London-based Overwatch League team named ‘London Spitfire’


The Overwatch League has released a video announcing its 12 teams that will compete so far. Every team will be based in a different city, and will have a Overwatch character as a mascot, as well as a unique colour scheme.

There are 9 teams from the U.S., one team from Seoul, one from Shanghai, and one from London. The League will start January 18th, with exhibition matches between the teams, all played at the Blizzard Arena.

Each team has various backers, the most notable being Cloud9 backing London Spitfires, Kraft backing Boston Uprising (who also back their NFL team), and Shanghai Dragons are backed by the Netease corporation, Blizzard’s publisher in China.