Reviews for Ninja Blade

65

Fun From From

Autocyclist | March 7, 2014 | See all Autocyclist's reviews »

Ninja Blade is an absolutely incredible experience. Quick-time events turned into a major gameplay element make them not just bearable, but fun to execute. What makes it even more enjoyable is that every time you pass an event, you get some sort of chaotic, awe-inspiring feedback (explosions, demon disintegration, ninja tropes). Would have been a solid 80, but unfortunately the game is riddled with bugs. As it follows From's tradition of poor PC porting, you'll likely experience crashes, game-breaking errors, and significant loss of progress. Aside from that, it's definitely worth a play.

85

Brilliant game

DeadReap | Jan. 25, 2014 | See all DeadReap's reviews »

If you like killing, slashing and destroying monsters, this game is exactly for you. This game has awesome engine to kill and destroy everything that moves. Ninja blade is really interesting and entertaining. Action is brilliant, effects are awesome and game play is really smooth. It is like "Devil may cry" so fans of "Devil may cry" so they should love it. This game is really fun, story is good and graphics are also good. It is worth it.

80

Fun Hack and Slash for the PC

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

While there are certainly better hack-and-slash games for the PC to get, this one is no slouch either. The gameplay is solid, although the usage of Quick-Time events can get rather aggravating at times. The three swords, as well as the shuriken projectile, are feel unique, and each weapon are used for different situations, so the game does not feel to repetitive. The graphics are serviceable, and overall, I had a fun time playing this game.

70

An overlooked action title that shines on PC

thoma5nator | Oct. 13, 2013 | See all thoma5nator's reviews »

From Software's action title ninja em up shines in the presence of superior hardware with lovely graphical optimizations. It plays well, shines at 60 FPS, and even with mouse and keyboard is pretty cool to play, if not at all optimized for it. It becomes much easier to play with an Xbox 360 controller ala its base console. About the only things I don't much like are the animations for the basic katana, which don't look that awesome, and the over-reliance on QTE's, but the rest is just one lovely action title that is ten times worth its minimal price point.

65

Adequate game, but there are other games that do it better.

BubbaSquare | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

This is simply a "flashy" game. The gameplay is fun, but seriously easy (as if you're walked through the game with someone holding your hand). The flashy, explosive, action-packed gameplay may be appealing to some, but not for those who seek deep gameplay and/or deep story and replay-ability. There are many other games like this out there that offer more of a challenge, and overall satisfying experience. I suggest you look for those instead of this.

80

Actually, pretty fun

ficha13 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all ficha13's reviews »

Ninja blade is an awesome, action packed game with cool as f' combat and cool as f' gameplay. The graphics are solid, nothing special here, but not a bad looking game and the controls work pretty nicely. For the best experience get a controller. Now, it's not a perfect game. it has some flaws such as the enormous amount of quicktime events and game glitches, but damn, the scope of the game, the crazy, funny and stupid ass story and just plain fun you will get it is worth the price tag of the game. Especially when it's on sale.

80

Fun as hell!!! :D

Baimason | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all Baimason's reviews »

maybe the game its not excerllent in many aspects, but i have a very pleasant experience xD im playing like a 4 times in a row xD

69

Ninja Blade

Melopeico | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Melopeico's reviews »

Its a hack slash game, the story with Zombis and Super Ninjas, no its the best game, but... you can enjoy this game, nice graphics and gameplay

47

Feels old

RicBac | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

This game feels like it's a port from PlayStation 2. The gameplay is ok. But the feeling of the game is budget or old. The game could have some potential, but falls a bit to fast.

Can't recommend this game though.

85

Interesting Concept with Fun Gameplay.

stevenwhite0992 | July 8, 2013 | See all stevenwhite0992's reviews »

To start off with this game IS NOT like Ninja Gaiden, it's easier and has less complex gameplay. This doesn't mean the gameplay is bad, it's fun, you have the choice of multiple weapons and each one has it's own uses. The gameplay in the beginning is fast and fun, swinging with one weapon and being able to break open an enemies shield with the other is brilliant. Voice acting is goofy but features some interesting choices, the story is completely not serious but fun.

80

Fun and good

Hunork | July 5, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

In 2011, in a tiny town, a few unusually bloodthirsty beast attacked the residents. The bitten victims could discover traces of a viral infection, but the symptoms have changed drastically in a short time.

Scientists have learned that it is not a virus you're dealing with, but barely visible microscopic worms that are each capable of thousands of eggs kispriccelni themselves, thereby rapidly increasing the chances of a possible infection. But even worse, the victims in a horrific changes over time, terrible monsters have changed completely losing their human being. Unfortunately, the government is too late to recognize the huge threat, so the final solution actually dropped the atom infestation. The media just say that my accident happened because they knew that if the truth were leaked to unpredictable consequences. I suspected that there's more, it founded a secret society whose GUIDE (Global United Infestation Detection and Elimination of Ground or United Infection Survey and destroys) was laughing. The world's best fighters managed to win the case, who is not only professional, but also very discreet. 2015, Tokyo. The capital of Japan napműholdak show familiar signs of infection but the risk is much higher than normal ...

34

Chop and slash like a ninja

thong_yw | July 5, 2013 | See all thong_yw's reviews »

Another hack slash action game. Controls are a little clumsy in my opinion but if you like god of war style games this might be for you.

63

Cool concept, flawed creation.

mmann4 | July 4, 2013 | See all mmann4's reviews »

As a fan of ninjas, sci fi, and action games, I was excited to try this title. I didn't get very far into the game before I ran into some glitches that wouldn't let me progress further. After awhile, got tired of trying to get my character past that point, and haven't played the game since.

It's a cool enough concept, where I hope to try playing it again down the road.

66

This game is insane and fun

AndyMadness | June 28, 2013 | See all AndyMadness's reviews »

This game is what you call a spectacle action game, in this game you will be bashing buttons as your character on the screen is fighting giant monsters way up in the sky, on skyscrapers and while riding on missiles. Its repetitive, ugly looking, with a mediocre story however the giant monster battles and normal fighting is well done and if you haven't played a spectacle fighter game before you should try it out sometime.

You have 4 weapons to use in the normal fighting sections of missions they are, a katana, a heavy sword, dual blades and a shuriken with elemental powers. The fighting is really solid with many combo moves which can be unlocked by pick up orbs and different enemies force you to use all the weapons together. Each weapon can be upgraded which changes its look and its effects on enemies with orbs and you can customise the main characters clothes or chose a pre made one found on the missions.

The missions consist of arena fighting, plat forming, boss battle and a lot of QuickTime events. The quick time events will put off most people but this is where most of the insanity comes from. For example, you kill a boss by hitting the correct QuickTime buttons and the main character rides a wrecking ball into the boss.

In conclusion, try it out since its free and you may have fun or be put off by the QuickTime events.

60

Quirky but good

redzrex | June 17, 2013 | See all redzrex's reviews »

This game are for ninja/slash/gore lovers, great story to begin with,but its not a kind of game that I will continue playing, after done all of the levels I get bored and lazy to start all over again. Quite good in combos hack and slash everything. The main problem with this is the game only saves when you finished its level, in-case your computer breaks down or the game crash you have to restart the whole level.

59

Not bad

yuppy | May 31, 2013 | See all yuppy's reviews »

If you like... Ninjas.. you should play in this game! Nice graphic, many combos but it has one minus- savings are after next level.

40

Quick Time Event: The Game

Stebsis | May 30, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

This is one of those games from the fairly early days of new console generation that overuses a gimmick that for some reason or another just becomes a "thing", like quick time events. Nowadays in almost every FPS and third person action games have QTE's, even in the more better ones like Far Cry 3 or Tomb Raider. Sometimes they can enhance the action a bit, like in FC3 you have to smash the indicated button if you're suddenly attacked by crocodile or shark underwater, it's more intense to do something, even if you just hit a button, than just watching the shark attack and character kill it. And then there are games like Ninja Blade.

QTE's bring absolutely nothing to this game, nothing. In cutscenes you just watch the scene, and at times press the indicated button, if you hit, it continues, if you miss, you have to replay that part again. It doesn't add anything, only penalty in missing is just having to do the part again until you succeed. The cutscenes do look good and it's fun to watch, I just wish I had the option to turn off the QTE's which break the flow all the time.

Outside of these lenghty cutscenes you play third persion hack and slash game which isn't particularly fun. Hit detection is glitchy, running on walls and doing "cool" tricks isn't exceptionally fun. And they bring QTE's even to the combat.

Ninja Blade isn't particularly fun game to play, it doesn't do anything at all that good and overuses a gimmick that should've died by 2013 already.

60

Mediocre

eishun | May 26, 2013 | See all eishun's reviews »

As much as i liked from software, this game was their old titles i liked dark soul and expected similar quality on this game..

i guess my expectation is too much.. anyway it's an okay game, not bad, but not good either.. grab it if it's cheap

80

Don't take this game seriously. That takes the fun out of it.

Sarkames | May 18, 2013 | See all Sarkames's reviews »

You have to know when to take a game seriously and this is one of those times that you don't. This game reminds me a lot of Ninja Gaiden, but unlike Ninja Gaiden I was actually having fun when I played this. Enough to finish the story. Speaking of which, the story is crazy and nonsensical.

There's quite a few options for ninja costume alternatives that you unlock through playing, there're fun QTE moments that involve logic-defying maneuvers, and the controls are fun and fluid.

Just like any hack n' slash game there're plenty of fighting options, such as different weapons and upgrades. There's also the ability to deflect projectiles with your weapons by just attacking with good-enough timing to make the two entities collide.

I truly had fun playing this and I was glad to see it for free on here so that I could enjoy it in lush PC visuals and play through it again and all of it's craziness.

Definitely need a controller for this and I recommend setting the QTE difficulty to something high because it won't be challenging otherwise and you may find it dull. -80/100

65

You'll enjoy it...I guess

ZinZano | May 16, 2013 | See all ZinZano's reviews »

Ninja Blade is an example of one of the problems that plagues PC gaming. Albeit a good and enjoyable game, it gets frustrating when a console developer ports their game to the PC without making any modifications to make it work on the platform.

i understand the need to want to bank on the easy money, but with PC gaming gaining traction once again, it has become unacceptable to come out with sub-par ports.

In terms of the actual gameplay, Ninja Blade is a very fun and enjoyable games with great fighting and boss battles. I got it for free during one of GMG's promotions so I don't have much to complain about.

100

I couldn't stop smiling while playing this game!

ImValentineGuy | March 4, 2013 | See all ImValentineGuy's reviews »

Do you like bad movies, games, and music ironically? If so you'll love this game! This is some funky stuff! The game is ridicules, the story makes no sense the gameplay is sloppy but the graphics are.. actually pretty good! Its the equivalent of a pretty looking crappy horror art film. There's not much to it but it makes me laugh and most likely will make you laugh too. If you love anime or Japanese culture in general you enjoy your time.

60

Mediocre Hack&Slash

barniman | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

I tried this game after I fell in love with Dark Souls and since it was made by the same guys i was kinda expecting something equally good. Well the quality of the port is definitely on the same level (el terrible), but gameplay wise it doesn't quite live up to the developers subsequent game. There's nothing quite wrong with it (except for the aforementioned port thingy) but it's just mediocre, more like an avarage, easier ninja gaiden clone. Still if you don't have anything else on your plate, it might be worth a try.

62

BLEH

rstokes | Feb. 21, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

The game feels extremely generic of the ninja hack and slash genre, not much in terms of innovation here. It also seems the developers have an unhealthy obsession with QTE events, im not sure if they religiously play Shenmue or what but the constant QTE battles really gets old fast, especially since a missed button means death and the last 5 buttons all over again, not much of a reason to stay on your toes tbh.

Fun to pass some time but done expect ninja gaiden

70

Fun game but with a few annoying games

kotaku1234 | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all kotaku1234's reviews »

Ninja blade is a good game with a pretty decent combat system. The QTE bring something different from some action games and it's pretty cool at first but begins to get annoying because of it's large presence. Missions are fairly similar to one another. Although it's has small campaign, finding all the costumes and Mogi, Health and Chi pieces give it a replay value. There are a few bugs which can kill you if you're not careful. Decent game none the less.

70

Just average

lok0812 | Feb. 10, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Not the best action game in contents but the game is still fun to play regardless. Even though there are many flaws on the game like controlling issues and story progression. There are unlockables in the game in the form of costumes to increase the replayability. All in all, the game itself is still a blast to play through, the game itself should last around 9 hours and will provide enough fun from an average action game.

55

Linear Hack n Slash 3rd person platformer

iaincmet | Feb. 10, 2013 | See all iaincmet's reviews »

I just can't say I enjoy this game at all. I tried it a few year back when it was first released and it was really buggy so uninstalled and gave it away to a family member.

The problem lies with it trying to be Ninja Gaiden which was never released on PC. Ninja Blade though is extremely linear with literal corridor sections with enemies which lead up to a boss battle. Rinse and repeat for each level.

Visually it looks nice in 1920x1080 resolution and does have a cinematic feel to it.

Thing is though you get continuous Quick Time Events and awkward controls even with a pad is off putting. You get a boss battle and knock its health down to zero, the boss will follow a pattern which is easy enough to follow, then you make your way to a point in the environment once it goes still and hit the action button and you will finish it off with a QTE. Now if it survives through this you will chase it a bit further into the linear level taking out enemies on the way and do the same thing again to finally take it out.

The game itself makes no particular sense whilst playing it, plenty moments when you will think to yourself what is going on, it jumps all over the place and you will sit and watch in disbelief. The story itself looks like it could be interesting as it is all down to a parasitic infestation in Tokyo.

It is such a shame From Software (Demons & Dark Souls fame) done this game in this way. They should have gone open world or even larger areas and gave you a bit more freedom like in the Ninja Gaiden games.

Its hard to recommend this game, good ideas but the QTE and linearity REALLY spoil it, wasted chance to create something epic. Only buy it if it is cheap and you want something to pass a few hours.

40

Hack XXXXXXX slash YYYYYY QTE console port

Maniacal | Feb. 9, 2013 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Ninja Blade isn't the worst game or console port I have played, and it isn't the best either. Its graphics and art style are pretty enough, although the blur can be annoying and ruined many screenshots. The different attack types are interesting and action packed enough, and easy enough to control since its largely quick time events. Unfortunately boss fights just turn into a massive grind and fights in general get repetitive fast.

60

QTEs at its best.

Raoin | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Raoin's reviews »

To be fair, Ninja Blade brings no innovation. In the core it's really similar to other hack'n'slash games we know. Yet, Ninja Blade is notably interesting since it's a game of a rare genre on PC plataform. I'd say the game itself is good. It's fun and has it's moments - some really unnecessary ones, like some QTEs. But the veredict is that Ninja Blade is more of the same with a new thematic and a brand new plot. I do believe some people can love it, and I also know some people can't. In my opinion, though, it's just like "okay".

69

Fun, but too many quick time events

panz3r88 | Aug. 3, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Ninja Blade is a linear action game where you take command of a cool ninja. The combat system is good and there is a good variety of enemies and boss. You must use your weapons and ninjutsu abilitities to beat the enemies The main defect of the game is the presence of too many quick time events that break the action. Due to this element the game becomes really ripetitive because after all fights you must do a QTE and after a few of them you'll be a bit irritated

85

Shinobi's

meiji | Nov. 20, 2011 | See all meiji's reviews »

Ninja's? awesome. Fantastic graphics, Best of the best gameplay, great story, astounding music. HELL YES! Seeing as there are very few games with gameplay like this. it's already unique with that itself. a cheap price with more fun than a majority of games. Play as Ken, do all your crazy ninja techniques, obtain new spells and weapons, and have fun with crazy boss fights. If you love games such as Devil May Cry, Bayonetta, Onimusha, you HAVE to give it a chance.

67

Enjoyable, rare hack and slash for the PC

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

There are lots of flaws about this game, but the result is still very enjoyable. It looks great and is fun to play. QTEs are annoying, but the sequences presented in them are actually ridiculously great. If you have a Xbox 360 controller connected to your computer you might as well pick up this game on a sale. I don't recommend playing it with a keyboard.

50

smash

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Yet another poorly done port from console to pc. There is a LOT of focus on pressing the correct button combo just like God of War for executions. It's done very nicely in a movie-like way in both gameplay and graphics. The plot is pretty weak though, not very enticing to people who have already played games such as Dragon Age. The game requires you to button smash the same button about a couple hundred times before killing a boss. By the time your done the game, your keyboard/controller might as well be dead. AI is not the best, sometimes it'll just stand there. Weapons are a given, but a small selection. For a single player game, it's pretty short. It's lacking on multiplayer. Good buy on sales.

80

Nice!

Muzicjohn | June 21, 2011 | See all Muzicjohn's reviews »

Effective graphics and epic fights! Reflex required! This is a bit s-f game, because, for example, you'll have to stop plain with your own hands, but if you like mood like this, you will enjoy it! I had lot of fun and I recommend it!

70

Slashing fun.

xtrench | April 15, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

Not right there with the more popular titles in that genre but still fun to play, only suffering from excessive quick time events that makes you wish you were actually doing those things instead of mashing buttons. With the backdrop of infection spreading throughout Tokyo it's up to you to cure it with your ninja blade and by cure I mean violently eradicate. With three different, two ranged attacks and one ninja vision you're in for some bloody fun.

75

Where is the Love?

GMGReviewer | April 6, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

Ninja Blade may be a bad console port with the controls/settings and a simplistic hack & slash but its really fun!

It's not as tight and solid as Ninja Gaiden's combat. It's really pure eye candy with crazy quick time events. It has almost every wacky cliche action scene you can expect in a Michael Bay film and more!

The bosses are God of War like, the upgrades of weapons/magic/combos are there, the different gameplay portions of platform, shooter and elemental puzzles are there as well.

Playing some levels do feel like you're grinding just to see the boss. The camera is a little off sometimes, game is easy, the A.I. is dumb, it's about 8 hours and it's your typical hack and slash. The only thing that makes Ninja Blade different is the ridiculous over-the-top quick time events.

Although Ninja Blade is not up there with Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry or Bayonetta, its still a very enjoyable game.