Reviews for Magicka: The Stars are Left

85

Lovecraftian Creepiness

ConorEngelb | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

H.P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu mythos is fantastically detailed and creepy, and The Stars are Left successfully brings this rich mythology into Magicka, in the form of several brand new levels to play through. Like standard Magicka, the levels range from fun to play to frustratingly chalening (yet still fun), but with the added creepiness of Lovecraft's creation.

85

Great fun!

Donrenegade | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Donrenegade's reviews »

I personally haven't really played it for the story. However I did play it in co-op, which in my opinion was awesome. It has a couple of new enemies and a very hard final boss(or we just fought him using the wrong spells). I personally had to experiment with new, strong spells, because the enemies had certain resistances to elements I always use. It seemed frustrating at first, but eventually it's for the best. It made me a more varied user of elements.

There are some bugs in this DLC. When using certain mages like the Rogue Robe allowed us to skip ahead of certain parts of the DLC with his teleport ability. Certain puzzles could be ignored completely. Despite reports of other people, I haven't encountered a single crash.

I had a lot of fun playing this and after having played this, I still want more. It might be fairly short, but it's not very expensive either. This DLC really is worth it at full price.

71

Magicka: The Stars are Left - review

carlyle | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Arrowhead and Paradox insist on particular tone mix of fantasy "serious" and parody crazy with the new expansion of Magicka, who on this occasion brings horror classic colors in The Stars are Left. The new expansion explores Lovecraftian settings and atmospheres touching the myth of Cthulhu, while maintaining the ironic note that distinguishes the game. This is also not necessary for the gameplay in the strict sense, but nice all in all if you appreciate the dark side.

88

Cthulhu's Menace

DonVercetti | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

I have spend several hours in this specific content with a friend in co-op. This is an aboslutey amazing added storyline. I'm either not very good at Magicka or it is decently hard to finish. The bosses are quite a hard mountain to climb, I bow to those who would finish the game without dying. The Story itself is completely different from the original Magicka story. All new sorts of puzzles and levelbuilds, which is great! Great DLC, Arrowhead!

80

For the Cthulhu cultists out there

Kradath | Nov. 7, 2012 | See all Kradath's reviews »

This DLC is quite decent especially for fans of the Cthulhu Mythos which is the basic setting for this neat little addon.

Sadly the base game still has it's edges which can lead you into bugs or connection issues when playing coop.

Other than that this DLC is quite fun even though it's also quite short.

Recommended.

80

Ia! Ia! Cthulhu fhtagn!

sweetcuppincake | Oct. 18, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

While most of the DLC for Magicka is new robes or PvP arenas, The Stars are Left is a series of new levels to play. This alone makes it the best of the DLC in my opinion, but I haven't even told you the best part. This expansion deals with the Cthulhu mythos. Everything else is standard Magicka, but with the added bonus of Lovecraft's signature mind-rending horror. It's still challenging and frustratingly so at times, but much shorter than the regular game, and therefore easier to handle. Definitely worth picking up if you like Magicka.

74

Decent DLC

dark2025 | Sept. 21, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

For starters, the campaign is quite short, but also quite difficult. It's by far better to play this one with a couple of friends. There seem to be some game fixes too, but it's still quite buggy and will crash sometimes. Besides that... I mean, it's just more Magicka, so if you are a fan of the game you'll certainly want to pick this one up, otherwise leave it and play the main game first. You can always buy this at a later time if you feel like it.

81

Finally, a Magicka DLC done right

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

If you had to choose from only one magicka DLC this would be the one. It adds a fair share of new content and a new campaign, so it justifies it's price. This new campaign is still a lot of fun, so if you completed the main campaign and want more magicka this is the DLC you are looking for.

85

The best Magicka DLC

ojotas | June 25, 2012 | See all ojotas's reviews »

You played Magicka? You enjoyed Magicka? You dont want to buy all DLC's? Well this is the DLC that worth buying, it offer a new campaing. With new magicks, new enemies and new bosses. Cthulhu is a nice challenge. There are some fun puzzles to solve. On the side note, you have to know that you wont have all the magicks from the main campaing, just a few like Haste and Revive, and the new ones that comes with this DLC. In conclusion: If you enjoyed Magicka, there no reason for you to not buy this DLC.