Reviews for RAGE: Special Edition (International)

81

Great shooter

lok0812 | July 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The story is mediocre, the ending makes it feel like they cut the game in half and after you finished the story you can't come back and complete the rest of the races and side missions until the patch. However, RAGE has its upsides. with a great combat racing component, the incredibly sharp graphics, the amazing performance and the polished combat system make the game a solid and beautiful experience. The game also have a coop mode to allow friends to play in a separate story in the form of survival or racing. With the recent DLC for the game, this game is worth a try.

60

Another on-rail shooter set in a post-apocalyptic world.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Rage is a first person shooter set in a post-apocalyptic world. At first glance, it can look a lot like that Fallout series. However, you will not have all the RPG aspect of it. You have only a few upgrades for your guns, character and car and they are all bought from a store once you reach a certain point in the story.

Talking of the story, a meteor has hit the planet and at first, you will only make some missions for a guy in a small village. This is basically to get used with the controls. However, further in the story you will have to stop the world from being destructed, as in every other games of the same type.

On the graphic side, there was a big hype for this game. Yes it looks good, however, when you move your mouse fast, you will see everything go blurry before loading correctly. That looks very ugly. I would prefer lower graphics quality, but at least it would have been consistent when moving.

The atmosphere and sound are great, however there are some sound glitches when a bug happens. For example, it happened to me several times that I hit a car and I was thrown away from the scene. In this case, I died and when it reloaded, the sound was broken, so I had to quit the game and restart to make it correct again. There are several collision bugs when using the vehicles.

There is a good variety of guns. That includes pistol, shotguns, rifle, crossbow and machine guns. There are also few types of bullets for each of them which make the pistol as useful as the rifle or the shotgun at some point.

The solo campaign will take you around 20 hours to complete if you look for all of the cards that are hidden through the game. There is around 54 of them. However, once it is done, there is absolutely no replay value to it. You can play the whole game on the hardest difficulty without having so much trouble. The enemies are most of the time very dumb.

There is a multiplayer that I did not try though. Apparently, there are 2 modes in it.

There are a lot of Easter eggs in this game. They come most of the time from DOOM, but there are also other from Wolfeinstein, Quake, Fallout, Breaking Bad and some other games. There are bubbleheads, special rooms and signs.

Globally, Rage is another shooter in this world full of them. It is not as different from them, so I would not necessarily recommend it unless you are a big fan of shooters and you are looking for a new title to add to your collection.

91

Stop Comparing This to Other Bethesda Games.

thegaminglyfe | June 19, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Rage was very disappointing to people because they were not expecting the experience that Rage provided them. People were expecting Fallout with more fast-paced combat. This is not that game. The story may be linear but it is still very engaging. The combat is very fun, there are lots of weapons and items that are very fun to use against your enemies. My favorite is the boomrang, which if you aim it right you can hit the head off of an enemy. The graphics are beautiful at times but there isn't usually much to look at in a post-apocalyptic setting. The game sounds very nice from the gunshots to the music. The multiplayer is pretty disappointing though and doesn't feel very fun because of the restriction to vehicles. I feel there should have been more shootouts on foot instead of strictly vehicles. The coop mode is very fun and fills in little gaps in the story. For example when a character in the story mentions some item they might say something like, "My two best men got that out of their hideout a while back." And one of the Wasteland Legends (That's the name of the coop mode) could be you and a friend playing as those two men getting that item filling in small detail in the story. This is a perfect example of the developers attention to small details when they were making this game. I strongly urge that any action fan try this game out. And if you were expecting a Fallout sequel, then this game is still worth trying anyway.

67

ID is back!, but sadly nothing to write home about

Demadizz | June 16, 2013 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

Nothing really sticks out in this game; it takes influence from so many different games. I felt like i was playing another game throughout it (Borderlands/Metro 2033/Quake/Fallout/etc). Story was bland, vehicle controls were decent. All in all i was satisfied and it was an enjoyable play through. Just it won't stick out among others. Worth about $ 5. Maybe next time ID.

87

A great game

kalil | June 14, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

A good story (personally lengthen that is awesome). The repertoire of weapons I find it very similar to old games like "Half Life" but with a graphic and realism Impress lets you take your environment with your game mode, one way you can go slowly firing from the corners or beast thanks to Impress repertoire of ammunition for each weapon, was what most impressed me to.

The theme of getting around the Wasteland with vegetables besides doomsday scenario (which reminds me of the movie Mad Max) which is something I love, the power to "tune" our vehicle into a tank with authentic repertoire of weapons that we offers to equip.

The theme is something amazing gameplay that is missions or contracts that we sent to kill something or get something good is normal in this type of game but the theme misioneses very scarce variety. The western style futuristic cities quite worked. Racing circuits to improve our vehicle the look very simple but cool to disconnect, because killing mutants and bandits be stressed.

Dead City: truly scary and at some point and had to look back to make sure that no one was that if the designers tried to give fear, got but it's entertaining, always alert and mutants everywhere gives us the opportunity to squeeze our arms full and see what we can do.

The bottom line is a piece of game, you will personally recommend a few hours of entertainment and will enjoy a good story, a piece of environment and great excitement against the mutants, become the defender of the people against bandits, mutants and authority , for my outstanding and a pleasure playing it.

95

Mindblowing Graphics, Fast-Paced Action, Engaging Storyline

mutsuriini | June 11, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

RAGE is an exceptionally well made game. Please note that I only played it in Single-Player-mode.

The graphics are up to par. Maybe among the best you can find right now. At the same time it scales down nciely, meaning also on weaker rigs you'll find a way to make it work. It looks so good sometimes I caught myself checking out just the nice textures. The same can be said for the audio. A lot of good voice action and a nice soundtrack make this game technically very reasonable.

The story is introduced by an amzingly beautiful intro-video. In and of itself, this is a masterpiece of art. The game then brings you right into the fast paced action and introduces you to the merciless post-apocalyptic world of RAGE.

From here on you can follow the story, find and receive different weapons, drive and optimize vehicles and shoot and fight with very innovative features (Boomerang, all kinds of cool weaponry). The game knows how to present itself not only technically, but also with bombastic game mechanics. The fighting is really nice, somewhere between realistic und dangerous, every fight will need your full attention.

The quests are quite engaging and bring forth the story of the game of which I don't want to reveal here. I liked it a lot. Also nice are the races with the car(s) and the minigames ingame - try them out, you'll like them too! In fact you don't only get a FPS-game, but there's racing in there and a lot of good adventure-style story. Wow, what a bang for the buck!

Definitely a full recommendation, I have to admit this is the new standard for post-apocalyptic gaming!

85

Good Rage good.

brenker99 | June 4, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

I pre ordered this game and despite the fact it got from 60$ to 30$ in a week. I still think i did a smart choice. The storyline is pretty great Not perfect but great. The combat is amazing. Open world is fun to explore but quite small. Overall this game worth you're time and money.

80

Massive, open and beautiful

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Being one of the lucky few who experienced no technical issues with the game, I can say that I've thoroughly enjoyed Rage. Story and dialog are mediocre, but that's par for the course with id. Graphically, the level of detail is staggering. The megatexturing gives the city scenes and wide vistas a realistic level of detail with none of the immersion-breaking repeating texture artifacts you see in most games, and the character animations and texture details are excellent. Gameplay is not revolutionary, but it is solid and well polished, both in terms of shooting and driving.

60

Rage: 10 things to know

Prozac | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Prozac's reviews »

I recently completed id's Rage for the PC, so I decided to post a review of the game. Here are ten important things you need to know:

  1. Gameplay - Simply put, Rage is fun. The controls feel smooth and natural as you progress through an exciting world of action and suspense. The gameplay is mostly linear, but there is enough variety to keep it interesting. Furthermore, the sidequests are fun, and they mesh well with the pace of the game. Rage doesn't push too many boundaries, but it doesn't feel like it needs to.

  2. Graphics - The world of Rage is as rich and beautiful as a post-apocalyptic world can be. Up close, the textures appear slightly low-res, but that barely impacts the overall presentation. Minor texture popping is an issue, although it has mostly been remedied with recent updates.

  3. Characters - The characters that live in Rage are vibrant and well-voiced, but they are ultimately unmemorable. Some blame is due to the fact that you never get to stay in one town for very long, but the primary fault is that there is no character development. The characters only exist to assign missions and provide atmosphere to the story and environment.

  4. Plot - The recycled story is Rage's weakest feature. What exists is well-delivered, but it will leave you wanting more, especially after the game's anti-climatic conclusion. Plot voids may be acceptable in some action games, but Rage is designed to make the player crave something epic. This expectation ultimately leads to disappointment.

  5. Multiplayer - Rage has two multiplayer modes, but neither is compelling, and deathmatch is completely absent. This omission is disappointing because Rage's weapons would have been exciting to experience competitively. Although id used to be the king of PC multiplayer, potential players should know that Rage is mostly a single-player experience.

  6. Weapons and Items - Rage provides an assortment of weapons, items, and ammunition that greatly enhances the gameplay. Although many weapons seem familiar, some provide enough of a twist to make Rage unique. Unlike some first-person shooters, buying ammo seems essential, especially if you want the full impact of what the game has to offer.

  7. Driving - Driving is a major aspect of Rage. It's required in order to progress the story and to safely travel, and it's a primary means to make money. Vehicle maintenance and acquisition is also required. Rage does a great job balancing these aspects and making them feel like a natural part of the game.

  8. Enemies - Rage is populated with various factions of people, so you'll encounter a decent variety of foes that gradually increase in difficulty and complexity. The only disappointment is that the best, most impressive boss fight occurs early in the game, and there are few major encounters to look forward to after that.

  9. Immersion - Despite its fantastic gameplay, Rage suffers from not being immersive enough. Overall, the environment feels decorative. There are way too many invisible walls, and there is very little to interact with or destroy. It's annoying when enemies use and drop weapons that cannot be picked up, and it's annoying to loot them just to get their cash and ammo.

  10. Mini Games - Rage offers a small assortment of mini games including a card game that relies on your ability to find and collect the cards as you perform your missions. However, these games feel inconsequential as there are no rewards for playing them other than money and achievements, and money never feels scarce.

Conclusion Rage provides an incomplete experience, and it will not be appreciated by players who demand depth in story. However, despite its flaws, there is a lot to love. Most importantly, Rage is fun! I recommend it for anyone who can appreciate an single-player action game for the entertainment it provides.

70

deeply flawed, but theres still something great here...

boris73 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all boris73's reviews »

Badly marketed, with a terrible launch, mixed with unfair comparisons to other games and incredibly high - maybe even unreasonable - expectations.... RAGE almost never had a chance. First of all, the story is poor. Poorly handled, poorly concieved, and just frankly ISN'T even there for most of the time, leaving the array of fetch-quests to support the gameplay most of the time. Plenty of ill conceived 'fluff' in the game, like the pointless minigames and the half-hearted "open world" vehicle sections that essentially exist just to get you to the next game 'arena' only serve to detract and dilute the core experience.

BUT... if you give the game a chance, go in with an open mind, and ABOVE ALL: DONT EXPECT THIS TO BE AN OPEN WORLD/EXPLORATION GAME LIKE FALLOUT, but instead realise that it is (and really aspires to be little more than) a linear shooter, its actually very enjoyable. The shooter mechanics are first-rate, the combat is so much fun and so satisfying. Character animations are leading-edge, especially during combat... even the low resolution texturing, while initially distracting, actually form beautifully designed and realised gaming environments when you step back and take them in as a whole.

This is a very polarising game. Some quite solid (though low res) visuals and fantasticly satisfying shooter gameplay are marred by a poor story and some poorly thought-out needlessly distracting mechanics. Some will love it for the satisfying combat (I know i did), and some will loathe it because they wont look past the admittedly poor storytelling, pacing, unmet high expectations and an unfair comparison to more open-world games.

This game definately needs a patient gamer that wont instantly write-it off, and will give it a chance to do its thing. Its very rough around the edges but i firmly believe at its core theres some amazing stuff here.

91

Dont Believe What Some people Say

Mechafury | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Mechafury's reviews »

This Game Is Raises the bar on first person shooters PERIOD.

(I KNOW there was problems with the release of the game, now the patch has fixed 99 percent of peoples problems for me I run this games perfectly at max fps and settings)

this game DOES raise the bars on shooters and innovates by adding rpg, card collecting, gambling, shooting, racing and a massive open world for you to explore and do as you see fit. this game is beautiful and enemy's Really feel like they take damage and each bullet does what its suppose to do.

mix that with online co op missions and extreme online racing and car battles. ill say you've got your self a great and amazing game that you should NOT miss out on

Make sure your comp can run this game and then some if you want perfect settings

90

A new perspective for id Software

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

From the grandfather of the shooter genre, id Software, comes RAGE. A deviation from their normal formula. RAGE is a semi-open world FPS with slight RPG elements. A far cry from their normal tight, dark, claustrophobic hallways. RAGE offers up bright sun drenched valleys and wastelands to explore the shattered remnants of Earth.

While the story in RAGE is a paper thin setup to get you moving, and the ending feels very sudden and rather tacked on... it's the bulk of RAGE's gameplay that managed to keep me entertained. id continues to show why no other developer can do shooters like they can. From the feel of the player movement, the shooting and feedback from enemies... it's the gameplay that truly shines in RAGE. With a handful of little minigames to try in the small towns you can visit, side quests... and races to buy better parts for your car... there's plenty to do.

And put it on id's new graphics engine and you've got a gorgeous game. Managing breathtaking cliffs and deserts to beautifully destroyed cities and. Even worn down factories and slimy sewers look stunning due to the amount of polish id put in their games.

50

Disappointed

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

It's a shooter by iD .. the folks who brought us Quake 2 and the Doom series! Even if the story is not worth talking about the gun play should be great right? It's sadly not the case- the enemies are repeated too often, the movement is "heavy" and the guns are underwhelming. It also happens to have driving .. like in Far Cry 2 and we know how that turned out. The technical issues are infamous so no need to talk about those. There are better titles out there .. skip this one.

70

Nothing spectacular but not too bad.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all xboxer's reviews »

RAGE has a pretty normal wasteland story. World got destroyed, only a few humans left, mutants everywhere, lawless society emerges from the shadow. It's pretty generic and nothing to excite you too much. And it's not really an open world game. There isn't much places in the game you can go to. And even if you did there isn't anything much there.

The gameplay is pretty tight but the missions are almost all the same. Go to A to get mission then go to B to retrieve something then return to A for reward. Rinse and repeat. The enemies are highly challenging though. And the low ammo in the game and the various kinds of ammo for different situations and enemies make this a challenging shooter.

There were some graphical glitches in the game as well although I'm not sure if the developers have fixed this yet. I haven't touched this game in awhile.

I will only recommend you getting this during a sale.

90

A hidden gem

Cooberstooge | Aug. 26, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This game was groundbreaking when it first came out, but like many such highly original things, that was its downfall. The texture pop-in, while something that should happen, is to this day quite irritating when moving fast or in the heat of battle, but you can get past it. Looks are what make this one a sure bet - shocking post apocalyptic vistas of craggy cliffs, trashed industrial complexes, and the pseudo steampunk structures those who survive have erected make this world a joy to explore.

Being able to rip across the landscape in souped-up, heavily modified weaponized dune buggies is awesome, and getting caught in the open with only your feet to carry you can be quite deadly. Gun battles are harsh and fast, with even the basic weapons sounding like hand cannons once you upgrade them. The towns you'll visit, and the inhabitants you'll help and sometimes fight against, are all highly original and easily recognizable.

Combat is the true high point in Rage. Enemies will retreat and regroup when they sense you're getting the upper hand, and some will flee completely. They sometimes attack in groups, or on their own, or they send in a dynamite-laden mutant pig to take you out.

The best part? Seeing technology from today in a post-apoc setting, which had way more impact than imagined ancient or future tech common to such games.

70

Amazing game... but slightly repetitive

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

I had a great time with this game but friends of mine hated it sighting poor level design and repetitive gameplay. I on the other hand, while agreeing that the levels can get repetitive must say that the gameplay is amazing! They have put a lot of thought and content into this game (there are minigames within as well, one is almost a clone of Magic: The Gathering) and includes a decent amount of car racing (some races are with armed cars -miniguns / rockets so it becomes more of a destruction derby) but it is a bit short. I was able to finish the entire game within 10 hours and it could have really done with a more in depth ending (I won't tell you the ending but it is a 20 second CGI clip that is really basic). I haven't tried the multiplayer part but it looks like there are a few good modes to try out.

Another issue is the graphics, they tried to be revolutionary (Id 5) and use one giant texture and render what the player looks at... this doesn't really work too well in the real world, you are constantly reminded that this is a game with textures rendering where you look and losing that player immersion. Still, I enjoyed it. Hope you do to. I wouldn't pay full price for it but at a 50% off sale or something I'd recommend picking it up.

Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 4/10 Multiplayer: Yes

80

A beautiful game

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

beautiful game. While the desert wasteland apocalypse open world theme seems to be commonplace in games these past few years, Rage stands above the rest. But Most of it takes the form of find a person, get a job, perform the job, and return to collect reward. There are some nifty specializations and vehicles to drive, but nothing quite groundbreaking.

87

This game is worth it

ruready12 | March 6, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

RAGE is a game with many characteristics that anyone would enjoy. The combat system is unlike any other, I mean, in what other games can you throw a ninja-star boomerang to kill people as well as Assault Rifles, Shotguns, Magnums and much more weapons. The story mode is unfortunately quite short for the high expectations it was getting at E3 and such. Another example of a rather rushed game. Regarding the short story its Storyline is AMAZINGLY in depth. They go through EVERYTHING not leaving a single detail out of the equation. The characters personalities are loveable yet remain dull in some moments. Also, The graphics in this game are INCREDIBLE. Such a beautiful game and a huge open world to explore without leaving very much disspointment. This game is definately worth the money and I would reccomend it to anyone who wants to buy it.