Reviews for Flatout

83

A great destructive racing game, but could have been even better

BlockAgent | June 25, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Flatout is a fun racing game. That has to be said. The physics, the cars, the tracks and the destruction are all great. The AI drivers are smart and realistic. They make mistakes from time to time and are not afraid to bash into each other as they fight for a better position. This game is very fun and addictive. The destruction derby bowls and races are my favorite part. One thing that I don't like about this game is the drivers that launch out of the car during big (and sometimes very little) crashes. It takes a very great and believable game and makes it cartoony. Every time it happened I just shook my head. Had they left that one element of the game out, I would have given this game a 100. Sometimes your driver will get shot out of the car (visually glitching the whole time might I add) even when you very gently scrape the back of your car against a guardrail. This can be so frustrating when you are on the final lap and about to win. But don't let that stop you from picking up this wonderful game.

88

Destruction Derby again!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Gentlemen, start you engines and get out of here, because this game is not for you! This game is for rude, tough and dirty drivers that are willing to do anything it takes to win the race!

Plates of metal will fly, tires will scream and shacks will shatter as you circle around the race tracks wreaking havoc along your way. A little rubber banding shatters the game a bit, but not too much. Just enough to make it more challenging. And challenge you will get!

But along with it, lots of fun. There are many bonus game modes that are often relying on sending the driver flying towards different goals. You will need a certain mindset to enjoy a laugh out of them, but if you do, it is great.

Recommended to share the experience with a friend.

82

Fun racing

Jimmysil | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

The most important thing on this game is definitely the destruction model of the cars and enviroment. You'll see that you just love to smash everything and everyone. Car control is somewhere between simulation and arcade, but its perfectly balanced and you will quickly get used to it. You can also customize your car and improve it. And if you are bored of racing you can try some funny ingame activities.

76

Destroy EVERYTHING!!!

drafek | June 21, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is about destroying everything basicly. The graphics are made well, the sound also is really good. The crashes are made well. You'll enjoy this game for a few hours. Worth picking up at full price

73

Fun, but definitely not a sim

DaiMonPaul | June 17, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

I LOVE the game modes which make you find the optimum way to eject your driver from the car, measuring how far or high he flies. These minigames never fail to give me a chuckle, and they're truly unique in the world of racing games. As for the actual racing? Eh, it's ok. You can damage almost anything in the world, which is cool, but the cars don't really drive in a realistic way. This is a pure arcade title, not a sim. It's still entertaining, and there are plenty of race types and courses that will give you lots of value for your money. The graphics are dated, but they still look decent. Get this if you're looking for a fairly unique arcade racer, but if you want anything with more sim-like elements, you might want to look in a different direction.

92

One of the Greatest Derby Games

thegaminglyfe | June 16, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

When you mention racing games with derby elements in them, people think about Flatout most of the time. That's because Flatout is an amazing game! It set the standard for all derby racing games on it's release. The races are fun to do and action packed, there are lots of vehicles with their own advantages and disadvantages. The controls are easy to understand but take a while to really get the hang of and master. The ragdoll mini games are super fun launching your character out of your character. The attention to detail is incredible, you will see pieces of glass and parts from your car fly around everywhere like a real crash. Flatout has aged quite well and the graphics still look nice. Highly recommended to any arcade racing fan.

91

Nice !!!

LoudeRZz | June 2, 2013 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

Loved it !! Very unique game, especially the graphics. Not too long races and very nice cars, Its very easy and fun to drift and that's one of the things that makes it a better game. I think that its worth 5$ easily !

62

Really flat now

ccccp | May 10, 2013 | See all ccccp's reviews »

This game has been a limit-pusher regarding of the type of gameplay offered in racing games. You have to be fast, precise, and vicious. Your car and your opponent's ones suffer from shocks and crashes : you see it on the screen and feel it in your wheel (or pad or keyboard). You can go through many fences and barrers and obstacles to try to win the race. The trouble is, the IA is too close to your skill. As seen in other racing titles, if you're in the last position, your opponents don't make a huge difference. Be in the first place and they fly ! So many races will end in a final lap where everything is possible regardless if you've driven good or not. Your skills are not so important. Race for the fun only...

85

Destroy the competition

kokosabre | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all kokosabre's reviews »

Exactly.Destroy your competition and it's not only by finishing first in every race.This game can offer something that most of racing games are missing and this is the chance to destroy your opponent's cars during the race and be the last man standing. Even if you dont manage to destroy them you gonna receive credits for crashing in them...or make them crash in a tree.It's my favourite racer and I don't think I will find a racer I like more than Flatout

68

Not the best racing game, but fairly unique.

dark2025 | Sept. 21, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

It's a very arcadey racing game that rewards your for destruction which provide you with money and therefore better upgrades for your car. There are also silly mini games like seeing how far you can eject your driver (yes, your driver literally leaps out the windshield and flies for hundreds of meters). Fun? Yes, but only if you throw realism out the window, which is to say - if you're looking for a realistic driving simulation, you'd better look elsewhere.

79

Vintage fun

schroff | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

This is a simple racer - get to the finish line and make sure the guy near you doesn't. The mechanics of crashing cars and gaining speed boosts (nitro) are simplistic but considering the age of the game .. it's all good. Quite dated but if you're a retro gamer .. a great addition to your collection

95

Totally original breath of fresh air

Cooberstooge | Sept. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

I remember the day I first discovered FlatOut, back when the local game store still had kiosks set up for people to play with a computer. I couldn't believe I'd never heard of this thing before release, and grabbed myself a copy right there and then. Easily the single best purchase of that year, and the start of something awesome.

The amount and variety of cars, tracks, and race modes here is overwhelming, and you'll start off with an old beater, and soon come to discover the only way to win is to get mean. That old hatchback may be light on guts, but it can batter the heck out of anything else on the track. You'll regret moving on to bigger and better machines afterwords, and that is what makes this game great.

The graphics were top-notch "back in the day", but their age is showing now - they suit this game though, and updated looks would just change it too greatly. The game has always run great, with zero bugs and crashes for me, and just screams along on newer hardware.

The soundtrack is fantastic, and is loaded with mostly unknown bands, which makes every race something you kinda ignore to figure out who the heck that awesome guitarist is, until you slam into a wall. The cars all sound great, and the nitro makes a satisfying "psssswhoosh" when activated.

Totally recommend this one, and all the ones that follow it. This is a great series, and one you'll be playing for years to come - the ice racing segments in FlatOut 1 especially.

78

Old but still fun.

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Ok, this game very dated. Afterall, it was released almost eight years ago! The graphics are dated and I wouldn't recommend it for the races, there are much better alternatives, but for the mini-games/bonus modes. This game has some crazy fun modes, most of which consist in crashing your car and propelling the driver far away, in some you have the throw as far as possible, in others you have the use him as a bowling ball, but they are all addictive and fun. My personal favorite is the demolition derby.

I'd say for the low price this game is worth it!

81

Crazy arcade racing

panz3r88 | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Flatout is an arcade racing game where you must win the race and avoid that other racers destroy your car. In each race the opponent cars are really aggressive and you must use all your abilities to avoid them and reach them. The game is quite fun and hard and there are also fun game modes where you must use your car to play darts or other funny games where you must launch the driver to reach a certain target. If you want a game similar to destruction derby, buy this game.

90

Brilliant race racer - a must buy for any destruction derby love

StewartX | July 6, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

I absolutely loved this game, I can't get enough of car racing games that actually show off damage while driving. Nothing sucks the realism out of a racing game like slamming into a wall at 200kms per hour and just boucing off it like nothing happened, in this game you get ejected out of the windscreen and break every bone in your body, your car can barely move afterwards (Ok, sure, not real either as well... you'd be dead, but by golly is it fun!). Another fun mode to this game is the challenges where you have to eject yourself from the moving car to hit targets, I.E. A giant dart board, or a high jump (to see how high you can get) etc. Lots of fun. Multiplayer is a blast as well, nothing makes you happier than ramming a friend into a tree at high speed and watching him/her go flying out through the windscreen. Graphics: 6/10 (A bit dated) Gameplay: 9/10 Mulitplayer: Yes

78

Symphony of Destruction

Bozorov | June 29, 2012 | See all Bozorov's reviews »

Looking for a racing game where the brash and careless driving is rewarded? In Flatout, crashing on your opponents and the scenery is benefitial and in addition to slowing them down, you gain some nitro time to recover speed.

The game is also full of little details, like ejecting the driver of the car when a violent crash occurs and the accumulating damage on the vehicles.

Unfortunatelly, there is a lot of reused content in the tracks and there is no online content.

92

Great arcade fun!!

NoLove3827 | June 16, 2012 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

This game is very very addicting. You'll sit down and think "I'll just play this for like five minutes" and next thing you know it's 5 hours later. The destruction is awesome, and the graphics are pretty good for being somewhat old. The cars are all "GTA-Style" as in they aren't real cars, but they are styled pretty closely to real ones, and they don't look goofy like in Saints Row.

Well, stop reading reviews and go buy the game!

85

A great game of it's time

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Flatout is one of my favourite racing games. The driving physics are quite nice, and it does have a bit of "destructible environment", like going through a shed and using it as a shortcut. The environment is very nice, and the racing tracks are done quite well. Cars are, if I remember correctly, not licensed, as in, they are clones of the actual real vehicles. May not be true, tho.

One of my favourite aspects of the game is a little game mode, where you have to launch yourself out of the car and fly up in the air as high as you can, before you fall down and break every single bone that you have. Priceless.

Would recommend it for this low of a price.

65

Not the best racing game ever

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 16, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

An interesting game at first but wich later on shows it's defects. There are many tracks but all of them are banaly similar to eachother. Flatout has great physics, detailed and cured graphics, the most fascinating thing about it are the refractions and the way our car gets destroyed while racing. The music doesn't really seem to fit and also the sound fx is pretty bad.

Honestly the only good thing about Flatout is the multiplayer mode where it actualy shines but the uninspired tracks will it make you get bored of it pretty fast.

75

Ultimate destruction

chetancs | Nov. 15, 2011 | See all chetancs's reviews »

This is one of the best wrecking fast driving game.All the destructions in game looks good. excellent graphics is the one of the big plus point of the game.frame rates are smooth while playing. All the levels are well detailed and environment in the game also looks good. I liked all the mini games in it.Presentation of the game is not so good.one of the bad thing I have pointed out in the game is the game AI the AI is really aggressive. Other thing is that for the pc version there is no on-line mode which is disappointing. Otherwise it is the good game to get hands on. and I am sure that the people who want to wreck hard,race faster and faster this game is one of the best game which you can keep in the your game collection.