Reviews for Magicka: Collection

85

Everything for your Magicka

Czapens | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all Czapens's reviews »

This bundle features all DLC's for the commical and fully filled with satire game from Arrowhead Studios, published by Paradox Interactive.

You control a wizard, a little wizard with the knowledge of 8 types of spells. At first it does not sound like a lot of variety but there is the ability to combine them those spells which makes them more powerful (and sometimes lethal to your friends).

The game is really fun, especially with your friends - so if you look to play some Co-op, this is the perfect game.

80

Best bang for you bang. Even better with friends.

H3llMafia | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all H3llMafia's reviews »

Magicka is a comical fantasy game. Think of it like a video game version of Airplane! It satires multiple modern games that are out now (for example the DLC Magicka Vietnam is a direct parody of Bad Company 2: Vietnam DLC)

Don't be put off about the comical focus of the game. The gameplay itself is still very enjoyable with its unique spellcasting mechanic that gives the player the ability to literally mix any of the spells you have available with another. The possibilities are endless, though some are more useful and others are just there to harm yourself.

If you're looking to play this game by alone, prepare to experiment with the game's unique spellcasting mechanic. Playthroughing the game alone, is an enjoyable experience all in itself, however bringing in a friend will bring you and your friends tons of laugh..

88

Very Fun! Grab Some Friends!

ecaudill | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all ecaudill's reviews »

I love Magicka. But almost exclusively for the multiplayer experience. As a single player game, I feel it lacks the depth that I enjoy in such games. For example, there is no proper inventory system... a fact that the game itself pokes fun at. No leveling or true character advancement. All things that I would care about if I were playing it alone. However, grab 3 friends and these become moot. You won't care about inventory, leveling, or even the story for that matter. It's just one big fun romp with lots of dying... mostly coming from errant spells from your buddies. And that's where this game shines.

The spell combos are incredibly deep and innovative. You and your friends, trying out new spell combinations, many of which will lead to your (and their) death.

"Need a heal? Woops, I accidentally put water in with that. Watch out for that lightning!" dead

"Are those healing bombs?" gets blown off the screen "I guess not..."

So much fun to be had. Grabs some friends and get playing!

74

Fun little game

Shanti | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

...with a lot of DLC, mainly for costumes (different stats/bonuses). A cutesy co-op game which will surely bring you enjoyment for however long it takes to get buggy. If you can avoid the bugs for co-op, you're in a for a real gameplay treat. The Greenman bundle includes a few campaign DLC as well, so enjoy the vibrant colours of your custom Ice/Shock/Light spell attack all the way in Vietnam. That is a really unique feature: you can 'make' new spell attacks/chain which means no two wizards will practise Magicka the same way.

90

Fun even if you suck at it!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

My husband bought me this game so that we could play it together and while I had my doubts I found myself enjoying it despite not being that good. The large amounts of spells make this game a blast and I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a good co-op experience. The game can be tricky at times and it is easy to accidentally kill your partners but I can guarantee you that you will be having too much fun to hold grudges. This is one of those games where it is easy to lose track of time while you are playing.

89

Ultimate Magicka Bundle at the best price

spycid | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Paradox Interactive's acclaimed and comical multiplayer wizard computer game Magicka is not just a game, with so many expansions Magicka is an immersive world which you would want to play with your friends in co-op mode repeatedly, no matter how many times you have completed it.

Magicka has almost a unique and creative kind of sorcery. Magicka: Vietnam transports you to a fantasy land from where you would never want to exit from.

This is the best Magicka bundle out there.

85

Great Fun. Especially with friends.

YYS1995 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

Magicka is a solid action adventure title with a clever spellcasting mechanic that will provide hours of entertainment for gamers. If players play the co-op mode, people get insane fun running around and "accidentally" teamkilling and trying their best at remembering a certain spell when surrounded by mobs.The rich, luscious colors somehow make the world a lot more believable, but i dislike the isometric viewpoint this game has. This is definitely a must-buy game, but it really needs to be experienced to get how much fun it is.

95

Fantastic game!

ncorbin | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all ncorbin's reviews »

This game for the money you cant go wrong, it is funny, entertaining, and has a difficulty curve. Playing solo you can get bored within a few hours but CO-OP this is what magicka was made for! everyone loves it and the moments of ''I got you buddy!'' then forgetting you have 1 lightning rune on your spell and killing him instead of healing him never gets old. This is a pure indy gem and of you don't own it then you cant call you indie collection complete.

70

Vaguely Amusing, but Fun to Play

YggdrasilsSword | July 6, 2013 | See all YggdrasilsSword's reviews »

As far as parody games go, Magicka is one of the best, but that isn't saying much. The humor occasionally makes me chuckle, but more often I groan. Thankfully, Magicka is much better as a game than as a parody.

Players play a mage from a Diablo-style perspective. The interesting part is that the player has access to 8 elements that can be used for simple magic or combined into various spells. Adding earth to another element, for example, turns fire into fireball or ice into iceball, but it can't be combined with its opposite (lightning) or the two elements cancel out. Combining the arcane element with another creates an elemental energy beam, while using arcane alone is a simple, non-elemental beam.

Players can further wield more advanced magics by combining elements according to particular formulas, discovered as the game goes on. The result is a game that's fun to play, but not likely to inspire awe. And the proliferation of little DLC packages is annoying for a purchased game, though the larger DLCs that add new campaigns are actually worthwhile.

76

Coop

captainstark | June 7, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

this game is enjoyable single player but it's much more fun with friends, whether you accidentally kill your team mate accidentally or you are full of intent, lots of laughter will be had.

88

No role, funny and interesting game Wizards and Magic

kalil | June 6, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

This is an indie game 100% recommended, unique gameplay, addictive and varied, to create infinite spells (Based on 8 plus 2 hidden items can be combined 5 at a time to create all sorts of powers to use with your sword, in self, either directly or as launch area, excluding the spells itself), without annoying flowing bars or limitations. Graphically it is "colorful", music and sounds well and with humor classic top. The online mode in its 3 modes (PvP, Challenge or Campaign) is highly recommended, is more enjoyable, but due to technical problems (Lag and optimizations) is recommended to play only with friends "close" (same country).

88

Mayhem! Mayhem! Mayhem!

TheDude0st | May 8, 2013 | See all TheDude0st's reviews »

From a boring ordinary Magician to a Deadly Destructive Master of the Elements.

This game has endless combination of elements and deadly spells found across the levels. Learning these new combination and spells, while casting them in an instant, made me feel like a total Badass. With many humorous moments and little easter eggs, it sure to entertain you and your friends. Speaking of friends, this game become total mayhem of dead and destruction with friends and is probably of the best 4 player co-op games I've played so far, it so highly creative and imaginative.

Dunka Dunka.

86

Mayhem! Mayhem! Mayhem!

TheDude0st | May 4, 2013 | See all TheDude0st's reviews »

From a boring ordinary Magician to a Deadly Destructive Master of the Elements.

This game has almost endless combination of elements and deadly spells found across all levels. Learning these new combination and spells, while casting them a instant, made me feel like a total badass. With many homours moment and little easter eggs, it sure to entertain you and your friends. Speaking of friends, this game become total mayhem of dead and destruction with friends and is probably of the best 4 player co-op games I've played so far, it so highly creative and imaginative.

Dunka Dunka.

88

A blast in Co-op, Fun sandbox solo

Niihyl | April 24, 2013 | See all Niihyl's reviews »

The game plays basically like an ARPG, but reminded me of MOBA games such as League of Legends or Dota 2. You move with the mouse and cast spells by using eight different keys on the keyboard, each of which corresponds to a different element. Combining these is great fun all on its own, and I spent quite a while just trying things out. Type D then E (earth then shield) and you'll spawn a rocky wall in front of you. Q and F (water and fire) will let you cast spells with steam. Cast lightning and heal to jolt dead friends back to life; and that's where the real fun starts.

Playing with friends, especially with VOIP, makes Magicka one of the most fun things ever. Magic is dangerous, and you're just as likely to blow yourself and your friends up than kill enemies. Battling waves of enemies while simultaneously "accidentally" shooting friends just doesn't get old. The story isn't anything special, but it'll get a few laughs out of you. The DLC packs - the ones that add new stages, at least - are excellent as well, while the extra robes and staves aren't important at all.

The game is plagued with bugs, though it's been fixed considerably since release. The game will lag and stutter, it'll crash, friends will freeze out of games. It's a bit like playing a Bethesda game, really. These are pretty easy to forgive, however, as stages aren't too difficult with a few friends in tow... they might even be harder if you spend more time blasting each other apart.

90

Amazing game with friends

nucture | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all nucture's reviews »

If you are looking for a super fun game to play with a friend or 2 then look no further. This game will have you going through a funny campaign mode that can last up to 5-10hours and loads of DLC content and versus and challenge mode! Do not pass this up! Pick it up on sale if you are not sure about it. It's usually always on sale. Pick this up and get ready to kill loads of enemies..And your friends!

80

Magicka: Amazingly fun game

ARTillery | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all ARTillery's reviews »

A great fun game that also has coop, survival (waves) and pvp, the game is great and cheap you can also enjoy the multiplayer with your friends and have a lot of fun slaying monsters and discovering new spells and combinations of elements. I recommend this game.

92

Awesome Game

tichimu616 | July 24, 2012 | See all tichimu616's reviews »

Fun as hell,easy to play,hours of fun and tons of cheap DLC and expansions

62

Very fun with 'Magic Moment', but still a lot of improvements.

tszkwing | June 17, 2012 | See all tszkwing's reviews »

I've played this game for about 30 hours. I can really enjoy myself in the game, and also with my friends. The ideas of the game are creative and good, the combination of elements. However, there are still many bugs in the game and TOO many DLCs. If you are interested in this game, I recommend you to buy in sale to save more.

80

Magicka: You and your friends will die many times

net_runner | May 21, 2012 | See all net_runner's reviews »

Magicka is unique game, best played with three friends, you will cast spells, by combining various natural elements (like water,fire,earth,etc.) and if you're good at it help each other out and breeze through the game and if you are not... you will kill each other in most hilarious ways and revive and kill each other again, by crossing spell beams of different elements. The only downsides of the game are that it can hang up on you and often feels laggy/stuttering even on high-end PC.

In short : Pick it up if you have friends to play with and you don't mind replaying the level sometimes due to crash to desktop.

78

Magicka: Incredibly Fun

Wickzki | Jan. 8, 2012 | See all Wickzki's reviews »

This is a great collection for those of you who are interested in fantasy action role playing games.

The good: Incredibly addictive magic system which is done in a different fashion than other RPGs on the market. The storyline is an enjoyable blast with numerous real-world mentions for those of you interest in pop culture (I'm an Arts student and did a pop culture unit so it was a big perk for me!). Finally, the co-op holds a lot of promise and plays out very well.

The bad : Large battles may leave you unable to keep a close eye on your health bar - so be wary! Sadly, the biggest knock is that it is buggy. The auto-saving function is annoying and could be done much better.

Well worth the savings. I highly recommend this game.