turbo to dodge obstacles or cliffs.

With a skid will circle to pass under openings in order to avoid having to stop. X will also allow us to drone attacks against enemies.

Finally we can control the 2 sonic stick to the left or the spider control, as we are more comfortable.

We will also have to go through a series of red rings will help us better reach some sites, but we will be working to achieve, so-called rainbow rings take us directly to a remote spot, the stage, which will help us save time and pirouette to recharge the turbo.

So the controls are very intuitive and easy to carry, which is important for the various acts aprontar we present the game, with many details of the saga, as the docks, collecting rings everywhere, drifting very fast by railings survive aquatic areas, leap great distances, and so on.

The objective of game is to get from point A to point B as quickly as possible and get the best grade, which is the S, which is not as easy as it sounds.

Apart from the areas we will go through 9 in total each based on a different sonic game like sonic heroes sonic colors or say some, we will face some bosses that truth, sin to be a little difficult but they are caught fast, the hang of how to remove them.

Finally say that each zone will advance as typical elements of the game, such as using the colors in their area and sonic skateboarding in another.

The story mode gameplay is no more mystery and anyone can feel comfortable playing it Now let's talk about the playability of the online mode, which leaves much to be desired, explain why.

There are only two ways here of 30 seconds mode and normal mode phase.

In 30 seconds so we have the acts of each sonic 9 where we have to reach as far as possible in that time frame.

The normal mode is almost like playing story mode phases without some features of this, then explain innovations.

Basically these 2 modes only serve to put our time scores and points to a database and compare worldwide such we have. The truth's a shame it would have been the perfect excuse to see done to careers in areas with a friend or with another player online, each with a different sonic color for example. So this game mode passed almost unnoticed by the title.

Technology:

The game moves not bad, but load times but no longer can do, a little heavy if you accumulate, for example by putting the game while loading the credits and then select the item is, the story mode or manner online, it took a while to load.

Then we will be the same if we change the sonic in the hall for selecting areas and each time you start or head area. But where most noticeable load times is in online mode but here is more logical, the game having to connect to the Internet.

SEGA truth, could see tried to solve the excessive load times, the game.

On the other hand say that it is sometimes the game takes to load some items on the stage itself is not anything serious, but it is those little things that clash a bit like going through an area with modern sonic and see a ramp until almost been at his side, does not appear a second ramp attached to it, I would have to be seen from afar.

But on the positive side, we note with modern sonic very successful turbo mode speed sensation when, running on stage in 3D, plus many effects on stage by the 2 sonic and flow of the phases are perfectly without the slightest problem.

Nor is there any complaints with the number of enemies on screen, although not usually many, or even with the huge bosses.

Finally say that load without any problem.

Graphics:

If anything characterizes the sonic saga is the great use of color in his scenes and characters.

Sonic former has a smaller design with a lighter blue that makes it quite retro, making fit, while the modern Sonic is designed to be higher, with a darker blue and sterilized.

Where most noticeable design changes from modern to old is with dr dr robotnik or eggman, one much more infantile and simple in design with a much more detailed and credible.

Finally we would Tails versions of past and future, 2 very similar but a smaller, more child-like than the other in the future.

The rest of the characters Amy, Shadow, Metal Sonic, have a very consistent and correct in their designs without highlighting any of them with bright colors.

Now for the areas, which meet in designs remain 100% faithful to their respective games, scenes of great beauty in both 2D and 3D. The game of using the colors of the sets are fantastic and the textures are well done.

Also when running at full speed with the 2 sonic, we can see how the scenarios do not lose sharpness and feel the sensation of speed in them.

The designs of the enemies and bosses are also very colorful, which have all kinds in the form of robots, from animals, mini space staples or police cars.

The heads are of great size and design are very original.

I mean some old sonic retro scenarios are to remove the hat to see how they have been created for this title, especially the famous green hill, filled with nostalgia to the older players.

Finally say that the white area in which we move, is very elegant, to see how to pass each color area is recovering and thus, our friends.

Sound:

If anything stands out sonic generation is in the sound section, since the game has a summary of the main themes of the saga of the Hedgehog, both original, versioned 0 for the time being together, a treat for the ears.

We have all kinds of issues with voice, like sonic heroes, sonic the hedgehog of that play out in 3 and 360, the theme of sonic boom, to name a few.

In areas where we play with each sonic, the versions are different, a more retro for the old sonic sonic while the rockers are more modern, detail is appreciated.

The sound system complies with the effects of sonic leaps, springs, the effect of water, take the rings.

Finally we reached the dubbing for the first time in Castilian, is very consistent, unfortunately is very missed by friends sonic only has 4 sentences each throughout the game.

News:

Sonic generation have a couple of interesting developments that make it very replayable.

First we will advance the game while in the clean room to the left a shop run by a chaos, which we sell items that we will be equipping, second is sonic sonic modern or old, each with unique qualities, but with a limit as the boost of these.

For example we can use the old sonic bubble shield that allows you to bounce around the stage, for this we will have gotten to him before, to buy it. When we use the triangle button to equip it, but if we receive a blow to lose him, just get it back if we lose a life.

In the far left of the white area will have a room to see the videos, the profile of the characters, listen to the soundtrack of the songs collected, information about the characters and images of sketches, both designs, the scenarios of the game as the original games.

A gift for fans of the blue hedgehog and speaking of gifts, we buy in the store of objects, if we find a game gear knob, the sonic power of the console to enjoy it, when we want.

Another extra lengthen the life of the game are the missions which are doors that are scattered around the areas, 45 per sonic and are quite different from making a run with a friend, get to the end with a single ring or save x number of animals trapped in a capsule as the Sonic of yesteryear.

Do you remember I said that the online mode would have been better if you could do online races? Because in mission mode there are some who would try that but against the machine, which work very well, could see perfect become the online mode , a shame that SEGA did not dare to take the plunge.

After completing a mission, we must strike the bell above the door to get a new song or a sketch.

The missions truth most are not very difficult and have experience with sonic, mostly they are passed to the first, began to become difficult problem from the last 3 areas, where most will notice as increasing difficulty. Although not reach a point of despair, enough with a couple of tries to catch them the trick.

On the subject of music achieved, I have to say that SEGA has done a detail that I personally love it, we can customize each stage area, with music by Sonic collection for the mood, that is, for example to the music of sonic heroes in green hill zone.

This detail does not seem even gives much more life to the levels and get away a little the monotony that might occur.

Another object of the game will get the Chaos Emeralds, this time are required to have seven if we enjoy ourselves, which of differences from other games will not be as difficult to achieve.

Well 3 are cons another 3 heads against rival challenges Sonic and the last to complete the 9 zones, so this may be a relief for some and a disappointment to others.

Another bonus is most certainly one of the most difficult challenges we will have to find 5 red rings with star hidden in each event with the 2 sonic to unlock the rest of music and sketches, a task unlike missions, we can get a little choke and thwart.

In summary:

SEGA has done their homework and solved much of the problem, which had its beloved mascot, has created a fun game, which enchant both old and current players. With a selection of areas for games in the series very well-chosen, easy gameplay for any player to adapt, a soundtrack for his hat and put him to replay missions, in addition to reaching the target range S.

But it has its faults, as some bosses that takes some beating in the beginning, the mission could see was a little more balanced in difficulty, especially for the most veteran online sonic and remains in the anecdotal.

Not to forget how it wasted a good dub, with a very simple story, although this is not in itself a counter.

The best:

Designs in particular areas of sonic old retro style very much alive.

The game's soundtrack and to customize the music of the areas with it.

The fun title that will delight fans old and new sonic.

The dubbing, finally a sonic dubbed into Castilian.

The selection of sites for other sonic games.

Side quests, collecting items, get the S in areas with each sonic take us hours.

The worst:

A line that goes untapped

The difficulty of the bosses

Many load moments in the game

Small load failure at some stage.

Get the 5 red rings per zone may despair.

The dubbing despite being very good, just most of the characters have four sentences.

80

Return to form.

scottnat | April 15, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

After a bunch dismal Sonic games it's pleasing to say this is one finally worth buying. Bright, colourful fun. It runs very well. Of the two modes - 3d and 2d side scrolling - i have to say i prefered the 2d levels, but having said that the implementation of the 3d is a step up from previous games featuring this viewpoint. The 3d perspective can still be a little frustrating at times, though is never out and out annoying as it has been for most of the Sonic incarnations featuring it.

85

Sonic is back!

Antagonist121 | April 7, 2012 | See all Antagonist121's reviews »

After the atrocity that was Sonic the Hedgehog (2006), as well as the stupid werehog one, Sonic the Hedgehog is finally back. It's essentially the daytime stages of Sonic Unleashed, with less frustration, more paths, more varied gameplay, and better backgrounds. The PC version is also quite a bit cheaper than consoles, and you don't really lose out on anything (apart from the original Sonic the Hedgehog as an unlockable in-game - but there are aprox 25 different versions of that on the PC, both on steam and online anyway). One note, you really have to play it with a controller if you want to play it properly.

90

Sonic is back

Neohoodman | Nov. 9, 2011 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

Sonic Team finally learned to do things right. Put all of the side characters at the side, focus on the good stuff from classic sonic, take the good stuff from modern sonic, and put them together. Sounds good? That's what Sonic Generations is about. Each level has been handpicked from all the eras of Sonic games and remade with beautiful graphics. The engine really shows the effects of speed nicely and the surroundings are really lush and vibrant. Each level consists of 2 acts, as with most sonic games. One act is for Classic Sonic, the other is for Modern Sonic. They both offer different styles of gameplay. The game is loaded with nostalgia as you visit every location and hear the music (which by the way consists of a huge soundtrack of tracks of probably every sonic game there is) Enemies and bosses are back in brilliantly remade levels which makes for great moments of nostalgia. This game is a must have for Sonic fans THAT ENJOY BOTH GAMEPLAY STYLES. Classic and modern are both equal in gameplay time (on average) and if you despise modern sonic, I don't think you'll be able to bring yourself to playing those stages for the sole purpose of playing the classic stages. All in all a true sonic game that brought back hope to Sonic Team.

72

Sonic Generations - A Flaws, but Enjoyable Game

Kranitoko | Nov. 7, 2011 | See all Kranitoko's reviews »

Since I already wrote my massive review, this will be somewhat brief.

The good parts about Sonic Generations is how colorful it is, and that every level has replay value, even if the game is rather short itself. The skills are a rather unique feature, and there are a lot of unique challenges to be completed. There's always many collectables to find, and who doesn't love them, eh?

The bad points is that you may encounter a few bugs, where the frame rate may drop at high speeds, you may fall through the ground unexpectedly, and one other thing... oh yes, it's the fact that the entire PC port is merely the Xbox 360 version. With that in mind, the PC port screams to be played using a PC controller, but if you do happen to play using a keyboard, be sure to choose good custom keys, as the default ones are just plain silly.

The game may be flawed, but it's still fun!

100

This is THE Sonic game.

Alixey | Nov. 6, 2011 | See all Alixey's reviews »

Seriously, best sonic game since Sonic Adventure 2 for me. I've played Sonic games my whole life, and after their new direction with the secret rings, and shadow the hedgehog's own game, I sadly had to stop wasting money on sonic teams garbage. But I'm happy to say this game rocks! And this version on steam is so much cheaper. Currently you can purchase this game for $30, which is quite a bargain for so much fun. I'd also like to chime in that the modern sonic portions are strangely more fun than I would have thought. The boost mechanic really takes some skill in order to master. If you don't believe me, just youtube modern sonic green hill speed run. Oh, and screw Joystiq

80

Great on PC!

MrBS | Nov. 5, 2011 | See all MrBS's reviews »

Fantasic experience on PC. Great visuals, runs like a dream an 3D is quite awesome!

Sonic Generations is blazing fast compared to the last outing Sonic 4 and the sense of speed gives this game some great moments. Replayability is considerable with unlocks a plenty. Fantastic stuff and easy to recommend.