Reviews for L.A. Noire: The Complete Edition

75

A Brilliant Game, but Mind Numbing

crazygrouptrio | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all crazygrouptrio's reviews »

LA Noire is a fantastic game, utilizing new ideas and gameplay elements to make the game feel as close as it possibly can to solving cases in an early crime-ridden America. The feel of the time period is great and convincing.

The gameplay itself is interesting, however after playing for a few hours you'll begin to feel the grind of doing cases isn't really much different. Cases try to add variety and turns and twists, but it can only do so much. The mystery of "who did it?" doesn't add much to drive players, because you're caught up in the grind and you'll be less interested and more annoyed.

If the game sounds interesting to you, it might be worth the price, but I would wait until it is on sale for around $10.

82

I nice change of pace, with imaginative new gameplay

GNordell | July 31, 2013 | See all GNordell's reviews »

I thought this game was pretty rad. It feels good to be a good guy in a Rock Star game. I'll say right now that the game is definitely not for everyone. And I can see a lot of people getting fed up with it pretty easily. I'm a sucker for the exploration aspects, looking for clues and the outstanding motion capture and acting. That might not be enough for everyone though.

Gameplay can be horrendously slow, and you have to commit and hour ot two at a time to finish cases. The shotouts are easy and bland. Tailing people is stupid and the part I dislike the most. It takes forever, ususally resulting in me getting impatient, and caught, then starting that section over. I also think Cole can fly off the handle in really uncalled for ways. I say that I "Doubt" someones story, and Cole freaks out! Good going dude, they'll obviously trust you now...

83

Detective Cole Phelps is on the case

Demadizz | July 29, 2013 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

Great game, Story is very well put together, wow what a ending.....speechless. Voice Acting is top of the line, gameplay is a great mix of detective work/brawling enemies/gunfights/ and chase sequences. I loved it all around and for such a cheap price you can't go wrong. Get the complete edition because the DLC cases tie in with the story well and you don't want to miss out. Rockstar really did their research for this game. It really truly made you believe you were in 1946. All in all great game worth a buy when it goes on sale.

90

Well Worth a Play

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

There are a number of reasons you should play this game and some of them are somewhat unexpected. The face capture system they used to give the characters a real look that is based on some well-known celebrities adds immense quality to this game. If ever you needed to feel that a game were a movie, this is the game for you. You can really identify with Phelps in this game at different moments. As for the game itself, it plays out marvelously. The system for interrogation is awesome, the scene of the crime clue identification is fun and unique, and there are small parts that take you out of the monotony of simple casework. This is a true classic and one of the last games I played that I couldn't put down.

71

Beautiful, original, and flawed

cevana | May 26, 2013 | See all cevana's reviews »

I really wanted to love this game. I love old detective stories, and love the open-world exploration of Rockstar. The world of post-war LA they have created is beautiful, full of the details one expects from Rockstar games.

Unfortunately the world is also devoid of life. There is no reason to explore the streets of LA, because nothing will ever happen if you do. You will see some very nice models, but no people to interact with. No surprises. No secrets (apart from the completely mind-numbing 'film reel' collecting game).

The same goes for the interrogation system. Maybe you learn to call out your suspect on their lies based on the detailed facial modeling. Maybe you let the killer go. The story will play out in the same way. What you do has exactly no consequence on the story or your success in the game. This is a real motivation killer. The story provides no incentive either, veering quickly into an unprompted noir twist after hours of mundane, directionless wandering. The ending is among the weakest in any modern game of this profile.

Why the relatively high score? It's a triple-a game from a good studio, with some great source material. It does a lot of things right. But I'm trying to judge it by its peers, and by its promise. It falls short of both.

90

The first of it's kind!

onewinged90 | April 29, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

Never once a game has achieved this particular feat and in 2011, Team Bondi developed the game using the MotionScan technology capturing not only the faces of the actor, but their facial expression has fully been rendered in graphics form as well as their voice-acting.

Numerous character facial expressions are the highlight of this game, where players can only progress through interrogations and questionings. Players must decide what to do according to the character's actions and expressions whether they are lying or not.

The actor Aaron Staton has indeed delivered a superb performance as the protagonist Cole Phelps. Note that the game also stars a number of actors from the AMC series Mad Men, including Aaton Staton himself.

As good as the game may be, but the PC port of the game is not perfect. The game framerates are capped at 30fps and you may suffer from random crash-to-desktop instances. And other users have complained that they could not play the game after purchasing it at all. Google for solutions if you ever encountered such problems.

One complaint I have on this game is that the game does not have any manual save, only checkpoints. So if you screw up somewhere along in the middle of a case, be prepared to play through some long sections before you reach the desired point.

All in all, this is an awesome game. Great storytelling and top the advancement of facial technology in gaming industry. Topped with all the additional content DLC in one game, this game is worth your every penny.

90

Simply amazing!

sYncz | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all sYncz's reviews »

Become a detective during post war era and solve crimes on the streets of LA. You will follow a career path of a policeman as he searches for clues, interviews people and decides whenever they are telling the truth or not. Unique game with top-notch facial expressions, soundtrack and overall design. The only thing that might not fancy PC players is 30FPS framerate cap, which seem make the game a bit less fluid, but then again it's not an first person shooter and most of the time is spent by investigating the crime scenes, driving around the town or chasing down the suspects.

95

A unique masterpiece

Guardian412 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Authentic, detailed and outstanding noir atmosphere of the 1940s, great storytelling and well written storyline, the excellent performances and acting, the absorbing investigations and intoxicating sense of style makes L.A. Noire to a very memorable and very long journey. Personally I wish it would be longer, regardless its more than 34 hours long quality game from the beginning to the end (All DLCs and side missions included.). If you love the galmourous, but illusive world of the 1940s, if you love the noir atmosphere, if you've watched the movie L.A. Confidential countles times and you want to be like Detectives Exley and White for a while, or if you'd like to be part of the historical and real life police cases, like the mysterious Black Dahlia case, this game is definitely for you. L.A. Noire is the best noir game and the best detective game I played with. Highly recommended for those who love great and twisted detective stories, investigations, the noir atmsphere and the great lifestyle of the 1940s.

100

Unique and Addictive

israel_hlc | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

L. A. Noire is an open world game very different from other games of the genre. Instead of being free to steal cars or kill people through the city, the player will play the role of Cole Phelps, a police detective, and by that I mean the player will have to protect the law instead of breaking it.

The gameplay is completely awesome. In each case you have to solve, you will have to interview witnesses and search the crime scenes for clues that will help you advance in the investigation. The most clues you find, the better (and easier) it will be when incriminating a suspect. Some clues are just like “shining in your face”, but others will require deep investigation.

The interviews with the witnesses and suspects are the game’s most brilliant moments. They will start their testimony and you will be able to ask them questions. For each answer you will have to choose if it was the truth, a lie or partially truth. A wrong choice here and you may miss some useful information until the very end of the case (sometimes you will even close it with something “missing”). I can assure it is no easy task, though. You will need to pay attention to every word, to the voice and, especially, to the face expressions in the eyes or the mouth, or otherwise you won’t be able to catch a lie.

As you progress to the main cases, the detective grows up in his career and face new kinds of crimes, from the traffic crimes to homicides or arson. No spoilers here, of course, but I got really impressed on how the game develops the cases, the background story (you discover it in some newspapers which can be found through the game’s missions) and your own character’s story (its past and the career growth).

Technically the game has some rare crashes (I played it in DX11), but in the overall it runs very well and has pretty decent graphics. The motion capture technology behind the faces expressions is very good. Although not perfect yet (sometimes the face seems a bit overexpressed), the interviews wouldn’t be the same without it.

Finally, it is easily in the top 10 best PC games I’ve ever played in more than 15 years. One of a few (really few) games I finished wishing I had more, much more. If you haven’t played it yet, give it a try. I totally recommend it.

89

Fantastic adventure

panz3r88 | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

LA Noire complete edition contains the base game and all the cases and new element of all the DLC released. This game is an adventure different from the others, where you will take the role of Cole Phelps , a detective in Los Angeles in 1940's . The game is divided in many cases: usually you will start from the crime scene, where you collect the first clues and you interrogate a witness. The best part of the game is when you interrogate someone: the faces of the people are realistic, and when you are telling something to them you must pay attention to their reactions when they are talking to understand if they are saying the truth or not. You must often check your notes in order to see all the information you have collected to solve the case. In the game there are many collectibles to get (journals, film reel, etc) and many secondary missions called Street Crimes. These missions are quite boring and repetitive. LA Noire is a game different from the other, with some original elements. It's not hard, but it has an amazing story

90

A very good game!

Zinzun | Aug. 23, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Great game.After a very slow beginning,the story make you play and play to discover Phelp's past and future.The motion capture is very good,the shooting section are easy and a good interlude between investigations. Interrogation system is very good,but you can finish every case making wrong chooses and...it's not that good,okay. DLCs are very interesting and you should play the game with theme.This is a very long game,overo thirty hours of gameplay.The bad is that you can't save when you want,and if you fail something you must repeat very long section of gaming.

82

Not for everyone, but a step beyond gaming world.

viju | Aug. 22, 2012 | See all viju's reviews »

LA noire is a different sandbox. It not about going freely anywhere and killing lots of people, because in fact you are a policeman and have to do just the opposite. LA noire is totally focus on the story of each individual case. It also has a main story, but is over all focus in each particular case. As a detective, you will have to go to the crime scene, find evidences and clues, interrogating suspects, sometimes chasing them on foot or by car and some other times, maybe just once per case, taking your gun and start shooting. So don't make a mistaken idea about the game. It is about investigating, thinking and paying attention to the details, to the face of your suspects to know if they are lying, etc. It is an adult game, not only because of the violent thematic, but also how they treat it. They do it seriously, not trying to hide behind jokes, or not showing the real violence. You will have to inspect dead naked women with evident signs of violence all over their body. You will discover a little girl that has been raped, etc. If you want just a shooter, this might not be your game. This game is about patience, about the stories, about thinking. I also recommend not to play it hardly in little time, because that way it can become repetitive. In my opinion, it is better to play maybe one case or two per day as much.

95

Amazing Noire

Alixey | Dec. 23, 2011 | See all Alixey's reviews »

I like games which are interactive novels or movies. L.A. Noire neatly meets this criteria and brilliantly recreates a colourful period of L.A.'s history. I have never seen a game populated by believable characters who inspire compassion in the player. Nor have I seen real faces with real emotions, from the slight twitch of nervousness to red-faced, bulging eyes of fear. I didn't buy this game for its challenges or replayability. I want to be immersed in a world and interact with the environment. I want a riveting story that rings true. L.A. Noire delivers this and then some. I loved every second of this hard-boiled slice of life. In later years this game will definitely be looked back on as one of the most ground-breaking games of all time. It is the first game that I felt emotionally involved. And it was a riveting experience.

88

Worthwhile, but flawed.

Johnny_Cojones | Dec. 19, 2011 | See all Johnny_Cojones's reviews »

You are Cole Phelps, a seemingly bipolar sociopath with an extremely sexy voice and a handy memo pad. As you expertly bumble your way through case after case, a very entertaining but subtle as dog poop on your living room floor story unfolds. The post WWII era L.A. is well crafted, & super accurate. I'm an expert on this because I have seen L.A. Confidential 2 1/2 times. Unfortunately, the game drags at times, due to it's repetitive nature. Also, while the technology behind the facial motion capture is impressive, many of the performances are unintentionally hilarious in that they are overdone. Overall, I had a lot of fun playing this game. I definitely wouldn't mind seeing this series continue with some little tweaks here & there.

94

Must buy

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 16, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

L.A. Noire is a must have game. It features very well done and realistic facial expression from wich you can tell if a character is lying or not. The reconstruction of LA from the '40 is great sadly it feels less alive and credible than the locations in GTA and Mafia 2. The game is about twelve hours long plus the all the colletibles wich can be aquired. Great music from the epoch and amazing actors with quality dialogs never seen before. In L.A Noire you will it find yourself to compose a mozaic by searching for clues in order to solve the crimes, you will it have to interrogate people too in order to find out even more about the puzzle. Humour isn't missing sometimes, as Cole (the main character) will it act in certain ways when choosing certain options in the interrogations. Even if there are some defects it is really worth to buy as it is a unique and very well done detective like game wich I have waited since a lot.

75

Open World Adventure Game

Baha | Nov. 16, 2011 | See all Baha's reviews »

L.A. Noire is an interesting game. On the surface it appears to be an open world sandbox game much like Rockstar's GTA series and yet it couldn't be anymore different. If anything, L.A. Noire is more of an adventure game in an open world. This introduces some interesting gameplay mechanics but also plays against expectations most would have when playing an open world game.

As Cole Phelps you work your way up the police ranks which gains you access to new desks with new cases. As a cop, you are expected to follow the rules of the road and as such you will be penalized for causing mayhem and destruction once you set foot in the open world. Thanks to the partner mechanic, you don't have to drive everywhere and your partner essentially becomes your chauffeur for the remainder of the game. With that out of the way, how does the story fare? Quite well actually.

Crime scenes in L.A. Noire are great set pieces as you explore them and attempt to find all the clues. In addition there is an interrogation system where you must pay close attention to any signs or reads the person being interrogated may have. Team Bondi used a unique facial capturing system for this game which not only allows for finer details but actually captures the actor's face quite well (You'll be surprised by who you may recognize). Using this system, interrogation works quite well and characters provide a convincing performance.

As mentioned previously, the open world in L.A. Noire does not provide the freedoms that other infamous open world games do and that may take some getting used to. The biggest problem however will be the lack of interactivity with the environment. Aside from plot locations, everything else is just for show. This can be jarring especially when there are collectibles strewn about the environment with little to no reward for their completion. Team Bondi have captured the look and feel of 1940's Los Angeles but have neglected to include anything to do in this world aside from collectibles or travelling from location to location. There are moments however where you get to follow suspects or perform high speed chases but aside from that the world feels strangely empty. There are police activities that you can do by responding via your police radio and they do add some variety to the game but I can't help but feel like they're there as nothing more than filler. It's very clear that the story takes precedent in this world and while that's not a bad thing, it seems odd giving the player the freedom to roam without the freedom to let loose upon the environment. It really comes down to how you approach the game however, if you're one to go nuts in a seemingly open world game, you'll have to rein in such expectations. If you can get over that, the story is quite intriguing with various twists and turns.

All in all, L.A. Noire is a unique hybrid of two genres that may not gel with what most gamers expect but is interesting nonetheless.