Reviews for To The Moon Cap

93

Alive and emotional art form

spr1n | May 14, 2014 | See all spr1n's reviews »

Its barely a game, its a piece of art. It starts slow, but it gets progressively better having a peak at the very end. Level of emotional involvement is just incredible that almost no AAA titles have and guarantee you great experience, just with a bit simple and lacking gameplay, but amazing story to put you through.

Couple doctors arrive to grant dying man last wish - "To the Moon". How hard can it be to go through old man's memories, alternate his past and dreams for young qualified doctors, to ensure his adjusted dream-life brings him to the moon before he dies? Apparently dying man doesn't know why he wants go to the moon at the first place, he just does. Doctors are going to discover that its not about him, its about people he loves and cares; its about his only dream he worked for his whole life; its about connection between all those things. Would one dream destroy another one and all he lived for? Would it make him miserable, make him find something new, both or something else? Is there time to make it work? This game is so alive and tense it almost made me cry. I witnessed beautiful dreams, lives, endings, losses, achievements and success altogether, leading man to his dream, To the Moon and everything beyond it.

89

Heartwrenching and powerful

supersheep27 | April 18, 2014 | See all supersheep27's reviews »

I played this game from start to finish in one sitting, and it's amazing how much feeling carries through despite the simplistic graphics. Please don't let the top-down view deter you from giving this a go - it is an emotional tour-de-force that I'm sure will have many crying before the game is completed. It is evident that the producers of To The Moon created it with love and care, as each conversation brings out another aspect of its characters and makes them appear even more human.

To The Moon is not perfect. The gameplay itself is mediocre, consisting of fairly dull puzzles, and it's not particularly long. But these are minor faults in comparison to the narrative. If you enjoyed games like The Walking Dead, this is well worth a try.

100

Tears were shed

Dyzzles | April 17, 2014 | See all Dyzzles's reviews »

It's really hard to get this game out of my head, even though it's been days now since I've completed it...

The story was so well done that it left me staring at my screen for more than just a few minutes at some points, just trying to fathom what I witnessed. And that's an understatement! I genuinely cried.

Aside from the story, the game is mostly you searching for clues and solving puzzles. Those can be a bit tricky if you're not puzzle savvy, but nothing that can't be solved with a minute or two of brainstorming. That being said, though, the puzzles aren't really rewarding, which is a bit of a shame, but I personally can live with that.

All in all, this game definitely deserves more attention than it has right now. I highly suggest you play it. :)

95

As a game? Not much. As a whole? Ah.... I cried (in a good way)

Ryukrieger | April 16, 2014 | See all Ryukrieger's reviews »

To The Moon, as a game is not much, it's just a point-and-click adventure. But the most amazing parts about this game doesn't come from the gameplay, if you ask me "Would it be worth it to play this game?", I would ask that if you had a heart, you would. Let's break it down. Gameplay: The usual point-and-click. I'm giving no spoilers, but the game is similar to an RPG, but instead of moving around with keys, you use your mouse and lead the characters as they navigate, the other section includes "Find the important thing in the area" which requires you to move around and find those important items that would progress the story (but not as boring as the "Here's a picture, click on the items in the picture!" but you will have to navigate around like an actual top-down RPG game!) Story and Music: Fantastic, if games could be rated on story and music alone, I'll give this a 100! The story brings tears to my eyes and the music keeps coming back to my ears (They're in my playlist). You play this, you will never forget it! Graphics: Ah, the nice 2D Top-Down RPG, styled and fun, of course it would never get old!

In short, the game may not be much of a game, but its music and story are both fantastic, the moment you finish the game, you will feel kind of empty inside (but also feel some happiness for the characters), the emotion of this game is powerful, if you have heart for humanity, I think you will love this game!

A 95 from me! Despite the gameplay is not much, everything else made up for the lack of it! I'm not going to lie, the story and music of game is... well... I can't tearing up... sorry.... I'll just... end here.

But anyway, this is just a (personal) game recommendation!

85

prototype of indie videogames point and click

icnivadodranoel | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all icnivadodranoel's reviews »

There is a touch of magic that accompanies the story, something that is hard to find.

Glaring example that ideas, good ones, those originals always win versus big budgets of large Software House

Really nice music ... so many quotes and type of the characters.

you must try it, it is an experience that will involve ... and more importantly, will leave you something, you also will find a special place to the moon ...

94

The game that brought tears to my eyes

blinx503 | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all blinx503's reviews »

To the moon has a very interesting way of play. It seems to try to be a point and click adventure, and in many ways it is, but the majority of the game can be played with the keyboard. That being said, To The Moon doesn't really play like a video game. More along the lines of an interactive story. Personally, this is fine, but if you were looking for a challenging puzzle game or old styled point'n'click, look elsewhere.

Now for the main meat of the game: the story. TTM has an amazing story, and the deliverance of that story could hardly be done better. Because you control where the people go, the pacing feels just right. Too often in movies, and even sometimes in game cutscenes, the characters don't like they explore their surroundings enough. You just sit there in your chair looking at the detailed background that's being ignored. Not here though. If you see something off to the side, and think it's an interesting find, you can go check it out. Along with the pacing being under your control, the story is told out-of-timeline. Without spoiling anything, the timeline starts out going backwards, then in the later parts of the game, it jumps around. The way this is done works with the story so ingenuously. This is because it uses these elements to throw you on an emotional roller coaster. At first it's depressing, then it starts getting more depressing, then it get angering, then it gets happy, then it gets frightening, and so on and so forth. By the end of the game though, I had tears streaming down my face as I was left in a state of emotional confusion. This game created what is now known as "Manly Tears", which are tears based off of purely emotions.

Overall, I can't say this game is amazing or great, or even enjoyable. But, I can say that this experience was something I wish I could have 10 times over. So definitely go and experience this story.

95

Allow Me to Tell You A Story

my123for5 | Feb. 2, 2014 | See all my123for5's reviews »

Storytelling has become a lost art in our modern culture, We watch movies with more special effects than writing and play games with stories that could have been written by a child. This not one of those, "To the Moon" Is not a game, its not about what you do, or how you see it, its about immersing you in a story.

This is NOT a "game", a game is defined as "a activity or contest that has rules and that people do for pleasure" this simply cannot fall into that field. Most games are built on escapism, the desire to experience something you will not or cannot in this life. This doesn't offer that. That is not to say that you could do what happens in this game, but rather that doing it is not the point.

As this is not a game it is not about what you see necessarily, That said the art style it is presented in is fairly attractive. However what stands out is not the imagery but the music. The music in this game is beautiful but Its sole purpose is to bring you more into the story, to make you feel warm and fuzzy, and to break your heart.

This "game" is about experiencing a story. it follows two doctors as they attempt to give a dying man his final wish. They do this by going though is memories from the present to when he was a child and rewriting his memory to allow him, in his final moments, to digitally experience what he never did in life. During this you get to know several characters, including the doctors, the man, and his deceased wife. You see the man as he struggled in life, and how he changed.

As I have said this is not a game, So if you buy it expecting to play something about fights, bosses, treasure, and saving the day then you will be very very disappointed. This "game" is solely about experiencing the story of two doctors who help an old man see how it all could have been. Everything about it is to draw you closer into that story.

86

Great story telling indie game.

CrysisX | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

To The Moon is a simple RPG game with very basic controls which is not hard to learn. The gameplay offered in this game is very simple and boring though the soundtrack is fantastic which matches every scene perfectly. Graphics wise, its nothing special or pretty since it's an indie game so don't expect much. The story of the game is pretty interesting and will always keep you wanting to know what is going to happen next. There's not much to explore in game and it's only 4 hours long. Overall, I recommend playing this game in one sitting if you have to few hours to spare to fully enjoy this game.

100

Outstanding

RogueDarkJedi | Jan. 21, 2014 | See all RogueDarkJedi's reviews »

I'm still extremely emotional over this game. It's incredibly touching experience. It absolutely deserves the praise it has earned. The gameplay mechanics are simple that anyone can easily pick up and play. The graphics are simply wonderful and the music is literally enchanting.

The game reminds me of Chrono Trigger with heart. To the Moon touches on themes that games haven't explored before in such narrative expertise. In a sea of games that claim to be "experiences", only a few have really pulled it off and most have left a sour taste in ones mouth afterwards. To the Moon destroys any premonitions you had about games with story and then wrecks your heart with amazing creative flow.

I feel ashamed that I did not give this game a look before, and if you haven't played it yet, I deeply suggest you do.

Verdict: WORTH IT.

84

Interactive story with game elements

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Even though To The Moon looks like a classic top down RPG from the early '90s it is in fact a beautifully told story that includes some miniscule game elements (namely you have to find some objects in the house). So if it is not a game let's focus on the part where the game shines. The story is an interesting and engaging one. Even though linear it managed to captivate me and made me play the game through almost in one go. Without spoiling anything I can just say if you want to experience a beautifully told bittersweet story then go for it.

93

Let Go of Your Preconceptions

bwrussell | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

To The Moon is one of those games that really shows what can be done with the medium besides bathing in blood and violence. I won't say it was the greatest game I ever played or that it even made me think more than any other game but it delivered a deep, impactful story in an engaging and tasteful way. Not calling this a game because it's story based and doesn't have much traditional gameplay is selling ourselves short as gamers. Even the basic interactivity is enough to make To The Moon more immersive and personal than simply watching the story unfold like a movie.

The writing, so important to a game like this, is exceptionally well delivered. The ease at which they are able to pull out various emotions in you is simply amazing. In what is mostly a bittersweet mood the writers are able to create some quite funny moments that still manage to not shatter the somber tone.

The basic graphical style fits well. There is no need for 3D models and fancy rendering, it would only detract from point. The music is stellar. Go watch the trailer somewhere and you will instantly know if it's your thing. If you do like it, then I would suggest getting the soundtrack bundle.

To The Moon is bordering on "must play" territory. I can't recommend it enough. Even if, especially if, this doesn't seem like your kind of game, try it. Keep an open mind and heart while you play and you will be better for it.

85

Not an impressive game

StrawberrySilk | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all StrawberrySilk's reviews »

Let's be honest. Gameplay - meh. Graphics - meh.

So yeah, is it an impressive game in this day and age? Not by any long shot.

Still, I'm rating it highly for a few reasons. This is like watching a comic book story that you can "control" certain factors. It's all linear and for good reason. The story and music are key to this. In fact, if this was made into a movie or a TV drama, I would be on the hype train straight away. Take my money, no questions asked.

Yes, I stand by what I said, not an impressive game. But don't be fooled, I was BLOWN AWAY by the conversations and the story.

It's on sale. Do you have change to spare? Best 4 hours for this year just for $2.50.

95

story telling at its finest

travelbug | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all travelbug's reviews »

i love rpg's, action adventure games, and strategy games, but ive never played a game with a better story, period. the simple graphics, audio, simple gameplay controls and even the length of the 'game' all adds to this experience.

make no mistake, i like a lot action and killing and violence. but this was such a refreshing change of pace, it brings you back to what is important in life. the story telling is so good that id dare say it will compete with the best movies and books out there.

all in all, a masterful achievement in 'game' design.

90

Definitely an experience

thezayel | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all thezayel's reviews »

Having missed out on the old RPG generation, I don't really have the infatuation with pixel graphics others might have, but even I have to admit that the aesthetic, rather than alienate, just pulled me in. It's moving, vibrant and the story takes all the right steps in grabbing your heart and never letting go, even long after the credits have rolled.

100

A Beautiful "Game"

Kinmarr | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all Kinmarr's reviews »

Calling this a "game" isn't entirely accurate I think. It's working more in the vein of interactive stories such as The Path. I bought this game on a few reviews that mentioned the powerful storytelling. I was skeptical, but for the price I thought it was worth the risk. The storytelling in the game was really moving and I challenge anyone to get through it without crying. This won't be a game for everyone, seeing as it has very limited gameplay. If you're interested in a wonderful story, with great writing and a great soundtrack though then look no further than To The Moon. If you're looking for another Call of Duty or explosions then keep on looking.

97

This is a game to imitate

Balmong7 | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all Balmong7's reviews »

To The Moon is a beautifully well written and scored interactive novel, and that really is the best way to describe it, an interactive novel. You point and click your way through levels solving obvious puzzles and becoming attached to characters that you know you may never see show up again. Through plot twists that will make you cry and many moments of comic relief, (including a zombie section) To The Moon will capture you and leave you begging for more.

80

Beautiful story, mediocre gameplay

bjarven | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all bjarven's reviews »

The game is beautifully made with stunning retro graphics and the plot is deep and compelling. This could have been a great story driven movie-like game. The gameplay itself is rather dull with some simple puzzles and fetch quests - don’t get me wrong tho its well worth playing. However, the somewhat juvenile conversations between the main characters goes against the overall feeling of the mature and touching storyline - and in the end I find their presence in the game unnecessary and annoying. All in all this game is all about the emotional story.

100

You will cry..a lot.

hadouken123456 | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all hadouken123456's reviews »

I have never played a game with such beautiful storytelling. You become so attached to the characters and engrossed with the narrative that you almost forget you are playing a game, and feel more like you are reading one of the best novels ever written. The developer has truly proven that video games are a work of art by crafting this masterpiece.

75

Moving Narrative, Anemic Gameplay

BavarianGod | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all BavarianGod's reviews »

There are some games we play for the experience and others that we play for the sheer entertainment they provide. One could argue that the finest examples of what video games offer balance both. Some games manage to do one or the other exceptionally well but fail to strike that coveted balance. To the Moon is part of the latter category. As a “game” it is rather anemic but it does manage to excel as a narrative experience. While some balk at the idea of taking part in an interactive story, those who are open to the concept will find To the Moon to be fulfilling though not without flaw.
To the Moon opens with you taking control of Dr. Eva Rosalene and Dr. Neil Watts, two members of Sigmund Corps., who are on a job to help fulfill the dying with of a man named Johnny Wyles. Watts and Rosalene have a rather interesting piece of tech supplied to them by their employer to accomplish this rather weighty task. They can enter people's memories and implant suggestions earlier in their memories, which essentially create paradoxes leading them to fabricate memories that never occurred. In Johnny's case he wishes to go to the moon but he isn't completely sure why... This makes the Duo of Watts and Rosalene rather complicated. They must take steps backward through his memories via mementos in an effort to understand why he wants to go to the moon. Hindsight being 20/20 it should be easy to figure out how to get Johnny to the moon right? If it were there wouldn't be much of a plot. Johnny's memories are rather cloudy and his wife's unusual behavior makes Johnny's desire only more confusing and unusual.
The plot of To the Moon is ultimately a love story. The world doesn't need to be saved, a powerful artifact needn't be secured, there are no nuclear warheads, no physical conflict. In this regard To the Moon is unique in the video game world and it is an appreciable step forward in terms of expanding what a video game can be. It also manages to present some touching and very human moments. More sensitive players may even shed a tear or two. It's more touching moments are frustratingly countered by poor attempts at humor by Dr. Watts. A large portion of his dialogue is cringe-worthy. He likes to make obnoxious puns and pop culture references that often spoil the mood. There is room for humor in a game like this but what's on offer is the stuff of really bad fan fiction. Humor aside the writing is solid though not exceptional. There are themes of individuality and identity woven throughout the narrative and flesh out the characters quite well. Aside from Dr. Watt's groan inducing humor I was also disappointed by the lack of development for the characters that you actually control. The story centers squarely on Johnny and those in his life but we learn next to nothing about Watts and Rosalene. It would have been nice to learn more about them and their relationship.
Perhaps the strongest aspect of To the Moon is the music. Made in RPG Maker, To the Moon lacks spoken dialogue but the music tells you more than words could. The soundtrack is driven by piano melodies that are sometimes underscored by string arrangements. Do yourself a favor if this games appeals to you in anyway and buy the game bundled with the soundtrack. If this is not your kind of game just buy the soundtrack. Also doing an impressive job carrying the emotional weight of the story are the visuals. The 16 bit sprites are detailed and great care has been taken to get them to emote in meaningful ways. The creator's of To the Moon must have studied hard from the book Final Fantasy VI wrote on how to get characters to emote with simple visuals.
Gameplay consists of searching for objects which allow the protagonists to use mementos to progress deeper into Johnny's memories. Once the memento is unlocked a simple puzzle must be completed in order to travel back. This process repeats itself through most of the game. More diligent players won't find anything off of the critical path. No extra details or plot nuances are added by talking to characters multiple times and only NPCs of importance can be interacted with. It's on the gameplay front that To the Moon takes it's biggest nose dive. The puzzles are not difficult enough nor varied enough to be rewarding and not being able to gain extra insight into the game's events by talking to NPCs or finding objects of interest really diminish the interactive element of To the Moon. Also, by emphasizing narrative there is little replay value for this three hour game.
What To the Moon lacks as a game it mostly makes up for as an experience. An incredible soundtrack and strong visual presentation makes up for failed attempts at humor and easy, repetitive puzzles. While To the Moon isn't for everyone, it is a very unique game that offers a love story that is not an ancillary component to a more grandiose plot. It is an appreciable dose of humanity in a market cluttered by games with narratives rife with machismo, self aggrandizement, and over the top acts of heroism. Here is to hoping that Freebird games works on the gameplay portion of their next release while maintaining their commitment to presenting narratives that are touching and humble.

95

A Breakthrough in Interactive Media

shadowsxfall | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all shadowsxfall's reviews »

I went into To the Moon with no expectations whatsoever. I bought the game entirely on a whim, hoping for a good game to come out of the purchase. What I received was not what I was hoping for, but something much more than I could have ever expected. To the Moon is not a "game" in the traditional sense. There are no choices, battles, fancy graphics, or even much gameplay at all. If you go into this game expecting a videogame, you are out of luck. To the Moon is more of an interactive experience with an exceptional, moving soundtrack and a thought-provoking and touching story. Simply buy this game, you will not regret the 2 or 3 hours that you spend with this gem.

90

A superb idea, marvelously executed

Elfangorax | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Elfangorax's reviews »

This game blends the futuristic technology and roles of the two scientists witnessing and influencing the memories with the events of the memories themselves so incredibly well; the visual aesthetic never lets you truly forget that you are witnessing an artificial representation of a dying man's memories, and yet you can't help but want to get lost in the story of his life.

And it is a story masterfully told: we know the end from the off, but every step backward lends more colour to what we already know, reinforcing the theme that the journey is just as important as the destination.

This game is a joy to witness.

(On a personal note, I delighted in all the references to my childhood favourite book series!)

90

Surprisingly Powerful and Emotional

Turambar29 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Turambar29's reviews »

Beautiful in a reto-style, To the Moon features hauntingly beautiful music and a story that is surprisingly moving. It's a novel clad in SNES-era Final Fantasy style graphics and gameplay, but without the combat. Instead, it features a personal and emotional story of a man, his wife, and his lifelong dream, along with the suffering and disappointments attendant to them. I continue to think about the game and its story, and look forward to the next one.

97

Could be a book

cordin | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all cordin's reviews »

As i played to the moon and went through the memories of Mr. old man, i didn't feel anything for the kid or the adult until i found out about the bunk bed, through the game it tricks you into believing who this one man is, but over the climax it makes you feel emotionally connected, I has on the brink of crying at the ending point. this game has one of the best story i have ever seen or read for that matter, and i wouldn't mind if this was a book, as for the game play and controls, what are you going to do, the whole game is about the story. the game play is so you can walk through the world and relate to the man. I loved it.

88

A Rollercoaster of Feelings

Caputalis | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Caputalis's reviews »

I purchased this game a few days ago, and I still feel the need to come and write a review about it. To The Moon brings a lot to the table, and sets the bar high for future story driven games. With its unique 2D graphics, this game appeals to the eye, while still maintaining a feeling of realism mixed in with fantasy.

Only matched by its brilliant soundtrack, the game's story is its focal point. You take control of two scientists who jump into a dying man's memories in order to fulfill his final wish before death. Although this may sound somewhat bizarre, you learn things about this man's life along the way, and as you go through one memory to the next, questions arise, and connections are made by the player leading up the final moments of the game.

Like every game, though, To The Moon also has its shortcomings. Throughout the game, the controls felt a bit stiff. You have two options: Keyboard or Mouse. I found the mouse to be hard to control, and the movement with the keyboard felt like it could have been worked on a little more.

The gameplay itself may come off as somewhat repetitive, as you're tasked to search for certain objects to progress to the next memory. This sense of repetition is eclipsed, though, as each object holds significance to the story being told by this game.

Despite these shortcomings, To The Moon is one of those games you wish you could forget just to play it over again in ignorance. This game takes you on a rollercoaster of feelings, with ups as well as downs, and occasionally a loop -- and this rollercoaster is definitely worth waiting in line for.

85

Beautiful and Short

TCass29 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Video games are art, there's no doubt about it. Video games are the ultimate story-telling media because your investment in the protagonist runs much deeper than a felt connection...it's actually you. This game does an incredible job of telling the story it tells. The gameplay is simple which lets the story really shine.

It's a well-written lovely story in pretty settings.

95

Fantastic and Moving Game

Azza124 | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all Azza124's reviews »

I bought this game a while ago as part of a bundle and it didn't interest me whatsoever but when I did try it boy was I surprised. I wish I had got round to playing it a lot earlier.

It is a 2D game with fairly simple graphics but with a gripping and emotional story, the game knows when to be funny but also knows how to move you to tears in a few minutes.

The developers should be very proud of what they have produced here. The game will only take you about 4 hours to complete, but it will be one of the best 4 hours you've ever spent on a game. A sequel has also been confirmed for late 2013 for everyone to look forward to.

I thoroughly recommend this game to anyone especially for the low price.

92

A Great Piece of Art

WewWew | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all WewWew's reviews »

I was looking for a good price when I see the game on GreenManGaming. There was a good sale on it and I immediately bought and started playing.

Game starts with an old man who is in the deathbed wanting to go to moon in his memories. Our characters took off to journey in his memories to replace his them with the memories of going to the moon. Yet, our story goes into many ways and we found ourselves watching and playing the most beautiful story ever. It is very successful to bring our tears and make us laugh simultaneously.

The game is not that long and can be finished in four hours. Everybody needs to live that adventure and play the game.

95

Amazing game

lexf | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lexf's reviews »

“To The Moon” was made by small indie game studio “Freebird Games” and designed using the “RPG Maker XP” engine, so game have old school 2D 16-bit graphics. Gameplay is simple but, in my opinion, it’s not so important when there is a wonderful and very emotional story. Story is really well made. I experienced a bunch of different emotions during the game. Game keeps you inside the story and doesn’t let go until the end and it’s great.
Game soundtrack is amazing. Every track are like a part of story. And jokes, they are really smart and funny.
You definitely must play this game.

95

Small piece of art

fluiscs | July 28, 2013 | See all fluiscs's reviews »

A game that could be called rather graphic novel touched the heart of more than one.

Created with RPG Maker XP shows that the graphics are not everything and some simple 2D images, and a beautiful soundtrack can give life to a story to convey much more than we can deliver a game with the latest in graphics.

To the Moon is a game based on his story, a beautiful story with touches of humor, a story told in fragmented memories and ordered from the newest to the childhood and we will ask search these memories along the way skip to the next.

With a duration of about 4h is a game that is worth living.

95

Thought Provoking Adventure

aislingyngaio | July 13, 2013 | See all aislingyngaio's reviews »

Once you get over the fact that it's a non-RPG made by RPG Maker and enjoy it as an adventure game, it's easy to get lured into the story and while the story of the man may seem incomprehensible and even juvenile at times, by the mid-end it will take a turn that will leave your lurching in disbelief and comprehension that few games manage to do. The music is wonderfully composed by the developer himself, a credit to him, and while some of the background graphics are stock RTP, the atmosphere is beautifully meshed. The ending of the game is easily the one of the best choreographed of all the games I've played - it will set your heart pounding, and bring tears to your eyes. Overall, a must play, even if only once!

95

A great little game

odren | July 12, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

It's really quite something. It accomplished quite well creating a sense of emotional attachment to what was happening in the story. something that most games do not manage. it is well worth your time.

100

A emotional response

anto103 | July 8, 2013 | See all anto103's reviews »

There are so little games out there than can get an emotional response out of me. And so little games that will ever get full marks out of me at all. This is one of those games, with the beautiful music of To The Moon and the great storyline with such simple gameplay. This indiegame is something very special. And I wholeheartedly recommend it.

95

Beautiful story

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | See all grunts00's reviews »

This game is very much story oriented, there isn't much gameplay. However, the absolutely incredible story definitely makes up for the lack of playtime.

The time that you're in control consists of exploring and interacting with characters and objects.

This game takes about 4 hours to complete, and once you start playing you won't want to stop.

85

So Sad!

wire306 | July 5, 2013 | See all wire306's reviews »

The game is amazing to say the least. It has become one of my all time favorite indie games. The graphics are stunning and the 16 bit style just ads to the effect. You have sound that just fits in and the story line is like no other game I have played before. I would definitely advise anyone get this game, even if you aren't indie savvy!

81

Great story

lok0812 | July 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

To The Moon is one of the best interactive stories I have ever experienced, the plot is very unique and sometimes heartbreaking. The story is great and the soundtrack is beautiful. It's more of an interactive story than a game but please don't let this discourage you. It deserves a playthrough. Get it and sit back to enjoy a 3-5 hour long 'movie'. After all - it doesn't cost more than what you'd pay to see one.

93

An Incredible Title

caspica | June 19, 2013 | See all caspica's reviews »

This game is fantastic. Let's just get that out in the open. This game will make you feel all the possible feelings the human being is able to feel. It is one of the most atmospheric, engrossing gaming experiences I have ever come across. The 2D old-school graphics is not only a good way to get the story across but will actually contribute to the game's character in a major way. Since this is a game heavily reliant on the progression of characters the game mechanics themselves become subpar but, as is the case with for example Journey, that is a meaningless flaw. To the Moon is a game I would recommend to each and everyone that is even remotely interested in video games.

90

Amazing Storytelling

Jiubatha | June 11, 2013 | See all Jiubatha's reviews »

To The Moon left a nice impression on me. It was a game that once I finished it I kept thinking about it for weeks. Every time I would talk to someone about games I would recommend To The Moon.

The story of this game is what will draw you in and keep you playing. Its emotionally stimulating and can really get you thinking about certain issues the game brings up. It truly is an amazing story. The soundtrack is just as powerful as the story. I had to go buy the soundtrack after playing the game.

However, the gameplay is somewhat boring and not very engaging. Its just pointing and clicking on things to make other things happen. Controlling characters can also be difficult at times, with the path finding being unruly at times.

The game took me about 5 hours to complete with me really taking my time and enjoying the artwork and dialog. It could certainly be completed much faster. And even with the gameplay problems, the story just carried me through and made everything all right. Its a great game, and I would recommend to all looking for a nice intimate and emotional story.

85

Great Story, Great Game

Xiphora | June 11, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

To The Moon is a great game. It's driving force is its compelling, emotional, and well though out story. The story really well paced, and is accompanied by an extraordinary soundtrack that throws you into the story. There isn't much outside the narrative; combat and exploration is nothing special, and neither are the graphics. But that isn't what To The Moon's about. It's the extremely well told story, that will leave many feeling very emotional. It's a four hour adventure, but it's one of the best four hours of any story.

87

Very good!

DanielZo0 | June 10, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Few other games have even come close to achieving what this little indie game has in it's 4 hour long gameplay period. To the moon is a sort of game which makes you howl with laughter one moment while making you weep the next. It uses every single pixel on screen to mesmerize you and astonish you as to how much emotion can be portrayed using a 16 bit look. The story takes the supreme precedence in this adventure/RPG game (though there is almost no RPG elements- apart from a very humorous jab at jRPG early in the game). The creator uses the game mostly to paint a wonderful story surrounding love, adventure, life and death. Some might not like it since gameplay takes the back seat, but I assure you that this is the kind of game which makes most of the movies and tv shows look petty. While the gameplay elements are pretty straightforward for anyone to pickup quickly, there are some small challenges along the way concerning the number of moves to complete intermittent puzzles. The game does falter a little bit towards the end, making use of tedious chasing sequences at one point but that is small enough to be forgiven. All in all this is a game which raises indie gaming to a whole different level in terms of its storytelling and the thoughtfulness of its premise- I might say as good as Braid and Limbo. Do yourself a favor and play this game.

86

Lovely, Old School, and Wistful

Turambar29 | June 10, 2013 | See all Turambar29's reviews »

To the Moon is an unexpectedly powerful game. The style is a call-back to the 16-bit era of RPGs; however, this is merely a canvass for the the work; you'll not find combat of any kind (aside from one joke), stats to increase, or enemies to overcome. Instead, you'll find fleshed out characters who experience incredible heartbreak in the midst of a moving love story.

The plot? Two memory techs come to implant memories into the mind of a dying man, a sort of "Total Recall" technology. The story follows their exploration of the patient's mind as they seek the optimal path for memory implantation. What they learn along the way is surprisingly moving, with a few twists. I was genuinely shocked at how emotional my response to this story was. It is a journey well worth taking, with the added nostalgia of old-school rpg atmosphere.

A final word - the soundtrack is very well done. You will enjoy it as a great complement to the rest of the game/story!

97

AMAZING. STORY.

Senyx92 | June 8, 2013 | See all Senyx92's reviews »

This game just had the most amazing, suspension, and moving story EVER. I was in love with it, and I just could not pause it till I was done with it. When it comes to the controls on the game, they aren't perfect, and the graphics are a bit old school, but the game is about a moving story and nothing more. There's no combat or anything. It's just you discovering more of the story and more secrets hidden under a veil. The music in the game is outstanding as well, and so well timed too. The music just made that much more of an impact while playing the game. In total, I beat the game within 3 hours, but worth it.

97

The Citizen Kane of games (for real this time)

Jimangi | May 28, 2013 | See all Jimangi's reviews »

I've used that term many a time before but never without irony. Never before have I played something that could legitimately hold the title (Though, having said that, I haven't actually seen the film, I make the claim entirely based upon what other people say about it). Direction is something not often discussed within this medium. Something so expertly crafted in every element as reminds me of its importance. There's humour, tragedy, a wonderful sountrack and all without voice acting and with minimal graphical bells and whistles. If you don't go in expecting something 'gamey', this shares little in mechanics with its RPG maker kin, then anyone should find To the Moon to be a wondrous achievment. I hesitate to say it seems perfect, but... well...

97

The Citizen Kane of games (for real this time)

Jimangi | May 28, 2013 | See all Jimangi's reviews »

I've used that term many a time before but never without irony. Never before have I played something that could legitimately hold the title (Though, having said that, I haven't actually seen the film, I make the claim entirely based upon what other people say about it). Direction is something not often discussed within this medium. Something so expertly crafted in every element as reminds me of its importance. There's humour, tragedy, a wonderful sountrack and all without voice acting and with minimal graphical bells and whistles. If you don't go in expecting something 'gamey', this shares little in mechanics with its RPG maker kin, then anyone should find To the Moon to be a wondrous achievment. I hesitate to say it seems perfect, but... well...

96

The Citizen Kane of games (for real this time)

Jimangi | May 28, 2013 | See all Jimangi's reviews »

I've long used that term ironically, but now I finally have something I can legitimately describe as such, though, having said that, I haven't actually seen Citizen Kane so that claim is based entirely on what other people think. Direction is something not discussed enough in this medium. It takes something that can so expertly get so many elements right for one to realise its importance. This is the case with To the Moon. The things that Freebird have managed to achieve with no voice-acting and minimal graphics are astounding. The combination of well-placed wit, of scenes both heartwarming and tragic and of a superb soundtrack that will resonate even with those with no knowledge of the game make for a rare gem, a near perfect game. Any issues are incredibly minor unless you approach To the Moon expecting a more typical 'gamey' experience. Despite being created in RPG maker this shares few mechanics with its kin.

90

Story at its best

Stebsis | May 25, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Developers really knew how to make the story in To The Moon. This is emotional tale of a man's life and his dream. The 16 bit graphics, done with RPG Maker XP engine, are just gorgeous to look at. This still isn't exactly a game, there aren't really any choises to be made, foes to fight, puzzles to solve. This is just a story and an experience, one of the best indie titles out there.

100

Most moving game ever!

TheGamePimp | May 25, 2013 | See all TheGamePimp's reviews »

Everything about this game is perfect. From the music to the art and everything in between (even the references!) The story, which I won't spoil, is subtle and will make you want to stay to find out why Johnny want to go to the moon. The graphics are cute, and I don't think they would have worked any other way. Now, the soundtrack, this is what will make you burst to tears every single time you listen to any of the songs. Teddy is 42 second of pure epicness, and all the other songs are wonderful and very moving (they're in my iPhone already.) While the game might be short, it is worth every penny. It will stay with you hours after the credits have rolled, which you won't be able to see from how much you'll be crying.

90

Not quite a game, but a interactive pixelmovie

alkash | May 21, 2013 | See all alkash's reviews »

This game does not shine with it graphics, special effects and gamedesign. However it doesnt need to do this. This game has another purpose: To guide you through an emotional expirience, wich is only rarely seen in in todays videogames. It opens you a small new world, meanwhile discussing topics like memory change, love and authism. This game has its flaws with easy uncreative puzzles and a quite short story, but the key features of the game, setting, dialogue and characters even it out. I suggest everyone, who wants to play a game for an emotional expirience to test it out. You wont be dissapointed. I personaly cant wait for the follow-up.

100

The best game I have ever played

Laudes | May 4, 2013 | See all Laudes's reviews »

To be honest, this is the best game I have ever played. The gameplay may not be all that good, since there is not much gameplay to the game. And the gameplay that is actually there, is lame and quite boring. It is extremely obvious they added that "gameplay" just to make the game become more of a game then a interactive movie. The most interaction you will have is walking around. This is not a downside for me, I love the game the way it is, and I wouldn't change it even a tiny bit, it's perfect.

The soundtrack, oh God the soundtrack! It's the best game soundtrack ever created! I love it, I actually listen to the soundtrack on youtube sometimes, long after I've played the game out. Without this amazing music, I don't know what this game would be.

I could relate to the characters in the game, I could see myself being John, the main character. The game is so emotionally moving for me, I cried tons when playing the game, and I did it all in one 4-hour long play, non stop. I couldn't stop and leave the story waiting. I'm extremely excited to see the follow up game(s) come soon from them!

86

Rocket Ride of Emotions

Joeru | April 25, 2013 | See all Joeru's reviews »

It is hard to think a game like this could elicit the emotions response that it does. The story will make you smile, laugh and cry all the while purveying a beautiful narrative. The game itself is very story driven with some RPG and Adventure elements, nothing too complex but that's not what this game is all about.

The sound track is amazing and the art style bring me back to my youth. If you enjoy a rocket ride of emotions packed into an engaging story then this title is for you.

98

Beyond the moon

SpartanTwo | April 22, 2013 | See all SpartanTwo's reviews »

Brilliant, moving, and heart-wrenching, To the Moon is one of those games that simply has to be played; not because it has great gameplay or sharp graphics, but because it does an incredible job of telling a beautiful and mature story so rarely seen in most other video games. Its mechanics are simple puzzles, and most of it is in the style of a point-and-click adventure game. It's the only game I've ever played that actually brought tears to my eyes. It is proof that, yes, video games are a storytelling medium, and when done right, they can have just as much impact and emotional resonance as a novel or a film. Play To the Moon if you haven't already.

95

Excellent game!

fable2 | March 17, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

It was just by chance that I saw this game and gave it a try, and believe me it was well worth the investment. I have never experienced a video game of with this caliber of story telling since Ico and Shadow of the Colossus. With that said the game is very basic where there is really nothing complicated or confusing about it which allowed me to follow the whole story from start to end. The 16-bit sprites seem to have been the best fit for this game as I could not see this game using 3D polygons and what not. This is a very charming game that I would love seen made into an anime or live action movie. This game will tug on your heartstrings all the way through.

85

An emotional journey

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

To The Moon is an emotional journey, one that I haven't really ever experienced in games. It's a game with RPG Maker graphics so it looks simple, but its strength lies in its storytelling. The way the story is told is done in a way that will keep you (mostly) interested during the entire experience. While it lasts only 4 hours or so, there's very little gameplay involved (there's even a somewhat frustrating part near the end). Even though the game lacks in the graphics department, it makes up for it by its amazing soundtrack. I enjoyed it so much that I even bought it seperately afterwards. Keep an open mind, ignore the graphics and just enjoy the ride. A must own !

90

A Retro Masterpiece

wiLLie22 | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all wiLLie22's reviews »

To the Moon became one of my favourite videogames of all time. Excellent story full of twists, great soundtrack, intelligent dialogue and retro 16-bit graphics, it's a recipe for success. The gameplay is pretty simple and you can finish the game in about 5 hours but those 5 hours will be absolutely memorable unlike the time spent on most generic modern RPG's. It's an emotional and phylosophical adventure that needs to be experienced in order to be understood: the lighthouse metaphore, the platypus simbology, the character's inner conflicts (the paper rabbit and the memory lapses), it's just perfect. To the Moon is not a conventional game, it's a breath of fresh air in an oversaturated market and that's what makes it so good. Totally worth the price, recommended

95

Excellent visual novel

Guardian412 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Clever, touching, heartwarming and heartbreaking science fiction storytelling, strong and memorable characters, detailed and emphatic pixel visuals and beautiful soundtrack make To the Moon to one of my favorite story centric games of all time. Highly recommended!

90

Well worth experiencing

Lunk | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Lunk's reviews »

To The Moon is not really a game in the traditional sense. There's no real challenge involved, no combat or controls to master, no puzzles to be solved. It's controlled almost entirely with the mouse, and what you're supposed to be doing is almost always incredibly obvious. In that sense, it's almost like a movie where you control the pace at which it unfolds. It's also pretty technically limited, and at times reminded me of something made with a construction kit by a novice modder in some other game, where you'll find clunky implementations of ideas or mechanics based on what the tools will easily allow.

So why the 90 score? Because it's a wonderful achievement in storytelling. I thought some of the attempts at humor were a bit forced and grating, but I found the story touching and thought-provoking and was so absorbed in it that I played the entire thing in one sitting.

It certainly won't scratch the same itch as the latest and greatest fast-paced FPS, but if you're in the mood for some excellent storytelling, To The Moon is well worth your time and money.

90

Brilliant

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Well, this little game is a nice change from what I'm used to. It's hard to really call it a game as there is very little interactivity at all, but with a story like this it held my attention. The story is both sad and happy throughout the game play till the very end. The complexity of the story and what happens really made me stand back and consider my values. Not usually being a fan of indie titles I was considering giving this an 8.. but seeing that its probably the best indie game I've played it deserves at least a 9.

84

Visual Novel

Xibalba | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Good storytelling of the old adventure games and a deep and immersing experience, there is very little gameplay in the game, but the little there is you want out of the way as quickly as possible so as to get back to the story really awesome with a nice and good looking graphic

90

Story based game

Angeluzian | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

This is more a story based game that focuses heavily on the story. if you want to play it and not follow the story do not play it at all. Not worth it.

It's a beautiful game with an immense and touching story. It's by far one of the best stories in recent time and deserves more recognition then it has.

Play it all story players! I know you are out there.

90

Not properly a point and click, but still awesome

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game is a masterpiece. There are no puzzles, essentially is a visual novel, but his story, his music...are unique. This is only the first episode of a series, but try it and you will never regret.

95

To The Moon is the perfect RPG experience

Scorpy | Dec. 20, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Fans of RPGs such as Golden Sun and Final Fantasy will be enthralled to hear To The Moon is the perfect callback to such games. Not only is the gameplay and style similar, but the soundtrack and story are actually much better than those games.

I picked this up based on the style alone. I'm a huge fan of these types of RPGs. I wasn't disappointed. Not only that, but I was amazed by how immersing and heartfelt the story was.

To The Moon should not be missed by anybody. Whether you're a casual gamer or hardcore one, there is something for everybody here.

95

Beautiful Game

Sharptap | Dec. 15, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

You will love this game. The story , the characters , the soundtrack , everything! The Gameplay is good too , you will never believe that this was made on RPG maker . You will get so into the story that you will forget about the bad things in this game . Except one thing , the game is short , you can complete it in 5 hours. But that´s is no problem , because those 5 hours , will be the best five hours spent on gaming on your life. Buy it now

90

Dramatic Story

DukePaul | Nov. 8, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

The gameplay in this game is nothing special, it plays like an old rpg with battles turn based but there aren't many of them and it has a lot events which are minigames but the game is no about gameplay, It wants to tell you a story.

And the story is great!, wonderful and dramatic, It will make you think things around the adventure, why the characters do that, why this happens to them, it is an experience you will never forget because To the Moon is magnificient art.

I can recommend this game to all people, It is a must have for every player.

99

Lovely.

Raoin | Oct. 22, 2012 | See all Raoin's reviews »

Simple but remarkably deep. I must admit I consider To The Moon one of the best games I've ever played. Even it being limited in gameplay terms and basically linear, I really enjoyed the way that the plot goes on. It's like a movie, an emotional one. In fact, To The Moon is rather an interactive story than other thing. So if you like this kind of game, check it out, I'm pretty sure you'll have no regret.

75

Could be more flexible

migrated | Oct. 9, 2012 | See all migrated's reviews »

I really enjoyed the concept of the game where you go into a person's mind and try and recreate their wishes and their life, trying to find the seed which triggers the series of events. However, I felt like this game could have more to offer. Instead of having 1 linear sequence where you need to accomplish everything to progress, I think it would be more enjoyable if there were multiple time-lines from one childhood and the outcome depended on what you did early on. The humour was great, it really gave me a chuckle every time Dr Watt referenced another game. Lastly, the puzzle you had to solve to progress each time you found a memento was annoying. While I enjoy those puzzles, I found that they didn't add any value to the overall experience to the game, and was only a hindrance. Overall, fantastic concept which could be improved. I'll be excited to see a sequel with more interactivity.

92

Good game

Zinzun | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

So, To the Moon is not really a "game". Its an interactive story, if we want describe it. But the story is simply amazing, can catch you up and you will continue to play only to discover more of it until the end. The music themes are really beautiful, graphic looks like an RPG Maker made game, and you can't do much more then speak to other characters or move around, but this game MUST be played.

95

Best story ever told in a video game

Elwin | Aug. 3, 2012 | See all Elwin's reviews »

The first thing that is important to know about this game, is that it's barely a game-that is, it has very little gameplay.

What it does have, however, is probably the best story I've experienced in a video game format, and also a simply amazing soundtrack. those alone make this game a must play for pretty much anyone that likes a good story.

The story is that good, that it made me cry while I played the game-and I've NEVER cried from a video game besides that one-just to explain how amazing the story is.

So, as long as you approach this game like you would approach a really good movie(the game is short, rounding up at about 4 hours)-you should have an experience that will not be easily forgotten.

35

is poor

Songit | July 21, 2012 | See all Songit's reviews »

I quite like it. I prefer classical RPG with a bit more gameplay to them, but this is a game with an unusual story that is very cleverly told. It's also set in a modern world which is a nice change from the usual fantasy worlds we see in most games. That said, all is not perfect. The graphics are the stuff you've seen already plenty of times in other games and there is very little to do. Thankfully, the story makes up for these flaws.

90

Light on gameplay but heavy on story.

GAMERamble | July 18, 2012 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

At first glance, the game does not look like much unless you are a retro junkie like me. It was created with the "RGP Maker XP" software so it bears more than a passing resemblance to 16-bit SNES classics like "Chrono Trigger." You have the isometric view and speech bubbles but don't worry as there are no level grinding or even battles (bar one small section) to worry about. The focus is firmly on the story with everything else being secondary. This means that the gameplay itself is very bare bones but with such an engrossing plot it hardly matters. The gameplay lies somewhere between a point and click adventure and visual novel so while it can be compoleted in roughly four hours it also means that there is almost no unnecessary padding. Since the gameplay is so linear and there are no real puzzles to impede your progress, it is entirely possible to complete the game in one sitting. One thing is for sure; I experienced a lot more emotions in those four hours than in many games ten times longer.

It has been a while since I have played a game as gripping as this one. Since the story is the highlight, I cannot say much about it apart from urging everyone to play it with as little foreknowledge as possible. The emotional impact just will not be as great if you already know what to expect. It is a pity that the visuals will scare away some people, as the game deserves to be played by everyone. While it might not be the greatest "game" you can play, I think that there are very few other titles out there that can match it in terms of story. If future episodes can only achieve half of the emotion captured by this one, I will already be happy. It is going to be a very tough act to follow however.

90

this game is AWESOME

satyakun | July 13, 2012 | See all satyakun's reviews »

Don't judge this game from it's look. This game offer more than it! A very great story, mixed with 2D graphic that make us remember our childhood, never think anything like this before. the graphic used make sure every computer can run this game, which is a very good addition. You must play this game!

75

Excellent story, poor gameplay

Xanderine | July 12, 2012 | See all Xanderine's reviews »

I quite like it. I prefer classical RPG with a bit more gameplay to them, but this is a game with an unusual story that is very cleverly told. It's also set in a modern world which is a nice change from the usual fantasy worlds we see in most games. That said, all is not perfect. The graphics are the stuff you've seen already plenty of times in other games and there is very little to do. Thankfully, the story makes up for these flaws.

80

A very good visual novel, disguised as a game.

Jotamide | June 14, 2012 | See all Jotamide's reviews »

You don't need realistic fancy graphics to tell a good story; this game is proof of that. If you like games that are heavy on good storytelling, you're up for a treat.

This pseudo-sci-fi indie game narrates the journey of a couple of doctors who dive into an old man's memory. The goal is to grant him his dying wish: a memory of having gone to the moon.

My only criticism is that the gameplay is very minimal and controls can be a bit clunky. Although, in the end the game's story is captivating enough to keep you hooked. The plot is very consistent and you'll probably be still in awe about all the little details you'll realize after you've beaten the game.

Finally, it's worth saying that this is a very short game. It's around 4 hours long. But quality over quantity is what matters here.

90

More of a story than a game, but boy is it good!

spacebug | Jan. 30, 2012 | See all spacebug's reviews »

I was sceptical when I begun. The primitive graphics reminded me of old Pokemon games. But the beautiful soundtrack and compelling story soon drew me into the game and had me wanting to know what happened next (or previously, as you're going through someone's life story in reverse order).

It's very much a game where the majority of it is watching a story unfold. There are little puzzles between sections. You do have to walk around the place and look for things. But mostly it's about being told a story.

I almost think that being compared to a DVD or a novel would be more appropriate than a game. The interactiveness makes it more interesting, but it will always be the same story. And it's a very VERY good story!

I like that many of the elements are not spelled out to the audience. You have to work out some things for yourself.

I finished playing it and wanted to play it again straight away!