Reviews for Warhammer 40000: Space Marine (THQ)

70

Warhammer 40K fan? Get it now!

Antagonist121 | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Antagonist121's reviews »

This is a great fan service to the 40k fans out there, with good graphics and excellent use of the licence. As an actual game, its not fantastic, but it is an average third person shooter with a very good feel for the impact of weapons. I'm not a huge fan of the multiplayer, which is relatively limited, and surely there must be at least SOME chance of it being less completely linear... Regardless, its a fun brawl, but one that I enjoy in small chunks due to the repetitive nature of the gameplay.

70

Only for Warhammer 40k fans

Guardian412 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Hack and Slash TPS in the WH40k universe, with an average story, tunnel level design, gray color palette and a repetative, average gameplay. It's a good game, but only if you're a WH40k fan and if you know the universe. It can be very refreshing after a hard day or if you don't want to think, just shoot, shoot, shoot to take down some Ork Nobz and their Waagh banner. But it's just an average game if you're not a fan of the universe. I recommend it only for WH40k fans.

60

Lots of potential but needed better execution

Antix | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

The game is not bad by any means but there's really not much outside of the fact that it's Warhammer 40,000 that elevates it above average. Nothing to really hold anyone's interest. You just go from one room of 40 orcs to the next. The characters and the story are uninteresting. The level design is very straightforward and boring. Killing hordes of orcs just stops being satisfying after a while. The only highlights were the parts where you had a jetpack, since they break the tedium, but those parts last about 10 minutes altogether. Some customization, better level design and more charismatic characters would have been great but as it is, the novelty of being a Space Marine will wear off soon enough and you'll be left with repetition. The multiplayer would be alright but it's peer-to-peer and you'll have to deal with constant pauses while the game finds a new hosts. These pauses just completely break any immersion you had and ruin the fun.

65

Good game

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Space marine is a game where you are a hulking monster of a man who's sole purpose is to rip in half anything that stands in your way. By that standpoint, i believe Relic both reached and surpassed their goal beautifully. Weather in single or multiplayer, the feeling that you are ten feet tall and bad-ass seeps from every aspect of the game. However, this does not change the fact that Relic failed utterly in their goal. They set out to build a single player experience that should have knocked our socks off, but the lackluster cast of characters, mediocre voice acting (WTF happened to Steve Blum?), moderate plot, and incredibly repetitive combat scenarios overall dragged the game's single player experience into the pits. While I am a huge fan of the game's multiplayer and overall combat system, it is difficult to overlook Relic's failure of a campaign.

85

A Treat For Warhammer 40k Fans

AkaRai | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

A fun ride all the way through, Space Marine puts you in the role the game is named for, of the Ultramarines to be specific. These are the characters other games like Starcraft, Warcraft, Halo and Gears of War got their inspiration from.

Space Marines are an unstoppable force, humanity's best defense against the horrors that await in a universe where there is only war. Outfitted with heavy armor, and augmented to be far larger than a normal human, you may feel like you're controlling a tank until you get used to it, but given what you're playing as, it makes sense.

Combat is always delightfully over the top, and you fight with a number of exotic, entertaining weapons, including chainswords (chainsaw swords) power axes and power hammers (which spark with electricity and destroy everything in their path) plasma rifles, and lascannons to name a few. Your default weapons, bolters -which you will encounter several variations of- essentially fire rounds which are rocket propelled missiles fired as if out of an assault rifle. Everything about this game is over the top in a wonderful way.

There is a little variety to the combat with some assault marine (jet pack) segments, but for the most part you're just pouring lead and slicing up hordes of vicious enemies, so some people may find it repetitive after a while. Probably the best example of how wonderfully over top the game can be is how you heal. There are no health packs, and while you have a shield, health doesn't regenerate. You get health by first stunning an enemy, and then executing a special kill on them. While I found this generally very entertaining, it was also a source of occasional frustration, as you don't heal until the execution animation has completed, and until then you're still open to fire, so there were numerous times I found my character killed because a squig blew up next to him while he was midway through executing another enemy.

That said, the campaign is a fairly decent length, and this game will delight 40k fans, and it's enjoyable enough that you don't need to be familiar with the series to enjoy it.

86

So much power!

Vishnup | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all Vishnup's reviews »

Warhammer 40000 gives the player an amazing amount of power and it is absolutely amazing. The graphics of the game are beautiful and the gameplay, while fairly repetitive, is still an amazing amount of fun. The entire point of the game is to make you feel powerful and put you in to the place of an actual Space Marine which it does fairly well. The story wasn't all that for me, but I still absolutely loved the game and if you can pick it up on sale, definitely buy it.

75

The game is fun. Just how long does the fun last?

Prozac | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Prozac's reviews »

The Story (3.5/5) It's a standard 40K story. There is only war, high risks, threats to the Imperium. Relic uses the known enemies of the Imperium, so there are no big surprises, or great twists. It's enjoyable, light, easy to follow. But certainly not a masterpiece. You know your objectives, you know what's at stake. I found that the servo-skulls recordings were quite nice, a welcome addition. It gives you background from the invasion prior to your arrival, and the desperation of survival.

The Graphics (5/5) Beautiful. Relic's experience with the 40K license gives them a spectacular understanding of how to emulate the feeling of the 40K universe. There's a lot of detail throughout the war-torn Forge World, from visual treats like the Adeptus Mechanicus sigils, the detail on the Orks, the Purity Seals on your Power Armour... it's all great. The texture quality might not be the best, but that's me nitpicking.

The Sound (4/5) The voice-acting is okay, sort of what I expected from Ultramarines. They are not passionate, and you can almost feel the holier-than-thou attitude. The regular human acting was actually a good surprise; I think they both captured the awe at seeing an Adeptus Astartes, and the tiredness of fighting against a brutal enemy. The Orks, on the other hand... they could have been better. More Ork-ish, I guess. Also, the bolter did not sound as powerful as I would've liked. It's good, but nothing spectacular. The soundtrack is pretty good, a great touch. I half-expected to hear the Ultramarine chants of previous games, though.

The Game (4/5) You see an Ork, you kill an Ork. That's pretty much all you need to know. Throughout the campaign, you've given an arsenal of melee and ranged weapons. Each has their use, and none are completely overshadowed by another. Sure, you might enjoy the devastation of the meltagun, but you should use the strengths of each. Is combat repetitive? Yes. Is it fun? Yes. Everyone will have an opinion on whether wading through waves of Orks is eventually boring, but there is enough variety to just have fun with it. There are tough places, but not impossible. You've your armour, and your health. Armour regenerates after a short time, and health is recovered by performing Execution maneouvers. These maneovers are visceral, but you're not immortal during the animation: you might be killed while performing one. Also, there are about 3 or 4 different animations for each melee weapon, so it might bet boring to see them over and over again. No, there is not a cover button. You should not need it. The controls are responsive, and quick enough to get out of the way of a barrage of either bullets, or rockets, or a crazed Nob that feels you're a head taller than you should be. The switch between ranged and melee is impressive, and you can quickly respond to any situation. Movement is as solid as it should be, considering you're practically a walking tank. You are a Space Marine, but you are not invincible. You should be smart enough to plan your battles, not just charge recklessly and complain that you died. Know your strengths, your weapons, and you will be successful. At times, it feels like an old-school beat-em-up. At others, a third-person shooter. Overall, the campaign should take about 8, 9 hours. There's probably not much incentive to replay it, since there are no branching paths. You might enjoy using other weapons or such, or trying a harder difficulty.

Multiplayer (5/5) A blast. Pretty standard, but well done. The classes are mostly balanced, the perks are interesting, the levels rewarding. Customization is a bit less impressive than I thought, but it's still quite good. The matches are quick, furious, and in my experience, not a trace of lag. There are minor grievances with the matchmaking, but you'll get over it quickly. This would be the main reason to come back to the game, specially if Relic keeps giving us reasons to come back. The co-op multiplayer aspect is supposed to come in 30 days, so that's something to look forward to. All in all, it's great fun.

The Bottom Line: If your thinking this is the game that will replace all games, you're probably going to be disappointed. It's a good game, but not excellent. The campaign is fun, but short. The combat is good, but can get repetitive for some. The story's solid, but not spectacular. If multiplayer's not your thing, you're better off renting the game. A solid addition to the 40K game line.

65

Entertaining, yet repetitive

Linkark07 | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Linkark07's reviews »

Warhammer 40000 Space Marine is a good game, sadly, it is also quite repetitive.

If you like killing Orkz with the chainsword or battle axe or blasting them with pistols and other ranged weapons then this is the best game for you. It is quite violent with a lot of blood and an interesting system for restore your health: instead of the instant regeneration after hiding you must stun your opponent and then do a special move for kill the enemy and regain health.

Problem is, if you don't like the gameplay then this game will be quite boring. Enemies mostly stay the same in almost all the missions, story is forgettable and graphics are ok, nothing spectacular.

Warhammer isn't a bad game, but being so repetitive takes out many points from this game. The beginning is interesting but half way the game starts to fall.

75

Had so much potential

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Decent game. The single-player part is a bit boring at times, where you're just walking around, doing nothing. There are also a lot of lifts, with no real function. I think they're there to increase the playtime. Also, I wish there was more variation in environments. About 90% of the game you're inside a building. The shootouts and close combat are satisfying, but can become frustrating. And the reason for that is when you're executing an enemy, you're still open to enemy fire. So while an execution should increase your health again, most of the times it doesn't even help or even gets worse, resulting in too many deaths. And... well, there aren't too many bossfights. I think there are only 2-3. Disappointing. The graphics are sharp, and the voice acting is brilliant (Mark Strong !) though. But this game could've been so much more. Wait for a pricedrop before buying, unless you're into decent games, of course. (The multiplayer is supposed to be fun though, but I've yet to try it.)

89

Best Warhammer action game.

DukePaul | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

I love this game, Relic Entertainment did a good job with the Dawn of War series from Warhammer 40k, now they bring us an action game with the Space Marines as the main characters of the story.

The gameplay is not like another third person shooters where you need to cover all the time, the melee combat is important and awesome with the typical weapons from the Space Marines like swords-chainsaws, battlehammers. axes and making executions with them but also with a lot of ranged weapons like the famous bolters, killing orks is fun as ever.

The campaign takes about ten hours to beat with a lot of achievements and it has a fantastic multiplayer if you have friends to play it.

For this price, I recommend highly buy it.

75

Good game but very short (finished in 6 hours)

StewartX | Oct. 4, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

I really enjoyed this game but it is incredibly short. Still, its a heap of fun and I feel satisfied. It does feel odd not having a crouch key so a lot of the cover given is of no use as your head sticks out but I guess they wanted to capture the space marine mentality that they don't hide from confrontation. They also focus on a lot of melee as well, you'll end up using your chainsaw blade as much as your guns. Well worth the purchase!

Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 4/10 Multiplayer: Yes Overall: 75/100

55

A boring action

panz3r88 | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Warhammer 40000 Space Marine is a third person action game where you must use all the abilities of a space marine to defeat your enemies. You can fight with both melee and ranged weapons, but the game is quite repetitive and boring and the levels are too linear. The graphic of the game is good and can look impressive, but the gameplay is poor

49

Mindless Entertainment

Figgots | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Figgots's reviews »

This game is for those who just want to get straight into the action and start killing anything and everything in site. It has a very shallow skill slope and is fairly easy on the default setting, but it's oh so satisfying. The graphics are simply incredible and can be slightly tweaked to your own likings, but that's the low point. There isn't much that you can change, but it's just enough to get you what you want.

Once you've gained every weapon, though, it starts to slow down a bit I felt. There's not much left to gain from killing, so you'll have to just enjoy the mindless entertainment.

75

Loads of Fun, even if it' doesn't add anything new.

fable2 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

At first glance the game seems like a run of the mill third person shooter. But as you get farther along in the content and unlock more weapons it becomes quite clear that as much as this game is a mixed variety of things we are already familiar with this game is the perfect definition of a hybrid type genre. Run here shoot these guys open this door, complete this objective, more bad guys to kill more doors to open. There isn't a while lot of originality here but they have managed to blend the fast paced shooting action with beautiful and sadistically satisfying melee encounters. The idea as role played in many of the cut scenes that the Ork horde relies on numbers in their strength as oppose to the Space Marines that rely on pure brute strength and lethality to dispatch their foes. And as a result, you have a perfect seamless blend of action packed shooting, and blood thirsty melee combat. Just don't expect anything too innovative and original.

75

Good throwback to classic shooters

Leotime0 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Leotime0's reviews »

The gameplay feels a little old, but not in a bad way, is skips the typical cover mechanic and makes you focus on moving fast and blending melee and ranged combat to kill without being killed, online is fun but pretty dead.

55

Strictly OK

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

Play this game with low expectations and in short bursts then you probably will enjoy it. The enemies are awfully repetitive and blurt out the same lines which makes it tiresome, the voice acting is cheesy .. expected though, graphics are adequate but the sound is satisfying! Level design left a lot to be desired .. it's brown every where with lots of cover around to shoot at all the hordes that keep coming. I'm sure Warhammer fans will love it but think twice if you only have a passing interest.

80

A Good Throw Back

theamazingshala | Sept. 7, 2012 | See all theamazingshala's reviews »

Space Marine, looks and feels like a throwback action shooter. Complete with a hardcore over the top action star feel. Set in the Warhammer 40k universe, you are a Space Marine sent down to a planet to clean up an ever growing threat. You are the hero, you are the biggest weapon to the enemy.

Linear, brutal, and sometimes funny, this games provides a breath of fresh air to the Warhammer series. Battles at times will get repetitive and the healing system feels strange at first, but after a while it becomes second nature. A decidedly solid action game with a surprisingly fresh fun atmosphere

85

Good basher/shooter/action game.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all xboxer's reviews »

This game captures the feel of the Warhammer universe very well and this time it's unique in the sense that you are on the ground instead of viewing it from above from an RTS perspective.

The story is pretty straightforward Warhammer stuffs. Kill the Orks and save your universe.

It's the action that makes this game stands out. There is never a dull moment and you never run out of Orks. The weapons and combos are more than enough to keep you wanting to kill more Orks.

The online play is fantastic if you can find the right people to play with and the online play is what you should be looking at. It's really fantastic.

95

For the Emperor!

FreeMan85 | Aug. 13, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Space Marine is an awesome TPS action game set to the popular Warhammer 40000 universe. You play as Captain Titus, one of the Emperor Ultramarines - they the best of the best elite groundforce units. On of the Imperium world has been attacked by the heretic Orks and you send to clean the planet from xenos. Even, if you never played Warhammer games before this game will suck you in! The characters, the universe, the design, the weapons if you like sci-fi a bit, this game will be your favorite ones. For me it's a bit reminds to Starship Troopers, the mentality of the soldiers and the merciless fight against the enemy. The gameplay is a simple hack'n'slash slaughtering. You can use various type of weapons like sword, chainsaw, axe, hammer, pistol, SMG, plasma type sniper and shotgun, etc. You can combine them and all melee weapons has it's own type of combos and special attacks. Double the fun, if you play on a map where you can use a jetpack. You're death from above! You also have a fury meter, which seeded by your kills. If charged up you can unleash it and your health regenerates and your strength is doubled. With ranged weapons you can use it a slow-mo like effect, make clearer shots. The game graphics are good, not extraordinary, but well optimized and run well even my old 8600 GT. But the facial animation are truly awesome, very detailed and lifelike. The cut-scenes also done well. The sounds and music are epic. In simple the whole game is awesome. The multiplayer is a bit deserted, but you will find just enough players. The game modes are the usual: control points, TDM. I can't checked the dreadnaught mode, since it says I need a DLC. But the Exterminatus mode is good, technically a survivor modes with missions. Very fun and easier way to get XP and unlock new weapons.

Space Marine is an epic and bloody sci-fi action game. If you a fan of Warhammer series it's a must buy, if you like sci-fi titles a must buy too. Just for warning: the game contains many blood and brutal fight scenes.

86

Chain Sword!

maciej2601 | Aug. 7, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Chain Sword, bolters, space marines, and to the prospect of TPP is everything in the universe of Warhammer 40,000, this game was destined for success from the beginning. Awesome.

90

Warhammer

artropodo | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all artropodo's reviews »

Warhammer universe with Gears of war playstyle. Is a very linear game but not the least entertaining, you play as a space marine with the arsenal of weapon they carry.

I have only played one mode of the multiplayer, Exterminatus; you fight wave after wave of enemy's. As you level up you can customize you space or chaos marine with different chapter and armor style.

83

Fairly decent action game

CJV | July 24, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

A game that diverges from the strategic genre of the warhammer franchise but that still manages to capture the feel of the series and be a good action game. The graphics are great, the sound does its job and the plot it's not great but keeps the action going. In terms of gameplay the game is a lot of fun. There's variety as you can engage your enemies with melee or ranged weapons, with a lot of different weapons to chose from. I also found the jump pack sequences to be very fun, it ended up being my favourite parts of the game. If you like the warhammer franchise or just want a decent action game with fair amounts of gore then space marine is for you.

80

Awesome action and a universe few newer gamers will know

Cooberstooge | July 23, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

You simply can't go wrong with Space Marine. It's such a fast, shocking, awesome ride of a game set in one of the best universes to ever come out of tabletop wargaming.

For those not that interested in the strategy side of things, but who want to kick some butt Warhammer-style, this is your ticket. The campaign story is well fleshed-out, with memorable characters and strong voice work. This is an over-the-shoulder TPS, so there's not much strategy here except kill-kill-kill. You will remember the campaign long after playing it, and coming back for another play-through is doable after a few weeks away from it.

Multiplayer is good, but could be better. The strange method the game uses to host matches means constant level reloading every two or three minutes, making quick shootouts drag for ages. When it works, literally stomping somebody to death is hilariously fun.

Don't pass this game up, if you can handle a few quirks.

82

Gears of war? true story

Songit | July 21, 2012 | See all Songit's reviews »

First off: I'm not a fan of Warhammer but really like the video games, so I checked this out thinking it would be a refreshing take on the Gears of War formula.

85

Really enjoyed this game

Gaugler323 | July 19, 2012 | See all Gaugler323's reviews »

Think "Gears of War" but instead of the cover-based aspect... you get some great melee combat--killing hoards of enemies. (I have the most fun with the Jetpack and Hammer.)

It can get repetitive by the end, but it didn't get stale for me... I would cycle through using different weapons and always had fun killing the hoards of enemies in different ways.

Loses a couple points because I would have loved a Co-Op campaign. The current Co-Op is simply a "Wave/Survival" mode. Making your way through a couple different arenas. I wish more people played it... As a fan of Gears of War and hoard killing games like "Killing Floor" I really enjoyed what they did offer for Co-Op.

I didn't invest too much time in Multiplayer. You need to invest some serious time into it to rank up and be on par with the other players. (Co-Op's not a bad place to get that done)

Had a blast in Co-Op and the single player mode. I reccommend this game to those who like hopping into games and just destroying enemies. Similar to if you liked games like Bulletstorm or Serious Sam 3.

78

I actually like the game

Chack | July 16, 2012 | See all Chack's reviews »

Some people say that this game is not that good, but it is a cool game, although is not like the other Warhammer 40k games (RTS), is a completely different genre (TPS). I'm not a big fan of this series, but I enjoyed this game, the story is not that great, but is enough to make you want to play it. The multiplayer is good, but kinda laggy sometimes. It'd be better if you have friends that want to play with you. Overall, if it's on sale, go for it!

98

Amazing !!!

cerberusrj | July 13, 2012 | See all cerberusrj's reviews »

Graphics , Sound and History , all perfect !!!!!

If you are a Warhammer fan you will love it !!!

73

Gears of War clone that can hold on its own

danteveli | July 13, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Warhammer 40K is a great universe and most games released in past 10 years showed high level of quality. Space Marine is a new step for computer games since its 3rd person action title. Some say its clone of Gears of War but thats not completely true. Since we are Ultramarine we don't have to use cover and can just storm and destroy all enemies without worry. Originally this was single player only game but multiplayer modes were added post release and that made game better. It has its own style that may not be fitting for everyone or some can get bored after too much orc killing. Graphics is ok with nicely detailed enemies and some brutal actions that look really cool. It is not great game but good title that has its own style and cant be written up just as GoW clone. Lets hope next attempt in tpp will be a little bit better with more stuff to do and kill with.

76

Decent Gears clone

WinDiesel | June 13, 2012 | See all WinDiesel's reviews »

First off: I'm not a fan of Warhammer but really like the video games, so I checked this out thinking it would be a refreshing take on the Gears of War formula.

It certainly wasn't that, but I still enjoyed it a lot. This certainly is something any fan of Gears or Warhammer can enjoy as it is a easy pick-up-and-play action game. Since there also isn't any pc port of recent Gears of War games, this is an excellent alternative.

TL;DR: Solid action game with sadly not too many refreshing additions. Feels and plays just like Gears of War, which is a good thing.

90

The best Warhammer game

Rzepak01 | May 17, 2012 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

This is the best Warhammer game for those who arent fans of RTS games. Its a very straightforward action game, where you control you Spacemarine to victory through hordes of Orcs and other enemies. The campaign is fairly long, by todays standards and has a very good, well written story. You dont have to know anything about the Warhammer universe to enjoy it, which is a very good thing. The action takes place up close or from a distance. There is a heavy focus on melee combat, which is simple but very fun, but there are also many guns. From the standard bolter to the more interesting weapons everything feels very good. All weapons have an oomph that keeps the killing fun throughtout the whole campaign. After completeting the campaign there is still the very good multiplayer mode that includes both coop and deathmatch type modes. There is some DLC that is also well worth having. The population is fairly large so finding a game isnt hard. The online matches dont use dedicated servers so lag, while not frequent, is there. Graphically the game looks pretty amazing. The character models are great and the environments pretty varied. The best thing is the customisation available in the mutliplayer. You can pick and choose abilities and weapons as well as make cosmetic changes to your armors. This is a game that is a great value no matter whats the price. Buy it and you wont regret it.

98

Total Action

kalil | May 16, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Playability: just perfect, there is no possibility of coverage but is offset by the power of weapons and abilities of the Space Marines (Ultramarines in this case) and I really like it to be so being more faithful to the series and moving away from Gears of Wars TPS which so many now are copied. also feel the power of being a Space Marine and fight for humanity against the orks and the forces of chaos a priceless title with gameplay perfect keeping with the genre and the series that represents and is also impossible not to enjoy killing your enemies saw in hand proving to have the DNA of the sons of the emperor.

Technology: not give me any kind of errors, failures or sudden exits the system, and its graphics engine sounds good.

Graphics: Graphics that meet some but not that they are those of Crysis, but still are very well liked enough that if I wanted to improve a little but do not disappoint.

Sound: very good I have no complaints from them, perfectly complement the adventure.

Innovation: nearly perfect as they managed to adapt very well what it means to be a Space Marine, true to the saga that is, without recycling content from many other games and making the brilliant union of a TPS with a hack and slash and to the more advanced levels and the maximum difficulty is a real challenge and you change weapons with great precision to be victorious, not personally tried a game that had achieved this as well.

if you like Dawn Of War titles that you'll love

87

Surprisingly great!

albeenox | May 16, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

Initially i expected this game to be nothing but an enemy-spam action game, where you just go from area to area, and just mindlessly kill wave upon wave of enemies. And as it turns out, it is... but damn if it isnt fun! I was expecting to get tired of that type of gameplay very quickly, but its handled in such a fun and entertaining way, I never got bored of it. First of all, its viscerally satisfying like no other. The weapons are massive, and their effect on the hordes you mow down, is just brutally enjoyable. It really is a cathartic game. Visually, its hit and miss. the underlying STYLE of the game, is wonderful, but some of the textures and models are a little low quality, but overall its never a deal-breaking issue. Controls handle well, and are generally responsive... the story... well... its nothing deep, but the sense of underlying lore and atmosphere, is something that i felt was deeply compelling, and definately helped maintain the interest in the game to see it through to the end. Overall, its a satisfying and fun game, with some great gameplay and design behind it.

85

A good mindless action shooter clone of the Gears of War series.

ViciousXUSMC | April 17, 2012 | See all ViciousXUSMC's reviews »

This game has no lack of blood, action, and shooting.

You get a super powerful hero that can cut through masses of enemies and blast them away to the next world from afar.

I felt the challenge was present, learning to manage your hits and abilities and use cover wisely made the difference between easily clearing a room or dying multiple times in anger.

Graphics are top notch for the game and sounds and soundtrack as well as voice acting were all also above average.

I say its weak points were that I saw no option to rebind my keyboard controls and mouse controls and this really irritated me since the default setup didnt make much sense giving you multiple keys that have the same function easy to reach but then a few of the needed keys out of reach. So your left with duplicates that serve no purpose and messing up your wsad orientation to hit that one important key to save your life.

Also there is not a lot of weapon variety in the game. But the game fills its role pretty proper and gives you something fun to play for a while.

It does offer a multiplayer mode to keep you in the game after single player is beaten, and its a pretty active community from what I can tell.

All in all while it was not the game of the year I dont feel that I wasted any money on this one and am glad its part of my game collection.

75

Enjoyable but short single player campaign

PIngp0NG | Feb. 7, 2012 | See all PIngp0NG's reviews »

I bought this off GMG when it was recently on sale for $12.50. It was a very enjoyable game and definitely worth the money but I admit that I would feel a bit cheated paying $30-50 for this game. It is third-person action game so similar in that respect to many other games out there. Gears of War obviously comes to mind, but W40K:SM is definitely it's own world.

If you are a fan of the 40K universe you will probably enjoy this game quite a bit more. The environments are huge in scale and very interesting although that being said, your paths are fairly linear and scripted. In that respect, it is a little bit like the Call of Duty games. It is very exciting when you first play it, but all the events are scripted and you have to follow a pretty pre-determined path.

What sets the game apart is the combat though. There are lots of ranged weapons from the Imperial armoury that are fun to use but you can only carry four at a time: a pistol, a bolter, an assault weapon and a heavy weapon. There are four kinds of melee weapons and if you use a two-handed melee weapon, you can only use a pistol and bolter.

Melee combat is very exciting and harried as you will frequently be swarmed by Orks and other bad guys. Your attacks have a lot of weight to them and bad guys will be exploding and ripped to piece around you in a constant red mist. You gain health by stunning and then executing your opponents. It makes for a very satisfying and visceral experience but it can be frustrating because you will take lots of damage while you are doing the animated attack.

I briefly played the multiplayer and it seems like it could be fun but also somewhat repetitive. Much of the value will probably come from trying to level up and gain experience for unlocks (similar to COD).

I would rate this game a sold "good" to "very good" but definitely not excellent. It's fun but very short; single player campaign on normal took me about 5 hours. Some of that time is also in cutscenes and sometimes rather long walks between check points with no enemies around. That does give you a nice sense of the scale of the game environments but can be a bit dull.

As a final note, I highly recommend looking into the weapon mods available online. A few of them upgrade bolt weapons to give them way more punch, in line with the tabletop rule book. I found that it made the game much more enjoyable.

80

Surprisingly a lot of fun, lacking in multiplayer though.

Xonus | Jan. 4, 2012 | See all Xonus's reviews »

Note: I'm not a Warhammer fan and haven't played any Warhammer game in the past, just a bit of DoW 1.

This game is all about you against hordes and hordes of orcs. The campaign is quite linear, mostly composed of section after section that are locked until you kill all the orcs in it or defend something and similar things, and for this kind of game that fits completely. The game is a blend of a third person shooter and a third person beat 'em up, with more combos you can do as you progress, and it gets extremely fun and even challenging on hard.

I like the hp system because instead of just having to run away for cover to regenerate (although the armor does regenerate), you need to execute enemies to recover hp, and the executions look fantastic for the most part, and are very satisfying to watch. The gunplay is decent but nothing special, although some of the guns sound quite awesome.

The multiplayer consists of two modes, PVP and PVE survival, the pvp section has a few different game modes although nothing out of the ordinary, and it's not exactly fun since the games melee system was meant to be you against hordes of enemies, and against single enemies it's quite boring and not particularly challenging in any way. You simply wack your sword in the general direction and whoever does it first wins the fight, and the same goes for the ranged weapons, considering the targets are relatively slow moving giant space marines, it's incredibly easy to hit.

Survival (You and 3 others against hordes of orcs, in waves, sort of like killing floor) however can be a lot of fun, and gets hard by the last waves, requiring good team play to pull off until the end.

A negative point for the multiplayer is the fact it's peer to peer, with no dedicated servers, often resulting in a laggy unplayable mess depending on who gets to host by the random system.

The game gets most of the points from me for the single player, where as I said it's incredibly fun and satisfying, although in not too large doses.