Reviews for Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II: Retribution THQ

80

Good RTS

lachking | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

This is my first entry into the Dawn of War series and it is a good stand-alone expansion. You can play as all six factions, both in single player and online, although many missions are repeated in the campaign by the different factions. The gameplay is good, with more emphasis on tactics and controlling resource points rather than building units at bases from many buildings. Although campaign missions are repeated amongst the factions, the progression system is good: you get experience points to give more abilities to your heroes and different abilities picked can create varying gameplay paths.

The multiplayer is also good. You can play traditional skirmish type games where you capture points and attempt to deplete the enemy's tickets to zero. The Last Stand game mode is also interesting where you use heroes to survive waves of enemies and unlock stronger war gear as you progress.

In terms of presentation, the game delivers. The sound and music is quite good, and the graphics engine is top-notch, although you may need to turn settings down depending on your computer. The removal of Games for Windows Live is also a big plus.

80

Good Game

lachking | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

This is my first entry into the Dawn of War series and it is a good stand-alone expansion. You can play as all six factions, both in single player and online, although many missions are repeated in the campaign by the different factions. The gameplay is good, with more emphasis on tactics and controlling resource points rather than building units at bases from many buildings. Although campaign missions are repeated amongst the factions, the progression system is good: you get experience points to give more abilities to your heroes and different abilities picked can create varying gameplay paths. In terms of presentation, the game delivers. The sound and music is quite good, and the graphics engine is top-notch, although you may need to turn settings down depending on your computer. All in all, Retribution is a good game.

75

Weakest in the DoW2 series

Guardian412 | Nov. 13, 2012 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Dawn of War 2: Retribution is a standalone expansion, starting 10 years after the events of DoW2 and DoW2 Chaos Rising. The single player game, which is usually my favorite in games, is offering a 16 missions long campaign and six species to play. And while the storyline is interesting, unfortunately I felt it much weaker than my personal favorite, Chaos Rising. The problem with the campaign is that if you played it with one of the species, you played it with all. I've finished the Space Marine and then the Imperial Guard campaign, - this last one is a new faction in DoW 2 by the way -, other than the different characters and some different dialogues playing a different faction won't give you new missions or objectives at all. So if you'd like to get Retribution for the Single Player experience, choose wisely which faction you'd like to play as there is a high chance that you won't playthrough the campaign for a second time. I strongly suggest the Space Marine campaign as the storyline and the campaign make sense with that one the most.

In my opinion, if you loved DoW2 and DoW2 Chaos Rising, you may consider it as a good sequel, which is also closing the storyline what the series have started in DoW2 and continued in Chaos Rising. Especially if you play Retribution's campaign with the Space Marines as that is telling you the true ending with the characters you already know from the previous games. But don't expect too much from Retribution. It is an expansion pack, heavily building on the first two games, DoW 2 and DoW 2 Chaos Rising, with six species to play, each of them with different heroes. But there is only one campaign to play with all six, one story to learn, which is very-very disappointing. Dawn of War 2: Retribution is still a great game, some of its features maybe better than DoW 2 and Chaos Rising, but due to the afoementioned disappointing single player expeirence, unlike many I consider it as the weakest and my least favorite in the DoW 2 series.

90

Best Warhammer game.

DukePaul | Oct. 29, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Dawn of War II: Retribution is my favourite game of the franchises because offers a lot of content.

The campaign offers six playable races, Space Marines, Tyranids, Orks, Eldar, Chaos and the Empire. The good thing about the campaign is the coop mode, you can join with a friend and share your troops and items, each player will control their units. The bad thing is most of the missions are the same for every faction, but it is still fun.

The Last Stand mode is the best mode I think, you have 6 characters (7 if you buy the Tau Commander DLC which is awesome) and you have to fight with two friends against waves of enemies, this game mode has a lot of replay value because you level up and get items that change your character totally, every match can be different.

But the core of the game is the multiplayer mode, 6 players can be part of it, with teams or free for all, the squads, cover system and capture points of control offers a different perspective from other strategy games.

At the moment this is the last game of the Dawn of War franchise and the best.

85

Great 40k Addition

theamazingshala | Sept. 7, 2012 | See all theamazingshala's reviews »

Warhammer is back, but now with a new faction, and missions for each class. The classic Company of Heroes cover system and tactics is still in tact. Instead of just spamming hundreds and hundreds of units on screen like a typical RTS, in Retribution you command squads. Each squad has strengths and weaknesses and plays out like a chaotic game of rock paper scissors.

Another great aspect of Retribution is the improved on Last Stand game mode. In Last Stand you control a single faction hero with two other players and fight off increasingly difficult waves of enemies until reaching the final way. The multiplayer/CO-OP modes are perhaps the best aspect of this series and feature new maps.

A great addition and fun to play with others. No Games for Windows Live.

91

A very good action RTS game.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all xboxer's reviews »

Retribution is a huge improvement over its two predecessors.

The story is much better and the various factions in the game means you can experience the campaign using different factions which adds variety. This time Relic improved the story and the missions get a little more variety than the earlier two.

The action is also more intense this time.

The MP is satisfying enough.

86

Pretty good RTS

TG_Judgement | Aug. 1, 2012 | See all TG_Judgement's reviews »

Retribution is the 3rd entry in the Dawn of War II series, an RTS based on the very popular Warhammer 40k tabletop game. The gameplay is pretty similar to Company of heroes, where unit management is the focus instead of base building with each faction having 3 unique heroes. This latest standalone expansion adds an entire new race (Imperial Guard) a new campaign where you can play as any of the 6 existing races that you can also play in co-op, and the switch from "Games For Windows Live" to Steamworks, while including all of the previous game's MP content, meaning that for MP, Retribution is all you need for the complete experience.

80

Consider if you are a fan of DoW 2

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

This game is pretty much the same as DoW2, it actually feels like an expansion pack for DoW 2 than the standalone game that it is but I love how you can coop with a friend. The graphics are great, gameplay is great and the story is great. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes - Coop as well.

85

Awesome for 40K fans

Rice77 | July 26, 2012 | See all Rice77's reviews »

This game is a RTS where you control varius units, depending on the faction (you can choose tyranids, space marines, chaos marines, etc...) you have different squads and commander.

The campaign alone is worth the game, but the multiplayer mode The Last Stand (which is also standalone), is a very fun coop mode.

If you like Warhammer 40K you can't doubt on getting this game.

90

For $0k and RTS fans

tichimu616 | July 25, 2012 | See all tichimu616's reviews »

If you like Warhammer 40k universe and RTS videogames,this is your game. Based on the Company of Heroes Gameplay, brings 40k To a new tactic game mode. Also Last Stand is great to play with 2 friends.

75

Nice RTS

IganX | July 23, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

An interesting RTS with improved graphics from its predecesor, wide variety of units and fast-paced gameplay. If you played DOW1, you will like this game, and if you didn't, I recommend you to play both of them for they are worth the time. Still, not a masterpiece.

91

Very grate

Songit | July 21, 2012 | See all Songit's reviews »

Like the title states, Dawn of War 2 is rather different from DOW1, but in a very good way. The mechanics have changed in a way as to pull it away from the Warcraft-esque styling and give it some of it's own unique panache. Though at some points the game might frustrate you, and in multiplayer sessions it can appear imba (and not always for YOU either), it's still very fun to play against your friends, or even alongside them. Now if only there was a co-op campaign mode..

74

Interesting

danteveli | July 15, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Dawn of War II have received 2 expansion that are stand alone. Both of them use the same system but have changes that modify it a bit. At its core Retribution in squad based RTS with RPG elements sprinkled on top. This time we go into a bit bigger picture since we can summon units and select them instead of heroes for missions. this can change the game drastically since we lose some powerful abilities. On the other hand we receive more troops. This time we have couple campaigns instead of just one. This allows us to see action from different side perspective. We also receive Last Stand mode that is survival battle against endless waves of enemies. Multiplayer based on that capture the point style of game is still present. Everyone that played previous installments and liked them will be happy. New players may have problems with getting into the story.

95

Different from DOW1, but still great.

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

Like the title states, Dawn of War 2 is rather different from DOW1, but in a very good way. The mechanics have changed in a way as to pull it away from the Warcraft-esque styling and give it some of it's own unique panache. Though at some points the game might frustrate you, and in multiplayer sessions it can appear imba (and not always for YOU either), it's still very fun to play against your friends, or even alongside them. Now if only there was a co-op campaign mode...

80

Good for Fans

ROKET | June 20, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

When I first bought Dawn of War II I was very pleased. It was a nice game with great graphics, great gameplay and a rather interesting story. Chaos Rising came along and introduced a few new things but didnt impress me much. I wasnt going to buy another DoWII game but then heard a lot of good about Retribution.

I have to say that I wasnt as impressed as I had hoped. I played through the rather dull campaign and tried some multiplayer but the game was so dead multiplayer wasnt fun anymore. It also didnt help that the matchmaking system was so terrible - even after they got rid of Games for Windows Live.

Gameplay wise the game is solid and pretty cool. The new factions mix things up a bit and give you something interesting to do. If theres any game mode thats used the most though its Last Stand. People are always playing that.

If you're a fan - go ahead and get this game. It isnt that bad. But for me - Im glad I didnt pay much because I didnt play much either.

85

Great mix of strategy and action wrapped up in a classy game.

albeenox | May 18, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

Wow, what an intense game.

First up, this game does require more from the gamer than the average game. At any given time, there can be a lot happening on the screen that you need to keep track of. Having said that, its not OVERLY complex, and any gamer should be able to pick up and play this game pretty comfortably. It has the scope to be a very strategically involving game, without being so overbearing so as to exclude gamers who may not usually be drawn to the strategy genre.

That said, that scale and strategic nature, makes for some incredibly rewarding gameplay. Its just fun and intense as hell to see the battles that take place, and the impressive graphical quality and artistic design, really bring so much life, power and beauty to everything you see.

The story is interesting, and theres an amazing sense of story 'history' behind it all, that really immerses you into the games world.. it really is impressive... and its all presented so wonderfully, both in terms of the story, progression, dialog and overall presentation - its a really high class production.

This is a great game to pick up, its very impressive and satisfying to play - but just be prepared to have to think and co-ordinate a bit, to really get the most out of it.