Reviews for Anno 2070

93

Not quite as good as 1404 but still brilliant

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

Anno 2070 is the latest in the Anno series of games, it's an economic simulator/city building game which lets you build up cities across different islands, ferrying goods back and forth between them in order to try to meet the needs of your people. 2070 improves on the UI of 1404, streamlining the way production chains are built without over simplifying and losing some of the charm.

As the name suggests it's set in the future, which is a slight negative for me as I loved the ships of 1404, but it still looks gorgeous. It plays like the previous games, but with more factions meaning more buildings, more variety and plenty of replayability.

The multiplayer is great fun with friends, with more customisation than in the past allowing for full AI players as well as NPC type characters with limited roles.

Not quite as good as 1404 in my opinion but still a brilliant game well worth playing :)

89

great city building game

mondoliko | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all mondoliko's reviews »

Magnificent game with future setting and a great graphics. You would not be disappointed if your looking for a great city building game, Although it may not be as great as it predecessor anno 1404 and using uplay can be a hassle sometimes but its well worthed, the campaign are well written and the sci-fi city building of Anno 2070 is definitely a fresh take on its genre.

80

I didn't even touch the Act 3

SadN3rd | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all SadN3rd's reviews »

Endless mode and the events alone kept the game interesting for quite a while - I spent 100 hours just building cities. Who'd think I'll get this much fun out of 40 bucks? I sure as hell didn't. The graphics are nice and comfortable - even brownish tint so overused in modern games has a purpose here. I didn't expect that. The music is calm and relaxing, dynamic and changing (each AI opponent has his own theme) and I didn't get bored of it.

Well, there's UPlay. Some people joke that it's more like "UDon'tPlay" but I didn't really have problems with it - they seem to have Offline Mode and it works flawlessly. (Here's looking at you, Steam).

Buy the complete pack when it goes on sale if you like building cities - you just won't regret it.

93

Excellent Anno game

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

The climate has changed, sea levels have risen… What a great time for a strategy game! Anno 2070 is a futuristic real-time strategy game focused on city management and colonization. The game provides a good campaign that deals with the kind-of-steep learning curve. Harvest resources, explore new land and waters, engage in diplomacy and much more.

The gameplay is very smooth and well made, the graphics and sound quality is excellent. There are global community votes that actually effect how the game is played, I found this to be a nice little feature to include. Developing your cities takes time, this does get tedious during certain moments of the game, but usually you can find something to do while you wait for whatever it is you're doing.

Anno 2070 is a great strategy game and has me going for several hours at a time, even though the game asks me to take a break every hour I find it hard to put down!

76

Surprising

darkyhbk | July 15, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

When it was announced that Anno would turn from the historic city building background it always provided to some future setting, I was very disappointed. However, I gave the game a chance and came out quite pleased. The rules are basically the same, and while some mechanics might feel odd throughout the whole game, it does hit some highs, mainly with the underwater section of the game, which is an innovation in itself. The graphics look OK, not very eye catching, but detailed, the interface is really clean and the colour palette is relaxing, with blue the predominant colour. However, the music does not stand out in any way. The storyline starts interestingly enough, but trails off eventually. Anno fans might not be entirely pleased with the new direction, but other players might be able to enjoy this finely crafted city builder more.

72

fun for a while, endgame drags too much

kendofrog | June 6, 2013 | See all kendofrog's reviews »

game is very fun if you like city building, the trading reasources between islands is also fun. u can quikcly set up coml;icated trding routes between islands. however combat is bland and lack micromanagement or proper rts style updgrades, as a result the endgame drags on for a very long time.

87

Building Cities quick or slow.

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

This is another game in the anno series. It is truly remarkable with the different "races" to build with. It's intresting to build, and an intresting tech tree and diplomatics and so forth. If you ever played an Anno game, or sim city even and just want to build a city. this is the game for you.

90

Good shift

oginer | Nov. 6, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

When I first read about this game I was kind of sceptical about it, being used to the classic Anno games. But after playing it I really enjoyed it in every aspect. The new setting feels good and fresh while at the same time maintaining the essence of the previous games.

Graphically it's stunning for this kind of game, and the music is very nice and relaxing.

65

Great ambition, but plagued by long periods of boredom.

Snuggle | June 20, 2012 | See all Snuggle's reviews »

I love the premise of ANNO 2070, mainly because it completely changed the ANNO series, taking it from centuries gone by to a grand vision of the future, where global warming has escalated, and water levels risen dramatically.

The player has to secure basic amenities, like food and power, for his/her citizens, whilst trying to expand technologically and economically.

Unfortunately, there a long periods of boredom and idleness involved, as you often have to sit and wait for certain things to complete, without anything else to do.

70

A game in between genres

dawe | May 16, 2012 | See all dawe's reviews »

FIrstly, this is a good game. I like the different factions and the depth of management, trade etc. I also like to be able to just play a map without a real goal but to play. It also has a fun achievement board.

The aspects I'm doubtful to is firstly the DRM; it makes the game very slow to start, it takes ages on my fairly new machine. Also, I would prefer some more depth in handling your citizens, not just as consumers of more and more advanced products. Lastly the RTS part of the game is somewhat lacking. I would like to see other types of units than naval and air units. The lack of depth is what really puts this game down.

Weighing the pros with the cons, I still give this a 70 as I'm a huge fan of the eco-society in the game.

95

Great Game

MisterBadas | Feb. 10, 2012 | See all MisterBadas's reviews »

Anno 2070 great graphics really good Ai wen u play on hard love et. excellent politics system.The Ark System Works perfect in mi Epinions.The Campaign very interesting very good.The Games online is perfect shuts make shore u have time a lot of time bot its very naice very relaxing and i love the music.

91

Good Anno game

entvex | Nov. 27, 2011 | See all entvex's reviews »

ANNO 2070 is the perfect game for everyone who loves to tweak an economy and build large scale cities. Especially the endgame is really complex with many things to do. A must have for every ANNO-Player.

88

Great!

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 23, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Anno 2070 is full of content, great graphics with a really good gameplay. It is somewhat "sticky" as you will it play a lot at Anno 2070. Sadly some sort of fast-forward would've been nice and the game isn't always really clear. Still, as a successesor to the precedent game it managed to come out with something fresh. The future setting is really intriguing and it offers many new opportunities. The online is very well done and the campaign too, the lovers of this genre will it stick on their chair and also novice players will it enjoy it too!