Microsoft promises Age of Empires announcement at Gamescom

0
1152

Later today at Gamescom Microsoft will be holding an Inside Xbox showcase, and one of the confirmed sections of it will be an “exciting” piece of news related to Age of Empires.

We previously had confirmation of Microsoft’s attendance at Gamescom and some of what they’ll be showing off, but this is the first hint of news for the venerable strategy game series in a while. Going all the way back to 2017 it was announced that Microsoft was working on Age of Empires IV, alongside developers Relic who are best known for the Dawn of War series and Company of Heroes.

In the wake of Age of Empires: Definitive Edition, Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition is also being worked on, which we know will contain four new civilisations and three new campaigns, but at this time we have little more than that.

This all means that at this time we don’t know exactly what’ll be announced later today, it may be Age of Empires IV, it may be Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition, or it may be something completely different. You can find out more later today at 17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 8am PT, and you can watch over on Mixer.

In addition to the Age of Empires announcement, Microsoft will be showing off trailers and reveals on Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Breakpoint, Destiny 2: Shadowkeep, Wasteland 3, Empire of Sin, Greedfall, The Surge 2, Vigor, Metro Exodus, Blair Witch, Xbox Game Pass, X019, and more.

We’ll be keeping our eyes on the huge German festival of everything gaming over the next few days, making sure you have the latest news and announcements straight from Cologne. So stay tuned, it promises to be an exciting few days.