Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (EU)

92

An endless RPG, does it even exist ?

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Such a BIG game. I was a bit worried when I first started this game because the combat feels floaty at times, but you'll start ignoring it the more you play. There's just so much to do. It took me about 17,5 hours before I encountered my first dragon. For every quest you finish, you'll receive several more, it's unbelievable. I'm not sure I can ever completely finish it. I've done most of the things by now, and I still have about 30-40 misc sidequests open. And don't get me started on the fetch quests; the ones that aren't listed in the quest log. I was actually surprised by the amount of quality quests in this game. All the factions have their own storyline, and other sidequests can take well over an hour to finish. Exploring also just feels right. You're constantly being rewarded with treasures, hidden dungeons, new quests and more. There are several bugs, but nothing game breaking so far. If you have to buy one game this year, let it be this one. It is endless. ENDLESS !

100

I can't found words!

benyo555 | Sept. 17, 2012 | See all benyo555's reviews »

I was afraid before downloading because I don't like to try new things, but it was a great choice to download it because I can't stop playing. The atmosphere is engaging, the graphics are awesome. There are a lot of small and bigger quests, kill a boss, climb on a mountain and fight a lot of creatures. So it's a very very good game. I recommend it for everybody.

72

It's not a bad game ,but it's not a masterpiece...

Zinzun | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

So, this game is boring. Seriously, if you want enjoy it, play ONLY the main quest, because if you explore the whole world, you will suicide soon. The game is pretty identical to Oblivion, Bethesda put into it some new stuff like the Fus Ro Dah thing, killcam etc but really it's only more of the same. And men, there are TONS of bug. You can steal anything from a NPC simply putting a bucket on their head, your horse is a 4x4 and can easly reach the peek of any mountain. And there are more, and more. It's not a bad game, of course, but it's not a masterpiece too. Buy it for less then 10 euro and will be a good deal, but paying it more it's not a valid option.

98

Awesome time-consuming game

sanyi777 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all sanyi777's reviews »

Skyrim is the best RPG yet. Why? Because of the plenty of quests the huge territory of Skyrim, and the lot of ways you can play the game. You can join the mages if you want to, but if you like fighting more you can be a Companion (Fighter's Guild) The graphics is nice and it's just enough for a game like this. The characters look pretty and the environment is fantastic. The game took 90 hours of my life and I didn't even see the full of Skyrim yet.

100

The Elder Scolls, thats all you need.

IganX | July 24, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

Skyrim, just as any of the TES games, has made what very little games achieve, give us a complete RPG experience while innovating and creating new features from scrap. I may be biased for having entered gaming with TES II Daggerfall, but I must say that since that game came out, no other series has been able of reaching the point of total freedom that The Elder Scrolls gives.

This game is worth all its cost and much more, for the illimited hours of quality gaming it provides, its stunning graphics, its fast-paced combat system, and its modding community which improves the game in ways no one could have imagined. I recommend any of The Elder Scolls, but being Skyrim the last one, it may be easier for many people to enter Tamriel through a game with up to date graphics. Have fun!

88

Amazing RPG

nicolaidynbru | July 23, 2012 | See all nicolaidynbru's reviews »

TES: skyrim is an amazing and huge rpg. The graphics is nice with the free hd texture pack they made. If this isn't enough then you can download mods to improve the graphics even more.

The main story behind the this TES game isn't really big. You need to do it inorder to learn some new shouts. But it feels like there is endless content to do in this world + modders are adding new content to the game aswell. Bethesda is also realeasing a new dlc soon if skyrim itself isn't enough. Overall a really good RPG.

Not to some of the bad things about this game. It is annoying in order to get deadric weapons you have to waste points on heavy armor even if you use light armor. Another thing is that crafting items feels like they are better than what you can find and you can unlock the crafting items very early in the game. This basicly makes you inviseble immortal. But this can be fixed with mods.

I think this game deserve 88, because it is still not the best rpg I've played. This is mainly because of lacking history in the game.

90

Elder scrolls games, never disappoints, this time with dragons

arkantos | May 21, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

The visuals are stunning and the game is very solid, whatever you see, it's reachable, it doesn't surprise me to see it GOTY already.

For anyone who is a fan of RPG games this is most likely to be a safe buy, as the previous games, Skyrim itself isn't surprisingly demanding on the PC so most people can enjoy solid amount of playtime time and fun, this time it improves from its predecessors in every possible way, hell it even add dragons!

If you didn't got the game already, you're missing out a lot fun, and you should feel ashamed. With the new addition of the Steam Workshop you will even have more stuff to see, as every day there's new "Community made mods" and such.

90

Complete if not...

dawe | May 13, 2012 | See all dawe's reviews »

This game had me sucked in for a long while with its seemingly endless dungeons and quests. Not to mention the foraging for metals and herbs.

As an old Morrowind fan I am saddened by the simplification of the game. It feels like it is made for an xbox controller and not for the pc. The simplified, clumsy menus turn me off. I want the detail and smooth menus back! Also the dragons are pitifully weak, they are stuff of legends, not lizard birds to be one shotted out of the sky!

It would have gotten the full pot if not for the simplification/dumbification, but it still stands as one of the best games I have played this year.

90

A new milestone

Xehlwan | March 26, 2012 | See all Xehlwan's reviews »

Bethesda has a great track-record with their Elder Scrolls series. No studio makes open-world roleplaying games like these people.

Improving upon the previous games, Skyrim has further streamlined and polished many features - like magic and combat - but also added more complexity with crafting and perks. For those concerned with "simplifying", the additions greatly outweigh the features that have been cut.

One thing Bethesda is starting to get right is the "hooks" in this game. The things that makes you want to play more. Quests and dungeon delving give more interesting rewards. Difficulty scales much more smoothly and naturally, while keeping the world believable (no more bandits in Daedric armor). Even the changes in crafting and enchanting are made to maintain balance while feeling rewarding.

Perhaps the story is the greatest improvement to the series. Not only do you now feel truly like the protagonist of a fantasy epic, the story introduces mechanics that meld perfectly with the open-world aspect of the game.

Now, Bethesda is known for the bugs in their games, and Skyrim is no exception. However, it is was released in a relatively better state than previous games, and has received more updates than we've seen before. Not only fixes, but even improvements and additions.

Skyrim is a package full of value, with great replay-value. Add in the huge library of mods and addons, and you can literally sink hundreds of hours into this game.

87

BLASTING! Thy quest shall be remembered!

RainbowBunchie | March 18, 2012 | See all RainbowBunchie's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is one hell of a RPG!

The main campaign is suspenseful and interesting until the end, involving many deep and unique characters and difficult decisions changing the game's flow.

The secondary quests add dozens if not hundreds of hours of gameplay to the main game, making it worth every penny. Some of them may seem dull and repetitive, but most are unique and challenging. While you complete quests, fight foes and mix potions, you gain experience which levels you up thus allowing you to upgrade your skills.

Graphics aren't amazing, but for an open-world game it looks fantastic and alive, having very different zones from sunny fields to dark forests, from high mountains to frozen sea, all of it filled with hundreds of different animals, plants and other bipedal species.

The AI is sometimes confused when running against walls and not reacting to you, but these and other bugs are rather rare in relation to the size and complexity of the game world.

The item diversity is just outstanding. For weapons and armor, there are several parts and types, each of which can be enchanted and upgraded. There are hundreds of scrolls, books and recipes, ingredients for potions and dozens of meals you can cook. You can interact with nearly everybody and everything in Skyrim, including talking to people, reading, enchanting, cooking, lockpicking, crafting, smithing, fighting, shooting and lots more.

In conclusion, Skyrim is a great RPG with easy to learn controls, lots of possibilities and endless secrets to discover.

95

Modern day RPG at its finest.

eatlin | Nov. 20, 2011 | See all eatlin's reviews »

It has been far to long for an RPG to measure up to the standards of the elder scrolls. where oblivion was considerd by many to be a low point in the series Skyrim does not cease to amaze me and my friends.

I would nominate this to be one of the best games released in the past 2-5 years.

94

The Elder Scrolls returns!

GudomligaSven | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all GudomligaSven's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls-series is know for their wide open world, their deep RPG customisation and their unique leveling system. Being the fifth in this huge RPG series Bethesda is not showing any signs of stopping.

The new game takes place a couple of hundred years after Oblivion (known in Skyrim as the Oblivion Crisis) in the northern part of Tamriel, Skyrim. Skyrim is populated by the viking-like people "Nords" and the so-called invaders "Imperials". Although there are numerous races populating Skyrim, these are the two leading races.

The game opens up with the player being transported to Helgen after being captured in an ambushed, mistaken as one of the rebels known as "Stormcloaks". Just the opening sequence shows the authenticity of Skyrims wildlife. When you arrive, you get to create your own character. There are nearly limitless options and races to chose from, with their own distinct looks and advantages.

After the tutorial is over, you are let into a world of limitless options, where you can go werever you chose, do whatever you want, and be whoever you can be.

The game runs on an updated engine the previous Elder Scrolls were based on and the newer Fallout-series. Being upgraded, you still recognise a couple of faults the old engine had, mainly the animations. But despite that, the engine looks gorgeus, especially when you find yourself in a huge ice cavern with the sun seeping through the cracks in the celing.

That said, Skyrim is huge. And amazing. If you are a true RPG fan, you can't miss this game. Prepare to travel to Skyrim, and prepare to stay there for a long time.

81

Almost game of the year

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

The game feautes dozens and dozens of secondary quests for the main campaign, a really long and very well done main story and a huge world to explore. It acts a lot better than Oblivion, you can see instantly that there was a big improvement, even if the game is now more simplistic, graphicaly there are some defects and a bug or two but as time will it go they will it get hopefully fixed. The best thing about the game is the music and the sounds effects but also fighting versus dragons is really fun.

If it wasn't for the bugs it has it could've been a GOTY but it still is a great game even with that.

90

A Titan amongst RPG and open world games

toolz | Nov. 13, 2011 | See all toolz's reviews »

As always, Bethesda delivers a great game. Lost of things do and explore. Play for days without touching the main quests. The huge breathing and living world makes you always want explore more before finishing playing for the day. But as previous games bugs appear and some stability issues accour. Though it's nothing that will destroy the gameplay it's something that you will notice. Surley a patch will come out soon that fixes these issues and thanks to the fact the game is mod friendly many, many, many mod's will come out in the future making the replay value almost infinite.